The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Andromeda Black
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: JestinDate: 2006-04-08
Reviewid: 141766Chapter: 0
Hey, I like your use of colouring, but the eye and whole facial postition looks a bit offish, as well as the shoulder blade, which is huge! You did the hair well, although my only adive would be to see the hair as a 'whole' object, not as indiidual strands, and employ shadow as such. Nice work though, and keep trying!

Reviewer: InferiOrchestraDate: 2006-01-22
Reviewid: 138792Chapter: 0
Very nice, although Andromeda is looking rather thin...

Reviewer: Kam904sDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126454Chapter: 0
Interesting use of color

Reviewer: myronDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122033Chapter: 0
its nice and all but her shoulder blade creeps me out-everything else is good tho except the arm and waist

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99081Chapter: 0
That is a good drawing. Keep up the good work;) Kudos!

Reviewer: oyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94028Chapter: 0
what's the giant line running down her back? awkward.

Reviewer: KraziKariDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81724Chapter: 0
This just scares me. I love the drawing, but our French Teacher looks like that. The face, it resembles her so much. She got fired after admitting to a teacher that she uses 'crack' and just looking at the picture reminds me of her. [This happened a week ago] It's the face. How the lips are. She always used to purse her lips like that. The hairstyles the same. The face, too, only not the eyes. Her eyes was hard to see as she always had hair blocking her face once in a while. [Turns out she made us six lessons behind and our exam comes up in two weeks!]

I love it, still.

I must go study.

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74080Chapter: 0
Interesting take!!!!
-Ginny

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69465Chapter: 0
I really like the style of it.. its not that stupid fake chinease character style, i havent looked at the rest of ur art so if u have that, i sincerely apologize

Reviewer: LindseyDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68705Chapter: 0
I very rarely stop to "critic" art but I'm avoiding hw, so I'm going to stall as much as possible. I also greatly admire this picture and I think with some helpful, friendly advice, it could be even more stunning.

You show a great amount of natural, raw talent. But your bordering inbetween abstract and realistic. You should definitly attempt some abstract or surreal painting, but I think you were aiming for a realistic painting so I'm going to give you some advice.

NOTE: I do not meant to offend you, I really am trying to help, I think you have a lot of talent!

You should work on your proportions....

Her arms are too skinny, dare is say, seemingly "anorexic." Maybe you should add some "meat." But they are perfect shape.

Although it is common for women to not have an hourglass figure, you may have overexaggerated the "straight lines" so try to indent at the waist and decrease the *ahem*...buttox...size.

Also, the shoulder blade is too long. I agree wit "Not Alice", it may not entirely be necessary to draw it at all. But if you would like to keep it, just decrease the size and don't make the lines so dark. The shoulderblade is not a prominent body part. Try to shade it so it "melts" into the back.

These are all easy mistakes to make though seeing as how from the perspective she is being drawn, it is a difficult position to capture. I love her face, her hair and stance. The dress is gorgeous.

I hope I have helped you and keep up the good work!

Lindsey

Reviewer: AttyDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67636Chapter: 0
I LOVE the coy smile, like she knows something and she's not gonna tell.

It's very nice in a cruel beauty way.

Reviewer: I know Emma Watson's username on www.neopets.com!Date: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67188Chapter: 0
it's jellogrl31

Reviewer: CriticDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67109Chapter: 0
I think that the shoulder blade needs help, and her waist is a little big, but otherwise bravo! This is perfect, as it shows Andromeda in a good light. I like this

Reviewer: KatrionaDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67061Chapter: 0
Wow, beautiful drawing, I love the back on the top and the texture of the hair.

Reviewer: i hate this!Date: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67020Chapter: 0
bad nose, lips, shoulder blades, eyes, dress. good: uh...NOTHING!

Reviewer: Not AliceDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66979Chapter: 0
I am not an art expert, but that shoulder blade needs help, actually just leave it out, her back doesn't need it. Her waist also looks too fat for as thin as her arms are. I like her face though and you can draw blond hair really well, the shadings awesome.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66908Chapter: 0
She really looks like someone who could be a sister to Narcissa, but she has a kindness and approachability to her that Narcissa lacks. I especially like the shading and tones in her hair. :)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66871Chapter: 0
Wow! I think this is your loveliest yet! And I like this style you have of the impressionistic backdrops. You're really quickly mastering that tablet, aren't you?

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66815Chapter: 0
She looks a bit like Miranda Otto playing Eowyn, dressed differently of course. :D A very nice drawing!

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66805Chapter: 0
this would be awesome except i think you messed up with her shoulder blade a bit right? everything else is awesome.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --