The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Friends
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2006-04-26
Reviewid: 142247Chapter: 0
And the friendship among the trio is palpable. I wonder what they're looking at - do they have a view of the boys on broomsticks, for example? That's also an interesting take on the school robes. Luna has almost a Cinderella look to her.

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138172Chapter: 0
I have to be honest with you, Luna looks like a cat and Hermione's hair is too dark for me. But I love the poses.
What is up with Hermione's foot? Or is it a rock?

Reviewer: I am nobody. Nobody's perfect. Therefore, I am perDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132937Chapter: 0
Hey, this looks like me and my friends! I'm Ginny in the middle, I've got the (ugh) atrocious bright red hair. Hermione is my best friend since kindergarten, she's always have bushy brown hair, always will. And then Luna can be... my cousin! They've both got dirty blond hair...

Reviewer: Grace (Laurel)Date: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128815Chapter: 0
Okay, my question is this- how did you get Ginny's hair to look red??? It's not even in color, and I can tell what color her hair is supposed to be. It's incredible. Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: r=hr+tl!!!Date: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128655Chapter: 0
love it but what is withthe baer feet!?

Reviewer: LillyDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116888Chapter: 0
This remidends me of ..... me and my friends. very cute

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113627Chapter: 0
Wow, that's wonderful/fanstatic! :) ;) :D

Reviewer: MandaDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109539Chapter: 0
This is pretty good except for the fact that they all look like they're 20. Perhaps you should make them look a bit younger... Also, Ginny and Luna look quite creepy. What kind of expressions are those?

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104808Chapter: 0
i really like this one! they all look so comfortable and relaxed, really like they're just hanging out. this could almost be a photograph of a group of friends. they're not really what i imagined them to be, but i dont' really care b/c you captured the friendship really well. :-)

Reviewer: toastDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104402Chapter: 0
wow thats awesome!! ginny looks kinda like Avril Lavigne...

Reviewer: carrieDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104068Chapter: 0
it looks so real like them!
i love:
-the expressions
-the clothes
-the feet and hands and robes!
-most hair
i don't like:
-hermione's curly hair yet it's very good still
-the way luna looks chinese
-im not sure if i like ginny's nsoe or not. it suits ehr yet it doesn't at teh same time!
i hope i'm not being 2 hard on u., i tend 2 critize 2 mcuh, sry!

Reviewer: Hampster TreeDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 103987Chapter: 0
I love luna and Ginny. Hermione looks a bit... well I think her hair is to dark and she is tan. Well, just not really how I imagined her. But rellay good, anyway! Thier smiles are great, and the posture. I like that the pics all have bare feet/socks. It just looks... more real? I dunno, but it is nice.

Reviewer: ellieDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103045Chapter: 0
thi si such a nice picture! i love how all three of them are friends, I'm really hoping hermione and luna will get closer in the next book! i love how hermione looks, she's so pretty, she looks kind of indian! nice touch to have luna kinda spacing out. keep drawing! It's wonderful!

Reviewer: JannaDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100712Chapter: 0
Wow! I really like this. I love how they look so real. No one ever draws them like this they always look so cartoonish. This is how I like to picture them. You did an fantastic job. please keep it up. :)

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99327Chapter: 0
OMG! I love this drawing! You have done an amazing job with Luna, and Ginny! So cute!

Reviewer: phoebe halliwelDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99234Chapter: 0
Cool! Great picture! Me too, I have the feeling they'll end being very good friends with Luna.Love it!

Reviewer: a_roseDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99131Chapter: 0
Incredible job! I love how you captured each girl's individual personality. Luna looks rather fey, which is absolutely perfect. Ginny looks like the essence of cheerfulness, tempered with a measure of experience. And I find it interesting that Hermione looks like a character from a Greek frieze- considering Hermione was a character in Greek mythology. Was that done on purpose? Just my take on it. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99007Chapter: 0
I like the shading andthe detail, particularly how I can tell exactly how Hermione has styled her hair. Yreally captured chemistry between the three! However, I find it strange that they're all barefoot, and that they have their feet piled on top of each other. You draw feet really well, I just can't see L, G and H all walking around barefoot. If they're supposed to be by the lake or something, you might want to hike up their robes a bit so we get the idea that they've been wading, and if it's just a matter of not drawing shoes, you could make their hemlines a bit longer, or have them kneel/sit on their feet.

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98661Chapter: 0
Once again, you have amazed me with your work. Another one of my favorites!

Your attention to detail is amazing! The shading and texture are, again, absolutely stunning. Each girl looks different, and has her own personality - each one is unique in their own way.

You also have the amazing ability to be able to produce beautiful looking hands and feet, something that takes a lot of skill (of course, I'm slightly biased on this, considering that those are the two things in my sketches that I am absolutely horrible at). But even so, they are proportioned very well, and look great!

I love your work, and was wondering if I could put a link to your author's page onto my website - I want all of my friends to be able to see your work.

Keep it up,
Caitlin ^_^

Reviewer: irishlass/ukDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98521Chapter: 0
omg is love the feet.. so cute.. i think luna looks dazed and ginny is so pretty... she looks a bit like avril l. wonderful job!! my mum and da agree too.

Reviewer: AzkabellaDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98461Chapter: 0
Hermione does look a bit Indian...

Reviewer: AzkabellaDate: 2004-09-17
Reviewid: 98459Chapter: 0
Ooh! I love your Ginny and Luna. Hermione's good too, but they're excellent! Ginny's hair is really nice.

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98388Chapter: 0
Cool, I quite like this one!

Reviewer: chirpDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98241Chapter: 0
YAY!! I love your portrayal of Ginny and Luna, but I never really iimagined Hermione's hair curly....that doesn't take anything away from the picture, though! Sheer brilliance.

Reviewer: ValorSaintDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98098Chapter: 0
Oh, this picture is really good! I realy like the differences you added to each girls hair, instead of making them all look the same, style-wise.

Reviewer: NymphadoraDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98081Chapter: 0
Very nice!!!!

Reviewer: nonamejustanumberDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97974Chapter: 0
Again, wow.

Reviewer: ShardWingDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97565Chapter: 0
Awww, that's very pretty. They really do look like good friends.
Hermione looks way to pretty to be the real Hermione, but that's alright. It's still a beautiful sketch.

~SW

Reviewer: bunkyDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97440Chapter: 0
that is beautiful, absolutely beautiful. you have a real gift and the characters look very lifelike, and the expressions and shading are fabulous

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97369Chapter: 0
This is a very nice picture. Your Hermione looks different from the one in "Hermione" though. Somewhat like a Greek painting.

Reviewer: theleprachaun8mysoxDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97343Chapter: 0
Wow! My favorite parts about this picture are the feet and hair of the three girls. For some reason I think Luna looks like Hilary Duff there.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96954Chapter: 0
They look like Greek goddesses! Very beautiful. I like your Luna most of all though.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96950Chapter: 0
Oh, this is lovely. For some reason it strongly reminds me of a Greek mural I saw once. Maybe it's the drape of the robes? Either way, it's wonderful.

Luna's expression is great in this, and I like how you have slightly accented her eyes, made them stand out a bit more than on either Ginny or Hermione. Nice stance with her gazing off into the distance, slightly seperating her from her surroundings. How very Luna. The flow of her hair is also very nice in this. . . she reminds me of a young Daryl Hannah. *grin* I don't know if making her robes visibly shorter was a concious choice or not, but I really like it here.

Ginny is also very well done. I like how you have put her in the center of the two girls, as her cheery expression is a nice counter for both the dreaminess of Luna and the more serious expression of Hermione. Again, the drape of her robes (what we can see, at least) is wonderful.

My absolute favorite in this, though, is Hermione. With her slightly darker shading and the wonderful planes of her face, she really does look like she stepped out of a Roman fresco. I still have the quibble about her nose that I mentioned in her portrait (the one you posted today as well) but the rest of her is so lovely, I can gladly overlook it. Her expression is so perfectly Hermione, and I love the pose you have put her in. It's almost protective and vulnerable at the same time. Nice touch with the bracelet on her arm as well.

Honestly, the longer I look at this, the more I love it. It really is a beautiful piece of art.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96932Chapter: 0
Lovely indeed - I like this so much! You can just feel their friengship.
This may sound funny, but I especially like how realistically well you've drawn their feet; I noticed it in your picture of Fleur, too.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96911Chapter: 0
Oh! Beautiful picture.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96902Chapter: 0
Wow. This is my favorite of yours. I love the robes...I'm so sick of seeing them all in muggle clothes in fanart all the time. You did a great job with the feet! Hermione looks just perfect, and you gave her perfectly bushy curly hair. Bless you! Ginny is drawn very well, but I pictured her as smaller, I think. Luna...this is the best Luna portrayal I've seen! Her eyes look big, but not overly so, and she's got that far-away look in her eyes. Wonderful job!

Jules

Reviewer: AgiVegaDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96866Chapter: 0
That is cute! I especially like Hermione and Ginny. Well done! :)

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96855Chapter: 0
Hermione looks vaguely Rossetti-ish. Is that a good thing or a bad thing?

Reviewer: purplequillDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96850Chapter: 0
Oh, I really LOVE this!

I'd often dreamed of someone drawing a scene of this trio together as friends (I'm planning a fic with them, actually), and this fits the bill wonderfully! Well done!

Reviewer: raven cDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96839Chapter: 0
wow!!! i wish i could draw like that... but i can't, so i'll just comment on your fine piece of art. i love luna's expression! beautifully blank... sort of dreamy. actually she looks like she just lit up a few... just joking. anyway, hermione is a little too pretty. her hair is more curly than bushy. ginny i think looks perfect! sort of like she's still filling out, though already tall. very weasley-ish. love it!

Reviewer: ccbchunksDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96834Chapter: 0
I must say... luna looks a little different than i would picture her. I like how she's staring into the distance, but she still seems a little too in tune to ginny and hermione. Anyway, ginny is done very very well. I like the shading on her cheeks

Reviewer: Godrics HollowDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96767Chapter: 0
Im luvin it! Wonderfully shaded,nice facial expressions and that Ginny in particular is very close to how I imagine her to be. keep up the good work!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96763Chapter: 0
Wow. These two new pics you have up are stunning. I'm in awe.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96762Chapter: 0
Hi, again! This is my favorite of the drawings you put up today. There was something funky with Hermione's eyes in the other one, but I really like the personality you gave Ginny and Luna here. I'm not sure if everyone's legs are bigger than they should be or if that's just the robes... Why do all the girls in your imagination run around Hogwarts barefoot? You draw very realistic feet, but why?

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96751Chapter: 0
That's awesome!!! My 3 fav characters!! I played Hermione in a play at school last year, an I played Luna at camp (I had a wig on, and oh boy it itched!!!)but I had a great time. It was alot of fun.
-Karri-

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96731Chapter: 0
Oh this is beautiful! This is one of the nicest pic's of the three girls that I've ever seen. You've captured each person so well. I love all the little details on the eyes and the hair. I am officially in awe of you :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --