The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: PlutoDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120569Chapter: 0
Wow. This looks like a photo. Is it at night, though. Looks pretty dark.

Reviewer: AfriealDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106032Chapter: 0
I like what i can see of it but it's a bit dark for me to see everything it's cool tho!

Reviewer: BeauDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103577Chapter: 0
This is really good! Why don't you do more pieces??

Reviewer: HollyDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99101Chapter: 0
This is a cool pic.It's a little bit dark, but keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98838Chapter: 0
That is awesome.

Reviewer: G-GDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98744Chapter: 0
You're a RELLY good drawer. Draw more!

Reviewer: ShardWingDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97268Chapter: 0
Wow, how did you do that? It looks like it's computerized or something. I really love this, and it's very creative! Keep it up!

~Shard

Reviewer: TiffanyDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92469Chapter: 0
what? thats dumb

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92148Chapter: 0
Thanks again for all the nice comments. :-)

In case anybody's interested, it was done using a level editor called Quark:

http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~quark/

It's quite a good bit of software although the lack of documentation makes the learning curve quite steep. But it's free, it works well and you can build levels for a lot of different games.

Reviewer: cara hodsonDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91763Chapter: 0
that dosent look like thats been drawn it looks like a photo and its great. i love and admire your work and hope to see more. the only thing i cuold be picky with is the picture frames some are llighter than the others and thats a bit odd. others perfect.

keep up the good drawing, cara

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91745Chapter: 0
hm..it's kind of dark for me to see very well, but from the looks of it, it looks great.

Reviewer: Marshmallow FairyDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91307Chapter: 0
cool??

Reviewer: katieDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91055Chapter: 0
cool looks computer animated

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 91024Chapter: 0
Great piece! I love the flooring, and the portraits are wonderful. The fire is a nice touch as well. My only complaint is that some of the picture is lost in the darkness. I'd love to see a lighter version of this!

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90981Chapter: 0
OMG!!!!!!!!! You should design the HP video games or something!!!! I'm speechless. (but I can still type. :) )

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90979Chapter: 0
Wow, that's amazing. How do you do it?

Reviewer: odd ballDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90599Chapter: 0
wow.wow.wow. this is very real looking

Reviewer: Weasel KingDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90567Chapter: 0
this is very interesting! i like it!

~Weasel King

Reviewer: catmeatDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90548Chapter: 0
Thanks for the nice things you've said. For those people who said it's not art - well you are right, it is very much a grey area. In fact, I threw together a web page yesterday with more screen-shots because I was fairly sure Madam P. wouldn't put this up.

I've abandoned the project because of some flaws I don't wish to waste time fixing, especially as it's only for Quake 1. Redoing it from scratch for Quake 3 would be a better use of my time (doing my PhD would be even better!). I suppose doing a total-conversion - replacing the Quake weapons with a wand and various spells - would be the ultimate objective. It is bit odd to be wandering round Hogwarts with a chaingun! :)

If you're interested, the web page and the .bsb file are at

http://www2.cmp.uea.ac.uk/~mtm/wizardquake/

Reviewer: MDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90546Chapter: 0
Quake! Yay! I love Quake 3 Arena, myself. I would love to run around this place and shoot monsters. And as you built it yourself, I think it qualifies as art (so ignore what some others are saying about it not being art because it's from a video game).

Reviewer: rickie ann prince-phillipsDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90519Chapter: 0
that is the coolist pic i've seen on this site and many others. you're a fabulous artiest and i hope you keep to it. no one should through away such gift. thanks for sharing it.

Reviewer: fDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90514Chapter: 0
This is AMAZING

Reviewer: Severus WormtongueDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90465Chapter: 0
Wow!! This is amazing! It's just...really really good.

Reviewer: Not AliceDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90450Chapter: 0
*coughs* that's not ArtWork?! Are you crazy! This is awesome, you have every right to be proud of it.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90414Chapter: 0
Ooo, very cool. I love the portraits and everything. And some people down there need to read the summary!

Reviewer: LorelaiDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90376Chapter: 0
Ooh, very nice! I love the floor. Is this for a game?

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90374Chapter: 0
Cool!

Reviewer: M&M loverDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90364Chapter: 0
Is this from the video game?

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90361Chapter: 0
You built this from scratch? Great job!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90328Chapter: 0
Er...I wouldn't think it was from a video game, is it?

It's excellent work as long as it's not from a viedo game, though. I'm trying to figure out what the black part of the wall is, but that's probably just a glitch of some sort. The shadowing looks right, too.

Reviewer: laniDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90326Chapter: 0
did you do this art yourself or is it from a vidio game. If the latter, this is not art.

Reviewer: Miss MioneDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90324Chapter: 0
it is kinda funky!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --