The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 71

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137930Chapter: 0
People really don't know how to capture Missy Luna here, so I was surprised when I saw this pic. Big eyes, dirty blonde hair, wand behind her ear for safekeeping....
I am not a big fan of this photoshop, or whatever the bloody hell it is, but you did great with it.
LizzardPhobia

Reviewer: PamelaDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135384Chapter: 0
Very nice.Will you please draw some R/H ones PLEASE!I m a BIG R/H!

Reviewer: meDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125222Chapter: 0
good picture. quite funny eyebrows. i didn't think she would look like this. but it makes sense. eyebrows a bit bushy.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120897Chapter: 0
I'm really not sure about the mouth and that bit around the nose. But the cheeks are all right, and the eyes are very good. Lucid, indeed.

Reviewer: ksfdjagrfqywagflsaguhDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116475Chapter: 0
r those her boobs?

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108528Chapter: 0
I Love this piece of Luna, but I could have sworn she had blue eyes.... I'm not sure if JKR actually says this... I can't find my copy of Ootp.. She looks fine with the brown, but the blue make her look more... crazy... I don't know. Thank you for taking the Time to read this.

Reviewer: Leaves of AutumnDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108431Chapter: 0
Hi!

I like the subject a lot. I haven't seen too many Luna's in a while. The upsidedown magazine is hilarious. Perfect. The wand behind the ear, is very Luna-ish. The scene outside adds a lot, even if it is in the background. I like her lips, a pondering smile.

I think her hair looks a bit coarse, and so do her eye lashes and eyebrows. Her eyes are not how I imagined them. The colour is so dark that she looks very focused, here on earth. Maybea softer grey/silver would give her a more mysterious look. Her nose, looks a bit long and without much curve.

-Leaves

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108253Chapter: 0
Awesome pic!! You have talent!!

Reviewer: m spiritDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105172Chapter: 0
Why is her face all smudgy? Was this part of your story?
It's obvious you tried to give Luna that dreamy-like quality she's known for, but sad to say you failed. She also looks like a man in drag. What are supposed to be her knees look like skin-colored miffins, if you get my drift. Do I sound a bit harsh? Sorry. You are talented, and yet you don't give every piece of work your best shot. It's a let-down.

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75711Chapter: 0
I love it! So nice of an interpretation!
-Ginny

Reviewer: LinneriaDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73866Chapter: 0
Cute! :) You draw beautifully!

Reviewer: Beka O'KelleyDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70898Chapter: 0
WOW! This really is amazing!!(like always) I wish Icould be this good!!! It really brings out "The Luna".

Reviewer: ColeDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63131Chapter: 0
Looks kinda... guyey, her eyes look like that of a mans eyes. Reminds me of an elf... Heh heh... Otherwise, it's cool. :)

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61241Chapter: 0
ive just noticed...all of your paintings have dark myserious eyes. i love them. but wasn't the mermaid blue eyed? and luna? isn't she? if not, correct me.. i know so many blue eyes( including mine ) that i get cunfuzzled. if you don't know/think so, blue eyes can mysterious too. you just have to put a little sparkle. mysterious doesn't have to be dark..it can be light. keep that in mind for future paintings. other wise, just how i pictured luna, excpet, i didn't think her eyes would be so deep-set. or so dark under the eyes. love it...really, what more can i say?

Reviewer: KCDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60202Chapter: 0
i think your spacial dimension in this picture needs a little work! Its not an easy thing to draw someone with their knees tucked under their chin like that. Or if she's leaning on her wrists, they look enormous! i like her face tho

KC

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59169Chapter: 0
Wow. That's really good! I love that the Quibbler is upside down, and that you can actually see the print. Nice touch with the knees folded up. Good work!

Reviewer: Luna Lovegood LoverDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58984Chapter: 0
This is great! Did anyone notice the beginning of the 'Sirius Black—Villain or Victim?' quote on the left of the 'Clarimonde van der Witte: "Lockhart was my love slave"' qoute?

Reviewer: *Meows rudely at questioner* Me!Date: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58982Chapter: 0
Okay, this is now officially my new idea of Luna's looks. This pic is GREAT!!!!

Reviewer: AmberDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58271Chapter: 0
Wow! This is EXACTLY how I pictured Luna Lovegood! Finally, someone has captured her slightly mad gaze! You are very talented!

Reviewer: xandraDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57339Chapter: 0
brilliant, exactly like i pictured her. poor luna tho, shes been stabbed in the side of the head with a pencil. ouch!

Reviewer: Anna MiltonDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54673Chapter: 0
This is a gorgeous picture. You managed to capture Luna's expression perfectly and I like what you did with her hair and face. The wand and the upside-down Quibbler were nice touches. Some very well done artwork.

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53152Chapter: 0
You've refused to make Luna too pretty, while investing her with a wonderful mix of spaciness and intensity. And I love the fact that most of your portraits have *backgrounds*--they're not just about the subject, but the subject in some context. The scene in the Hogwarts Express window even has the slightly blurred look of a landscape glimpsed in passing from a train. And what's that headline in "The Quibbler"--"Clarimonde van der Witte: 'Gilderoy Lockhart was my Love Slave'"? <giggles>

Reviewer: IrylDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51147Chapter: 0
I'd think she'd look a little goofier in general . . . As it is, she's very pretty in a chic sort of way. And are those her hands or her knees? I would assume knees, because she otherwise couldn't hold her magazine . . . But then it's a slightly awkward position, especially if she's wearing a skirt.

Reviewer: kenaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50072Chapter: 0
good

Reviewer: hmmmmDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50068Chapter: 0
I know that is her knees, but it looks more like bloated wrist stumps. Like she had her hands amputated and is holding them up for all to see. The magazine looks good though.

Reviewer: Jessica V.Date: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49626Chapter: 0
This is a good portrayal of Luna Lovegood, but there isn't enough depth in the colouring of Luna's face, and i pictured her a bit more kooky and dreamy looking (or maybe this could be when shes thinking hard). I like the magazine article though! It's funny.
THE NEXT ISSUE
Clarimonde Van Der Witte:
"Lockhart was my love slave"
That made me smile.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48490Chapter: 0
WHOA. O.O *is made speechless by quality of artwork*

Reviewer: JKEDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48470Chapter: 0
very well done.
i luv how u did the quibbler!
this pic iz really well drawn!!!
keep up the great work!

~JKE

Reviewer: ShieldmaidenDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48469Chapter: 0
Wow! Well, I thought lots of other Luna art was good, but this wipes the floor with them. This is... amazing! I love it! Thanks!

~Shieldmaiden~

Reviewer: kayDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48437Chapter: 0
very good, and in the pic, she does look a bit loony, don't she? lol!

Reviewer: kally*starrDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48078Chapter: 0
Vonderful! I love the Lockhart thing by the way! (Anyone catch that? heh heh.)

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47955Chapter: 0
to creepy

Reviewer: Sirius BlackDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47450Chapter: 0
cool how realistic

Reviewer: fo fa fa fiDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46820Chapter: 0
ooooooooooooh i like it

Reviewer: MellDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46779Chapter: 0
her nose is VERY strange x_X otherwise good pictuer, kepp it up

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46289Chapter: 0
SHE ROX MY SOX !

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46236Chapter: 0
My word, dear. 34 reviews in two days? That must be something of a record! I *told* you you have a fan club :)

Well, this certainly has the signature look of your work--the beautiful, expressive eyes, the intimacy of the subject's closeness, the dreamy background, the feeling that a moment has been captured without losing any of its emotion or movement. I love the trees whizzing by in the window and Luna's gaze, suddenly sharp. You've done a beautiful job with the texture of her hair, and I like how you convey multidimensionality with the edges of color we see in the magazine and all the shadowing (even if it hides things we want to see! Lockhart Clarimonde's love slave??? Hee! :D) And Luna's pose is so evocative of her personality, with her knees drawn up against her and magazine held close--wrapped up in her own little world, but aware of what's going on at the same time.

Lovely, lovely job, as usual :)

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46232Chapter: 0
Perfect! Those big brown eyes and not-quite-clean hair are exactly what I pictured, as well as that "your inferiority bores me" look that a lot of nerds get -- I've been guilty of it myself many times! And are those her knees tucked up under her chin? Darling!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46153Chapter: 0
"...Lockhart was my love slave..."
That made me laugh so hard I got hiccups.

Your colors are so vibrant! And I love the intense expression in Luna's eyes. Every time I see this picture I find new things to admire.

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46145Chapter: 0
I love the sparkle in her eyes, the blur of the trees outside the window, the wand behind her ear.

But most of all... I love what's coming up in the next issue of the Quibbler. ;p

Reviewer: RemiDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46142Chapter: 0
Wow, she's pretty... SHe doesn't look looney!

Reviewer: GengiDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46135Chapter: 0
She has a bit to foxy of eyes for my taste for Luna.... ^^; But it's really good!!!
:^)
Nice job with the magazine! ^ ^

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46130Chapter: 0
Another wonderful picture!! I really love what you've done with her eyes - they look like they could express that wide-eyed dreamy look we read about in the book, but here they look clear and full of some kind of intent. The wand behind her ear is a great touch!!

Reviewer: ShimmerDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46129Chapter: 0
Oooh! I love this picture! She looks so idignant! (I wish I could spell) I mean, I just love her expression! Great Great Job!

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46125Chapter: 0
I really like this picture of Luna. She seems both normal and weirdly mysterious. I also love the small view of the upside down magazine. I want to read what she is reading now!

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46079Chapter: 0
*I like the way U can C out the window a bit, and how U put the thing about C. v. d. W. on the cover of the Quibbler. Rock on!*

Reviewer: c.gDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46045Chapter: 0
ooooh...this is REALLY good. Looks just like Luna.

Reviewer: Minerva WeapotterngerDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46014Chapter: 0
Great pic! Love her eyes!

Perfect Luna!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46003Chapter: 0
wow.... I have viewed all your pictures, and I am shocked at the realizism! These must have taken you hours, even days to complete! This particular one of Luna is spectacular!! Such detail on the hair and eyes! I love it!! ^.^ Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46000Chapter: 0
Wow, *really* lovely portrait!! I really like your rendition of Luna being 'alert and with-it'. She looks formidable (and that's how I figured she'd be when motivated). And... whose love slave?? Can't quite read all the upside-down text, darn it. But it's perfect!!

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45990Chapter: 0
Very nice. I love the detail you have given not only her eyes but the Quibbler she is reading. She truly looks like a person who just doesn't care what people think of her.

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45987Chapter: 0
That's very good! It seems so real. I love the Quibbler and Luna's wand. Lovely!

Reviewer: demetraDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45973Chapter: 0
Wow its soo good and I am glad somebody did something other than make her a psychotic freak you actually gave her a more normal image!And I LOVE it!

Reviewer: KynaDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45957Chapter: 0
wow, this is beautiful. I wish I was artistically inclined

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45937Chapter: 0
She's really exotic and I love her expression. The magazine certainly caught my eye! I like the composition.

Reviewer: NarfySnapeDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45934Chapter: 0
she's beautiful!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45931Chapter: 0
Wow, she is something - angry, pretty, dreamy - all at the same time. Hee, a bit too pretty, or she would look like me in High School! But you definitely give her more personality that most kids at Hogwarts would credit her with!

Reviewer: RusselaDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45928Chapter: 0
I Love the picture it is so cool!!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45926Chapter: 0
This is a beautiful picture! Luna's eyes are striking and accusing, and if I were Hermione, I think I'd be shutting up, too.

Reviewer: CharleneDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45906Chapter: 0
Wow, she's too pretty! But this stuff is amazing compared to mine, so I'm not really in the position to criticize. Great expression, though. The wand in the hair must now be a trademark of Luna's! The magazine looks v. realistic.

Reviewer: MicheleDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45900Chapter: 0
She doesn't look quite crazy enough, but still, very good

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45896Chapter: 0
Interesting color shading on the face. I like all of the yellow/gold tones to her complexcion. She looks a little older than I imagine her, but the hair is perfect; dirty blond and scraggly. :)

Reviewer: EurydiceDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45892Chapter: 0
Ooooh. I love it! Eyes, nose, and hair especially. Really a very lovely and intriguing picture.

Reviewer: Pickle PrincessDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45884Chapter: 0
::laughs insanely:: I just realized after reading your other reviews that the front says Clairmonde van der Witte: "Lockhart was my love slave". LOL

Reviewer: Pickle PrincessDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45883Chapter: 0
Oh my goodness! ::grins wldly:: I LOVE IT! That is so Luna-esque. I especially like how you have the pencil behind one ear, and her hair falling in her face on the other side. I have no clue why, I guess it just adds to the picture. And the look on her face is priceless. Again, lovely work. :oD

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45867Chapter: 0
She's gorgeous! She even looks a little dreamy even though she's peeved. And the cover of the Quibbler- priceless;) Great color, great technique, great everything.

Reviewer: LolitaDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45864Chapter: 0
"Lockhart was my love slave" just too funny!

Reviewer: AriellaDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45858Chapter: 0
Beautiful picture. Your artwork is fantastic.

Reviewer: MheraDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45838Chapter: 0
Not quite how I pictured her, but a very good job nonetheless. Very funny quote on the Quibbler. I can only guess that there is a "Lock" before that "hart?" Hehe :)

Reviewer: AshleighDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45830Chapter: 0
Very nice picture. One of the best I've seen of Luna. I imagined her hair to be a bit more blonde-ish than that, but otherwise, a wonderful picture :)

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45826Chapter: 0
I think it is a very good picture, i thought she would look a bit more scruffy though. But it is a very lovely picture.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --