The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Remus
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Solarius ScorchDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118978Chapter: 0
Very good, by far the best of Your portraits. Not only it has a soul, but I have absolutely nothing to criticize. Very good.

Reviewer: Lady NaginiDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118375Chapter: 0
This is absolutely lovely, especially when you compare it with the horrid PoA portrayal with David Thewlis. This Lupin just...*looks* more kindhearted. He's quite obviously someone with deep, deep grief in his life and in his past. Assuredly not a conventionally attractive man, there is still a certain wiry strength, evident in his eyes, under the visibly compassionate exterior. I also like how his robes look well-worn, with deep creases and folds. So, so much better than any other Lupin I've ever seen. Thanks. :)

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114665Chapter: 0
WOw! I'm really amazed! Great portrait of Remus! WoOoooo! :D :) ;)

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114302Chapter: 0
I pictured him to have just a little bit longer hair but the emotion and personality is perfect. Again, I love your fanfics!
Snuffles

Reviewer: ellieDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104158Chapter: 0
that is simply brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: BrytniDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84588Chapter: 0
I have never really had a clear picture of Remus, but THIS is him. :) Great job, and keep it up!

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83360Chapter: 0
will you please draw a pic of the lupin family and of griffin and annie?

Reviewer: FantaleDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83168Chapter: 0
Brilliant! It looks as exactly like I picture him as anyone's idea can look like anyone else's (I really do know what I meant by that). I love it.

Reviewer: Angel FaeDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78871Chapter: 0
It looks great! The face is wonderfully done. About the hand, my teacher told me that the distance from the hairline to the chin should be the same as the length of the palm to the tip of the longest finger. I hope that helps.

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78549Chapter: 0
Love the job you did with the eyes and eye brows. Some things I would change if I could draw.

-Nose; his nose is a bit big hun.
-Hand; his hand seems a bit small and out of proportion.
-Hair; I don't know why but it looks a bit weird on the top off to the left.
-Chin; his chin has one of those little butt things. I don't know why but I just can't stand them, although if you like you like. You are the artist here not me.
-Lips; I never seem to like the way that people draw their lips. It looks as if the lips were just a sticker stuck on his face rather then a body part.

Yep those are my suggestions. Sorry if I sounded rude during my review. I've been reviewing for the past two hours and I'm kinda skiping past the be nice and easy part.

Over all a really nice piece of work you have here. Great shading, good detail, really good eyes, etc. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: AgiVegaDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78530Chapter: 0
Wow. That's PERFECT. He looks exactly the way I imagine him. Lovely shading and very realistic pic. Kudos!

Reviewer: Seriously SiriusDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78457Chapter: 0
This picture is fantastic, exactly how I picture Remus, with the exception of the nose, which you fixed *thumbs up*
I love the wrinkle details, his thought lines, and the hand, oh my dear lord woman you need to show me how you draw hands, mine look like bad lumpy kids gloves!!
Overall an FANTASTIC piece of work.
Not that I'm not biased, or anything.... ;)
This pic is in line to be my next computer background!!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78434Chapter: 0
Perfect. Just the way I imagined him.

Reviewer: sveltskyeDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78432Chapter: 0
Hey Gryffin Jack. Since you answered me in the review thread, I thought I'd review you. You really have improved with your portraits a whole heck of a lot. This isn't at all how I picture Remus to look personally, but it is a wonderful portrait all the same. Everything is so realistic- in particular the hand, eyes, and his hairline are just great. I think you could improve it a lot, though, by bringing out the darks more, since right now everything is a kind of medium shade of gray. You could even use a darker pencil, and just go over things like the corners and line of his mouth, the inside of his cuff where it's drooping down, and the pupils of his eyes. Or wherever you see fit. Great job anyways!

Reviewer: SiriuslyLupinDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78299Chapter: 0
Very nicely done! It's like you've reached into my mind and pulled out my very first image of Remus :) I love the hair (just like I imagined!), and hand is very nice. Wonderful!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78277Chapter: 0
I love the piercing expression! His eyes are so gentle and kind and intelligent. Remus is all about the eyes, and you've done them magnificently! The expression is perfectly Remus. You capture a very canon sort of remus feel, with the gently lined young face. Well done!

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78260Chapter: 0
Well, I told you what I thought, but here it is again: I really like this--the weariness, as Yolanda pointed out, but also the faitest hint of sparkling humor. The nose, hair, and hands are particularly good. You have REALLY improved as a portraitist!!! Way to go, woman.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78240Chapter: 0
Wow. This is very nice... I like his expression... his eyes and his smile.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78205Chapter: 0
first reaction:ooooooooo
I love the shading and i love how his eyes have so mischief in them. like he knows something that i don't. i could go on for ages on this i swear, there are so many things i like about it.
-Lauren
PS- i like the wrinkes on his robes and forehead. very neat.

Reviewer: StarrikaDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78195Chapter: 0
Wow....he looks just like Adrian Brody (which is a very very good thing!). This isn't how I pictured Remus in my head, but that doesn't really interfere with how I see it. I think you've captured his face wonderfully, and it's got a lot of nice detail. I really don't know much about art, so I can't give you a detailed review, but I think you did an awesome job! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78189Chapter: 0
Looks a bit like an aged Adrien Brody *sigh* and very wise...there's something about that nose that's so endearing and you did a wonderful job with the creases in his robes and I'm so glad you have him smiling.

Cheers,
Artemis

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78146Chapter: 0
I love this portrait. He has a kind look in his eyes and he's not too handsome (although, he's nice!) I think he looks kind of weary, as I imagine he would. You did a wonderful job.

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78143Chapter: 0
Yep, this is how i imagine lupin in his mature version. I am completely envious that you can draw hands!

Reviewer: AmélieDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78137Chapter: 0
Wow.
This is beautiful -- your shading on the face & hand is great and the overall feel of the drawing is wonderful, soft & melancholy.
And thank you ; it's the first time I stumble upon a Remus that is exactly like the one in my head -- I was beginning to lose hope ;)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --