The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hysterical
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122630Chapter: 1
Hilarious story! I'm a Christian who thinks that the hooplah over Harry Potter is ridiculous, silly, and small-minded, so I thought your story was funny and oh so true! I still have tears from the laughter! Wonderful! I especially love Dumbledore showing up on a tortilla!! :)

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113788Chapter: 1
funny - too soft on the twits, but funny

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104011Chapter: 1
Wonderful, very funny.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 82986Chapter: 1
ROFLMAO
There isn't anything else to say, really. Except perhaps LOL.

Reviewer: megDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 76009Chapter: 1
beautiful. a lovely story, and such a touching ending...*sniffsniff*

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68092Chapter: 1
Hilarious! Not only is it exceptionally witty, my favorite quality in a story, but it is also well written in other ways.

Reviewer: SamiDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68012Chapter: 1
best line. ever

“Let me see if I understand this correctly. Throughout the last four books we’ve had child abuse, slavery, underage drinking, racial intolerance, torture and murder. But drug use would be considered over the top?”

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67947Chapter: 1
Great take on important issue concerning the books
"Book burning religious zealots, while typically indigenous to North America"
I laughed when I read this becuase the Potter series is in the top ten
on the American Library Association's list of challenged books

Reviewer: JanisDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47123Chapter: 1
Do me a favour will you? When the next book comes out, and there's all these book burnings going on, could you publish your story in all the major newspapers please?

Reviewer: DovaDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28767Chapter: 1
KEWL! This story was so hilarious! I loved the suicidal bat. Oh, and you watch "The Simpsons"! GO YOU!

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28614Chapter: 1
"Smilin' Bob belied his name and frowned at her."

LOL! That was funny :P. Yes, religious extremists can be entertaining. Although, they do give a bad name to Christians who, you know, have a brain. I <3 your story; it made me giggle :D.

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28608Chapter: 1
hehe. That was silly

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27051Chapter: 1
"“Let me see if I understand this correctly. Throughout the last four books we’ve had child abuse, slavery, underage
drinking, racial intolerance, torture and murder. But drug use would be considered over the top?”"

ROTFLOL! Great story!

Reviewer: Jolllly SnapeDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15907Chapter: 1
LOL! I love this! You have a remarkable skill with ironic narration, without making it too over the top, and likewise you keep the jokes coming without it getting old. The plot was great, too; this was a great way to comment on the anti-Harry Fundies. You kept the spirit of all the canon characters, and Smilin' Bob strikes a familiar chord...

"You have to use logic..." "Burn the witch!" ROFL

I think my only complaint would be the unnecessary violence perpetrated on poor oily Snape. ;) j/k

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13163Chapter: 1
ooooooookkkkkkkkaaaaaayyyyyy!! Very wierd but still... a LMAO fic

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12112Chapter: 1
Oh my god, that was too funny! A perfect parody! Loved the lines: "Just once in his life he wanted to experience a stress-free Halloween.... Harry rolled his eyes. When did they not have a problem? “Isn’t it a bit soon for Voldemort to attack? He usually waits until the end of the school year to let the dramatic tension build.”

And the drunk bats flying into Snape's hair and setting it on fire, too funny!

Hermione was perfect, let's use logic and then the corps says, "Burn the witch!" So funny and Hermione reminded me so much of Lisa Simpson!

Other favorite lines: "This is a children’s series, and like it or not, we’re role models. That means no drug use – it could unduly influence impressionable kids.”

“Let me see if I understand this correctly. Throughout the last four books we’ve had child abuse, slavery, underage drinking, racial intolerance, torture and murder. But drug use would be considered over the top?”

I also thought of Short-Snout Stout! Other creations are opaleyed Ale and Herbidian Black and Tan. Loved ARAGROG with the 8 arms holding tankards! And VOLDEPORTER! I had to think twice for that one! Very clever and very funny!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12059Chapter: 1
As a "conservative" Evangelical Christian who is also a devoted Harry fan (gee, what else could I be, if I've got work on this site?), I appreciate the story. I have noticed with deep amusement and a sense of vindication that a number of honest Christians who were once wary of HP became fans once they actually read the books. And then there's Dr. James P. Eckman, Th.D and president of Grace University who went on his radio show and said that there's nothing wrong with the books and honestly, you can't throw out HP without throwing out Narnia too. But there are others that JUST CAN'T BE REASONED WITH.

Oh, and I appreciate the bit about the books being an offense to all the deities. I have a sneaking suspicion that radicals like bin Laden wouldn't like HP either, though probably for different reasons.

Honestly. There's Biblical Christianity, and then there's Knee-Jerk Reactionism. We need to learn to draw the line.

Thanks for the fic!

Reviewer: She's a StarDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8816Chapter: 1
Oh Lord...that was hilarious. *giggles madly* Wonderfully witty and clever.

Reviewer: Meggi, afraid for her lifeDate: 2002-11-10
Reviewid: 8605Chapter: 1
I have to appear on a tortilla in Mexico.. isn't that just the best line in the whole story???? BTW, this is just the best fic, please continue!

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2002-11-03
Reviewid: 8067Chapter: 1
Heehee..."Hysterical" is right! Very enjoyable :)

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7838Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! I love it. oybolshoi, that's great. great.... LOL

~TPR

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7435Chapter: 1
This was hilarious and original and clever!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7396Chapter: 1
After spending all day at a school run by religious fanatics that think the terms "Harry Potter" and "Devil" are synonymous this truly made my day.

Absolutely hilarious.

Reviewer: cybakka toshneetDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7382Chapter: 1
Cracked me up! Absolutely loved it!!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7359Chapter: 1
Brilliance! Don't worry nobody could take your wonderful story in anything other than the spirit it was intended! Surely?! I loved it!

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7332Chapter: 1
Bwa! That was super amusing. ;) Loved the ending.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7330Chapter: 1
LOLOL! Just brilliant! All of it!

<<Dumbledore ruffled his favorite student&#8217;s predictably messy black hair. &#8220;Harry, I am sure that Miss Granger will be able to explain it to you. Having once more guided you into the gaping jaws of danger, I fear I must now leave. I have to appear on a tortilla in Mexico &#8211; it&#8217;s a little Halloween prank I like to play from time to time.&#8221;

He held up a hand to quiet their protests. &#8220;I have complete confidence that you will yet again manage to save yourselves as well as the entire school. But do try to hurry, won&#8217;t you? You&#8217;ve only got about eight hundred words left to work with.&#8221;>>

Hee hee hee...

Still giggling... Axelle

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7328Chapter: 1
Funny! And I loved Hermione's logic!

Uh, Dumbledore "appears on a tortilla as a prank"? Do I wanna know what/where/how? (Actually, I do! Appeals to my weird sense of humor. LOL)

Prof. Snape is going to need a wig! Yowtch.

The brown shirts on the book-burners is a nice, and all too realistic touch.

Good stuff!

Reviewer: Pete KnottDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7297Chapter: 1
Heathen trash! Thou shalt burn in hell with your evil books! (just kidding).

But seriously, while this story is obviously poking fun at the "uproar" in certain communities with regards to the "Harry Potter" series, it also is a good reminder to the dangers of censorship. History is rife with examples of those who would burn books/censor individual expression. Let us not forget the past, lest it rear its ugly head again. As a famous American once said (not word for word, but the general sentiment): "I may disagree with your opinions, but I will defend to the death your right to express them".

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --