The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Surprise Kiss
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: Natalie R.Date: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131825Chapter: 0
Awww, they are sooo cute together! Great drawing;I just love the idea! Awesome job!

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 108999Chapter: 0
I love this pic...but for some reason, I imagine Lily slapping James after...oh well, I'm in an extremely weird mood right, bear with me! :)

Reviewer: Wendy Aurora Milificent Alice MulanDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92332Chapter: 0
it looks like Harry's giving Ginny mouth-to-mouth resessitation...can't even spell the bloody word but u get the idea...

Reviewer: Weasel KingDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92142Chapter: 0
Well, im off to read THAT fic! what a cool pic! yay P. Kate!

~wk

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90317Chapter: 0
Maggie, I've put instructions on how to find it lower down in this review thread. Just scroll down.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90165Chapter: 0
I love this picture could you tell me where "Shes More" story is? like what website because i adore lily and james and i wish i could find more storys
thanks

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87686Chapter: 0
Wow.. she really does look surprised.

Ahem.. I can't help but notice her hand looks like it's pushing her robe away.. and her leg looks bare.

Okay I'll stop.

James is a bit thicker than I imagined but I liked the red tones in his hair. And the shading.. eek, I want your shading powers!

Reviewer: JillDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82834Chapter: 0
LOVE the expression on Lily's face!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82733Chapter: 0
i like your stuff a lot, it's totally cute, but this one kind of creeps me out.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81536Chapter: 0
Well, I personally don't think they look fat. Just... very shiny ;). Well, besides James's too thick neck.
Thanks anyways, Adele for the review! ^_^
The brown streaks are only there because I think I sketched it first in red colored pencil I think, and didn't go over it in black well enough. Oh well. I did this a long time ago.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81490Chapter: 0
Man, I could really use an "edit" button right about now.

Obviously, I meant "James". Oopsy doopsy. Man, I'm sounding like those girls I babysat tonight.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81489Chapter: 0
What's wrong with being fat? A little pudge is healthy.

I think it's lovely, and look on their faces are priceless. But I don't know what to think about those brown streaks in Harry's hair.

Reviewer: LehaDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80676Chapter: 0
I don't much care for it. They both look fat, and Harry's body is in an especially odd position. I would say slim down Ginny's cheaks, and then give Harry a makeover.

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79729Chapter: 0
Hello,

Another great drawing Annie. Love it. I don't think that it looks violent at all ... looks like you really do have a love for shiny hair. Yet in this picture I love it! I really love how Lily's hair came out. Although I normally pictured her with the more burgandy (spelling?) kind of hair but this looks great too. Now on to the annoying comments.

-James's Hair; I would give him a lower hair line because it almost looks like he is going bald in this.
-James's Forehead; Why are there wrinkles on his forehead?
-Lily's Skirt; I would lower that a bit. It looks like she has nothing on underneath.

Over all a great image. I love the look of surprize on Lily's face.

-Cat

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76824Chapter: 0
dd, that's just inappropriate and rude and I'm going to report you.
Lady M, thanks for the constructive criticism, it's always helpful. James's fingers are bent in this, and that's Lily's leg, because her robes are curling back and her skirt underneath is ridiculously short :). I didn't really realise it looked like that when I was drawing it.

/switching veins/ Sheesh people, it's a *surprise* kiss! He's grabbing her and kissing her, so no wonder it looks a little violent!

Sigh. I don't know why I'm defending myself on my review board, it's not like the rude people are going to come back.

Reviewer: ladymDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76513Chapter: 0
Oops, was just reading the rest of the reviews for this one and found out how to find the Princess Kate character. Am off to go follow your vague instructions and hunt this fic down!
see ya on the flip side (*snort*)
~ladym~

Reviewer: ladymDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76512Chapter: 0
Love Lily's expression on this one too! I wanted to read the fic this is based on (I was of course inspired by your picture) but I couldn't find it here on the SQ. Is it on ff.n or where? I'd forgotten about it until I came back to look at this again, and now it's like one of those things where you won't rest until you remember it... except I'm not trying to remember it, I'm trying to figure it out. That's okay though.
Two Constructive Criticism's/questions-
1. What's that flesh colored thing down at the bottom of the picture by Lily's hand?
2. James's hair looks kind of streaky/funny looking, and his fingers look a bit too short. Unless it's because they're bended. I don't really know. That's okay though.

~**Jyl**~

Reviewer: okay....Date: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73577Chapter: 0
don't draw kissing. I love the dancing picture but this ones weird.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73522Chapter: 0
Thank you for the mucho helpful review, Talking Purple Rabbits. I agree with everything you said, especially about the proportion issues- I still haven't quite gotten the hang of figures. I hadn't realised about Lily's leg, but I see what you mean now- she would have to be wearing quite a short skirt! I guess I have a subconscious thing about that because I dressed up as Hermione this year and accidently bought a skirt that was far too short for her ^_^. "Who wears short skirts? -Lily wears short skirts!"

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73446Chapter: 0
where is 'preincess kate'? i dont see her name...

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73094Chapter: 0
Oh, I LOVE that story! Am always ready to meet another Princess Kate fan!

You've captured this moment beautifully, that is the exact expression I imagine Lily having. :)

As for the picture itself, I have a few critiques. The first is...did you really draw their uniforms that short? because her leg (and I think his as well) is showing, which seems rather indecent for a wizarding school in the 1970s... as for technique, there is something a bit off about James' head...either his forehead is a little too deeply set (like a Neanderthal) or his neck is too thick, or it's a combination of both. Either way, it makes him look rather odd. You've also used maybe a wee bit too much shading on their skin, making them look kind of like they've been exposed to too much sun, which wouldn't happen much in Scotland, I shouldn't think. :) Also, I think James' fingers on his left hand need to be a bit longer.

Then again, it is quite a lovely drawing, I especially like the robes. (even if they're cut too short :)

~TPR

Reviewer: sveltskyeDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73012Chapter: 0
I *heart* you, willlupinsiriuslylovesme!!! Hee hee... now who could that be?

Lupin/Ewan McGregor pics coming up (But no, he looks like Christian Bale!!)

Reviewer: Will's GirlDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73010Chapter: 0
CRAZINESS!!! I love it ooooooh sveltskye you're soooo amazing!!!!!!!! It reely reminds me of them but, siriusly, why don't you just draw Lupin/Ewan McGreggor look-alikes???? This would be a MUCH better use of your time. But, yes, I think it's quite FABulous.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73007Chapter: 0
doesn't matter-

go to the Third Year Summer part of the SQ forums, and look in the Empty Classroom in a thread called "Shipper Fic Recommendations". There's a link to the story somewhere, I don't know how else to get to it. She also has a great R/H fic, "Of Cabbages and Kings" or something like that.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 72988Chapter: 0
where is the story that goes with it? there is not princess kate here.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72968Chapter: 0
i love the surprised look on Ginny's face. priceless

Reviewer: --Date: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72676Chapter: 0
He looks like he's choking her

Reviewer: maggieDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72632Chapter: 0
This is great!
You are very talented!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --