The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 58

Reviewer: Malfoy's GirlfriendDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132680Chapter: 0
DEFinately one of your betters; maybe you should draw more at night...

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2005-07-25
Reviewid: 127814Chapter: 0
I have to say, out of all the artists i've viewed today, you are by far the best! Your drawings have so much detail...they look so real! I swear...if this picture was done in colour it would look like a photograph of real people.
This is almost exactly how I picture Ron and Hermione looking while reading the books. I've seen alot of drawings of Ron, and this I have to say is the best. FINALLY a good looking Ron lol! I am forever your faithful viewer and fan. I hope to see more from you in the future!

Reviewer: Ocean's_QueensDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119124Chapter: 0
The faces are really well done and so is the hair. They both seem to be very akwardly positioned though. Like their suspended or very uncomfortable, such as, Ron doesn't seem to be leaning on anything. Maybe I'm just crazy, and in that case, you should ignore me.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 116008Chapter: 0
I've been looking through pretty much all of your art, and this is easily the best, grayscale or no! Hermione looks like she was taken from a photo she's done that well (although is disturbingly remisicant of my sister!) and Ron has just the most perfect expression for that moment! More 2AM work mehtinks; it works for you!

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107250Chapter: 0
Aww... How cute! I can't wait for the books to begin the *real* H/R fluff!

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87714Chapter: 0
Awwwwwwwww. How fwuffy.

I wish Hermione laid her head on Ron's shoulder though. That would've doubled the cuteness factor. Pity they were prefects and had reps to hold. ^^;;

Reviewer: AreDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86115Chapter: 0
This is good. Like it. I love the expression on Hermione's face.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82841Chapter: 0
Awww...I love it! It's so real, so perfect, so CUUUUTE! No constructive criticism here.

Reviewer: EndicottDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82784Chapter: 0
AAAAAAAWWWWWWWWW so cute I really like Hermione's expresion

Reviewer: ParanoidDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81750Chapter: 0
Is Hermione pregnant? Good otherwise. :P

Reviewer: maggieDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81749Chapter: 0
aaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwww. I'm a big r/h shipper too. I'm sure most people are. That is an awsome drawing. Mabe next time your thinkin of somethin' to do write a story for it.

Reviewer: DanaDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80701Chapter: 0
I love it ! R/Hr rules! And it is very well drawn!

Reviewer: LehaDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80668Chapter: 0
Hermoine's neck is weird and too long, and her body positioning is akward. Ron, however, looks like a little Abercrombie and Fitch model! I like it.

Reviewer: MunchkiiDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80649Chapter: 0
what're you all going on about her hair for!!!!? The picture is great! And people's hair catches the light, no matter how it looks, so I personally think it's very realistic. Good job.

Reviewer: shiowhueyDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80344Chapter: 0
*gasp* this is so precious! very, very nice :)

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80134Chapter: 0
Eep! Lovely. :) Gotta love the R/H fluff.

Reviewer: PravdaDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80007Chapter: 0
I don't get why everyone is going on about her hair. Chill out people. When JKR says BUSHY she's means that it's BUSHY. It's not curly, not wavy, not straight. Death to Emma Watson's fake waves. But anyways people, sveltsyke did a GOOD job on this (IMHO). Her hair ISN'T supposed to be curly, it ISN'T supposed to be straight, it IS supposed to be poofy and bushy like sveltsyke did it here. If I did it I might make it a tad poofier, but this is fine.
I'm not trying to be mean or telling you to think my way. Well, actually I sort of am, but that's okay. You can think whatever you want, I was just expressing my opinion on how I think Hermione's hair should be. Sorry if I've offended anyone. Great pic sveltsyke!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79737Chapter: 0
oops, I forgot to finish a sentence :). Sometimes I do that.

Her hair in the SS fit the image in my head, is what I meant to say.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79736Chapter: 0
Your welcome, Cat! It was nice of you to come back and answer my answer :). I might have written back to some of your other reviews, too, so you might want to check.
Emma Watson is actually not my favorite choice for Hermione, either, but I won't get into that. I loathed her COS hair, but her SS hair fit my
Anyways, I can't always control how my characters turn out in my drawings, but Hermione's hair doesn't bother me here, since it's sleek and shiny, yes, but still pretty voluminous. I can see why you might not like it, though, and I certainly never pictured Hermione as cute as they make her out in the movies either. Thanks for coming back to this, anyway. :) ~Annie

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79724Chapter: 0
Hello Again,

I know not everyone is the best at drawing bodies and clothes. God knows that I'm not. I understand that you like to make hair shiny, I noticed. Although for some reason I cannot picture Hermione with nice hair. I never pictured her with curly hair, just really frizzy and bushy hair. You gave her hair so that it looked really pretty. I just can't picture that. Although looking at her as a non-Hermione she looks really great (her hair that is).

I also can safely say that I understand you thinking on the eye lashes. Although I personally don't like them that way. When you draw them though you don't over do it too much so it just enhances how cute Hermione's face is. I never really liked Emma Watson as Hermione. She looked good in the first movie but when the second movie came out (and judgeing from the ads of the third) they seem to have turned her into the queen of curles and it makes me angry. Thanks for commenting on my comment! That's so nice!

-Cat

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79148Chapter: 0
At the risk of repeating everybody else - awww... I love your R/H pictures; they always work

Reviewer: FireEmber57Date: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79085Chapter: 0
awwww so cute!

Reviewer: hermionegranger909Date: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79007Chapter: 0
This is sooo cute I love it. They look so sweet together. I hope to see more soon.

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 78996Chapter: 0
Awww... so sweet. Did Hermione straighten her hair?

Reviewer: LindsayDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78941Chapter: 0
This is so cute. I like Ron's freckles.

Reviewer: Angel FaeDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78870Chapter: 0
It's adorable! I think you did a wonderful job rendering the faces. Ron's freckles are really cute. I like Hermione with any hair that's poofy and frizzy and you did that. Whether it's just frizzy or curly and frizzy...As long as it isn't sleek and straight or that styled curly hair.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78855Chapter: 0
Hi Ginny! Hi Ginny's friends!! Eee, how exciting, I have recruits! :D I'm so glad you like my work, Shadow and Ember. What cool names ^_^. I do think you're crazy, Ember- don't feel shy about putting your work on because of *me*! I'd love to see it, and maybe I could help you out a little bit. Thanks for the reviews, both of you, and thanks for the review of Ginny's Best Dress, too, Shadow.
Unnamed- I'm not sure if you mean out of character as in she wouldn't be doing what she's doing (she is supposed to be older, and already with Ron in this) or she *looks* OOC. Either way I don't have much to say. Just a matter of opinion, I guess. Oh, and yes, there should have a 2AM artist's union or something, definately.
Gufa- well, I guess it's again, a matter of opinion. I think her hair's *just* big enough, but if it were any smaller, then yes, I'd agree with you. Hermione's hair in this pic seems to be a big controversy- some people love it, some hate it :D
Thanks also to coquillage, erica and triple d for the reviews :D

Reviewer: dddDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78797Chapter: 0
wow! you've improved!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78781Chapter: 0
This is such a peaceful picture; and I love Hermione's hair.

Reviewer: UnnamedDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78775Chapter: 0
Hermione is way out-of-character in my opinion, but hey, this is about your opinion. I like your two o'clock in the morning thing. Join the club! Nice drawing by the way.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78748Chapter: 0
:-)
I don't really think that her hair should be super curly, do be quite honest, not at all!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78677Chapter: 0
This is your best work yet, and a good style for you. The expression and detail on Hermione's face is very good. And while perhaps the hair isn't curly, as some people picture bushy, I think it looks thick enought to have a mind of its own. Certainly not sleek. Nice job.

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78638Chapter: 0
Shadow and Ginny told me about your art, and it is GREAT!!! you are a truely gifted person! continue in your art!

Reviewer: ShadowDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78633Chapter: 0
Hey Annie! Hey, I know your name! I'm a seer! Actually no. I'm Ginny's friend. Any hoo... I love your art! Ginny has been trying to persuade me to post my work but after seeing your work, I dont think Im worthy to compete with your art! Please don't think I'm crazy because I really adore your work! all of it!
-Shadow

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78631Chapter: 0
Heya Annie! Amazing, as usual...Hermione looks sooo adorable....I have a friend sitting next to me, Shadow (don't ask...that's her 'name' now....), who LOVES this as well...but she'll write her own review.
-Ginny

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78621Chapter: 0
Oh shoot, I forgot to add that I changed the format of my CoS cover, along with this one, and it looks better now so you might want to check it out.

And Lady May, I want to warn you that pretty soon they're going to rearrange things here so you have to be registered to review, so if you want to stay head of R.L.A. you better register :(

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78618Chapter: 0
Ok, I'm going to answer you guys again!

Thank you, Gufa and Lady May for defending me against my serial bad reviewist (SBR) (that's what I've decided to call them, since I know at least one of them keeps coming back again and again).
Also, Gufa, I thought Hermione's hair was sufficiently bushy enough for Hermioneish despite being straight, but I will attempt next time to improve it for your benefit. I must warn you, though, that I am in the straight!Hermionehair or at least wavy!Hermionehair camp- although I do think that her hair is bushy (duh) I don't agree with those that think that it's super curly. I think her hair looks kind of like Emma's SS hair in this one, which I liked. Also, I have a tough time NOT making hair shiny :) It's just one of my little habits.

Cat- I noticed your other reviews, too, thanks for reviewing a bunch of my drawings at once! About the hair, see what I said to Gufa. The dark spot on Ron's shirt was supposed to be a shadow from his shirt- I admit, I'm not the best at drawing bodies and clothes and stuff. I disagree about Hermione's eyelashes, though. Some people just have darker eyelashes than others, even without makeup- I believe Emma Watson does. Ron's "white spots" in his hair are more of the shiny hair stuff I was talking about, but I could try and make it more clear that it's hair. I really appreciate your comments, anyway, and I'm thrilled that you like my work (and think I draw "cute" ^_^)

And last, my darling Mlle May- You ROX! You are really outdoing yourself in your position of the R.L.A. (really long acronym :D). I am so giving you a raise. A BIG one ^_^.
About the reviews, they do seem to keep dissapearing, don't they? ;) I think I have an anonymous benefactor- cool, huh? And since MY procrastination time is also nearing an end, thanks for the review, as always.
Oh, one more thing, to address Lady May and Cat's issue about Hermione's proportioning- I think she might look funny because I didn't draw in her right shoulder behind her hair, it just kind of dissapears into nothing. I'll draw that in and see if it helps. I might repost this sometime, but probably not too soon since I have to rescan it and everything.
My gosh, I am so freakin long winded! An ant just crawled across the screen- is that a sign I need to stop typing?

Reviewer: ladym (head of a verrry long acronym)Date: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78596Chapter: 0
It's small! Haha! I'm back! Well, now that it's easier to see, I have just a couple things to add. But first things first- Will all those stupid people who say things like "stop drawing please" or "this is suky eww wut is it" PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE for ONCE just try and think about what they're saying, and how they would feel if someone kept giving stupid STUPID STUPID AND COMPLETELY MINDLESS criticisms about their drawing, and the person didn't even think or know what they were talking about??? Of course, I don't know what I'm talking about when I try and give constructive criticism, but people, PLEASE, make it CONSTRUCTIVE!!!!!! ARRR!!!! But then again, I notice the reviews that mindlessly insult our dear Annie's drawings often disappear... I don't know if I just have a very mixed up memory, but it does seem to me that some reviews have mysteriously gone away... ^_^
Ah, now about the drawing- it's still wonderful, and I agree with everything I said earlier, but I have one little nitpick. Hermione's head and body seem sort of out of porportion, like the head is too big for the body. I've noticed this is some of your other drawings too. I think it's likely that you draw one part first, like perfectly, and then you go back to add the body or the head and it gets out of porportion. Or at least, that's what happened to me the few times I've tried to draw (minus the perfectly).
Well, this was long, wasn't it? Toodle pip then! My procrastinating is (almost) DONE for today!!!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78553Chapter: 0
I love the style in which you draw. Everything in it looks so cute. Some things I would change.

-Hermione's Hair; I'm sorry but no matter how good it looks I will never ever approve of Hermione having strait shinny hair. It was said to be a frizz ball and it should stay that way.
-Dark Spot; I don't understand why you put such a large dark spot over near Ron's arm.
-Hermione's Eyelashes; I think you gave her to many eyelashes. It makes her look like she wears make-up and our Hermione would never do such a thing.
-Hermione's Body; her body just doesn't seem proportionate (spelling?) with her head.
-Right Side of Ron's Hair; if you look over near Ron's right ear there is a blank spot near it and then some hair. I think that you should have put some hair there to fill it up.

For once (since I never seem to like how people draw them else where) I like how you drew the lips on these two. It looks very nice. I love how you drew Ron. And you gave him freckles. It seems that no one gives him freckles yet that is how he is described in the book.

Over all a great drawing. Keep up the good work. R/Hr forever!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78496Chapter: 0
**heehee, I meant PleasE, of course!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78495Chapter: 0
Please pleas PLEASE don't stop drawing!!
:-)
This is really, really nice - I don't think her hair is quite Hermione-ish enough, but that doesn't take away from the sweetness (for lack of a more intelligent word!) of this picture...

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78414Chapter: 0
Aww, thank you Nicole. It's really nice of you to say that, I appreciate. And you're right, about the unhelpful reviews, I mean. Thanks to everyone else, too, who's given me nice reviews, like Name, Maddie, Katriona, Melodie, Me (no, I'm me! ^_^), Demon Angi, Lauren, Erin Lovegood, mdeladaur, who's reviewed several of my drawings, hermionegranger909, big dave (my dad's nam is dave!), godric's hollow, who's also a great artist, and of course, lady m, head of a really long acronym that I don't feel like typing, but we know what it is.

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78409Chapter: 0
I love this picture! It's so cute and well drawn! Why should you know, you don't have to like the picture, but reviews are for positive comments and constructive criticism. You don't have to like the work, but maybe if you dislike it that much it would be more effective to say what she can improve instead of "all of your work is crappy. Stop drawing", which is purely negative and all it does is upset the artist. Anyways, syveltskye, I love this picture (and your other work, for that matter)!

Reviewer: maddieDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78380Chapter: 0
ohh i love it! perfect!!!! but when will it happen?!?! not soon enough

Reviewer: KatrionaDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78306Chapter: 0
Wow I like it, tho I couldn't see it all without scrolling so it made it a little annoying to view. Possibly it would be nicer to crop it. But nonetheless it looks amazing!! :)

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78290Chapter: 0
Sorry guys! I'm working on making this smaller, I forgot to fix it before submitted it.
Lady M- Aw, since you don't have an SQ name, forget what I said about the randomness. I like it. Be as random as you want. Here's my candle float back to you. *scary music plays*. And as much as I admire your pledge to stick to reviewing each drawing once, don't. If I follow up your review, you can go ahead and answer it, especially if it's still about my drawing :)

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78276Chapter: 0
Awww! I love the content expression on Hermione's face, and the whole scene looks very cute. The art is wonderful... very realistic. Great work!

Reviewer: NameDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78272Chapter: 0
Hey!..great pic..just a lil bigger then i would like..hehe but i just love it when people draw ron and hermione pics.Gets me all happy inside *goes to happy place* LOVE IT!

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78266Chapter: 0
this is my absolute favorite of all your pictures- stick with this style, it's awesome! u might consider trying to upload them a little smaller though- it's hard to get the full effect of this picture since u can't really see all of it at once. very sweet though

Reviewer: DemonAngiDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78237Chapter: 0
Whoa, thats big. The shadeing done around Hermione's lips and nose is wonderful.

Reviewer: ladym (Head of SPWHASCTMTERESHEPH)Date: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78213Chapter: 0
Have realized there were two typos in my last. I meant to say "once" when I said "one" and "subject" when I said "subjecy". Sorry!

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78207Chapter: 0
the expressions are very nice, but its kinda huge, i can't look at all of it at once and take the whole thing in, anything you can do about that?

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78201Chapter: 0
Very nice. A bit big, but nice. I really enjoy Hermione's expression and Ron's watchful eye. Nice touch

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78182Chapter: 0
Good picture. Very sweet. One suggestion, though: Make it smaller. I'm sure that if I saw it in its whole intirety, that I would LOVE it.

Reviewer: hermionegranger909Date: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78165Chapter: 0
I love the look on Hermione's face it is just so perfect

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78164Chapter: 0
hermione's hair is way to straight other than that its pritty good

Reviewer: ladym (Head of SPWHASCTMTERESHEPH)Date: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78150Chapter: 0
Wow. That is huge! I love this! Hermione especially. She looks so content! ^_^
Okay, I'm trying to keep my reviews very very on task, and not random ramblings that should take place on the forums. I don't have a forum user name, I'm more of the longtime lurker/reviewer type. Sigh.
Darn it!!! This whole not-random thing is soooooooo hard. I just deleted a bunch of ramblings. URG, DYING!
Hold on, I was trying to find something on-subject, and I realized I missed one of your replies to me. Don't worry, I do read your replies! Here's your candle float! How DO you send a candle float over the internet? I guess it's just one of life's unanswered questions...
I've also decided that in my effort to stay very on task in my reviews, I will only review each of your drawings one (from now on). Unless it's absolutely necessary. I'll just reply to your replies in your newest pic. Like I'm doing now. Yay me!
In my effort to stay on the subjecy, I've discovered I've gotten very off subject. Curses!
Well, tata. Enough NOTrandomramblings for today...

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78140Chapter: 0
Hi! Hey thats the time of night when i draw!hehe. Man it is BIG. My favourite part is Hermione. I think her face is excellent, the shading, perfection!i love to see your new work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --