The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Scars
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Claire Morgan, Ender's GirlfriendDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97484Chapter: 0
Omigosh they're so CUTE! (Except that Ron has, hypothetically, developed a womanly figure) You need to teach all the rest of us poor artists how to do such great facial expressions. ^_^ Unfortunately mine always look like that, which is, hypothetically, bad.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94029Chapter: 0
Hermione's right arm is a bit awkward but everything else is rather good. It's very solid and I have to say I love the trees behind Ron. You're shaping up to become a very talented artist. I love how you're improving and that I can see you improve. I wish it was in color, but that's all right, because your shadowing is worth it.

Reviewer: ladym (head of the R.L.A.)Date: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93921Chapter: 0
ANNNNNNNIE!!!!!!! You're ALIVE!!!!!!! Well, I guess I haven't been a very good reviewer either (only 18th on this!) but there just hasn't been time. Okay, my computer's messed up and it keeps randomly closing my internet explorer, so this has to be short, as it's my third attempt at reviewing this one pic. My first two reviews included long and tearful reunions with you after such a long no post/no review period, but I have to edit that out of this one for times sake. Since my summer's been so busy, there's been no time to procrastinate, so no time to review!
This is my first time seeing the new review thing they have since I haven't been on in so long. I feel bad about my disturbingly random reviews now, so I'll try and get to the point on this one.
This is great! I love Ron's face and the Burrow in the background. Beautiful. I love how your pencil drawings are so smooth and soft looking! Now I have to go read this story. What is with those scars?!
Uh oh the computers acting funky I have to go quick! Great work sorry for no reviews I missed you bye!

Reviewer: a personDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93845Chapter: 0
Nevermind, Ive figuired it out!

Reviewer: a personDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93844Chapter: 0
Who is the boy? I dont remember this scene!! Why?! Help please! but I like it, its pretty dang good!

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93792Chapter: 0
Their backs and shoulders look odd

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92314Chapter: 0
This is really beautiful, and exactly the kind of drawing I'm aspiring to achieve one day - if I'd actually practice.

There's two things about the poses of the characters. First, I'd think Hermione would lean less forward and draw Ron's arm closer to her. Second, I think she would bow her head more to directly face Ron's arm.
Finally, Ron's face could look more surprised.

But overall, it's an amazing picture.

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92276Chapter: 0
There is a nice, soft feel to your pictures, very soothing. I like the composition here and the shading is delicate and nuanced. Keep it up!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92265Chapter: 0
While it's not how I picture them, that doesn't change the fact that this is an INCREDIBLE pic. The shading, the detail--Everything. I especially love the branch behind them; I'm horrible at foliage so I always admire artists who can do it well.

Reviewer: quafflequeenDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92221Chapter: 0
this is excellent! i loved the shading and ron and hermione are exactly as i imagined them to be in my mind. i'm glad you didn't make ron and herm look like the actors in the films. well done!

Reviewer: ILuvRonniekinsDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92220Chapter: 0
OMG! I love this picture and I love that story! I wish she would update soon, I can't stand Hermione being away from her Ron!!! I actually thought about drawing this scene myself! Great job!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92196Chapter: 0
Great job! I especially like the details in the background of this picture. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92185Chapter: 0
oh how beautiful! and i love this fic! they both look perfect. SO SWEET!

R/H forever!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: angelADate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92165Chapter: 0
aoisoime!Hermione's neck is a little long but i love the pic!

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92115Chapter: 0
Sveltskye! I didn't know you were so multi-talented!! This is just wonderful (as are all your drawings-I feel guilty for not viewing them before)! You have a very nice illustrative style- I especially love the details of their faces and the background! I'm truly jealous! ^_^

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92105Chapter: 0
This picture is truly awesome! I love the way you drew Ron. The shading is very good! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92088Chapter: 0
Thanks for the reviews Katinka, Fernwithy, and GH! Yes, that is supposed to be the Burrow, Katinka. Fernwithy- I do agree that her body looks a bit awkward (which is all a result of my inability to draw gestures), but I'm really glad that you could tell she was sitting on a rock! ^_^. Thanks for the compliment about the background- I like it, too.
You rock, Sarah, as usual. Sorry about what I said in your review- my pic obviously had been uploaded before yours, but I hadn't noticed it for some reason. Silly me.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92085Chapter: 0
I love the expressions on their faces, but weirdly, what I love best is the detail of the background--the boards of the house, the motion of the tree... really quite vivid. The only thing resembling concrit that I can think of is that Hermione's posture seems a bit stiff, but it very well *could* be stiff sitting on an uneven rock.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92054Chapter: 0
Lovely shading! Is that the Burrow? :)

I love the flow and softness of all the lines...it has an overall calming effect. (Er, I'm not an artist myself -- can you tell?) ;) I also get a kick out of Hermione's "down to business" expression.

~Katinka

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92048Chapter: 0
Hehe first reviewers of each others work. Wow Annie- I think I have a new favourite of yours!I just adore the tones you have used, and the background is fabulous without detracting too much from the main picture of Ron and Hermy. The Burrow(well, Im assuming its the burrow) is absolutely spiffing! This could be a book illustration.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --