The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141966Chapter: 5
Your fics, which are followed again and again by succeeding fics, are phenomenal.
Is there some way you can pull them and then immediately reintroduce them on the Quill so that others can notice and enjoy them?

Reviewer: jessanndiDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16240Chapter: 1
You always get the characters so right. Madam Hooch's briskness, Colin's no stop chatter. I love to see him and Harry chasing down the Great Staircase on their brooms!!

You neatly paired Mrs Norris and Crookshanks as well no crass cliche it is not obvious from the start that he will be the victor. Well written yet again.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15694Chapter: 5
*sniffle* Thanks for giving Filch something to make him feel special.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15692Chapter: 4
I really enjoyed the Filch-student bonding in this chapter, especially the part with Ron asking Filch about his parents. I'm glad he wanted to get to know Filch as a person.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15690Chapter: 3
AHAHAHAA!!! I am thoroughly enjoying this! I LOVED the cat chase! And of course the *survivor* had to be someone we all know and love...but I don't know if Hermione would cotton to the idea of being Mrs. Norris' mother-in-law, so to speak!

Anyway, I'm glad I know now why Filch doesn't want any more kittens. And Colin's enthusiasm about everything was adorable. I also liked how Filch learned about precious little things from the look on Harry's face :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15683Chapter: 2
What a lovely idea to make Colin the reserve Seeker! Speaking of Seekers, they could have used Peeves' dinner-roll hailstorm as Snitch or Bludger practice...and speaking of those dinner rolls, they sound like one of those "unofficial" weapons Moody was talking about!

LOL I'd been itching to get at this story for ages, but had to read your works in proper order. I am really enjoying Filch's "defending Mrs. Norris' virtue" from all her "suitors and swains"! I think his putting up with a human female with PMS would be similarly entertaining.

Onward I go! I'm really curious about Filch's last experience with Mrs. Norris' kittens, as well as whether any of these kittens are anyone we know :)

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15589Chapter: 5
I loved this! Especially Mrs. Norris in heat. *ROFLH* I've never thought of that before. I've seen a lot of people who ship Crookshanks/Mrs. Norris, but this is the first time I've seen it written. I love the way you handled the problem, too. Another excellent story.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10753Chapter: 2
Ozma, again I have to express my disbelief in actually finding enjoyment from these Filch stories! They are truly wonderful! I recommended these to a friend, telling her they were about Filch and Snape, and she asked me if they were slash fics! I think it's because many of us wouldn't even dream of enjoying stories about Filch. Thanks for making the impossible happen!

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10570Chapter: 3
rereading rereading... Did Scabbers have anything to do with Mrs. Norris' kitten's death? I noticed you put it in Percy's first year and got suspicious this time through.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10161Chapter: 5
"Imagine the diving possibilities. Flips! Cannonballs!"

ROTFLOL! That has to be one of the funniest things I've ever encountered in a fic. I can so imagine Dumbledore doing that. Bravo! Bravo! Great fic! I always did think it cool that you had Filch sensing spells.

THANK YOU!

Reviewer: Aris KatsarisDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10143Chapter: 1
"A more visible role" LOL! The rest of the prologue excited me, but it was little line in the author's note at the end, that really, really *amused* me... Thought I'd comment on this before I went on to read the rest of the story! :-)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10136Chapter: 5
I had a sudden disconcerting image of Hermione striding eagerly into the library with a crossbow slung on her back and Fang at her heels.
- Once again, I must ask - Can anybody draw this?

He grinned. "Well, picture it, Argus. Imagine the diving possibilities. Flips! Cannonballs!"
-Cute!

I am hoping that your last paragraph is a small taste of the plot of your next story.

Thank you for writing!

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10135Chapter: 5
Filch on an Auror mission! Sounds exciting. As always, you have so many wonderful little touches, like Snape's comment to Filch about not needing polyjuice to look like Moody. <g> And as always, you have done a wonderful job of thinking through things assumed in Canon, like how being thought to be a Squib would continue to affect Neville for years, taking away his confidence. And your description of what would happen to Argus after all his friends went away to school--very touching. Looking forward to the next installment!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10134Chapter: 4
Poor Neville.

You cant put magic into someone by drowning them or beating them, or locking them in a cupboard."
- I liked this and Harry's response


Nice job with the trio - nothing over the top and nicely in character.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10133Chapter: 3
Extra nice job with Colin. I could just see his bouncy, babbly self and his non-stop mouth.

I liked it from start to finish.

"I shall speak to the Headmaster about you, young Filch!" the ghost said, coldly. "And I shall speak to Mr. Pringle as well!"
-Hah!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10131Chapter: 5
Oh, it got sad in the middle there with Argus's desperate attempt at forcing some magic out, but you lightened it up marvellously with Dumbledore at the end - another great episode in the continuing life story of Argus Filch!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10118Chapter: 5
awwww! perfect end to a perfect fic. I hope there'll be another one, but I'll be perfectly content if there's not. I loved every minute of it. Filch rocks. Great job!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10113Chapter: 5
Ohboy another chapter so fast! I'm a happy camper! Hmm, Severus is just *full* of good cheer, isn't he? That comment about the scratching post and impersonating Moody was properly snarky. LOL

Oh, poor Argus trying to drown himself to get magic! Poor kid!

And Hermione on a research mission! Heh-heh... and I could see her with Fang and a crossbow, all she'd need would be a good reason!

LOVED Dumbledore's suggested use of the tapestries! He WOULD think of something like that! I love the way you evoke his sense of humor, just the tonic needed.

And I see Argus is pondering a mission as well. Good for him, he's progressing nicely! (And when will he get his GED equivalent? That would surprise him, wouldn't it?)

Thanks again for another great chapter!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10101Chapter: 5
Alright Ozma!!!

Great ending to this story, and you know you've opened yourself up to a world of possibilities.

As a reader, I have several questions floating around in my head:

1.) Who else knows about this particular Squib property?

2.) I wonder if Voldie & friends would apply their zeal against
to Squibs for the reasons mentioned in part 4?

3.) Who else here wants to see Filch-as-detector?

I hope, Ozma, that as a writer, you're asking similar questions. I hope that you as a writer will answer them so I as a reader can enjoy them!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 10025Chapter: 4
Oh no! I hoped that being the mainstay of the Professor Sprouts clean up crew would have given Neville more confidence, but it seems like it's going to take even more than that...poor Neville. Great chapter once again, Ozma - I'm so addicted to your stories now, they're the first thing I look for every morning when I come into work!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9921Chapter: 4
Ack! You are uploading chapters faster than I can read! I suppose that's okay, since I have read them all before and am just reading now to do proper reviews. And because they are such a pleasure to read!

"Hagrid treats the students that he befriends to tea and rock cakes. I sit with them in dingy dungeon corridors and scrub cauldrons. Oh, well. Each of us has to find our own way of doing things. I&#8217;m new at this." This line so perfectly sums up Filch and his growing interactions with the students. I really liked the way it took the five of them to put Neville's cauldron back to rights.

And two nights without sleep! It's a wonder Severus didn't hex both cats into next week! Two words, Sevvie: Silencing Charm--- he gets no sympathy from me.

Exceedingly well-done. These storied hold up very marvelously, on multiple readings. You've created a very believable Argus Filch. (I melted when I saw him in the movie, stroking his cat---my husband thought I'd lost it for sure).

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9856Chapter: 4
Yee-hee! I *knew* it!! No sleep for Severus! For two days!! No wonder he was a tad grumpy. :-D Argus is lucky Snape wasn't trying to take points off from HIM!

I do like the way you give out more info on Argus' past and how you can tell if a Squib is really a Squib. What a sad past! (On the other hand, is this how wizards come out of Muggle families? Some Squib in the family tree and the genes finally sort themselves out?)

And Harry's little comment about "you can't beat it out of someone"! I winced at that. He's so low-key and calm about what is awful abuse.

Great chapter! And kittens!! =;= Kittens are good!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9725Chapter: 3
*wild clapping* What a fantastic chase round the castle! Annd Crookshanks could be a daddy! This is a far lighter hearted tale than the previous one - are you just lulling us into a false sense of security? Or is this one going to allow Argus a much needed rest from his trauma's?

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9701Chapter: 3
Owwie, poor Argus! Cat scratches, near heart-failure from watching Harry and Colin AND getting "talked-to" by Prof. MacGonagall! Yowwiee!

I do hope the Baron does something appropriately unpleasent to Peeves, the little wretch.

And... you DO know that Mrs. Norris and Crookshanks are performing their nuptuals down where Prof. Snape lives and works? Hee-hee, is Severus going to get *any* sleep tonight?? Perhaps he could put on some nice music to drown out the symphony... say, the soundtrack to "Cats"? Ya-ha-ha!! :-D

Love Colin's nonstop patter. That boy has a future job on the Wizard Broadcasting Network!

Great new chapter!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9697Chapter: 3
<i>It was amazing. Hed said all that without even stopping to breathe.</i>

10 points to Ozma's house for perfectly capturing (at least IMHO) Colin Creevey.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9485Chapter: 2
"Muggles were so bloodthirsty! Id had no idea of the sorts of crudity they were forced to resort to in place of proper magic!"
-Hah!

Very funny premise!

Nice job with Harry and Colin.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9484Chapter: 1
Nice start. I like Rita's mirror.

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9461Chapter: 1
"Cats and Aurors love to keep secrets"--HA!! Love that!

Nice, the way Harry is inserted in here, and how you have Moody clue him in that the doors are a secret in a pleasantly subtle way. And, though Filch didn't mean to hurt Moody, I can't say that I don't think he deserve a bit of his own medicine.

As a side note, having now seen CoS in film, the thought of Lucius Malfoy flinging Filch down the stairs seems all the more real---and creepy!

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9437Chapter: 2
Hilarious! Now you're proving you can write comedy as well as you write everything else. I really want Crookshanks to win this battle. Can't wait for the next installment.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9362Chapter: 2
Oh dear, I have a feeling Argus is going to regret letting them do this! Will he have to give a detention to himself?!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9356Chapter: 2
Cats in love - Aiee! The yowling is pure torture, I know from experience! It could be worse, Mrs. Norris could be a Siamese!

Poor Argus listening to Colin's description of "fixing" a cat. Life can be somewhat gentler in the wizarding world as compared to the Muggle world.

I laughed at Argus singing Harry's praises as a cleaner to Snape! I could just imagine his face doing all these contortions...

And nasty little Peeves letting the cat out! Whatta pest he is.

I notice Argus isn't even *thinking* of asking Snape for a potion for Mrs. Norris. Is he worried that Snape wouldn't do it, or that he might give the cat something bad? I think he's pretty trustworthy, altho I'm not sure if I'd care to use him as a vet. :-0 Maybe if Argus lets Snape listen to Mrs. Norris yowl for a couple hours? Heh-heh. Nothing like motivation.

Thanks for the next chapter, and Watch out for Crookshanks!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9350Chapter: 2
Yes! I wanna see some broomstick action! If you can pull off a good description of the chase, I'll be ecstatic.

(And Colin-as-Harry's second-string makes TONS of sense.)

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9324Chapter: 2
Oh, this is a kill! Excellent fic!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9317Chapter: 2
*pumps fist* YES! Oh, this is going to be GREAT! Harry zooming through Hogwarts on his broom... WOOHOO!!!!! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9056Chapter: 1
Heh-heh, read and enjoyed this last night, but decided to review tonight since I was too tired to be coherent. I'm so glad Madame Hooch decided to help Argus learn to fall, I like her attitude a lot, she's always so no-nonsense and practical.

Ooo! Good idea with the confiscated mirror! Argus is no dummy. Too bad it worked a *little* too well. And more points yet to Argus for managing such a quick and timely rescue! Methinks Moody plays a little too rough sometimes, so I find it hard to feel sorry for him - makes me wonder if his leg was lost from magical battle or impetuous mischance. (Gee, what is it with these Slytherins? One might think they were part-Gryffindor! LOL.) I also loved the fact Argus got the mirror from Rita Skeeter!

Ahh, I wondered about the noises and figured it had to be the gang (or just Harry?) wandering around under the invisibility cloak. I'm glad Moody put in a pitch for them, and also a request for their help, I see! Argus could use a little friendly help. (I mean, Snape isn't 'un-helpful', but 'friendly'? He's got a way to go yet before he gets to the 'friendly-help' stage.)

Excellent starting chapter, as always, I'll be eagerly awaiting more.

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8840Chapter: 1
These stories get better and better - well plotted, informative and amusing. Keep em coming.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-12
Reviewid: 8838Chapter: 1
!!!!!!!!!!! A new story all ready! How prolific are you?!

Reviewer: HPRavenDudeDate: 2002-11-11
Reviewid: 8781Chapter: 1
I've just finished reading through all of your previous Filch stories here on Sugar Quill, and this seemed an appropriate time to come and comment, while you were just starting a new story. I have to say I think the way you portray Filch is excellent. He is a much more intriguing character than the 'Angry Caretaker', you have given him a great deal more dimension than we have previously seen, but managed to keep his actions realistic. I like the Squib Doors, and have enjoyed this series immensely. I look forward to reading much more about Filch, and hope you will continue to write these great stories.

HPRavenDude

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --