The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sorrow
Review(s): 94

Reviewer: CorianderDate: 2006-04-21
Reviewid: 142130Chapter: 0
This is just lovely - I like the shading on Harry's robes and the base of the broom. Sudden outburst while playing quidditch now, eh?

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-01-27
Reviewid: 138942Chapter: 0
This is my favourite of all your drawings tyhat is because you used a white background. In the others when you used the black one yhe drawings arent understandable...
Well anyway congrats on this one

Reviewer: MareishaDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129782Chapter: 0
I loveit

Reviewer: bink4090Date: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129603Chapter: 0
*sob* Poor Harry...No more Quidditch...He looks so lonely. I was so MAD at Umbridge when I read this part in OotP. You captured Harry's emotions really well.

Reviewer: kayeDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125163Chapter: 0
your pice of work is breath taeking

Reviewer: JGDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124411Chapter: 0
Holy cow...that's awesome!
I'm not a big arts type, but I love this picture!

Reviewer: Miss EffieDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124410Chapter: 0
This is such an amazing work of art. You should be so proud of yourself. I love how you just have a small island of grass around Harry, and then the rest is white...it makes him appear so isolated and really adds to the grief of his body language. I'm so glad that you have him taken his glasses off, because I have glasses, and whenever I'm crying or stressed or something, I take them off and rub my eyes, so great job. I'm glad you portrayed him in his Quidditch robes. Wonderful work.

Reviewer: A fan...Date: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124368Chapter: 0
hey...this picture inspired the following. Best wishes :)

Ginny grabbed her broomstick from beside her bed and cheerfully made her way downstairs after breakfast on the last day of school. She fully intended to make the most of the morning when her classmates would be packing and saying their goodbyes. There was one goodbye she had to make by herself this morning. Becoming Seeker for the Gryffendor team this year was not something Ginny had ever expected. Harry had always had that spot, and she liked nothing better than to watch him soaring through the air, looking as happy as she had ever seen him. However, though the circumstances of this tumultuous year, Ginny had indeed landed said Quidditch position. Admittedly, she had loved it, but she knew it would return to its rightful owner come next fall. So today was goodbye. Reaching the oak front doors, she heaved them open and blinked in the summer sunshine. Grinning broadly in true Weasley fashion she swung a leg over Charlie's old Cleansweep and took off into the warm breeze. Without any thought but to take a last lap around the pitch, she soared contentedly towards the stadium. Reaching it, she saw something that made her drift to a stop thirty feet in the air. Tear filled her eyes as she realized what she was seeing. Sitting in full uniform, broomstick in hand on one of the cornerstones of the pitch was an unmistakable figure. Tousled black hair and that figure that Ginny would recognize anywhere…but where were the brilliant green, haunted eyes she loved? Buried in grass stained hands, closed to the world around. Harry held his glasses limply in his fingertips and his broadening shoulders heaved with silent sobs. Never had Ginny seen such raw sadness from her Harry. Anger, yes. Joy, yes. But never crying. Dirty hands and knees, as well as a slight scuffed bit in the grass told of a crash landing nearby. A tear rolled down her cheek as Ginny pictured him taking off happy as she had done, expecting to lose all cares on the earth beneath and then being overcome with this weight of sorrows mid flight and spiraling towards the pitch, blinded by tears. She sobbed slightly herself, overcome with helplessness and a longing to be there next to him, to hold him as he cried himself out. But she knew she couldn't. He would run from her, dry the tears he so needed to cry, maybe even shout at her. But he so desperately needed something. Someone. Unable to watch any longer, Ginny sadly turned and flew back to the school. The walk up to her dorm seemed unreal, the faces and laughter of fellow students seemed hideous and impossible. She curled into a silent ball on her bed, the queries of her roommates unheard. Closing her eyes, Ginny felt a single, hot tear trace its way over her nose and fall onto the pillow.

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123518Chapter: 0
two words for that.....WOW AND BRILLIANT

Reviewer: MelanieDate: 2005-03-26
Reviewid: 117770Chapter: 0
Wow - that's all I can say to this pic! I'd say, it's perfect! And a bit sad.

Reviewer: Tabitha H.Date: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117102Chapter: 0
I must have seen this picture a dozen times and this is the first time I'm reviewing it. It is... I feel like crying myself when I see. Very, very, very well done. It's just... ::sighs::

Reviewer: katieDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116081Chapter: 0
Oh my god, you are an amazing artist!! This is perfect!

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113489Chapter: 0
Aww... Harry was probably flying to try to get his mind off his troubles... poor bloke... ;)

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109076Chapter: 0
Great job! It made my eyes tear up! *tear*

Reviewer: ShardWingDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97576Chapter: 0
Wow. I really, really like this one. You can almost feel his sorrow radiating from the picture! Lovely work;)

~Shard

Reviewer: mioneDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96511Chapter: 0
this is really gorgeous! Thank You!

Reviewer: xxxatomicxxxDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91528Chapter: 0
Wow!
I don't often look at the art work on the Sugar Quill, but I'm glad I've seen this piece. It's amazing.

Reviewer: alexDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89254Chapter: 0
Such a fabulous picture---you capture the emotion of the moment so incredibly well. I can't use enough superlatives to describe this. Well done!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87609Chapter: 0
I've never reviewed artwork before - one word - AMAZING!

Reviewer: hayleyDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87508Chapter: 0
this is good, very good, fantastic. i love how you can see every twig and the way he holds his glasses. 10/10

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85153Chapter: 0
i think you should write a story based on this picture

Reviewer: ChresimosDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80098Chapter: 0
So sad...

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76202Chapter: 0
*chucks Pigwidgeon an Owl Treat* Poor Harry... I always feel compelled to come up with some way to help if someone's upset, but I feel like nothing could really work 'cos Sirius is _dead_. You can't just fix the fact someone's dead. I really hope there is an afterlife of some sort. And that it doesn't care if you steal cookies or can't stand someone or don't believe in it much. Argh, it's hard trying to figure life out!

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74891Chapter: 0
Lovely...Quite amazing...
-Ginny

Reviewer: JudeDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67723Chapter: 0
This is reeeaaaly good picture. I first saw it quite a while agho after I read a story which was based on it - I think I remember it being called Cry with the moon as mentioned below, but it's GONE! disappeared! If anyone by anychance happens to know where it is, could they please reply with a link coz I'd love to read it again! Once again, well done - very imaginitive and original, and very moving - ur a talented artist :)

Reviewer: zusserdizDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65064Chapter: 0
because of these kinds of pics i just have to remember myself that i'm reading a book, not living it (if you don't get it, then i'll let you know it's a compliment).

Reviewer: Her-My-Own-KneeDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61159Chapter: 0
aw. i miss sirius too, harry! we all do! we'll get thru this.


aw i want to hug him. great picture. i forget its a drawing.

Reviewer: Sheila PlickneyDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59252Chapter: 0
he looks like he's trying to rip his face off or something... in grief! yes, of course, in grief. well done. good job. i like it, yes.
;---)

Reviewer: Hope the InnocentDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57790Chapter: 0
Very well done. It captures the feelings quite well.

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53466Chapter: 0
Just read "Cry with the Moon" and HAD to comment on this... ye gods, it's absolutely heartbreaking! All artistic technecalities aside, this picture is just beautiful and conveys so much with its simplicity. Someone give this kid a hug, please. =/

Reviewer: MysticDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53437Chapter: 0
*sigh*...beautiful..just perfect.

Reviewer: KylieDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52233Chapter: 0
Wonderfully drawn. It really pictures Harry's sadness.:(
Rip Padfoot.

Reviewer: hgDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51618Chapter: 0
best ever. no other words.

Reviewer: Julia WeasleyDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51362Chapter: 0
What a moving piece of art. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50757Chapter: 0
Holy crap, it's brilliant!

Reviewer: VanyariaDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48745Chapter: 0
Oh my god - this pic has brought tears to my eyes. It conveys all the feelings and stuff at the end of the book... in one amazing pic. this is so beautiful... poignant... moving...

wow.

Reviewer: BeatrixDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47384Chapter: 0
;__; You've really captured the emotion of sorrow in your picture here. Harry looks so distraught, b/c of the memories the Firebolt brings.

Great shading job btw, particularly with the broom.

Reviewer: Thing1Date: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46694Chapter: 0
You know I love this pic, and I was delighted beyond words to see others were as heartbroken as I was when they saw it. The pose is so tremendously dramatic in its stillness. Just thought you ought to know.

Reviewer: DrieDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46623Chapter: 0
Wow. The simple emotion that your artwork portrays speaks volumes to me. You are truly a talented artist.

Reviewer: AzaeliaDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46600Chapter: 0
Oh my goodness... That just goes beyond words. You're so talented! I think by not showing Harry's face, you made it more sad and beautiful! Excellent work!

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46498Chapter: 0
This is brilliant work,very lifelike and the colour used it great.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46319Chapter: 0
Lovely piece of art, Durayan.

Reviewer: LeopardinaDate: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44824Chapter: 0
This is a truly beautiful image. Without showing his face, you've managed to show Harry losing to his grief. Well done!

May I use it for a live journal icon set? It's going to be comprised of mostly fanart, and this picture is breathtaking. All credit will be given! You deserve it!

Reviewer: WynneDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43811Chapter: 0
Extremely good interpretation of Harry. Most people give him too strong a chin, IMO. Great mood to the piece--most use blue lighting to evoke this sort of mood, but you convey it with daylight and green grass. I like the faintly cloudy greyish background, the glasses hanging off his fingertips... the robes and the texturing... nice pose, and I like how you conveyed Harry's feelings without even showing his face. It's all in the body language.

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41899Chapter: 0
Hi, I've looked at all of your art, and I think you're a REALLY talented artist. Especially this pic, I love how you capture the moment. I hope you draw more!!!

~Grace~

Reviewer: SharazhadDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41854Chapter: 0
O
MY
MERLIN'S
BEARD
This is amazing!!!!!!!!!
YOu are a very talented artist!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ShilpaDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40925Chapter: 0
this is so sad! i love it. can you email me with updates?

Reviewer: Minerva WeapotterngerDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40801Chapter: 0
This is perfectly depicted! Beautiful work. You're amazing! Keep up the great work. I just love it!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40790Chapter: 0
Oh god. It's just perfect. So sad though.

~*Laura*~

Reviewer: PyroDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40708Chapter: 0
Excellent. Exactly how I felt when Rowling was so mean and took Sirius away... (even if I refuse to admit he's really gone... *cough*)

Reviewer: ct_lytsDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40537Chapter: 0
oh my. how sad. great coloring and drawing. so realistic that I want to cry along with him.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40510Chapter: 0
Lovely, lovely work. This is one of those images where no background works perfectly. I keep wonding why no memorial service (even a secret one) for Sirius if he's truly dead? Humans need that ceremony for a reason. Thank you for such an evocative illustration!

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40415Chapter: 0
Omg I almost burst into tears looking at this! I CAN'T BELIEVE SIRIUS IS DEAD!!!!!!

Reviewer: JeszicaDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39959Chapter: 0
OMG, this picture is amazing... I didn't cry one single time while reading OotP, but than I come in here and see this... And I burst out crying! This is like the 7th time I'm checking the pic, but I couldn't get the feeling I get from this into words. I still can't. It's simply... Amazing, in lack of english knowledge for better words. Keep the great work up!

Jesze

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39875Chapter: 0
I keep coming back to this picture. It speaks volumes about what Harry is feeling at the end of OotP. Well done.

Reviewer: LadyAtherDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39871Chapter: 0
Words are not enough.
This is...poignant. Especially considering Harry's gazing out over the Quidditch field, remembering Padfoot seeing him play...things like that...and the Firebolt...
The air of dejection is palpable.
It was right that you chose to portray grieving Harry in his Quidditch uniform. It's just right.
It's lovely.

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39523Chapter: 0
Oooh, this is really good. I love the shading on his Quidditch uniform, and even though you can't see his face, you get a really good idea of the whole feeling of the picture. Gorgeous!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39514Chapter: 0
That's how I feel too.

Catherine

Reviewer: HarryDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39505Chapter: 0
it's really good.

Reviewer: VolkenraiderDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39501Chapter: 0
Strong emotion in a single frame...
Powerful and yet conveying all the tenderness of a young man

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39498Chapter: 0
Very good, but why is he wearing his quidditch uniform?

Reviewer: ShadoDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39491Chapter: 0
This is really good!!!

You should send it to http://www.checkmated.com/

Reviewer: EclectusDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39478Chapter: 0
amazing

Reviewer: ChelseaWeasleyDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39468Chapter: 0
oh, dang...poor harry. very good work, tho.

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39464Chapter: 0
Gah! What a beautiful drawing! My poor Harry. *sniff* He's been through much more than any 15 year old should have been through. *hugs Harry*

Reviewer: Pam RitchieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39443Chapter: 0
I just came from reading Robin's wonderful story and found this. I'm crying again! Beautiful picture that tears my heart out. I just want to take Harry in my arms and hold him. Argh!

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39438Chapter: 0
this is great. this would be exactly how i imagined it

Reviewer: TRoseDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39424Chapter: 0
Wow, this is great. you perfectly portray his emotions. i can completely imagine this happening.

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39404Chapter: 0
*cries* I wanna give him a hug. Poor Harry. Very colorful for such a sad picture. Er...what's he sitting on?

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39400Chapter: 0
Durayan, that's just beautiful. Wonderful detailing and color. Poor Harry (sniff!).

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39374Chapter: 0
Ah, i really like the CG-ing on this one; well done. It sorta seems shifty, with a happy atmosphere (quidditch, green grass) but Harry seems quite sad...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39347Chapter: 0
Wow...this is really powerful. I have never felt sorry for Harry until book five. You have captured the world of hurt he's in...a very powerful image.

Reviewer: Jessica V.Date: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39339Chapter: 0
You've completely captured Harry's greif and sadness...here he seems to have lost his OotP anger for once and actually is 100% sad. poor Harry...but nice work.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39337Chapter: 0
This is incredibly powerful. What a great idea to have him think of Sirius while in Quidditch robes with the broom Sirius gave him. Wow! Perfect thought, perfect emotion.

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39331Chapter: 0
A wonderful, powerful piece.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39323Chapter: 0
You know I love this picture. But what I really love is that he's in his Quidditch Robes. My first thought was...Why? But then when you said he had 13 years of birthday presents on his lap...and I stopped to think about how Quidditch will always bring up memories of Sirius...

Oh man, you really nailed this one, hun. Briliant. Total perfection.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39318Chapter: 0
Wow. This is really very good. The texture ande verything is excellant. Very true to life.

The only question I have is that why is he wearing his quidditch robes? Is it in his 6th year?

Anyway, definetly draw more. I really love it, and I'll probably love your other pics too when you post them(hopefully) :)

Reviewer: JackieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39301Chapter: 0
And that broom... a present...

Reviewer: Asha FaeDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39300Chapter: 0
This is so hearbreaking...You've brought Harry out of the book in this picture. The coloring and shading (Hair, clothes, broom, grass, etc) is wonderful.

Reviewer: KryssyDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39295Chapter: 0
It's beautiful. It captures Harry's emotions spot on from the end of Book Five, and you can actually feel it coming through the drawing. Well done.

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39292Chapter: 0
Hmmm.... We like this, we do. We never could understand those Quidditch uniforms though. The odd-looking shin guards and arm guards (as shown in the movies) have always seemed superfluous to us, as the Bludgers generally seem to aim for the head, not the extremities. One would rather expect to see helmets on the players, what with being 100 feet up in the air, dodging whizzing rogue metal balls and all. And those boots! Can you say, bad '80s rock concert, boys and girls?? This is all no reflection on you, of course. We just happen to think that the movie version of a Quidditch uniform makes the players look like corrugated knights. But we think he looks nicely dejected here. We really do. Kudos.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39269Chapter: 0
Beautiful. The whole posture of Harry's body, the way his face is hidden... you've really captured his emotions.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39266Chapter: 0
Oh my !!
Horrible, can actually feel the tears going up (AGAIN) in my eyes ! Awesome drawing !
will JK let go of him someday ?!
Guess not ...poor Harry.
Poor us !! snif ;o(

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39264Chapter: 0
That's such an emotional picture! I like the fact that his face isn't shown. Really sad. :( I'm touched! Nice job with coloring, too.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39252Chapter: 0
Oh, D! That is one of the most moving pieces I've seen yet. The pose, the hair (tinged grey and weary-looking), and the glasses off and askew were what got me. *sniff* Things are very very bad indeed, and you've conveyed that all so perfectly here. Beautiful work, as always.

Axelle

Reviewer: GequinaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39250Chapter: 0
You just want to go to him and hold him tight in your arms, comfort him..... *sigh* beautiful

Reviewer: GequinaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39247Chapter: 0
*silence*.....WoW, i got goosebumps all over.This is absolutely beautiful!It's beautifully drawn, the emotion is.....WoW!This is the best piece of fanart i ever saw. Well Done !

*goes and looks at the pic for a few more minutes*

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39244Chapter: 0
I gasped when I saw this picture load into my screen. Absolutley gorgeous and heart-wrenching. I love how its composed- so much emotion comes from his pose, even though we can't see his face. I think the fact that he is cradling his Firebolt is utterly poignant. It's as if he tried to play Quidditch to forget, but it only made him remember more. Great portrait of a boy in transition to a man.

Reviewer: SruthiDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39237Chapter: 0
*gasp* I don't know why, but this picture definitely moved me to near-tears. It is one of the most saddening and heart-wrenching things I have ever seen. I love the contrast - Harry can't find peace and happiness even with the thing he loves most in the world...*sniff* You can't see his face, but his inner turmoil is definitely eviden through his body.... Durayan, you touched this picture with a magic beyond imagination. Bravo to you!!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39230Chapter: 0
OH MY!!!! BEAUTIFUL!!! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!! Bookmarking picture, like now!!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39217Chapter: 0
I love the color in this, so vibrant despite the melancholy. Thank you for sharing this beautiful picture. You're right, some things will never be the same...

Poppy :(

Reviewer: TallyDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39216Chapter: 0
This almost made me cry! Fantastic job!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39215Chapter: 0
That's beautiful, Duryan! Just perfect.

Reviewer: VilondraDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39213Chapter: 0
THIS is SOO good! And so true. Harry really would be sad after what happened to him *character death,quiditch,Umbridge, Cho, and still being single* KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

~The Goddess of Darkness~

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --