The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: Gred and FeorgeDate: 2007-12-29
Reviewid: 150240Chapter: 0
*Fred nugges George and points to there last comment posted*
George: We mean Lily's hand on the floor by Harry's foot.
*Fred nugges George again and gives him a meaningfull look*
George (in a board tone): Oh, and Fred wants me to say that he really likes you but he's to scared to say so becuse he admires you so much and-
Jack: BOYS STAY OFF THE COMPUTER! I get up for 2 minuts to use the bathroom and you go and bother Nundu! Sorry- I need to keep a better eye on them, and yes, I meant Lily's hand.

~Jack(ie)

Reviewer: Gred and FeorgeDate: 2007-12-29
Reviewid: 150239Chapter: 0
Poor Harry...*sniff* The hand is good (from an artistic point of view) because it draws the eye in after you have registerd the largest part of the picture, Harry (holding a wand the wrong way). From a fans point of view the hand if really creapy adn sad.

~Jack(ie)

Reviewer: DeviStarreDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145253Chapter: 0
OMB, is that Lily's hand?

*weeps uncontroably*

You're way too good at this

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-04-27
Reviewid: 142304Chapter: 0
Gosh.

I suspect you intended us to think think that this was the Graveyard scene from the title. But yes, this picture is a bit of a surprise. First off, very well drawn. The shading seems really good (not that I know anything about drawing). I like Voldemort's shadow and the clinical way he is holding his wand. Lily's hand is a powerful touch, dark and moving.

And Harry is very good. He looks quizzical and brave. Is that a toy flute in his hand? Anyway, all in all, very well done.

Reviewer: _PhoenixLament_Date: 2005-12-03
Reviewid: 136714Chapter: 0
It's a very good, deep pic, i like it!

Reviewer: Elizabeth, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132416Chapter: 0
I giggled at the look on Harry's face and the wand; and then I realized where he got the wand from...

Reviewer: NoiseFromTheBasementDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128186Chapter: 0
oh, my god, the eyes. the mouth. and lily's hand...oh my god.

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128122Chapter: 0
WIKED!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: BatDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124271Chapter: 0
I dont think harry would have had a wand at that age also i don't really picture his hair curly but nice try!

Reviewer: Lil' AmericanDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117314Chapter: 0
He looks like the Hobbit... I like lilly's hand though very proper

Reviewer: ABout to get my letter 'cause i'm eleven!Date: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109969Chapter: 0
LOL!Made me laugh outloud! Love this pic! You such a great artist!Especaily that Harry's wand (or mum or dads wand) is upsidedown!LOL!
I don't know maybe Harry's hair was that curly when he was a baby, nothing aginst you though your drawing is so good i'm not saying it's bad er but....Mabey just make it a bit straighter than it'll be PERFECT!

~Love It!

Reviewer: kikiDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104858Chapter: 0
well, i didn't picture harry to have an afro but okay, and he is a little older than i pictured, but the actual drawing is good!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104805Chapter: 0
wow. interesting interpretation. i always kind of imagined harry being very, very distraught about his house being destroyed, his parents getting killed.. you have an interesting take on this scene.. it's almost a bit creepy, because harry seems quite calm, almost as if he's ready to take on the dark lord anyway... but at the same time, there's a dead body lying next to him.. how is he so calm? anyway, harry's very cute. the shading makes him look softer, which is appropriate. perhaps you could add more detail in the background? good overall! :-)

Reviewer: Hampster TreeDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 103982Chapter: 0
cute!!!!! but really sad at thr same time. I like Lily's hand at the side and the shadow of Voldemort. And little Harry is holding the wand backwards! HE jist looks a little bit to old, but really good otherr wise!

Reviewer: emmaDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103024Chapter: 0
awww poor harry. lily's hand being in view from the side is a nice touch. but so sad! I like the way you did voldemort's hand it looks bony and but strong sorta...I dunno but I wanna reach out and grap his wand when I look at the picture. I like it a lot. Harry looks kind of indifferent about voldemort being there and his mom dead beside him though...

Reviewer: mistyDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102474Chapter: 0
AWWWWW. That is soooo cute.

Reviewer: KarriDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102376Chapter: 0
Wow..I got shivers. Lily's hand was a nice touch, but it was the part that gave me the chills. Kee it p.
Karri

Reviewer: umDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102305Chapter: 0
what's with the hair? & the deadarm scares me!

Reviewer: marchivyDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102303Chapter: 0
cabbage patch kid?

Reviewer: Amy MacArthurDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102180Chapter: 0
Really well done. although I have to comment that Harry looks about to shoot himself with that wand if he doesn't point it the other way...:)
(tsks. "Now, Harry, rule number one of magic is to hold the pointy end away and hold the handle...")

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101658Chapter: 0
whoa, thats creepy, having Lily's hand be there!!!!

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101324Chapter: 0
Spooky. Harry looks so innocent and sweet, not realizing what has just happened. A few technical crits- Lily(?)'s arm looks awfully small considering it's right next to little Harry's foot. A hint of a background suggesting space would help the composition immesurably. However, Harry can't be faulted. He looks great.

Can't wait to see more:)

Reviewer: DaShaddaPantherDate: 2004-10-11
Reviewid: 101022Chapter: 0
OMG! So cute! I wouldn't have imagined Harry's hair to be curly, but whatever! Who knows what dear old Harry's hair would have been like when he was 12 months old? *Shrugs* LOVE IT! Love the style too. Very cool.

Lily's hand in the corner there (*points to the bottom left of pic*) also is very cool. I doubt many artists (not putting anyone down tho forgive me if you think I am) would have thought to put Lily in a picture like this; glad you did. Nice suspense element you put in, not drawing good ol' Morty's face in there, altho I thought it was kewl that you have harry holding a toy wand, is it? at Voldy, although it appears to be in the wrong direction. CUTE!!! :P

Oy. I'm sounding like an professional amateur art critic here. Must be family genes. *Sigh*

I'm off! Love the pic!

Reviewer: Dark FairyDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100981Chapter: 0
I like how he's holding a wand...Lily's perhaps? Just fallen out of her newly dead hand and little Harry picks it up to play. Little does he know that soon, he will leave his loving home to go live with the Dursley's and live a life full of doom and misery. So innocent, so unknowing...so trusting.

Reviewer: Sympathetic NightmareDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100980Chapter: 0
Awwww! It makes me want to cry! He's so little! Very good!

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100925Chapter: 0
CUTE!!!!
You can see just how evil Voldemort has to be to want to murder the little guy! And the limp hand...well, this is wonderful for a sketch!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100754Chapter: 0
Wow. Great touch to include Lily's hand. I love the composition ... the hand reminding us of what has just happened, Voldemort's wand reminding us what's about to happen, and Harry's sweet, innocent face with no idea what's happening.

Great work.

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: MDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100740Chapter: 0
His hair's curly.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100682Chapter: 0
Nearly flawless technique. I think the shading on Harry's face looks a bit odd, but that's the only thing I can think of.

I wanted to write some comments, but I realized they don't make much sense.

Reviewer: XXXXDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100630Chapter: 0
Overall this picture is very good. Lily's hand is kinda morbid but it's well rounded and pretty. Harry looks good I think the hair is really creative. The only problem is the wand voldemort is holding I don't think that would be the way he held it. Overall this is a great picture and it kinda gives me the shivers.

Reviewer: MerryDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100613Chapter: 0
VERY cute! I didn't know harry had curly hair in his younger stages! This has opened a door in my drawing!

~Merry

Reviewer: TheaDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100610Chapter: 0
Its really cute!!!!!!!!1 I have never pictured Harry with curly hair but now I can and he is soooo cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Reviewer: kmc0213Date: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100587Chapter: 0
Wow what a picture. This made me stop and pause- the inclusion of Lily's hand is great. I wanted to point out to you that a baby's head is always going to be bigger and slightly out of proportion- an infant's brain is already developed 75% at birth! So don't you pay attention to those folks saying that his head looks big- its realistic! My favorite part of the picture is the innocent look Baby Harry has- he's looking at his worst fear and he's not crying or hiding. Perhaps this forshadows what is to come? EXCELLENT JOB, thanks for sharing your talent with us mere mortals! ;-)

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100584Chapter: 0
You know, even if the rest of this picture weren't brilliant, I would still love this for the fact that Lily's arm is visible reaching out to her son. My breath caught in my throat when I noticed that brilliant detail.

Nundu, you continue to impress me more and more with each picture, and this is excellent. Very poignant, very realistic, VERY well done.

Reviewer: AgiVegaDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100581Chapter: 0
Sweet, though Harry seems to be a half-Afro-American with that curly hair... perhaps it's just my opinion, though...
I think his head is a bit too big in proportion to his body (especially his legs are small). Otherwise cute pic :) He looks so unknowning, so innocent, not even suspecting what evil Voldiekins wants to do with him... *hugs Harry*

Reviewer: Godrics HollowDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100540Chapter: 0
Oh my, having Lilys hand there (which is beautifully done I might add) is just so disturbing........

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100532Chapter: 0
Oooh, nice touch, Lily's dead hand. Chilling...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100530Chapter: 0
Little Harry is absolutely darling. I love his pudgy hands and the somewhat miffed expression on his face that he can actually hold his mum's wand, probably something he is not allowed to do. The other two hands are so telling; Lilly's is quite graceful while Voledmort's long fingers are positively creepy. I also love the shadowing in the bottom right bottom corner...again creepy!

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100527Chapter: 0
I'm adding this to stick up for Nundu and point out that Harry's a baby and who knows what his hair did then. I was born blond. My hair was fuzz that all stuck straight up for the first year and a half of my life. Now it's all heavy and brown. Harry's hair really stands out because it's the darkest thing in the scene, but I don't think curliness is an issue.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100526Chapter: 0
Nundu! My first impulse is to yell at you for putting Lily's hand there, because it is morbid and disturbs me. But, of course, you are depicting a disturbing scene. And then you have Little Harry having grabbed up her wand... it's like you put forth theories and tell a whole story with this one little picture.

I'll leave the comments on the technical part of it to the artists (I see things funny anyway). But I'm really impressed by how this isn't just a picture.

Reviewer: samDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100524Chapter: 0
great but harry has straight hair

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100500Chapter: 0
This is an absolutely chilling picture, the way Lily's hand leads your eye up to Harry, and then up to the top of the page where the wand is...Lily's hand looks a little small but other than that it's great.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --