The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 567

Reviewer: angelphishDate: 2007-08-18
Reviewid: 148918Chapter: 10
Having just started a re-read of CoS (I figured now that I have all the books I can re-read the series start to finish) I had to come back and give one of my favorite fics a re-read as well. I'm happy to say that it's just as chilling upon re-reading as it was the first time.

Reviewer: PensievePersonDate: 2006-08-18
Reviewid: 144858Chapter: 4
This is the best based on canon story I have ever read! i just think you should change Ginny's full name to Ginerva because that is her real full name.

Reviewer: PensievePersonDate: 2006-08-14
Reviewid: 144803Chapter: 1
One thing you forgot to mention is Ginny's b-day is August 11th!

Reviewer: WickedWitchDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142646Chapter: 10
One word: awesome. How were you able to write such a horrible (and fantastic) story??? You made me hate Voldemort and respect Ginny much more than before. Bravo!

Reviewer: luckylib14Date: 2006-04-13
Reviewid: 141869Chapter: 10
Absolutely chilling and very beautiful and a great display of the essence of Ginny's character. I don't think that the later books really focus on what a tragedy it must have been for Ginny, and this really shows the vile cruelty and just gives you the shivers. But then when you pick up your CoS book and read what happens after this, you get all warm and love Harry and Ginny and all the love and bravery the books have. This was a very chilling plotline to bring out, but I'm glad you did becayse frankly,..

I loved it.

Reviewer: Morgan WillowbyDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137148Chapter: 10
What a grasp of Voldemort's villainous and manipulative mindset! Talk about feeling the little hairs on the back of your neck standing up... when he mocked her about possibly receiving her first kiss from a monster (the Dementors), I shivered. Every time he threatened her or threatened to harm her brothers or Harry or her friends, I was filled with poor Ginny's terror. And the ending ... absolutely [i]chilling[/i].

I noticed some people tried to compare this piece to your follow-up (Disenchanted), saying this story was better than that one. But I don't think the two stories can be compared, really. It would be an unfair comparison. They are two distinctly different presentations, with entirely unique viewpoints and styles.

This is a frightening example of a predator slowly stalking and taking his prey (shiver, once again!), while Disenchanted is a soft, caring story, in the viewpoint of an adult who wants to help Ginny in the aftermath of it all. This story illustrates Voldemort's darkest core, as well as Ginny's bravery and amazing inner strength, that she fought evil Tom Riddle to the very end. Meanwhile, Disenchanted seems to honor Ginny for that strength and courage, through Dumbledore's gentle POV.

Two wonderfully well-written stories -- you should be very proud of your work. Thank you for sharing them with us.

Morgan

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135772Chapter: 10
Entertaining

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135659Chapter: 1
Just embarking on a re-read of this. Fantastic as ever. I can't think why this fic isn't better known.

Reviewer: TrinsanDate: 2005-11-02
Reviewid: 135617Chapter: 1
This fic is AMAZING. So intricate, so detailed; I love the double-speak Tom is pulling. FABULOUS job!

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-09-29
Reviewid: 133439Chapter: 10
woow it's so scary!

Reviewer: lum76Date: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133162Chapter: 1
I really don't know if you keep reading these reviews (there are so many)... but this is just TOO good, and I had to say something.
I think this is the best HP fic I've read. Maybe it's because it is so canon... I truly believe this story should be published and sold as a "harry potter and the chamber of secrets" companion... Wouldn't that be something?
I love the way you were able to picture Ginny so good, even before we got a larger image of her from the books... I particularly like the way that she struggles and manages to resist Tom for months... it's so like her (so brave and strong).
Hermione is still my favorite character (and the coolest teenage in the world), but Ginny has grown to be so amazing, and we never notice that great light inside of her in the first books... but you got her so well.
And Tom... God.
You did an amazing job developing their relationship too. It was so natural... And I finally understood for real why it is that Harry feels only Ginny can understand what he's going through (you know, after the dreams and the possesion and all).

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132874Chapter: 10
I can't believe I only just found this, and I know this review is a bit late and probably won't be seen, but I have to write it anyway. I started reading this story late last night, just to see what it was about, and found I could not put it down. I finished after midnight, and I do not hesitate to admit that it took me quite a while to fall asleep.

You've managed to bring a reality to the rather shady story of Ginny being "possessed by a diary," a phrase which on it's own doesn't really inspire great fear, though we know with whom she was dealing.

For better or worse (better, I think), I can honestly say that I will never be able to read CoS the same way again. I always knew Ginny struggled, and that she must have been incredibly brave... but I never really understood it until you painted this likely picture.

Everything is canon. Everyone is in character. I often worry than fanfiction will detract from the experience of JKR's stories... but in this case - the only time I've ever known this to be true - I'm sure you've only made the story more compelling, more frightening, and more true.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132604Chapter: 5
I know that this will probably get lost in all the reviews this fic deservably has gotten over its...tenure (shrugs), but I just had to stop at this point and say that December is both amazing and terrifying. I just can't believe that Ginny is still fighting. And it's only December. I can't imagine what will happen close to the end.

Reviewer: IsabelDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131491Chapter: 10
I... I have no words. That was incredible. I get chills up and down my spine every time I read this. I signed up for a forums account just so I could review this amazing story.

Ok, so maybe I have words after all, heh. Good work!

Reviewer: RincewindDate: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130952Chapter: 10
Arabella, your Riddle is way scarier than JK's! I couldn't read more than a chapter a day, he was so evil it almost made me physically sick... I never realised how horrible Ginny's first year must have been, you truly are the Queen of Fanfic. :D

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130757Chapter: 2
I know it sounds really dumb but if Harry liked me, everything else would be nothing.He never will, I know it.

**Smiles to self** patience dear Ginny, patience...

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130754Chapter: 1
Well, I… I secretly hope that one day, Harry and I will… don't laugh. I hope we'll get married.

I hope they'll get married too

Reviewer: ToptomcatDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130127Chapter: 1
Remarkable, VERY remarkable. You do darkness BETTER than Rowling does.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130014Chapter: 10
That was one heck of an emotional read. Re: Ginny - that was so amazing the way you portrayed her fighting back. She has so much STRENGTH.

And Tom, so so evil ... *hates*

You've written a masterpiece.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130013Chapter: 9
Oh god. Tom - he gets more and more evil.

Oh god. Poor, POOR Ginny.

Reviewer: Ginny W. (my nick name)Date: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130002Chapter: 2
I really love this fan fic. I wanted to write one like it, but i couldn't have done a better job!
Thers just one thing I would like to pointe out: Ginny's full name is Genevra Molly Weasley not Virginia Mary Weasley.
I still really love this story thow!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129839Chapter: 2
Oh my god.

Tom is evil. Pure evil.

He's bloody scary.

Wow.

I can't wait to read the next chapter. Ginny and Tom are so real.

Oh, god. I don't think I've read ever, ever anything which has so succesfully portrayed someone as evil. Tom is - terrifying. He plays Ginny; you get this sense he's laughing about it - oh my god. It's indescribable.

Reviewer: LunaDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129111Chapter: 10
Are you secretly J.K. Rowling or something? This was incredible! Quite scary/creepy at some points. Wow!

Reviewer: ScribbilusDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129058Chapter: 10
Amazing, frankly.
A beautiful peice of fanfic.
I look forward to any other peices you write.

Reviewer: The Funky ChickenDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129000Chapter: 10
WOW.

WOW.

WOW.

I'm trying to be more coherant but honestly...WOW is the word mainly coming to mind. This story has been absolutely amazing and it is not an exaggeration to say that I have enjoyed every second of it. Truly this is fanfiction as it is meant to be - taking an idea from the original and exploring it with sensitivity and a strong, ever-present awareness of Canon.

Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Kelly St.ClairDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128727Chapter: 1
Still one of my favorites. I come back and read it every now and then. The character development (of both) is remarkable.

To everyone saying "it's Ginevra": WE KNOW. It's been said already a hundred times or more. But here's the thing: back when this was written, WE DIDN'T KNOW. No one (except maybe JKR) did. So stop with the nitpicking-by-hindsight, eh?

Reviewer: MadeleineDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128642Chapter: 10
This is the best Fanfic I've read, you're very good at sticking to the story, and making it believable.

Reviewer: VickyDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128588Chapter: 10
All I can say is...wow! I've been part of the fandom since PoA, and can honestly say that this is one of the best fanfictions I've ever read. Ginny's experience with the diary is one of the aspects of the series that fascinated me the most, yet we know so little about it.
You capture both of their personalities fantastically - a lot of what Ginny said transported me back to being 11 and 12 years old - and the way she keeps trying to resist him showed how very much the Gryffindor she is. What I found incredibly chilling was Tom's manipulation of Ginny, starting off as a friend until he completely takes her over. When he reveals his true nature to her - 'Ah but you do. You do know who, Virginia. You know who./No, I do not./Yes you do. You know who. You know who. You Know Who' - I think my heart actually stopped for about a minute!
In the immortal words of Ron - 'that was bloody brilliant!'

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128414Chapter: 10
Great story! Everyone was really in character, and I imagine this is how it would have happened. You did a very good job of the transitions of Riddle's comments- from civil to cruel and how he actually is. Nice job!

Reviewer: adriaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128310Chapter: 4
hey i was gonna wait til the end of the story to make comment but i coldnt help it but to write a quick on now. i think that it is both an excellent idea for a fan fiction story and an excellent story in general. i like it how you will have tom riddle saying things that we all know what he means but ginny doesnt like when he heard about the dark lord getting defeated by a one year old and tom was like 'no way. an infant?' or whatever and ginny thought he was apalled that voldie would attack a baby rather than the fact that voldie was defeated an infant. goodness my sentences do get really run on, hey? i also think that you partray tom just right; manipulative, charming, concieving, clever, its really a great story. the only thing that i would change is that her name is ginerva not virginia, jo said so herself. no biggie, but just so oyu know. if you ever wanted to change it or whatever. GREAT JOB ON THE STORY I LOVE IT!!!!

adria

Reviewer: LexanDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128207Chapter: 8
Oh goodness, I can hear Tom's voice in my head while reading this fic. It's that effective, I'm not surprised Ginny was seduced. Tom Riddle was horribly yet seductively evil.

Reviewer: GinnieDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 128019Chapter: 10
Wow.. I really enjoyed reading this story. It was enthralling. I read until half past three in the morning just because I couldn't drag myself away from the computer. I really really really like the ending.
I think this ff is remarkably incharacter, I believe I'll start thinking this was the way JKR thought of it.. that this is how it 'really happened'. [Ew, I start thinking and dreaming english now that I read OotP and HBP and this fanfiction.. usually I think in my first language which is german ^^] .. amazing fanfiction.

Reviewer: notmuch666Date: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 127983Chapter: 1
ginny's name is ginerva, not virginia. check jk's site.

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127834Chapter: 1
That was great ! You should do another one like it !

Reviewer: nymphadora tonksDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126747Chapter: 1
wow. my friend recommended this story, and i love it!!!! you show tom riddle a little differently than i'd pictured him, but you make it so clear why ginny trusts him, and you capture her frustration w/ her brothers perfectly. congrats!!! keep it up! = D

Reviewer: TessaDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125652Chapter: 10
Jesu Christe. I have chills running over my arms. That was... what? Sinister? Enthralling? Terrifying?
Powerful.
I've been wandering around your bookshelf for some weeks now... my favorite so far has gotta be either this, Not as a Last Resort, its sequel, HQoW year 4, or The More is My Unrest, and those are all the ones I've gotten through so far -_-; I know, I'm pathetic. But I'm also in reverence of you. Silly me, to champion any others before you! My dear, J.K. herself would read this and bow down before you.
I'm not even kidding. You did this perfectly. Ginny (her name's Ginevra, by the way. Sorry! My one nitpick!) starts out as a silly young girl, fancying her small quarrels and passions to be much worse than they truly are. The threads of fear weave in slowly, as does Tom's mastery. And then she is ensnared. Helpless. Oh, damn, the chills are back.
Anyway, I loved your Ginny. Brave young lass putting up a good fight, what! And your Tom is thrillingly, seductively evil. Evil! You have redefined that word. Not just I-do-bad-things-to-people or I-don't-like-the-main-character-so-that-makes-me-bad or even Hate-me-because-I'm-not-nice. Your evil is.... disturbingly tangible.
Tom is cruel, sarcastic... well, I can't even find the adjectives to describe him. You know that feeling you get, that deep bone chill, when you see a snake strike at something? The sudden lunge, the wide, hateful eyes, the fangs gleaming, the snarling hiss? Multiply that by a hundred and two, and that's Tom.
Sucky metaphor. Moving on.
Great work... can't wait for HQoW for book five, and in the meantime, I'm SO coming back here again.

Reviewer: NewbiaDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125408Chapter: 1
Re-reading this, and it hasn't suffered from my knowledge of what's coming up.

It's quite creepy, how Tom tries to steal Ginny's soul. I practically expected him to take the tears and write, "Your anguish sustains me..." like Stewie from Family Guy.

Aside from the creepiness, the chapter was actually a little bit funny. Tom's seems very snarky and sarcastic to me when he pretends that he finds Ginny fascinating.

"If I were put in Slytherin, I'd stick my head in a toilet and die...."

"Or someone else would do it for you."

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125237Chapter: 10
I have just finished reading your story... it was absolutely wonderful. This is one of the best fics I've ever read. I finished it in one day, I just couldn't take my eyes off the screen! Brilliant. Superb. I am rather speechless, myself.

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125217Chapter: 5
I simply love this fic. I've always been a huge Tom Riddle fan, and the way you portray his personality is exactly as I have always imagined it to be. Some of Tom's remarks are funny and, to me, understandable. If I were in Tom's shoes, I would probably become very annoyed after a while, as well. I've just finished December, and so far this story has kept my interest. Excellent work!

Reviewer: KyurikoDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124299Chapter: 10
Oh my god. I'm sitting here, almost, almost about to cry. I love the way Ginny tried to fight him. I love it, and this entire fanfiction has made her one of my favorite characters now. Oh my god. The whole time I read that, I was seething with anger, and absolutely HATING Tom. But even so, Ginny could possibly have felt a little pity for him, I think, even if she denied it to herself. I still wonder if she actually had come to have - other feelings - for him during the months before he revealed his true colors.

The only critique I've got (remarkable, I couldn't find anything to critique till the last chapter but I sat down and finished all the rest of it today). I suggest you do several checkings over of each chapter because I found about two spelling errors in this one, but other than that, it was bloody brilliant. Absolutely. I'm just… well, rather left speechless.

Reviewer: KyurikoDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124148Chapter: 3
Am I bent on reviewing every chapter? I'm not sure, but I'm sure as heck going to read them all. You can really see that evil starting to seep through now. The Chamber's going to be opened soon, right? On a random note, I do have to add that all of her ramblings about Harry are rather cute. It's a real shame they're not together. Ah. Well. The beginning was excellent with the quarrel between them, by the way.

Reviewer: KyurikoDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124145Chapter: 2
(shudder) Him making her tell him about Voldemort. That gave me the chills. And you can already see him manipulating her, like when she was upset about Malathorne and Malfoy… Although I did love it when she called Malfoy a spoiled baby, and the thing about the pajama party, and her asking Tom if he could imagine it… I know she's only eleven, but already I'm rolling my eyes at some of the things she talks about, as sweet of a girl as Ginny is. I fully understand Tom's opinion about her now everytime I read the Chamber of Secrets, and how scared Ginny must have been, and betrayed she must have felt (there's a bit of foreshadowing of it in this chapter and I like that). I know this is only a fanfiction, but, it seems oh-so-real! And she's ill? Is he already beginning to control her (Heh, I'm not so sure Tom appreciated her calling him a child.)?

Tom's evilness is beginning to show through, but I seriously don't think it should be rated R. PG-13 at the most, maybe even PG if anything.

Reviewer: KyurikoDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123888Chapter: 1
Wow. I am thoroughly impressed. It feels as if you know both characters like the back of your hand, and the incorporation of events from the book… this is definitely not an average fanfiction, before I read this I have never read a Harry Potter fanfiction where I became so immersed that I had to finish it before doing anything else. In fact, I lost track of the time. But I was so into it, and I absolutey love, love the interaction between Tom and Ginny. There are some sweet little moments in here that I like as well, and it makes me wonder if the things he says are truly what he means… and then there's that thought in the back of your mind about what kind of a person Tom REALLY is. I'm looking forward to seeing how it ends up, as many times as I have read the book. This whole thing absolutely fascinates me to no end. And I'm really appreciative of this work.

Reviewer: BasketKiwiDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123256Chapter: 1
...Wow...

Reviewer: nikita rozalinDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123240Chapter: 10
wow. just wow. ive always been a huge fan of Tom Riddle. Ever since his little snarky speech in the Chamber of Secrets. You did the most magnificent job portaying him and Ginny. I dont even like Ginny and yet i could not for the life of me stop reading this story. It was hilarious and dramamtic and real and I love it to pieces. I've always had the feeling that half the story of Chamber of Secrets was missing and you just totally filled the void, lol. Best fic on the net for sure and i've been reading and writing fics for six years. Off to read more of your works. ;)
-niki

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-05-25
Reviewid: 122712Chapter: 10
This is so sad *crys* WRITE MORE!Please....it is soooo interestin

Reviewer: GoldDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122205Chapter: 10
Ginny's full name is Ginevra,not Virginia.

Reviewer: QpsDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121366Chapter: 10
Is this finished? if so, it is so beautiful and scary how Tom controlled Ginny. eughhh.

Reviewer: CiDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121169Chapter: 10
Since I am a lazy reader, I generally don't bother to leave comments (shame on me, I know)- but there was absolutely no way I could read all of this and not let you know how utterly perfect your characterisation is. You've done a fantastic job with this, it fills in the blanks perfectly. I'm going to recommend it to everyone I know who reads HP fic. Bravissima.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119874Chapter: 10
Brilliantly done-almost as if J.K. Rowling had written it herself. Very intense too-Well Done

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119634Chapter: 4
I really liked the scene where Ron tried to comfort Ginny- he's such a good kid- and Hermione thinks Lockhart will keep them safe! How ironic.

<I was a master student of human psychology, Virginia. It is a great force. Perhaps the greatest. >
That's scary- especially as we re seeing the use he puts his gift to...
<What was that?

Nothing.

You pressed something to the page but it was not ink. Or tears. >

Uh- oh. Did Ginny kiss the diary? Hug it? She's going to be so devastated when she finds out who Tom really is...

It's so horrible the way he exploits her romantic ideals with his lies, like about Viane. He is so utterly cold- hearted. This was a wonderful terrifying chapter... well done!

Reviewer: MarcellaDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119544Chapter: 10
Very very very good,just as you would imagine it was like.I loved how strong Ginny was(how she kept defing him)!!!!!Although it really makes you dislike Fred and George! Over all very disturbing and sad,but good.

Reviewer: sunlightsoapDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119501Chapter: 9
This is....wonderful. I absolutely adore this story. Your portrayal of Tom is nothing short of terrifying and the way in which you have gradually built up his hold over Ginny is decidedly chilling. I love the way you have shown how he gains her trust, (whilst never being genuinely nice to her,) begins to manipulate her, ( so subtely even the reader is initially barely aware of it,) and finally has complete, utter and terrifying control of her.This way of writing is so effective because you have narrowed an entire novel down to the interraction between two characters and it is absolutely convincing. I feel, having read this, that I understand both characters and even the ideas behind CoS itself better. If only Tom's evil plan hadn't finished after only one year....

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118856Chapter: 3
Another wonderful, terrifying chapter. You really have the voice of Tom so charismatic and kind to Ginny yet... not...
<My strength is returning; I feel it. Already I have learned to dim your mind. Already I have your hand. Yes. It is as my own -- it belongs to me -- oh yes, my little shell, yes.

YES.>

Merlin, that's scary. Really really sinister. Poor innocent little Ginny!

<A scar that hurts him whenever there's something bad about to happen, Ron says. A warning scar. It burns him whenever anyone is about that wants to hurt him.

Does it really. What a marvel. Then tell me, has it burnt him much this year? Fire is a very painful element. Has it given him ridiculous, horrible, nasty, shooting pains? Does it torment him every hour of every day?

I don't think so. Goodness me.

So much for scars. >

This is wonderful, very very Tom. Arrogant and cynical and *shudders* nasty.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118849Chapter: 2
I like how you show Riddle beginning to emotionally manipulate Ginny with the "you forgot me" guilt trip, and not speaking to her for days... And now he's starting to control her eep!
I liked his curiousity as to why Ginny loved her family
< You love them because they give you things>
He just can't understand can he? I almost feel sorry for him in a way..

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118619Chapter: 1
This is really good. You really get across the voice of Ginny, chatty, girlish, but also quite perceptive at times. I can just imagine Tom grinding his teeth and rolling his eyes at her behind the page- well, if he wasn't so weak that is. I liked the idea of her tears feeding him.
I liked the idea of the game panic- it sounds fun!
<It gets pretty good! Unless you're playing with Harry, and he gets ones like "You are locked in a small space and forgotten for a week">
This is really sad. Poor Harry. The Weasleys are so nice, it would've been terrible if they'd called his bluff on that.

<What? Rudeness? Ugh, Malfoy and his nasty father. If I were put in Slytherin, I'd stick my head in a toilet and die.

Or someone else… would do it for you… >

Ooh this is good.... funny in a way but horribly creepy.... I really get the sense that he's laughing at her.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118371Chapter: 10
Very well done & the ending was perfect.

I've always been fascinated by the Ginny/Tom's diary story line and it's great to see pieces such as this which explore it more in depth; and done so well.

Minor nitpick: her name is Ginevra, not Virginia.

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117874Chapter: 10
Congratulate yourself with the fact you've got me sitting at the computer at 1:42AM (almost 2 hours since I started reading this) with tears streaming down my face. So glad no one is around to see me make such a fool out of myself over a story like this. *wipes eyes* You should be proud though and take it as a compliment.
Excellent, superb, biggest-bestest-superlative-you-can-think-of, story. I loved it to pieces (despite the fact I haven't cried like this in ages.) I can't think of any greater praise to tell you other than the fact I'm going to go cry myself to sleep now. Once again, great job!!

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117873Chapter: 9
Back to being scared again, not for Ginny, but just in general. *shudders* And now the last month closes in...

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117872Chapter: 8
There are always people who go for the 'baddies' from the HP films and books. A crush on Draco Malfoy I can understand as he is quite good-looking and has an interesting character; one on Snape is beyond my comprehension although somewhat supportable (in alternative universes); but there are still crazy people who swoon over the 16yr-old Tom Riddle. I used to be able to nod and say "riiiiight" judging only from the actor's face and trying to ignore the whole Ginny-possesion thing. But after reading this fic? *shakes head* I shall go on a serious anti-Tom Riddle rant at anyone who professes a tiny bit of a crush on him and command them to read this fic first before claming to even call him semi-acceptable. The low-down dirty little *growls* I can't think of a name awful enough for him!! The evil snake!! *growls again*

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117871Chapter: 7
LOL...dunno why I thought it was funny, especially as it's the same as CoS, but lol just the same.

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117870Chapter: 6
Moved on from being scared to being scared for Ginny instead...can't wait to have her chuck the stupid diary away! (Wow, this fic really gets you into her mindset and puts the whole CoS in a totally different light. Things do happen when Harry's not around! lol)

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117869Chapter: 5
I'd be mad at you for scaring me with this fic, except for the fact I should've expected it. Awesome development and characterization - you've made Riddle absolutely terrifying and Ginny absolutely terrified. (much like yours truly...*shudders*)

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117868Chapter: 4
This is freaking me out so badly!! I wonder how I'd be taking it if I didn't know what was really going on though... Oh, I forgot to mention it earlier, but I love the way you introduced the fact that Colin and Hermione and the others are Muggle-borns into the diary. Very nicely woven. Riddle's scaring me...*shudders* (Lol...getting this wrapped up in a FanFic, not only fiction, but FanFiction with an outcome I already know! lol)

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117865Chapter: 3
This is absolutely terrifying if you think about it! *shudders* Luckily I'm like Ginny and can usually hold screams in when I'm scared, but still...EEK!! By the way, I dunno when you wrote this or if you're bothered to go back and edit but I just remembered that Ginny's name isn't Virginia. It's Ginevra. (checked it as well to make sure.) Her middle name is Molly as well, if you want to go back and change that bit earlier on.
Great fic - I'm taken in by it, scarily much like Ginny and the diary...

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117861Chapter: 2
It is absolutley chilling how...*pause*...FRIENDLY you're making Tom Riddle sound! Poor Ginny!!
Amazing fic so far, I'm really enjoying it. You've developed it very well and the whole thing with her finding the diary where she "hadn't" left it...scary!! *shudders*

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117856Chapter: 1
Absolutely AWESOME story going here!! (I got the link from someone's bio page on FanFiction.net) But WOW is all I can say. This is so believable and WOW...okay reading on...

Reviewer: MarieDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116637Chapter: 1
Congratulations : you are really good at characterization, and I think I never saw someone grasp what happens so well. I'm talking not only about Ginny, but also about your work on Hermione and Ron. I really hope you will have time to write their diaries in OotP.

Reviewer: Hannah MarderDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116598Chapter: 10
What an ending! That will stay with me forever. And yes, by the time poor old Ginny said 'I want my mother' I was howling. That poor girl. And she fought him so hard. Thank goodness we know that she survived it, though I think I fully appreciate for the first time just how traumatised she must have been by the experience. Truly exceptional writing here, well done.

Reviewer: Hannah MarderDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116592Chapter: 5
This is a fantastic, if extremely chilling, story. Tom's entries are phrased perfectly, so that an adult reader with the benefit of hindsight can see exactly how horrible he's being, but poor old Ginny can't until it's too late. It's great to see Ginny fighting back and trying so bravely to resist Tom, I think that fits so much better with her canon character than other interpretations I've read where she is easily controlled. I also like how you have written Percy here, as a caring brother, even though he's every bit as pompous as ever. I've been close to tears a few times reading this, and there's still five months to go!

Reviewer: Hannah MarderDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116530Chapter: 2
I came across this fic because it was niffled over on FA. So far, it is brilliantly written and characterised. Tom's responses are so chilling, especially the parts where his response is sarcastic, but poor naive Ginny doesn't realise it. Ginny's entries here are just spot on, exactly what an innocent, normal eleven year old would write. There are signs here of the feisty Ginny from OotP, but along with the insecurity of a naive young girl at a new school. It must have been hard to get this just right, but you've achieved it, so well done.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115995Chapter: 10
Amazing, sooooo amazing! there are so many things i loved about it! I don't have the time or memory top say it all, but i have to say that the thin gi loved most was the way that Ginny began to speak like Tom nearer the end, using a more formal approach. This made me laugh and scared me in places. The best EVER fic i have read, and the only one i have really read fully except one other.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115516Chapter: 10
Oh, my, that was creepy. Surprisingly, it was the early chapters that really got under my skin -- you've got the ever-so-kind-needy-and-misunderstood persona of the born manipulator spot on, and the crazymaking. It was almost a relief to see it turn into open violence, because Riddle is really far less scary when he's making death threats than when he's playing head games.

And Ginny is wonderful -- it's good to see her fighting with all she's got, rather than being a damsel in distress. A true Gryffindor, that one.

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114359Chapter: 1
Hey! It is funny, in the time while waiting for HBP I find that fanfiction does not really satisfy so I came back to read your work. Why? Because your stories come so close to canon that they feel like the real thing - (to the point where a had to remind myself that they weren't:)).

If we got to see Ginny's diary, I think this would be what it looked like.

This is so brilliant.

Everytime I read it, I am always impressed by your perfect Riddle. You managed to express the ease by which a charming older boy can manipulate a young girl as awell as show the malice underneith all of his kindness.

I also love the fact that you managed to show how Riddle is not exactly the same as Voldemort but show how he would easily grow into being LV.

Amazing.

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112609Chapter: 10
God.

This is just so...

God.

Reviewer: JacquiDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112033Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this. It made me cry. :p. I think this is the best Ginny-centered fanfictions I have ever read.

Reviewer: sherman_the_catDate: 2005-01-20
Reviewid: 111585Chapter: 10
WOW! That was awesome. I got so into the story that i haven't stopped reading for the last 3 hours! and now i'm basically screwed since i haven't studied for the exam i have tomorrow. lol. this was an amazing story and i look forward to reading the epilogue.

Reviewer: KaelyDate: 2005-01-19
Reviewid: 111388Chapter: 1
That was fantastic! It was so well written and in character! I look forward to reading more of your work! Keep it up!

Reviewer: OwlDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109707Chapter: 10
My god. This is the single most creepiest thing I've ever read.

I liked your HQoW series as well. It's nice to be able to read some other character's reactions to things, if they're believable. Please rite more!

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109488Chapter: 10
Its scary how real it seems....................Good job!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109115Chapter: 2
"Dear Tom,



It's been such a wonderful weekend. I feel like I'm at a pajama party all the time, when I'm in my dorm, can you imagine?



No."


I was going to wait until I'd read the entire story to leave a review, but that bit made me laugh out loud. I can just imagine Tom Riddle in the middle of a pre-teen girl's slumber party. XD

I am really enjoying your characterisation of both Ginny and Tom... they are so accurate! And I like the way you've handled Ginny's "crush" on Harry, giving it real substance.

Anyway... back to the story! :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108536Chapter: 10
Yikes. Interesting progression you've made, from the seemingly harmless interest he took in Hagrid and Harry, to the evilness of the last chapter. I'd just like to make it known that "Goodbye, Virginia" sent chills up my spine.

Nice job!

Reviewer: TaniaDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108467Chapter: 10
Wow. This story was SCARY! Seriously, I read it last night, alone...scary. Even now, as I read the "You know who" part, I got a huge shiver. Amazing. Scary. *shudder*

Reviewer: VenetaDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108246Chapter: 10
I can't take my eyes off the screen! I can almost feel it... GREAT!

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108160Chapter: 10
I absolutely love this story. It is sooooo creepy. Absolutely amazing job. You captured both characters so well, especially Riddle. Absolutely creepy.

Reviewer: MadoldmrsfiggDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106965Chapter: 10
Oh my goodness. Parts of that were... sinfully good. Like how Tom reveals to her his true self, 'You know who. You know who.' GOD - I can never understand how you can write him so PERfectly! And yet create a masterpiece of Hermione in HQoW also - you are ridiculously talented. Thank you for this, you make me love Harry Potter even more.

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106662Chapter: 10
You creep me out... seriously. The last chapter was so perfect! Too bad you didn't write about Harry finding them... Oh well.

Reviewer: Kami-ChanDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106331Chapter: 10
Hi! Jayson and I just finished reading this! It's wonderful! Great! One of the best fics we've read! And the best Harry Potter one! Great job! Riddle could have been a bit more... seducing/scary, but you did great!

Reviewer: CaleonDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105812Chapter: 10
Oh. My. God. This story is just...just stunning. I'm flabbergasted. The books and movies don't give us nearly enough detail about how a girl can be possessed by a "simple" book; they just say it happens, and that's that. It rips all the meat, the feeling, out of such a horrifying part of the HP story.

This story puts it right back. It is so crystal-clear and in your face, and totally forces the reader to understand how painful and grueling and chilling it must have been for Ginny. I don't get creeped out by reading very often, but there were some things that TMV/VM says in your story that gave me the shivers. In broad daylight!

What gripped me most about this is that it's such a telling story about what can happen when a child communicates with an unseen person. (Think about all the kids who converse on the Internet, and what kind of person could actually be on the other end of that, and what control/influence they might gain!) I think JKR intended to touch on that when she put this subplot into her books, but you brought it into truly FRIGHTENING clarity. This isn't just a story, in my opinion. It's a very chilling lesson. If that kind of thing is what you intended on writing this, then hats off to a job amazingly well done. If not, at the very least, I have to say congratulations for having the ability & desire to write such a dark part of the HP books so well.

The only - ONLY - crit I have is that Ginny's name is Ginevra Molly Weasley. Other than that, I hope you never delete this story. It's incredible.

Reviewer: Ditsy BlondeDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105055Chapter: 10
I liked this, I really did, and Tom is so evil, I felt really sorry for GInny.
However, I found it hard to empathise with them. It's harder to show emotions in this format, and they're so formal anyway. I think you definately to need to have them speaking more naturally, and to find a way of showing the way they're feeling.
However, you have done a great job for a conversation format, considering how far apart they are in the end.
Another suggestion: possibly include what Tom shows them? It is i the diary, after all, and it will probably help the story.
By the way, someone said you did a great British accent, which I don't understand. No mistaken slang that I can remember, but normally it is better to leave it as proper English for other countries, as slang is regional, so... Don't get me wrong, I'm not calling this bad, I'm just worried that they were referring to the way every thing is so formal. Trust me, I'm British. It shouldn't be so formal. Not for a diary. An essay, yes, but not a diary.
Also, I don't mean to be rude, but in my opinion, this is just a little bit too dummed down, in terms of GInny's vocabulary.

Anyway, my thoughts are: great for the format. With a little but of work, could be really good.

~Ditsy Blonde

Reviewer: LaviniaDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104688Chapter: 10
This is the best fanfic I've ever read.
I'm not flattering you, I'm not exaggerating. If there is one fanfic I could recommend to Ms. Rowling, it would be this. And yes, I'm also a fan of Cassandra Claire's trilogy.
Congratulations.

Reviewer: Angellina WeasleyDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104485Chapter: 10
Wow. Riddle is so terribly foul in this story. Poor, poor Ginny. I can't imagine living with that for a whole school year. To be controlled like that, and to be mocked. I shudder at the thought. That was really, almost ridiculously scary. This, I think, made me want to cry out with pity for Ginny:
' Goodbye, Riddle.
Goodbye, Virginia.
One.'
AW

Reviewer: JaysonDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103652Chapter: 1
Wow! This Is Pretty Super, Even For A Girl's Fic. I Like Tom, He's Such A Bas*ard. (Uh, Can We Curse Here?) Lol, This Is Awesome, I'm A Guy And I Even Like It! I Think You Should Have Tom Be More Tom-ish, Is All I Have To Complain About. And You've Done The Brit Accent Perfectly, Mate!

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102230Chapter: 10
How spectacularly creepy! This story was marvelous, watching Ginny go from sad and shy waiting for Harry to look her way to seeing her fight her hardest against being posessed. Tom's voice was perfectly genteel and evil, very well done!

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100901Chapter: 10
*Incredible* work, Arabella. I had seen it recommended in a lot of places but never got round to reading it - now I did, and read it in one go. Your style is truly brilliant, as is your characterisation. Nothing is too long-winded, nothing is unbelievable; Ginny's struggles and her despair are palpable. The story moves very smoothly from one phase to another - the very well written eleven-year-old and her unconditional trust in Riddle, the intermediate phase of doubt, and the final part, where all of Riddle's sarcasm and hatred, hinted at subtly before, is unleashed. Good God, what excellent writing.

I especially liked the parts where Riddle found out about his future - the shock, the disbelief, and how he had to hide it from Ginny; and the stronger he got, the more impatient he was and the less able to hide his real emotions from her. But, of course, it didn't matter anymore.

Reviewer: Laura EvansDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100377Chapter: 10
Ok, I just finished this story and I'm shivering right now and I'm never, ever going to write in my diary again. In fact, I think I'm going to burn it right now.

Reviewer: TallyrandDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100269Chapter: 3
I love this story! I've read it before and now I'm reading it again. :) You are so good at making the two voices sound different. It's not just an underline that distinguishes one from the other. And the horrible inevitiability of Riddle taking control of Ginny is at once horrible and facinating to observe. Good job!(again)

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98543Chapter: 10
OMG! This was awesome. I can't believe I didn't read it sooner. I love how strong Ginny is, even when she is weak. Your portrayal is dead-on. JKR's books just let us know that Ginny fought Voldemort for a year, it doesn't go into detail. But the detail you supplied is wonderful. Ginny is so clever, hiding her wand and enlisting her friends' help. Excellent, excellent, excellent!

Reviewer: LaraDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97946Chapter: 10
How chilling! What an incredibly creepy story! I couldn't stop reading, it was just that good. Kudos to you!

Reviewer: LydiaDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96026Chapter: 10
Whoa....this freaked me out...in a GOOD way, of course. The way you portrayed it all...it's just so...whoa. I am left speechless! And full of goosebumps. Excellent job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --