The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hermione
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: kimDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130533Chapter: 0
she looks just like padge in degrassi

Reviewer: jkafefagDate: 2005-02-28
Reviewid: 115121Chapter: 0
This looks so much like me its not even funny. But people do always tell me I look like Hermione! :)

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92625Chapter: 0
Wow... this is so realistic looking. I really wish I could draw like that... And you managed to draw the *nose*!! *amazed* I couldn't draw a realistic nose if my life depended on it. You know what? She looks... almost exactly like me, 'cept my nose is bigger and stuff. And I wear eyeliner :P

Really great. Um... well, yeah. Wonderful!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92464Chapter: 0
Hey,
I think I may have already reviewed this, but I was looking through your work again and just wanted to say how much I like it. I really do.
:-)

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92456Chapter: 0
Saw your post on the thread... this picture isn't bad at all, au contraire to someone's blunt opinion! I've always seen Hermione as having bushier hair, but it is still really good. She looks how I see Hermione - very natural, if that makes any sense at all.

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92423Chapter: 0
I am not an artist so I'm probably not the best person to offer you a review of this but I will try anyway. I really think you have captured Hermione well here. To me, she looks very determined, as if she knows she is going off to fight a bad-guy or sit a big exam and she will not allow herself to contemplate failure. She also looks fairly relaxed about it, showing her maturity I think. Her appearance is very like I imagined it to be - much more so than movie Hermione. So, not a very expert review but I really like the picture!

Reviewer: ThatSnapeGirlDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92246Chapter: 0
No offense but she looks way too fat to be Hermione...and also too dim and mean looking.
but realistic : )

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92193Chapter: 0
Hey, awesome pic. know exactly what it feels to have Hermione Hair. It's horrible. I look just like Hermione's described in the books, except my eyes are blue instead of brown. I always keep my hair up, because when it's down it's bushy, thick, and everywhere!! It's horrible. So I desided to try something new and not look so Hermione-ish, and put hightlights in my hair. Big mistake, now I just look like Hermione with lighter colored hair. >< The agony!!!!
Oh yeah, awesome,awesome,awesome pic! Keep it up.
-Karri-
p.s- If u ever get bored, e-mail me. I'm alwayZ on.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87721Chapter: 0
It's lovely. Really.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87293Chapter: 0
You have a really unique way of drawing. I admire your works profoundly!

~Shina Laris

Reviewer: AreDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86113Chapter: 0
Like it, but her hair isn't right. It's not curly like I think it should-but that of course is personal opinion. Good job on the facae, though.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83365Chapter: 0
Oh my gosh, Frankie. That's really scary. You must have looked just like me, because this pic is a really close representation except my face is a tiny bit thinner. Whoaaa... Can I see a photo of you? I'm curious.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83355Chapter: 0
Well now that's terrifying.

Apparently I have a doppleganger. Or you do, depending on how you would look at it.

My first thought on seeing this (and I am being quite honest here) was "My god, how did she get my HS picture?"

Quite lovely, though a bit too close for comfort. :-)

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82858Chapter: 0
I think you made her face to round which made her look fat

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82738Chapter: 0
i'm sorry, but her face is all off. her nose is totally skinn, and her eyes are just well, wrong
good hair, even though i expeted it to be more...bushy

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82360Chapter: 0
I AM ANNIE'S BIGGEST FAN...no question...and it looks soooo like you, now that I saw pics of you! *thanks Annie's mirror* "Thank you ANnie's mirror for allowing her to draw such a wicked picture!"

-Ginny

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-05-11
Reviewid: 82091Chapter: 0
Lovely as always. I like the bits of curl you did at the bottom of the hair this time. Plus I like the shine the hair has. You have lovely shading skills. Ok are you ready? Here are my comments.

-Hair; the lower part of it is great but because of how un-ruffled the top looks it appears like she purposely curled it rather then it just being that way naturally. Although from what you have said you like it straight and you are the one making the rules not me.
-Eyes; they are a bit small and slanted. Although I don't know if you did this purposely or not.
-Nose; I think that the center low part of the nose goes down just a bit to far for my taste.

Well other then that there really isn't anything I can complain about. Plus what I do complain about is all my personal opinions there is nothing actually wrong with your drawing. Lovely as always and I hope you didn't take any offense to my comments.

-Cat

Reviewer: Word-MeisterDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82083Chapter: 0
This looks WAY too much like you. My pants are from Fashion Gal in Santa Ana and the style is Mossimo. The ones you liked when we said you would be turned into a vegetable!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82072Chapter: 0
Godric's Hollow, that was just my friend, being stupid. :D But thanks for the vote of confidence.

You DORK, Heather!!

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82012Chapter: 0
Well, what a strange group of reviews! okay, how could she look preggers- you cant see all of her! Dont listen to em Annie!

Reviewer: Caddy and Quentin Sitting In a Tree, K-I-S-S...Date: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81964Chapter: 0
Is Hermione pregnant?????? Just like in that other picture!

Reviewer: The Guilliotine With A Life Time WarrantyDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81962Chapter: 0
Your picture reminds me of twinkies cooking over a hot flame. Especially the type with cheese in the middle(sounds of a fat man drooling). I absolutely love those fat twinkie cheeks!

Reviewer: VoldemortDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81961Chapter: 0
Dude, wait!! GinnyAuror is stealing my thunder! I thought I was your biggest fan!! *Turns extra green and slimy-looking* YOU'RE NOT GETTING YOUR FAVOURITE BRUSH BACK ANYMORE!!!!!!!
Much Love,
Voldemort Claire, the Lord
PS The China Garden is SOOO CUTE!!!

Reviewer: You Know Who (Muah Hah Hah Hah HAH!)Date: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81960Chapter: 0
Omigosh! This pic looks JUST like this girl who went to my school last year! ('cept she's not that chubby) WEIRD. She was very interesting (always hungry or tired or grouchy-- or pining away for England. Had a great voice, though) But anyway, like, I LOVE your artwork. This one is cool, too, but I don't think it looks particularly like Hermione. Maybe next time have her holding a book or something else that shows her personality. :>

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81880Chapter: 0
Awww...Annie I love how you did her! So beautiful! You are amazing...wicked picture!
-Gin, your BIGGEST fan!

Reviewer: sveltskyeDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81784Chapter: 0
Oh, Lady May, don't worry about it. I wasn't saying that you had insulted me or my picture at all- I was just pointing out my highly unusual nose :D. I still love ya :).

Thank you St. Margaret again for the comments. I think I will try another portrait where she's a little more expressive.

Reviewer: ladym (Head of R.L.A.)Date: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81781Chapter: 0
Ah, dear Annie, I wasn't INSULTING her/your nose, merely saying it didn't seem like a Hermione nose. There's nothing wrong with pointy noses. I have a big nose... sigh... Anyways! Just wanted to say that!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81764Chapter: 0
This is a really "real" picture of Hermione. I like it. I think that Hermione in repose is a very rare thing. I would love to see you try Hermione talking, or smiling, or frowning slightly in concentration. My favorite part of this drawing is the eyes--she looks slightly tired but still alert and alive. Good job.

Reviewer: lDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81635Chapter: 0
good job

Reviewer: MeiDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81631Chapter: 0
wow!! another gr8t pic!

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81605Chapter: 0
Very well drawn! You're very talented. =)

Reviewer: seiraDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81595Chapter: 0
i like the hair, i like the eyes and the lips but the nose, from what hermione is like as a person, just doesn't seem to fit. It's well drawn, but i pictured her nose a bit different just from the way she acts O_o? its hard to explain, anyway its still brilliant and its got depth expression without umm, over-expression. That's always a plus! keep up the good work

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81588Chapter: 0
I love this picture, I think it's my favorite of all of yours.
I love the shading you've done, it makes it so realistic.

However, your hair looks nice and manageable :D So unlike Hermione's. heh

Great job!


Dinka

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81569Chapter: 0
This is lovely! Very nicely rendered. This and your Ron and Hermione on the Hogwarts express would be my favourites of your pics.

Reviewer: sveltskyeDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81550Chapter: 0
Yay! This finally got posted! It wasn't really that I went so long w/out drawing, Lady May, (or that I was eaten by a hairy monster :D) but that it took a while for this to get up. I'm glad you're still around, though :) *hugs*

Aw, thank you all so much for the lovely compliments, even if she's not how you picture Hermione. To tell you the truth, this isn't exactly how *I* picture Hermione, or at least not how I've traditionally thought of her. Except for the hair, which as I mentioned before I thought was very Hermioneish. But there's no reason she couldn't look like this and I much prefer her looking kind of ordinary, like me, than stunningly beautiful like Emma Watson. It looks a LOT like me, for those who were wondering. But enough w/ the blather, let's get down to the *real* review answering...

Thanks Guieniviere and Sehila for the reviews, even if you didn't think it looked like her.

Godric's Hollow- Thanks again for reviewing me :). I was concentrating hard when I did it- try balancing the paper on your knee and looking at a mirror at the same time. But I kinda forgot to smile, so she looks a little pissed off :D.

Lady M- You always like my Hermione hair, don't you? ^_^ I'm glad someone shares my taste in that aspect. Thanks for the support, as always. My nose really is that pointy, btw.

Adele- Thanks for another great review! I really prefer "not glamourized" Hermione myself, so I'm glad you liked that. And this: "Once again, sveltskye, I commend your apparent effort, improvement, and - truly, it is - art." made me all happy and fuzzy inside. Thanks ^_^.

Coquillage- Yeah, since everyone seems to be liking my pencil drawings I'm doing more of them. I'm still going to try and get some color ones in, too, though. I think the fact that this looks like my Hogwarts Express Hermione is just me drawing people that look like me :). I didn't plan it or anything. I'm glad you like this, though. Thanks so much.

Jess- Everyone's spoiled by the movies, don't worry. I think it's great that this pic has won you over... ^_^ I think it's cackling evilly... it likes recruits (Ok, need to stop personifying my drawing). Before I get more OT, thanks for letting me know you like it.

Durayan- Yay, I'm so glad you like this. It means a lot coming from a fabulous artist like you. Siriusly, your art blows me away. This hair is actually how my hair gets- b/c my mom has super curly hair mine's kind of in between. I think Hermione's definately could be like that.

Minoukatze- You have a great attitude. I really appreciate people who don't just leave a "this SUX" everytime someone's vision doesn't fit w/ theirs so thanks for that.

Nigella- I don't know if I'll put this one on the letter. I might want to leave some room for other artists! :D We'll see. I'm excited that you like this so much and it's your favorite Hermione! I didn't expect anyone to say that. I really appreciate your encouraging reviews. Umm... in this I'd say I picture her in fifth year. She looks a little more exasperated than stressed to me. It's kind of how I'd picture her looking at Malfoy.

Ok, gotta go now, it's 1:30 AM Yikes! Thanks everyone! I wish they had Author's Notes on this thing.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81546Chapter: 0
Oh, I love this, sveltskye! It has to be my favourite Hermione ever, and I really mean that. How old do you imagine her to be here? - she looks Prefect-ish to me. Rather burdened with responsibility, and the prospect of OWLs, and worry about Harry, perhaps? And I think her hair is wonderful. Another one to send JK, maybe?!!!

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81521Chapter: 0
Beautiful shading, wonderful quiet expression. It's not how I picture Hermione either, but you know what? That doesn't matter. It's how you see her, and that's what counts. If others picture Hermione (or Sirius, or Harry, or..) another way, they can draw their own version. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81519Chapter: 0
This is a refreshingly original view of Hermione! I like the idea that "bushy hair" is neither straight nor curly but somewhere unmanageably in between. Very fine details in this sketch...the mouth is extraordinarily rendered. Over all an excellent picture!!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81511Chapter: 0
This is a beautiful piece! As others have said, it's not how I imagined Hermione (I've been spoiled by the movies). But upon seeing your piece, I was struck by how perfectly Hermione it is. Am I making any sense? It's not how I imagined her - it's BETTER. GREAT WORK!!!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81501Chapter: 0
I am so enjoying the increasing realism of your work. I said in an earlier review that this is a good medium for you, and I think you know it. I definitely see Hermione here, and she's not too different from your Hogwarts Express Hermione. So, how much of this is you? Really nice work - eyes, mouth, hair, shading - very nice.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81488Chapter: 0
A quick second note -

To those of you who review negatively, saying 'it doesn't fit how you pictured her' - art is someone's interpretation of a scenario or person, molded in their own mind, not someone else's. Respect for her thoughts would be much more suitable, I believe.

Once again, sveltskye, I commend your apparent effort, improvement, and - truly, it is - art.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81487Chapter: 0
It's fantastic seeing you develop as an artist. This must be one of my favorite pieces of yours - the shading's wonderful. And the lips! The hair! I really like that you haven't glamourized her, like the movie recently has. She's not incredibly gorgeous, but rather plan. A very bookish look about her. Perfectly executed! You go, sistah!

Reviewer: ladym (Head of SPWHASCTMTERESHEPH (aka RLA))Date: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81472Chapter: 0
Ah, you haven't been eaten by a large and hairy monster! You're back! It seems like so long since you last posted... or maybe I just don't have a life... well, who knows?
Anyways, let's start with the postive. Ahem.
1. the hair = PERFECT! It's- just- so- HERMIONE! Very nice.
2. Umm... the picture in general. I don't know how to say it. Basically, good drawing, very nicely done and drawn.
3. Well, there's lots more positive things to say, but there just wouldn't be enough space on the whole world wide web (heh, cool WWWW) to tell how amazing you are, so I'll just end this list here. Plus this is only for this picture.
Now, some bad things. First off, while the face is very well done and you must be pretty pretty, the face just doesn't seem very Hermione-ish. It's so hard to just get a character perfectly, don't feel bad. I don't know anyone who's ever done that. Get a character perfectly. It's hard because I don't really have a set image in my head where I can just bring it up and say "this is what Hermione looks like". It's more of a feeling, you know, that you'll know it when you see it. Am I the only one who feels like this? But anyways, I just suggest making the eyes bigger and the nose less pointy-ish. That's the only real suggestion I can make to make it, I don't really know what else you could do.
Well, I've gotta go! Laters!

Reviewer: ~*Guinevere*~Date: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81469Chapter: 0
Wow.... That's not really what I imagined Hermione would look like but it's defifnitely realistic and beautiful. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81458Chapter: 0
You really have a great shading technique,love the eye shading. Hermy dont look happy! Were you concentrating hard? hehe. Well done!

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81454Chapter: 0
Not how I imagine Hermione at all. Not even the hair. Sorry.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --