The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 54

Reviewer: CaelynDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123111Chapter: 0
I like this version better than the one with watercolor. It has more depth and sensitivity.

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 120060Chapter: 0
This is just how I imagined Ginny to look! :)

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116575Chapter: 0
Very cute. I love how she looks little-girlish, but not too much so. Nice job on her hair.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116196Chapter: 0
This is one of the best Ginny drawings I've ever seen!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 116009Chapter: 0
OK, you've got way too much art to review all of them, so please read this as a review for all of them.

Pencil is definately your medium; Your watercolours are meagrely excellent, while your coloured pencil dwarings go beyond even that. It's your simple greyscale pencil drawings that astounded me, especially Fleur and the other one I reviewed seperately. I've not seen such elegance captured with such delicacy as you have in such simple lines.

Reviewer: MysticDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110274Chapter: 0
Excellent- the way she's drawn is so soft and elegant, the freckles don't overcome her face, and the angle makes for an interesting perspective. The shading is also brilliant, not too much or too little, and the face seems spot on in proportion.

Constructive Criticism- Although the head and face both are excellently proportioned, the arms and chest seem a little out of proportion. Although the color of her outfit is lovely, it almost seems too wash her out a little, whereas a darker shade may be a bit more exuberant. All in all, this is probably one of my favorite Ginny portraits- great job! (I would also like to note that I always pictured her with wavy hair, which no one ever seems to draw, so that was refreshing!)

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110088Chapter: 0
Beautifully drawn. Her face is lovely and dreamy. I would say, though, that she looks a fair bit older than 13. AS an older Ginny, this would be beautiful. I especially love the look in her eyes and the way her hair curls down the sides.

:-)

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: weasley by natureDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94246Chapter: 0
i LOVE this one. it looks EXACTLY how i imagine ginny! the position and body are a little off, but who cares. 10/10!!!

Reviewer: A very obsessed Snape FanDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93847Chapter: 0
I really like this one. Ginny's outfit is really kewl and she looks beautiful. I like the colours you used!

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93794Chapter: 0
I love this. But I just realized I've reviewed it before, but hey...

Reviewer: StriderDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93647Chapter: 0
That drawing of Ginny is beautiful, keep up the terrific work!

Reviewer: theleprachaun8mysoxDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93505Chapter: 0
This is an amazing drawing! It really looks like Ginny and it is so realistic too. I love the watercolor version too. You're an awesome artist!

Reviewer: Ariel BooneDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92474Chapter: 0
Ooooh i love this picture. It looks way better than the girl cast in the movie. I think that her facial expression is marvelous.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92287Chapter: 0
Oooh, very pretty! Lovely work!

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92184Chapter: 0
Oh...my...gosh...perfect. I love this picture. Ginny is my favorite female character(and Hermione). I love it, she looks so....I dunno, but she looks good. Simi-blissful, kinda like, she doesn't want to gt over Harry, but now that she has, she's relieved. Nice.
-Karri-

Reviewer: EntraptedDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92079Chapter: 0
I think that this is my favorite of the bunch. Instead of it looking "bittersweet", I would say she looks more whimsical and lofty. Like nothing really touches or fazes her.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92069Chapter: 0
oh wow, that's beautiful! great job!! :)

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89882Chapter: 0
Oooh! I just *love* the expression and detail in Ginny's face here! This is sooo Ginny! She looks fresh and young and thirteen and very pretty--I'm sure Neville was pleased to have her as his date! (Somehow I can just imagine the thrill he felt to be able to put that look in her eyes--she had wanted to go to the ball so badly, and he could make that happen! :) On the other hand, there's also a confidence about her--a feeling of self-assurance that I'm sure comes from having six older brothers and not letting them get past her!
~NZ~

Reviewer: RaneDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89350Chapter: 0
Ooh... beautiful! I love it when people who can actually *draw* post new art. The facial espression is wonderful. It's a bit odd, though; it seems like you spent so much time on her face, which is great, but then neglected her clothing. It almost looks as though everthing past her neck was an afterthought that kind of got thrown on at the end. It's still quite an amazing picture,though!
Keep up the great work :)

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87724Chapter: 0
This is definitely softer. She does look bittersweet and I like the way you made it all light. She looks heavenly.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87294Chapter: 0
I love Ginny's hair. And she does look bittersweet. Great work!

~Shina Laris

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86878Chapter: 0
I love this picture. The eyes and hair, well, everything really. (It was linked on the Review Challenge).

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86843Chapter: 0
Wow. I love this. Her hairstyle is great and I love the soft lines you've used, gives the pic a dreamy quality. The freckles look great as well. I think her head looks a just a tad too big in proportion to her body, but that's my only quibble. Lovely pic.

Reviewer: PaulaDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85413Chapter: 0
Another fantastic picture! You are very talented, you could be the next American Artist, lol!

Reviewer: Ginny777Date: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83325Chapter: 0
WOW!!! She looks so real... I love it!

Reviewer: Ninny TreetopsDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83299Chapter: 0
*gives one last pathetic wheeeze before dropping off her deschair in amazement*

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83296Chapter: 0
*dies* OMG...so pretty....Annie you are an art prodigy! Love it, as usual!
-Gin, your BIGGEST fan

Reviewer: BènèdicteDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83281Chapter: 0
She looks so cute!.....exellent!

Reviewer: LauraEvansDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83263Chapter: 0
Ooh, I absolutely adore this picture! You are one of the best aritists whose work I have seen on net. Don't stop drawing! :)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83262Chapter: 0
Yes, very Ginny, very lovely, I love the softness and the details of her face. What's especially nice is she looks the right age as well. Really nice work.

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83097Chapter: 0
Wow, this is absolutely... wow. It's lovely. The coloers are wonderful, mostly black and white with little orange tints. The eyes and mouth portray wonderful emotion. This is stunning. I think that this piece is too beautiful for me too end my review with a smiley face.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82952Chapter: 0
LOL, Rupert Grint? No, I didn't try to make her look like him! I do agree that it looks antique and wistful, though. Thanks for your kind review(s), Dinka.

Kate, I took it from a photograph (so, secondary source), but I changed it alot because the original was of a girl in a bathtub. ^_^. I love imagebank.com, it's a great place for source material. Corbis, too.

Minoukatze, I agree that the body is a little neglected (especially in this one b/c the proportions are off. I'm bad with gestures, I need to work on that.

Thanks to everyone else for the reviews, too. *hands Lady M a hankerchief*

~sveltskye

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82885Chapter: 0
It's really good, did you draw it from observation - from a primary or secondary source?

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82864Chapter: 0
At first I thought I liked this one more, but I definitely like the watercolor version more, probably because of the wonderful colors there. But this one is very nice too. It's got an antique-picture quality to it, and makes it look timeless.
As I said before, I love the expression on Ginny's face. She looks almost... wistful.
And I just realized something.. hehe in this picture more than the other one, she bears a slight resemblance to Rupert Grint. :D Was that intentional?

She's perfect, svelstkye. I've seen a lot of Ginnys, and this one is the one that has most resonated with me as Ginny.

Great job. Keep up the great work! :)

Dinka

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82857Chapter: 0
Very good...c'est magnifique.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82848Chapter: 0
Oh, so THAT'S what's with her expression. Wow. Knowing what she's thinking adds so much more depth to the piece; now it's both breathtaking AND heartbreaking.

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82814Chapter: 0
Lovely! You really have a gift for faces. One crit I have to give (because it's something I'm guilty of more times than not myself...;) is that while the face is exquisite, the body is a bit neglected. I'd say either crop the pic to the shoulders or put a bit more detail in the body.

All in all, a wonderful picture! I love seeing your work.

Reviewer: AgiVegaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82792Chapter: 0
Bloody brilliant. You have a true talent! Her face is lovely and very ginny-ish. Kudos!

Reviewer: nicoleDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82779Chapter: 0
Love. This. Picture. It's beautiful, one of your best works.

Reviewer: ladym (Head of R.L.A.)Date: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82765Chapter: 0
Ah, durn it, I just realized that there was a colored pencil one. Sometimes it's a curse to have an obsessive need to always look at pictures from the bottom up.
This one is... beautiful. I love the wistful and sad look, it's even better than in the watercolor version. I WANT TO HUG HER!!! Oh, you're making me all sad...
Oh, don't make me cry!
On your latest pictures I almost always have the urge to say something like "this is definitely my favorite of alllll your pieces", but then the next one comes along and I have to take it all back. I love this. It's BEAUTIFUL and you're going to make me CRY!
I'm too emotional sometimes...

-LadyM

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82755Chapter: 0
How can Harry not notice her? love the hair, love the freckles: one of our favorite Ginnys.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82748Chapter: 0
Wow! I Love it! Keep up the great work. I just love her expression and the sloping, curvy lines you used to draw her with.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82746Chapter: 0
This is really Pretty. I love the way her just gently falls out from the hair do, it makes he look very soft, sweet, and PRETTY. All the shading is wonderful, her eyes are magnificent, and her lips are awsome. Oh and the shading around the nose...great and the freckles very few people ever get them right, most of the time they look like some bad disease. Like I said before this is really pretty. Hope ya draw more soon, bye!!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82745Chapter: 0
That's a really beautiful picure of Ginny- the water colour one is too. I see what you mean- she does look pensive, and as if she's deciding something- to "give up on Harry" aww.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82737Chapter: 0
BU-TEE-FULL!

Reviewer: shiowhueyDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82700Chapter: 0
wow! i think this is one of your best! i love her expression, and the light touch of your pencil

Reviewer: hermionegranger909Date: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82680Chapter: 0
This is a wonderful picture. The look on her face is so thoughtful and it looks like she's having a revelation about getting over Harry. Really wonderful!

Reviewer: Angel of MusicDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82674Chapter: 0
WoW! I absolutely love this picture.

Reviewer: Your SisDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82667Chapter: 0
You got an "Awwww" from Amanda for this one!

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82657Chapter: 0
Lovely-I dont even remember her at the yule ball! I think its quite 'Ginny', in that I sort of picture her like this.

Reviewer: dot dot dotDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82642Chapter: 0
Its really pretty! I love the coloring, and her hair is awsome! Also her facial expresions look so...so... so Ginny-ish ^_^

Reviewer: KoreyDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82639Chapter: 0
Wow, this one and the water colour are reallly nice! Cool lol.

Korey

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82633Chapter: 0
This has to be one of the best representations of Ginny that I've EVER seen -- I absolutely love it. :) Her hair is perfect, both in color and style, and I love her freckles and eyes. She looks so wistful, as though wishing a certain someone might look her way. Gorgeous!

Reviewer: h-kitty/sueDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82632Chapter: 0
beautiful! I like this better than your watercolor version. You've perfectly captured the wistful look I always imagined on Ginny, and the hair and freckles are perfect. Great job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --