The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Ginny
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: SapphoDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130868Chapter: 0
I agree that this does look older than Ginny, but I absolutely love the painting. The color of her hair is beautiful, especially from a distance: it's almost too red to be realistic, but that's a good thing. I also like the eyes. This actually fits very closely with the way I currently picture Lily (my interpretations of the characters are constantly changing). Anyway, great job!

Reviewer: natalieDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94248Chapter: 0
she looks like Cher with red hair- it's too old to be Ginny! and she needs a bigger forhead... the art is great! it just doesn't look like the Ginny i picture or JK Rowling describes

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87700Chapter: 0
Ginny's very pretty.. I like her hair and the lightness of the picture looks kewl. She looks a lot more mature too.

Reviewer: SabrielDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83108Chapter: 0
This is amazing!!! I love the mouth and eyes, they make her look so intelligent.Her hair color is really cool and mature. The only little bit of constructive critisicm that I can think of is that ker face looks a tad too far to the left of the person facing Ginny. Toodleoo :D

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82041Chapter: 0
I love this, but she looks much older like in her twenties or something... but otherwise... i love it!

Reviewer: Your SisterDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81952Chapter: 0
Her face is too narrow and her hair is the color of ketchup. (I tend to think that redheads have more orange-brown hair than real red.) Other than that, nice pic. :-)

Reviewer: Devon PetroDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80778Chapter: 0
Amazing.

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79260Chapter: 0
I don't usually comment on art, since I have nothing knowledgable to say, but I have to say that this is easily the most realistic and canonical versions of a grown-up Ginny I've ever seen. Her hair is RED, not auburn, she's got REAL FRECKLES, gorgeous BROWN eyes, she's even got a nice strong jaw. I knew I would love her when I saw her!

Reviewer: JKEDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78203Chapter: 0
luv the eyes

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77699Chapter: 0
Thanks so much for the complimemt, TPR. My teachers in my classes always said I was good at watercolor, and I couldn't understand what they meant because *I* liked *oil* :~D. I've finally given in, though.

Thanks for the comments on my proportioning, too. I always need work on that, so it's really helpful for me to get opinions on what's wrong.

And lastly- This Claratin girl must be famous! My best friend had her ad, too! Spooky ^_^ LOL

Reviewer: Talking Purple Rabbits (again)Date: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77689Chapter: 0
hey sveltskye, one quick thing: after reading all the reviews, I just *had* to tell you that I know which girl you mean from the Claritin commercial. :) Weird, huh?

It's great that you respond to your reviews. In fact, I am going to go back and check up on all the other reviews I've given you, to see if you've answered any of my comments. :D

~TPR

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77687Chapter: 0
sveltskye, you've certainly captured the art of watercolour; that painting is 87 times better than anything I can do (I'm crap at it; all the colours run together and my brush smears)....the shading (especially around her cheeks and chin) is awesome!

The thing I'm concerned about is your proportion... Ginny's head seems crooked; you could take a bit of artistic license with this, I suppose, by saying that she's leaning to her left, but I don't think that's really what you were trying to convey. Really what it is is that her neck is rather long and her head is slightly off-center, making her look a bit odd... I don't know if you like to sketch before you start painting this, but maybe try having a friend model for you so you can get the sense of the head-neck-shoulders thing. For a person with a head that size, the neck would be shorter and slightly fatter (although that just might be her hair getting in the way) and she would have a much bigger torso.

As for her face, her eyes are set a bit high and close together; she looks a bit pinched at the top. I believe when drawing the eyes are supposed to fall halfway between the top and the bottom.

anyway, I've started to ramble on, so I must go and view your other pics!

Keep up the great work,
~TPR

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76854Chapter: 0
Oh Ginny I'm so glad that it looks like you! You must be very pretty :) That's so funny, I based it off a girl in a Claratin ad! :D LOL! You deserved the compliment, siriusly, You ROX.

Thank you so much Adele, for the compliments! I'm really glad you like it, and it's interesting that you think it's my best- a lot of people seem to like the R/H dancing one more, so I'm glad this one has a fan.

And Penny, welcome to the Quill! I'm glad this is your fav, too, but you should look around, because there's tons of awesome art here.

Lady M- Here's a shout out from another former French student- I feel your pain ^_^. I'm so glad you like my drawings, and thanks again for all the reviews. Tell me your SQ profile name, or email if you want to talk!

mel- This one was kind of an expiriment with staining, so there's a reason she's pale. It's supposed to be artistic. And is there any reason Ginny can't look like Cher? :D Jk, I don't think the pic or Ginny look like Cher.

khatija- wow I like your name! So pretty. Yea, she does look serene, huh? I do think she's a bit older than OOTP in this. Thanks for the review!

Thea Belle- Thanks for coming back and adding more to your review- it is irritating when people put criticisms and don't say why they don't like it. I think you and Xony are right about the eyes being too small, but actually it's probably more that her nose is too long and forehead too small. I don't think it ruins the picture, though, just makes her look unique. I'm sorry about your topsy turvy day, btw!

Amanda- Glad you like it- thanks!

Thanks to you all for the reviews. I just felt like responding to them, so hopefully some of you will come back and see what I wrote.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76649Chapter: 0
WOAH! that is awesome!

Reviewer: Thea BellaDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76542Chapter: 0
sorry I was being a little too critical earlier. her eyes are wonderful but they should start just above the middle of the head. now if your going to make the eyes small the rest of the features need to be a bit smaller. same way if your going to make the other features bigger the eyes need to be bigger. this is really beautiful by the way even thought I didn't express that earlier (my day has been topsie turbsie).

Reviewer: Thea BellaDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76488Chapter: 0
I don't think I like your water color

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76470Chapter: 0
Fo sho, this is your best piece yet. I love it! It's so realistic, especially the eyes and the freckles and the nose and the dimples and, ohhh, the eyebrows. Shading's wonderful. I hope you do more watercolors!

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76468Chapter: 0
this is really good...I really like it, I think her eyes are 2 small but your pic is good anyway ^^

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76450Chapter: 0
Hi! I really love this realistic picture! I am quite new to this Sugar Quill thing, but I adore this..my favorite!

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76427Chapter: 0
As usual...your work is amazing! You know, I really looks like me! ::blush:: aww thanks! I really love ghow you made her hair spill over her shoulders so gracefully, and a smile just beginning to show....I love it!
-Your great (and KEWL-thanks for the complement!) friend, Ginny

Reviewer: melDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76417Chapter: 0
Oh my lord. That is quite a scary picture. It does not look like Ginny at all. Her skin is so pale it's scary. Her cheeks are bulgy. Her hair is weird. She reminds me of Cher, haha.
This is not Ginny!!

Reviewer: khatijaDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76316Chapter: 0
its beautiful! she looks so serene... but perhaps ginny a couple of years down the road?

Reviewer: ladymDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76286Chapter: 0
wow. I'm supposed to be doing something French-y right now (this is during French class, I'm being *sneaky*) but I just had to get on. I think you just posted a bunch of pictures cause you have a ton of new ones with no reviews. I don't have time to review all of them so I'm doing the last one I looked at. These are all great!!!!! You are such an awesome drawer (sp?? It sounds really weird when I say it. I'm not sure if it's a word. Maybe I'm just weird.) Anways, this one is probably my favorite-est ever!!! The hair is what's best, I think. It's not overly fancy and hair-like, and it's just a couple simple and pretty lines, but it's AWESOME!!! I don't know how to describe it. Awesome, oober KEWL, etc. Just wanted to let you know. You ROX! Please post more, I'll be looking for your name!
**Lady M**

I must go back and review the rest of your drawings but I have to go!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --