The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135370Chapter: 0
*sniff*

Reviewer: KeliSpenelliDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93849Chapter: 0
I love this one!

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89884Chapter: 0
*Hee* -- the 70s coloring! :) I may be one of the few people on the Quill to be able to personally vouch for the fact that you've got the coloring just right for that era, since I actually survived all of those earth tones, avocado green, and gold. But one thing is, those colors always added a lot of warmth to any setting and that's what the color choice has done here. I think you have Lily and Harry looking perfect, especially the way you have Lily sort of 'curled' around him--I especially love what you've done with her hand curled around his shoulder. Your overall proportions are good, but it seems like maybe Lily's left hand (under Harry) is a bit larger than her other (but perhaps it's just the curve of her wrist there, too). I*love* the color of Lily's hair!
~NZ~

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87720Chapter: 0
I'm trying to decide whether or not I like the non-colored one better or the colored one better.

Ah heck!

Why not love them both? ^__________^

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82845Chapter: 0
Aww...Harry looks much better, I think. It's wonderful.

Reviewer: The Guilliotine With A Life-Time WarrantyDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 81963Chapter: 0
I love your twinkies. They look absolutely delicious. Especially that baby twinkie. So, can I eat it? Or how about that scrumptious Mommie twinkie. Mmmmm, fattening...

Reviewer: MeiDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81630Chapter: 0
this is jus awesome!!!!!!! 1 of ur bes pics ever!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81562Chapter: 0
Lily is absolutely LOVELY here, and I love the subtle period details in her clothes. My three-year old daughter just looked at it and said, "Mama, it's you, holding me when I'm a baby!". :)

Reviewer: SiriuslyLupinDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81547Chapter: 0
This is a really beautiful picture, both this and the uncolored version. Harry's eye and hand look a little funny, but other than that, he is really cute. I love the expression on Lily's face, she looks so calm and content. Also, your choice of colors is nice.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80753Chapter: 0
I like it a lot... keep on doign stuff like this one... really great I tell you...

Reviewer: Mystic_crystal_wolfDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80507Chapter: 0
wow, this one is really good, someone else may have given you the insperation, but you drew and colored it, that is talent. i really like this picture and you are a amazing artist.

Reviewer: CassieopeiaDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80498Chapter: 0
That is SUCH a good drawing! It looks so... seventies and realistic! Only thing is, Harry looks... kind of grown up with a shaved head, hiding in baby clothes... but that is really good. Really, really, really good.

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80467Chapter: 0
Lovely.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80464Chapter: 0
what the heck is wrong with the baby's (harry) eye? like really, he looks like an embryo baby and not a already popped out of mommy baby! lyk really!

Reviewer: azaleaDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80462Chapter: 0
I like the soft colors---nice touch ... and her hair is sooooo beautiful!!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80455Chapter: 0
Oh how beautiful! I love it so much! Want to know what is sad though? I have a sweater just like that one and I love it! >> Blushes << I'm sort of sad in that sense. Oh well on to the annoying comments.

-Lily's Hair; I think everything about the hair is perfect except that the one strand hanging over her sholder looks like it is floating in air rather then laying aganist her sholder.
-Hand; The hand that is holding up Harry (under the bum) just looks more like a little blob rather then a hand.
-Harry's Hair; For some reason I always pictured Harry with more hair. Although that is just me. It could be because he was just born and doesn't have hair. Whatever.
-Backround; You could have just put a bit more detail into the chair and stuff, but that doesn't really matter.

Over all a great image you have created here. I love the bright colors. The bell bottoms etc. You did pull off the "70s feel" pretty well. I am still sad to say that I like the sweater. >> Blushes Again << Again a great cute picture, I love it!

Reviewer: uraDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80416Chapter: 0
it catches the mood just right!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80388Chapter: 0
Just wanted to say how much I love this! Unlike a lot of your reviewers, I definitely prefer the colour - my eyesight isn't great and colour is usually the first thing I notice. I can't pretend to know anything about art, but I think this is so beautiful and sweet, and I wish you'd put it in the package to JK! Lily's hair is gorgeous - just how I imagined it. Being a mother myself, I can't help thinking an awful lot about the short time Lily and Harry had together, and this is how I'll always picture them, now! Thank you.

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80361Chapter: 0
I can't say anything but that it's totally awsome. You captured them just right.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80336Chapter: 0
I always forget to look at the art posted, but I see your name over on the forums, and I've always liked your avatars--so I thought I'd check it out. I have to say I love this picture--it really does speak a thousand words. Lily's face is just right and her body language too--you have that weariness and overwhelming emotion that a mother feels that first year of her child's life--it is such an intense time. It brought back my experience as a newbie mommy! I also love the hair--it is a beautiful shade and any baby would love it--they love hair anyway, and to have something so vibrant connected to the person they love the most--well you can see why Harry has such positive feelings for Weasley hair! This was a treat--thank you.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80306Chapter: 0
lovely :o)
I liked the black and white drawing as well, but as you say, it just comes to life in color! Lily looks like such a loving mother :o)

Jules

Reviewer: EliseDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80286Chapter: 0
I have to agree that I liked the black and white one better. It just seemed to fit the mood I had created in my head better. Although I do like Harry in color here, and I think you got Lily's hair quite well. It looks like a shade that could show up in reality, not so orange as some artists do it.

Reviewer: tonniDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80281Chapter: 0
awwwww but might want to fix harry a bit but still awww

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80225Chapter: 0
Thanks for the reviews, guys. Gufa, I'm glad you like the sweater. It was actually orange and purple mixed together, which makes a very interesting retro vintage store kind of color. I don't really /like/ that kind of color, but it kinda grows on you :) I actually prefer the non colored too. The drawing changed a bit in the transition from pencil to color pencil.
Lady May- Unfortunately, Siriusly Lupin is just a coincidence, my friend still hasn't put her art up yet (we gotta do something about that!) I'll say something in my drawings when she does. She's freaky good. [music] My friend is your friend, your friend is my friend...[/music] Ok, I'll shut up now.

I'm glad you all liked her hair. You don't think it's too bright and Weasley-ish? Because it still looks pretty red and not "dark red" to me.

LOL, Echo, you're right she does look a little Donna-ish. Donna's georgious, so I guess that's a good thing. She certainly doesn't have Lily's personality, though- at least in my mind!

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80223Chapter: 0
Very nicely done. Great job!

Reviewer: Godrics_HollowDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80194Chapter: 0
Great! I was actually going to ask you to do some colour on this! And here it is! Great work!

Reviewer: EchoDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80172Chapter: 0
Lily sorta looks like Donna from That 70's Show. As for Harry, so CUTE!

-Echo

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80144Chapter: 0
Aww...how cute! Love the color and the attitude by the way...
-Ginny

Reviewer: ladym (head of the R.L.A.)Date: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80132Chapter: 0
Oh, this is good, now I see the rest of the armchair! (see my comments on your black and white one. I always go down to up for some reason). The bit I like the best in this one is still their faces, you've managed to keep that perfect look still even with color.
But, most importantly. Lily's hair. This is definitely the newest member of my Best Representation of A Character's True Hair list! You've left it red, but it's still not day-glo neon PURE FIRETRUCK red that looks like she got a hold of a bad hair-dye potion like certain people do. This is veryvery good. Also, you haven't done it like your Weasly hair, which I love, but in a different less natural way. You are perfect. Sigh. If only I could draw... Or write. Writing would be a good skill to have...
Oh yah, I JUST remembered this. You know your friend WillLupinSiriuslyLoveMe who's reviewed some of your drawings? Okay, well on the little update list thing a day ago I saw someone who was SiriuslyLupin. Was it a coincidence?
OR WAS IT?
(recognize that last bit? Sort of? Anyone? Well, actually it's not exact so it'd be hard to realize but whatever I'm off subject and confusing ignore this bit.)
I mean I realize it's could be a common name or whatever I was just wondering if they were the same person because maybe I would check their stuff out because a friend of Annie's is a friend of mine! That was a really run-on sentence wow. I think I'll end this now before I hurt myself. Toodle pip!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80120Chapter: 0
I have to say that I prefer black and white to color, for some reason...but that's just me! So see your other drawing for my "real" opinion...By the way, I don't think her sweater is ugly! It goes nicely with the hair...and I might add that this is one of my favorite renditions of the color of Lily's hair...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --