The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 58

Reviewer: PamelaDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135386Chapter: 0
Your artwork is brilliant.His chin is a little off,but still very good.

Reviewer: DebraDate: 2005-07-18
Reviewid: 127348Chapter: 0
this scene is so painful, maybe the most painful in the series. you've done it well.

Reviewer: sorryDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125223Chapter: 0
he looks like a baby. his mouth is...

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118479Chapter: 0
A bit like Frodo in lord of the rings! If ya know what I mean when gandalf dies! So sad!

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113348Chapter: 0
Yes, yes, and yes again! It's perfect, he looks a lot like Daniel Radcliffe from the movie! Those perfect eyes, disbelieving at what is going on before him... gosh, that is marvellous. :D :D ;)

Reviewer: Leaves of AutumnDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108433Chapter: 0
Hi!

Harry's distraught appearance is good. His glasses and scar are nice. The fabric on Lupin is great.

The shadows on Harry's face don't flow very well. Though he is contracting his eyebrows and pinching them together they look a little flat. THe highlight around his mouth looks weird. Where is that light coming from? If it is a reflection apon protruding features his nose ought to share more of the glare.

-Leaves

Reviewer: EldawenDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 83915Chapter: 0
"Gandaaaalf!"
Sorry but he kinda_looks_like_frodo. with glasses. *shrugs* Its good though.

Reviewer: kimDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64444Chapter: 0
wow. That has so much emotion! you can see the hartbreak on his face & in his eyes. I wish i had your talent!

Reviewer: Solaris IsaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64108Chapter: 0
Whoa, I can really see the fear in his eyes. Very emotional.

Reviewer: Hermione BaudelaireDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63646Chapter: 0
He looks like he has a milk mustache.

Reviewer: 8701Date: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63580Chapter: 0
He looks like Joey from 'Friends'

Reviewer: 8701Date: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63579Chapter: 0
Eww... Not your best work.

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61243Chapter: 0
as i said, all of your paintings have dark eyes. i know harry's eyes can get drak, but there green, not black...keep that in mind. really should read the british edition. im american...get the american eddition. i need the british...i wish they didn't change any part of the book...ive never pictures harry so scared...so..helpless. lovely work

Reviewer: JodieDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59877Chapter: 0
OMG this is some drawing. wAHHHHHHHHHHhh i miss him so much

Reviewer: Sheila PlickneyDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59197Chapter: 0
wow, very severe.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59170Chapter: 0
Whoa--that is so good. You SO captured the pain he's feeling. Awesome job.

Reviewer: xandraDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57338Chapter: 0
hahahahahahahhahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahha!sorry, i just read "sumguy"'s review and it made me laugh so much! 'why does he have a milk moustache?!' i love it! you've managed to capture the look of panic, fear and grief on Harrys face, as well as letting us know what he was drinking a split second before. hehe

Reviewer: sumguyDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55816Chapter: 0
why does harry have a milk moustache???

Reviewer: BlahDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50859Chapter: 0
I think the chin might b too thin. other than that, it looks good! You've really captured the panicked look on Harry's face!

Reviewer: Clavicle DumplingDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50040Chapter: 0
LOVE the milk mustache.

Reviewer: Sarah L.Date: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49863Chapter: 0
Wow. you really captured how he must have been feeling at the moment Sirius died. THis is a really great picture.

Reviewer: mage 360Date: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47844Chapter: 0
Love his eyes they are perfect for what the seen is. They have this kind of wild fear and you can just tell the emotions he's feeling. Also like how you made his hair. You can really tell that there is a draft and also it's wildness adds to that fear and makes the pic. more forboding. Good job!!!

Reviewer: Gods SoilderDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47794Chapter: 0
Bravo! I must say I do like. The way your light source and the motion of the picture (AKA the hair movement)totally contradict and do not throw off the picture is astounding. Overall nice work however I do think the picture would be perfect if it did not have the light mustach.

Reviewer: MicheleDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47575Chapter: 0
Bit of a "Got Milk?" moustache going on, isn't there? Ah well, its nice anyway

Reviewer: Sirius BlackDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47452Chapter: 0
Harry's head's a bit small, and I'd kinda' like t see sirius, (I'm a Sirius Black fanatic, as you can see, just from my name,) but in other words, fine!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46751Chapter: 0
This is really good work--first thing I noticed is that Harry looks like Joey from Friends? Does anybody else see it?!

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46566Chapter: 0
This is really nice. You can see the pain in his eyes, not everyone can capture that and you did it rather nicely!

Reviewer: Jessica NicolDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46448Chapter: 0
I agree with the painfully grieving expression on Harry's face.

He is not dead.

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45787Chapter: 0
Not to be trite, but pictures really are worth a thousand words--especially when words become superfluous and an expression says all you really need to know.

Having said that, I'll try to do my best here :) It's obvious that what's happened hasn't sunk in yet--Harry's face is the quintessence of horror and disbelief. You've also captured the sense of mindless, instinctive movement here--Harry's mouth opening just before he cries out, his hair swinging forward as he strains against Remus, those spasmatically clenched fingers.

The eerie green of the background--reminiscent of the portrait you did of Tom Riddle--adds to the inherent horror of the picture, with all the emotion that's bound up in it. But it's his eyes--in the center of the picture--combined with that caption, which so perfectly express what every one of us felt upon reading that. It hurts to look at him.

Reviewer: JonDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44584Chapter: 0
lol VERY GOOD, quite dark, but i can c the reasoning behind it, considering the mood of the setting.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43265Chapter: 0
Wow, that's amazing! I wish I could do that...it's definitely a powerful scene, and you captured it beautifully!

Reviewer: Starling94Date: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43069Chapter: 0
Oh man. You really know how to draw the best scenes!

GOod Job I wish I could do that.

Reviewer: ronaldorseDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41931Chapter: 0
o goodness. this is hauntigly real. The emotion in his eyes is so desparate and unbelieving, its unnerving. amazing pic, i am almost in tears here.

Reviewer: daniela pDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41883Chapter: 0
it's good...but...harry's face is messed up. his mouth is werid...hehe. otherwise it's rpetty okay.

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41700Chapter: 0
Wonderful. I love the expression on Harry's face. You captured the emotion of that part of the book wonderfully.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41004Chapter: 0
Oh, this is fantastic! The shock and grief on his face are so palpable. Gorgeous work, as usual.

Reviewer: GigiDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40939Chapter: 0
I disagree with Sarah (who, by the way, clearly can't spell). To me this doesn't seem like an attempt at realism, but more about an expression of the raw emotion of the moment. Good job hey.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40935Chapter: 0
I don't like it. His nose look weird, flattish, crooked, idunno. His chiin and mouth seem off too. I must say, however, that I do like his eyes. I think they animate his feelings nicely.

Reviewer: Lady LupinDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40934Chapter: 0
*sob* So much emotion! This was the bit where Sirius' death really hit me...the way Remus was described as he held Harry back.
I love the way you just show these hands on the edge of the pic, keeping him back. The look in his eyes is so vivid!

Reviewer: KatinkDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40917Chapter: 0
I started to tear up just reading the caption of this. What a myriad of emotions on Harry's face -- shock, disbelief, grief... Impressive, too, is the emotion in Lupin's clenched fingers. The poor man just lost his best friend AGAIN. :(

Excellent work!

~Katinka

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40876Chapter: 0
What a breathtaking picture! This puts all the attention squarely on Harry's reaction in a most effective way. The shock and grief in his face is amazing. You have really put us right in the action!

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40848Chapter: 0
So moving- the expression is perfect. Exactly how I pictured Lupin holding him back...sniff....

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40788Chapter: 0
Terribly haunting, but wonderfully drawn.

Good job!
~*Laura*~

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40696Chapter: 0
You captured the pure fear in his face.

Reviewer: PyroDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40672Chapter: 0
This is nice... But there's less anger and more sadness on Harry's face than I pictured when I read it, and it looks like he has a milk mustache. Moustache? His eyes are chilling, though; they look so distraught and real... *shudder* Brings back that sadness from reading about Sirius, even if I refuse to admit he's really gone. (I KNOW he is, but I refuse to believe or admit it. He was the COOLEST character!) But it's a good picture; all that emotion pierces your heart.

Reviewer: CharyDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40657Chapter: 0
Aww, that's so sad - you've really captured the pain and desperate terror in his face, especially in the eyes. I like the details of the amphitheatre steps behind him, it looks just as I imagined it, and the arms preventing him from dashing into the arch to save him. A wonderful picture, but it's such a sad subject I feel like I shouldn't be as impressed with it as I am!

Reviewer: DanDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40614Chapter: 0
I like it, it really shows the emotion expressed by Rowling in the book. The light on his face does make him look like he has a milk mustache, though...

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40611Chapter: 0
Wow. very good. you know, i'm STILL in denial that sirius is .

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40520Chapter: 0
Wow, poor young man! He looks well and truly distressed. Is he standing against Remus? Those must be the hands of others holding him back (and a good thing, too, it would have been a shorter story if he'd plunged through the veiled arch after Sirius!) Very nicely done!!

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40483Chapter: 0
Wow. You captured his look of angry shock brilliantly. Great job.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40466Chapter: 0
Wow. What emotion you've managed to express in those eyes. Very well done.

Reviewer: Minerva WeapotterngerDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40454Chapter: 0
Wow! Great work! You can see the agony in his face. His face looks a little flat, but the emotion still comes through. Good work!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40434Chapter: 0
This is a stunning image of the impact of Sirius' death on Harry immediately. You've done an amazing job of capturing the moment---and with typical style! I like how you focused this image specifically on Harry, and his eye carry the emotional message perfectly. Very nicely drawn!!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40433Chapter: 0
Good. Very Frodo-ish. It reminds me of the scene in LOTR when Gandalf "dies". Is that what you were going for? It's a nice parallel if you were.

Reviewer: ElwenDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40410Chapter: 0
*sniffle* I'm still in denial too, Harry, so fear not. This is a great picture of how Harry must have looked. His eyes show the emotions so well... Great job!

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40390Chapter: 0
TELL me this isn't Frodo in the FotR movie, being dragged away from the bridge by Boromir after Gandalf falls.
I'm sayin'! It's the exact same expression.

Speaking of which, the expression is awesome. His mouth seems a little crooked, but you've got the horror, the anguish....the "OMFG!"

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40388Chapter: 0
In a word... WOW! The horrified, stricken look on Harry's face is like a punch to the gut.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40387Chapter: 0
OH my God! Well, I expected this scene since you told me about the picture, but not like THAT! Not the face close-up. Not looking into the eyes of someone so shocked and hurt and confused and probably going through yet another change of dementor-prompted memories...
Insanity

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --