The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Letter
Review(s): 41

Reviewer: PamelaDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135397Chapter: 0
Wow im going to read the story.

Reviewer: cecilyDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125151Chapter: 0
lovely expression and the emotion is captured very clearly; you can easily imagine what she's feeling. picture could have a bit more definition or contrast though, and why'd ya run it through a canvas filter in photoshop? canvas filters are silly. i'd darken the shadows a bit too. the eyes actually look like they're cracked glass, which was probably not intentional. sorry i'm rambling.

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113349Chapter: 0
She looks so much like JK Rowling... her eyebrows are a bit different, so is her forehead, but the hand up to the wind, brilliant smile just makes me think of this amazing author. ;)

Reviewer: Leaves of AutumnDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108438Chapter: 0
I like this a lot. The background seems to reflect her mood. Her nose is very well done.
I like her hand clutching the letter.
Her eyes are wonderful. Though they don't seem to be focused in the right direction.

-Leaves

Reviewer: kimDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64449Chapter: 0
wow. did you have someone modle for you, she looks so real!

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61247Chapter: 0
awww...happy moment...

Reviewer: Sheila PlickneyDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59199Chapter: 0
wow! So natural. very good.

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56677Chapter: 0
This is a wonderful picture of an emotionally charged moment. Abby fits my mental picture of her, and just looks so joyful - you can almost feel it coming off the page. I'm going to go and read Catherine's version of the letter now, to round off the perfect romantic moment.

Atropos

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50182Chapter: 0
i haven't read the story associated with this, but the picture is amazing anyway. you can see all the laughter, pleasure and love in her eyes. it's incredible!

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2003-06-28
Reviewid: 38805Chapter: 0
nice choice of colours, I like her eyes, they're very well done and beliavable. Even her smile is very lovely :) and I love the details in the hair!

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2003-06-28
Reviewid: 38792Chapter: 0
LOVE IT! The coloring is wonderful. Not exactly how I imagined her, but great nonetheless!

Reviewer: CherylDate: 2003-06-27
Reviewid: 38707Chapter: 0
again... wonderful expession in the eyes, astounding colors and some untold feelings somewhere behind the smile... absolutly delightful

Reviewer: Alley14Date: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36809Chapter: 0
This picture is great and so r the others

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32180Chapter: 0
All hail the victorious idiot grin. Abby has just found it's incontrolable. Believe me, I know.

Reviewer: Anna HattersleyDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31376Chapter: 0
Wow... she looks so happy. Just the way I pictured Abby's reaction, you did a brilliant job. Beautiful.
Then again, if someone like HIM had just pledged undying love to me, I'd have a hard time keeping a smile of my face too... :)

Reviewer: Oscar RodriguezDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29556Chapter: 0
This is a great drawing! I have no criticisms to make, and that's saying something. As an artist myself, I examine drawings a lot more than other people, and this is pretty good.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27924Chapter: 0
Gorgeous! Absoultely gorgeous! I love how you conveyed the feeling of utter joy on her face!

Reviewer: EvaDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26996Chapter: 0
Whoa. You really are a good artist, aren't you? Keep up the good work! I'd like to see more of your characterizations.

Reviewer: googligooDate: 2003-04-04
Reviewid: 26159Chapter: 0
i haven't read the story, but she looks like lily potter

Reviewer: SevenDate: 2003-03-24
Reviewid: 25114Chapter: 0
That's *incredible*, Axelle. Look at her - perfect. So blissful and happy... it's amazing! How do you *do* it? I'm awestruck...

Another great picture. ;)

Reviewer: Hestia569905Date: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24924Chapter: 0
that's really good keep it up

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24372Chapter: 0
Don't know where I was when this was posted, but I've just found it. It is simply lovely, as is all your work. Your use of color continues to amaze me. You do such skilled drawings and the highlights and shading just make them come alive. This is wonderful!

Reviewer: paulinaDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19954Chapter: 0
wowwww, ur drawings are PERFECT

Reviewer: Hermione Look alike and think alikeDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19499Chapter: 0
Listen, This remind me of Hermione when she gets a letter from Ron in Finding Lily.

Reviewer: HermioneDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19489Chapter: 0
rilly good

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19171Chapter: 0
*Sigh* My heart is melting. The look on Abby's face is just priceless; alive with joy and with that sensation of having a secret. You've captured love in its purest form.

Reviewer: Jessica NicoleDate: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19152Chapter: 0
My friend and I were speculating about the perfect way to draw eyebrows. I do think you should have been part of that conversation.

Her hair is beautiful, as is the hand that holds the mysterious letter. You can sense an anxiousness about her.

Reviewer: IamconfusingallofyouDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18026Chapter: 0
Wow! That's really cool! Keep up the good work!

With love and chocolate frogs, Iamconfusingallofyou

Reviewer: SavannahDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17636Chapter: 0
You are just brilliant

Reviewer: NaomiDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15941Chapter: 0
This is beautiful!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15922Chapter: 0
Wow! Such a lovely and luminous Abby!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15201Chapter: 0
This looks extremely real!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15166Chapter: 0
Oh wow! Just...wow! This is so beautiful! What a tribute to Katinka's Abby. I know you must get tired of me saying this, but something about the eyes in every portrait you do is just wonderful. Her smile, and the way she's clutching the letter, it's just perfect. Great job, as always! :)

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15121Chapter: 0
Wow, this is great. Really good job on the coloring. Is it actual watercolor or textured background on the computer? Photoshop maybe? Very nice. :)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15040Chapter: 0
Beautiful at the workshop!

Beautiful here!

You must feel so talented sometimes that you're just going to burst. :)

Catherine

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15034Chapter: 0
Somebody's having WAAAAAAY too much fun with her new Tablet! :D

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15028Chapter: 0
Another truely lovely portrait of human emotion, the eyes and mouth speak volumes! She just makes you smile right along with her! I really like the warm, golden tones and the brushed red background. But I have to say her eyes! Wow, they're the best-they really draw you in! Excellent job, Axelle!

Reviewer: rockyDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14987Chapter: 0
She looks utterly and perfectly happy :) I almost feel bad looking at the picture. It's like intruding on someone's personal, bliss-filled moment.

Her eyes actually *sparkle*! How do you do that? You have a real gift making the eyes seem alive.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14977Chapter: 0
I love the look on Abby's face! Incredibly happy, dazed, with a touch of goofiness. The eyes and smile are beautifully rendered. I especially like this picture because Abby Loomis is a favorite OC of mine and you've drawn her as I envision her.

Another wonderful picture. Your drawings and Lisa Rourke's here on the SQ are ones I look to when I want to get a feel for a character - and I enjoy your OC drawings too!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14976Chapter: 0
I've seen that look before, Axelle - on Mrs. Nonymous. It's wonderful doing something that'll earn that look. You capture it here vividly.

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14960Chapter: 0
*dreamy sigh*

This is just lovely, Axelle. The rose background is very evocative, and I love all the light--on Abby's hair, her face, that wonderful letter. She's the picture of romantic bliss. . . somewhat dazed and disbelieving, but heart-poundingly happy as well. It's her eyes that really capture the moment, though. . . I'd be crying too, in that situation!

*sighs again happily*

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --