The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Lady Ravenclaw
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: vinyl_recordsDate: 2006-01-28
Reviewid: 138963Chapter: 0
There are some gorgeous colors in this, really pretty. I suck at shading... but you don't! Good thing ;)

Reviewer: hahahaveryfunEDate: 2006-01-24
Reviewid: 138833Chapter: 0
*Gasp* Gorgeous! Depictions and drawings of the founders usually bore me for some reason, but this takes the cake. Sooooo many lovely details, Madaline... and that dress! Wow! She reminds me a little of "Violet" from "Shakespeare in Love". :) Wow... It's just awesome/beautiful.

Reviewer: _PhoenixLament_Date: 2006-01-19
Reviewid: 138732Chapter: 0
I really like your picture! It's really detailed and she almost seems alive! I've always thought of Rowena Ravenclaw as a dark haired witch, but your pic really is brill!

Reviewer: siriusly_fishyDate: 2006-01-18
Reviewid: 138672Chapter: 0
yes, agreeing with yourself is easy,
when you know that you are correct
see, her name has RAVEN in it,
so should her hair not comply with et (it)?

~sf:o)

Reviewer: E. RoseDate: 2006-01-14
Reviewid: 138495Chapter: 0
THANK YOU, thank you for making her blonde! Many people don't know that the name "Rowena" is a celtic name, generally meaning "fair haired". Nicely done!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138426Chapter: 0
Thank you, to all who left comments.

My decision to make Rowena Ravenclaw a blonde may be a misinterpretation from one of the Sorting Hat's songs...

*bold Gryffindor, from wild moor,
fair Ravenclaw, from glen,
sweet Hufflepuff, from valley broad,
shrewd Slytherin, from fen.*

According to the Harry Potter Lexicon, Ravenclaw probably lived somewhere in or near Scotland. I took "fair" to mean fair-complected and light-haired. It hit me after reading some of your comments that "fair" also could easily mean "just," since the others are described with character attributes --"bold" Gryffindor, "sweet" Hufflepuff, "shrewd" Slytherin. Oops on me.

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138360Chapter: 0
oh i really like this! i am a big fan of color and the style looks deliberately simplified which is striking. i always pictured raveclaw as being raven-haired but i appreciate that you are striking out on new territory with your own ideas, i've always been an advocate of using the pictures you've had in your head all along rather than those from the movies ore the general concensus.good job, her face is lovely!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138338Chapter: 0
I love the nods to medieval fashion in her dress and hair. And I'm pleased you made the 'academic' of the Hogwarts Four a blonde, too! XD

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: siriusly_fishyDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138328Chapter: 0
i like it and all,
but what i don't get
is why Rowina's blonde
but i guess as of yet,
my word has no sway
in the world of man
but just so you know
when i am the fan (that means i hold sway)
THAT HELGA IS BLONDE
WHILE ROWINA IS TAN!!(which actually means black)

~sf (another loverly poem by me)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --