The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Disenchanted
Review(s): 146

Reviewer: EriskayDate: 2006-12-27
Reviewid: 146632Chapter: 1
I've now read "The Very Secret Diary" and "Disenchanted", and I'm in awe. Your writing is excellent and your idea to write this diary is one of those really good fanfiction-ideas. And good ideas don't always turn out in a good way, but this one did. My favourite part of the two storys were when Ginny says that Tom is like a dementor, he yells at her and finishes with "DO YOU HEAR ME?" and she just replies "No. I see your writing on the paper." That has made my day. :) Since I've finally got an account here, you'll probably see some more reviews on your other storys.

Reviewer: phoenixtear19Date: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140399Chapter: 1
Wow, amazing job. I loved the power you put behind your words. Very well done.

Reviewer: Morgan WillowbyDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136955Chapter: 1
I have not had opportunity to read many stories on SQ (so many stories, so little time), but I have read After the End, and it was because of that series' excellence that I sought out more of your work. This piece, Disenchanted, was so lovely. I adore the Dumbledore POV, and I think you created a beautiful backstory for a part of Ginny's CoS struggle we never got to see after Harry rescued her.

And from the end section about scars, up to the final comment from Dumbledore ("You are a Gryffindor, Virginia," he said quietly. "And he has not won.")... I had tears in my eyes.

Great job!

Thanks,
Morgan

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135771Chapter: 1
Wonderful wrap-up

Reviewer: sarahDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133958Chapter: 1
awesome job, again. keep up your writing.

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-09-30
Reviewid: 133468Chapter: 1
You made me cry, again! so much that my throat hurt.
You are definitly a GENIUS! BRILLANT!

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129746Chapter: 1
This is really interesting...I'm suprised they didn't give more follow-up to Ginny's struggle.

Reviewer: aleciaDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127741Chapter: 1
this is really good. you should write more!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125724Chapter: 1
Her name is Ginerva not Virginia otherwise that was a very great piece,touching

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124531Chapter: 1
Why do I even bother reviewing your works, Arabella? It's bound to be repetitive. Anything with your name on it is so fantastic, so in character, sometimes I wonder to myself if you're really Jo Rowling, sitting in Scotland laughing at all the reviews you get saying you're so much like...this was a wonderful story, and I thank you for allowing us all to read it.

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122015Chapter: 1
I was bored so I started searching for something to read and found this and it's really really good. I'm sure you've heard that already (there were so many reviews already!) but I'm trying to make a habit of reviewing everything I read, so.. Albus is perfectly like he's supposed to be, it fits with everything we've seen from him the past five books. And I admit I'd never thought very much about what Ginny went through after it was all 'over', this gives a very good view.

Reviewer: MindyDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121125Chapter: 1
Beautiful, Arabella.

Reviewer: CrossbowDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120970Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed "The Very Secret Diary" a lot, but I found this follow-up really disappointing. I suppose I'll be the only one to say this, but I think that the Diary story is much stronger without this.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115424Chapter: 1
oh. so so soooo good. *sigh*. this is one of my favourites. Had to come back and read it again.

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114160Chapter: 1
Big plus for makin Dumbledoor so ... Human.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112748Chapter: 1
I want to publish a story, and I want a beta-reader. How do I get one? And is there like a login here? I can't find my main login page thing. I'd really appreciate it is some of my questions were answered. Thanks!

PS Awesome story, I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112574Chapter: 1
Ginevra, but still... Tears etc.

Jolly good show. xxx

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2005-01-28
Reviewid: 112307Chapter: 1
Great fic! I like how you characterize Dumbledore and Ginny here.

Reviewer: A VisitorDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111635Chapter: 1
Comparing this to "The Very Secret Diary", I feel as if Ginny is missing something that she gained in that fic; the mood and terror you created there was absolutely amazing and it doesn't quite carry in this piece. Ginny changes almost mercurially, and while she as a character might not be able to explain what she has gone through, it doesn't seem her response quite tallies either. A WOW to the Diary though.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102179Chapter: 1
Wow.... Incredible.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99211Chapter: 1
aww...damn that was good. very heartwarming. an excellent story for the characters. and it was great to have a Ginny fic from Dumbledore's perspective WITHOUT Harry

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98540Chapter: 1
I was re-reading the story, and decided to read the reviews, too. Sadly, I discovered that people still haven't learned to focus on the fanfic, not the details.

If you would look at the date of publishing, Arabella posted this long before JKR confirmed Ginny's full name. And why does it matter, anyway? Its a good *fic.* I wish fandomers would see that that's all that matters. But I guess they don't.

Reviewer: JanisDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98264Chapter: 1
Ginny's full name is Ginerva, not Virginia. JK Rowling corrects Ginny's real name on jkrowling.com!

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97685Chapter: 1
cool! I've read some of your stories because I've seen some pics from them on a site. you are a really good writer. You should write your own books, and not only fanfics.

Reviewer: AleighaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94553Chapter: 1
This is a great story. I admire the way you write. How emotional, but I think I prefer the diary

Reviewer: NatDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 93021Chapter: 1
Ginny's full name is Ginerva not Virginia. Ginerva is a common-place standard English name and isn't as glamarous-sounding as Virginia - certainly nothing to make a 10-yr-old lose her head to a demonic spirit in a diary.

Reviewer: Plum BlossomsDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92080Chapter: 1
That was very good!!! you've gotten down the characters very well. I loved the 2nd book, but I was sad for what happened to ginny :(

Reviewer: BradDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89637Chapter: 1
Slowly working my way through this treasure trove ... amazing how such wonderful stories can be gleaned from canon. You are so clever! Thank you for such a great piece.

Reviewer: C-chanDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86940Chapter: 1
Ye Gods, that must have been horrible for her. I mean, I just sat here and read the Zarking fic, so I KNOW it was horrible, but it's nothing like actually being them. *blinks* Geez, JK really likes to torture her side characters, doesn't she?

*thinks for a minute about how she couldn't talk* You know, I was playing the PS2 CoS game, and every time I tried to talk to her (after the attacks started, of course), she would walk right by me. Eventually, I just started using "Flipendo" on her. Apparantly, she WAS allowed to say "Ouch" and "Har-RY!" ^_^ Fun. But it was much more fun to do it to Percy, cause he would do this whiny little "Oooooowww!"

*blinks* I get sidetracked easily, don't I?

~C-chan

Reviewer: MarthaDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86425Chapter: 1
Ginny's full name is Ginerva not Virginia

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85381Chapter: 1
Very well done!

Reviewer: BrieaDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82347Chapter: 1
Wow...I read the Very Secret Diary and then this story and the way you put the book evidence with your own writing skills is amazing. You are a great writer and maybe us readers of fan fiction will hear of someone with the alias of Arabella one day. And Arabella will have her own series of books. Anyway, I really enjoyed your stories and I hope you write many more.

Reviewer: MerryDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80364Chapter: 1
Ah, so you DID write an epilogue. Well done. I'm not much for crying, but I blubbered all over my keyboard at this...and it takes quite a story to make me cry. Well done.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79691Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this look into what Ginny had to go through. I think you've nabbed it perfectly- JKR herself could not have done a better job of it. I had and idea while reading your story, for another re-telling of the books from Ginny's perspective. However, though I do indeed wish to write it myself, I have not the time, not by a long ways. If you know of anyone of the elite authors from the Professor's Bookshelf (and by that I mean those of you who do the beta-reading, and who all have the few stories that truly rival those of JKR), I sincerely implore you to pass around my idea. As silly as it sounds, I'd like to submit it to you by email- because I know that the story has true potential, and I don't want just anyone to nab the idea and butcher it. Please, if you don't have the time to do it yourself (though I really do think you'd be the perfect one to do it), ask around and see? I'd love to see this written by someone so capable. And it's not some whole elaborate scheme that I've drawn out. I have simply the key inspiration, and I want the author to draw freely from there. Let me know. Thank you for all your wonderful literature.

Reviewer: CherryDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79575Chapter: 1
hey Arabella, Cherry here. I read THE VERY SECRET DIARY and loved it! But this is the real thing. tHe ending summary. Please write more and email me at even the smallest change. I love all your stories and have yet to read more. Great job on THE VERY SECRET DIARY and DISENCHANTED. I love them. buhby
-Cherry

Reviewer: GabbyDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75346Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. That was incredibly well written and just...heavy. It weighs on your heart and your mind after you finish reading it, because so young a girl should not be exposed to such corruption. *shiver*

Reviewer: romeeDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74765Chapter: 1
great story, i love your work!

Reviewer: ZibbyDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71713Chapter: 1
Wow, what an excellent story. I never truly realized what Ginny had to go through that second year. I never realized how emotionally scarred she was. You write beautifully and the characters are perfect. I'm glad I stumbled upon your fanfic because it is so powerful. I love that last line. I'll look forward to reading more of your stories in the future.

Reviewer: KatieScarletDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67854Chapter: 1
Aah, marvelous. I want to hug them both now.

Reviewer: TommyDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67729Chapter: 1
You have truly capture the real Virginia Weasley, this was wonderful fanfic and I'm hoping you write more about Ginny, she's my most favorite character and the fanfic I read never trully did a good work on her but you open her up Thanks for this excellent fanfic

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62677Chapter: 1
Nicely done! That's a great last line:
>>"You are a Gryffindor, Virginia," he said quietly. "And he has not won." <<

It sums up Dumbledore very well. He understands the value of a family like the Weasey's. And I thought that, technically, you wrote him well. He was not heavy on advice, but long on support. You achieve a stronger affect. Sort of less is more.

And I like the Attitude!Ginny. Nice to see how well that fits canon after OotP.

The details are nice too. Molly and Arthur holding hands. And Molly touching Ginny while seeking support from Arthur.

As usual, great work!

Reviewer: katiaDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60940Chapter: 1
Beautifully written. Especially the bit where she rushed to tell Dumbledore all that happened.

Reviewer: ChaliceInnanaDate: 2003-11-24
Reviewid: 60623Chapter: 1
Hey, I just thought I'd drop a line. This is one of my very favorite fan fics. I've read it about 10 times. It seems like what J.K. would have written, if she'd given us this moment.

Love it.

Reviewer: FioDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56540Chapter: 1
I love this story! I was wondering tho, do you plan on writing a Hermione Queen of Witches for Order of the Phoenix? If you are, do you know WHEN? I've been dying to read it! I loved the four you did to death! If you do do it, post it chapter by chapter so we don't have to wait for the WHOLE thing to be done. I am so tortured waiting for book 6 and your work is literally good enough to seem like I'm reading the books again! PLEASEEEE Email me to tell me your plans for it if you get a chance! You're 'bloddy brilliant'!

Reviewer: VIRGINIA RIDDLEDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55050Chapter: 1
that was really horrible to do to me, that damn riddle..........wait......why is my name virg-ginia r.....r....RIDDLE?!!!!! *faints* (other self: LFMAO)

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53860Chapter: 1
Wow... This is really good. But it made me want to cry....

Reviewer: Skullycat MarieDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52338Chapter: 1
Ah... you are a wonderful writer! This was a lovely ending to The Very Secret Diary and I absolutely adore how you wrote Dumbledore! I don't believe I've ever read about him in a way that was more accurate or well done! In fact, all of it was well done and in character... Ginny was great... and I loved Tom, for all the evil that he is... and his evilness was done so well! I loved it when he wrote too fast for her to read, it was funny.. although mean.. and Ginny! and all of it! Ahh.. I love it! I can see what Marta likes you're work and I'm so glad I stumbled upon it! Keep writing! You're excellent at it! Cheers! - SKM

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52199Chapter: 1
Just finished this for a second time after finally reading The Very Secret Diary. Awesome job. You are such a talented writer. I just wish that my stories could be half as good as yours are, some day.

Reviewer: JackyDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51071Chapter: 1
yaaay! thank god for the follow-up story!
"You are a Gryffindor, Virginia," he said quietly. "And he has not won."
love it! u just want to go give the weasleys a hug. the very secret diary had such an abrupt ending i just needed this one.

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47645Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful follow-up to your other story. You have really captured the emotions of all characters involved, and showed what effect this experience had on them. Thank you for including Molly and Arthur - they're perfect. Speaking of which, so is Dumbledore. I love reading from his point of view (and attempting to write it), and in this he seems so - well - Dumbledore. And it's hard to get him right. All the little details about his character are there, such as thanking Fawkes. And Ginny... she's amazing. I could go on about how wonderful her dialogue is, but for the sake of keeping this review somewhat coherent, I won't. I'll just say, once again, wonderfully done. Brava.

Reviewer: DDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46886Chapter: 1
Being an avid fan of the Boy Who Lived, I have read through each of the five books. As the books progress, they seem (and most likely DO) get darker and darker. Somehow, in the three and a half years that has passed since I read "Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets", I have forgotten exactly how dark the earlier books can be. "Disenchanted" helped me understand exactly what Ginny may have gone through in her first year at Hogwarts. You give her character such life, even at her worst, that is not found until Books 4 and 5. This fic is very well-written and is an example of the best in Harry Potter fanfiction.

Reviewer: FantomeDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46357Chapter: 1
Wow! Wonderful characterization of Dumbledore. I was especially moved by the discussion of the name "Virginia." It recalled the "Fear of a name..." quote to me. Fantastic job!

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45183Chapter: 1
Hey it's me Suzanne, I really like your stories and such, you like so many of your colleages. But yeah I'm writing a book myself and I could use your guidence. Well have a cool summer! Bye bye!

Reviewer: letylyfDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44486Chapter: 1
Very nice follow-up to the Very Secret Diary. I enjoyed the look into Ginny and the effects very much. It's an interesting set up for many things to happen later... wow, poor Ginny. But there were hints, throughout the diary, that she had the strength to fight him, and recover... again, really good job.

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41808Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. I'm crying... This whole story really touched me. I lost it for a while and came back today and found it again and finished it - it's incredible how you have such a grasp on human emotion. Very few writers have that gift. Also - the similarities between this story and OotP, even though you hadn't read it before you wrote this, is also incredible. I'm sorry that I can't give you an example, it's on the tip of my tongue but it's not coming out. I'm sorry for my inarticulate review, your story was just amazing.
Bella, who's distinctly choked-up

Reviewer: Keyla ArinocDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41109Chapter: 1
I think I may have already reviewed for this story, but I just wanted to tell you that you did Ginny so well that in OotP she perfectly matched the canon character. There are some lines in OotP that make it quite clear that Ginny has not forgotten, nor will ever forget her experience with Tom Riddle. It reminded me of this story, so I came and read it again. Great job. I have never read more realistic fanfic.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40799Chapter: 1
I love this, its written beautifully and perfectly in character. I have been a longtime fan of your writing, first starting off on fanfiction.net. You will become a very successful writer if you choose that as your occupation in the future. You have a gift.

Reviewer: Olivia PitcherDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40661Chapter: 1
What an amazing story. I really cannot find any any fault at all, so I won't even try to criticize it in any way, no matter how constructively. It is so powerful, and I think describes Ginny, and certainly Dumbledore, better than perhaps anthing I have read yet. The "laugh that no twelve-year-old should know how to give" chilled my blood, and the final sentence made me want to cry and say awwwwwwwww at the same time. Anyway, the long and short of it is that it's a fantastic story, and one of my new favourites. well done. really.

Reviewer: KDDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40084Chapter: 1
Again, wow! This is so much like canon. It's so chilling; it's almost like Ginny was a rape victim. Riddle took something from her, and now she won't be that innocent little girl anymore. I'm almost shivering right now as I write this. It's seems so much like a continuation of CoS.

Reviewer: Elizabeth PotterDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39854Chapter: 1
My, my, my. How do you manage to do this to me? I'm sitting here, weeping like a baby! You are an excellent writing. Excellent. I do hope you have no doubt in your talent, because you shouldn't. The Very Secret Diary..is..my favorite fan fic. It sends chills up my spine just reading it..and this was a perfect little tie in. The last line..so Dumbledore..so..JKR..so you all at the same time. "You are a Gryffindor, Virginia. And he has not won." Perfect. Good luck in future writings, I hope to read more from you.

Reviewer: StormDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37844Chapter: 1
A lovely little ficlet. I normally shy away from pure Ginny fic – it’s so hard to keep her in canon character yet still make her interesting – so I’ve not read The Very Secret Diary, but this works phenomenally well. It really manages to unpack Ginny, the things she’s been through over the year, but also to give her some character of her own and a good dose of Gryffindor courage so she’s more than just the sum of her experiences. I also appreciate the glimpse into Dumbledore’s thoughts.

Storm

Reviewer: Duskrider QDate: 2003-06-18
Reviewid: 37397Chapter: 1
I'm becoming a fast fan of your writing. I like the way you've taken quick an analysis of their looks and feelings. It was much easier to visualize this story. Furthermore many besides J.K.R. have tried to have Dumbledore sound wise and warm ass he is, but you managed it with him still humanely questioning the cjhoice of his word s and being cautious.; I like that it doesn't seem to come naturally.
I love the way Ginny describe Voldermort taking her over. I nearly cried. I got this image of rape especially at the line of "he got inside my legs" and i realize that it very much so was, like rape. Wonderful symbolism! I'm not sure if it was intended. Keep writing. I'm taking notes for my own fanfiction... don't worry I'll be original!

Reviewer: KarrieDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36709Chapter: 1
I just read this after reading The Very Secret Diary. It's a nice ending, but it's so depressing. I wish Dumbeldore could've given Ginny some hope for the future, or restore some faith in herself. But she didn't seem to be entirely believe that she wasn't responsible for Tom's actions. Maybe you could write another story that shows Ginny has recovered somewhat? I always love your stories, Arabella, you're great.

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33983Chapter: 1
*cries*

Poor Ginny! I read "The Very Secret Diary" so long ago, but I remember it perfectly. Chamber of Secrets was probably the scariest book in the series, if you think about what Ginny went through...

Meghan

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33755Chapter: 1
perfect follow-up from The Very Secret Diary.
i needed to read something like that--TvsD really creeped me out..great stories!

Reviewer: H. MackilwraithDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33380Chapter: 1
Very powerful, I've never read a more convincing Dumbledore.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29609Chapter: 1
Lovely. Simply lovely.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29085Chapter: 1
That was an excellent story! I enjoyed every minute of it - your writing is wonderful! ^^

Reviewer: Remember CedricDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28560Chapter: 1
OMG! You are awesome!

Reviewer: IsabelDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27594Chapter: 1
OMG! I only can say one thing, WONDERFUL.

:D

Reviewer: Nicolette CoerDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25593Chapter: 1
Hi, I'm A Pheonix Awards Judge. pretty good. a more indepth comment will be found on the notice you will recive later.

~Nico~

Reviewer: kazzDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23597Chapter: 1
this story is just awesome. So powerfully written and so moving. Well done times a million!

Reviewer: fizzingwhizbeeDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22274Chapter: 1
"You are a Gryffindor, Virginia," he said quietly. "And he has not won."
Oh, this was a wonderful, chilling, touching end to the Very Secret Diary. Since my eyes have gone all misty, I will leave a more coherent review at a later date. just...wow.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20447Chapter: 1
oh, thats sooo sweet! lovely!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 20026Chapter: 1
Well done! I'm very impressed- awesome job!

Reviewer: Fidelius FemmelaDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19819Chapter: 1
>She glanced up at him and gave a very quiet laugh. >It was the kind of laugh a twelve-year-old should >not have known how to give. Albus shivered.
Wow, powerful stuff. You really captured Dumbledore with this piece. Kudos.
~FF

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18333Chapter: 1
Nice ending, although if I were Dumbledore I would have thought strongly about Memory-Charming her. But then, if I were Dumbledore, the story would have been very different in books 1-4, too! I'd like more about how she's coping. Poor little warrior girl. Thanks!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17109Chapter: 1
As usual, brilliant. And I rarely ever say that. But your writing is...I simply love it. You made me a Ginny fan. And you do a great Dumbledore, which always impresses me. Just great.

Reviewer: ChickadillyDate: 2002-12-26
Reviewid: 13947Chapter: 1
Oh wow.

That last line gave me chills. What a wonderful, moving and sad story.

Thank You!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13749Chapter: 1
i didnt read this story, and i'm not reviewing it. but arabella, i didnt know your email, and i HAD to tell you this. do you know that song "at the beginning"? well, if you dont, get the animated version of "anastasia" and at the ending credits it plays that song. it would be sooo cool to make that into a HP songfic! please please please please please!

Reviewer: Lily SolstarDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13276Chapter: 1
Wow. Very, *very* good. Straight from the books. Characterization of Dumbledore was excellent, as was ginny/dumbledore scene. *This* is why I read fanfics. Thank you for writing such a great one. (And I love that last line).

Reviewer: EilanDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10348Chapter: 1
I really liked this fic. Haven't yet read the prequel, but I could still understand it. Your portrayal of both, Ginny and Dumbledore, is very good. Keep writing.

Cheers, Eilan

Reviewer: Sharon RobinsonDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9791Chapter: 1
Dear Arrabella,
I really liked your fan-fiction,and can see why it is almost rated R.It was weird when I heard about your character Sharon,because my real name is Sharon (but not Robinson) and I were to go to horwarts,I'd also be muggle-born.I decided to reply at "Disenchanted" because I wanted to read everything first.
However,I noticed a mistake in the begginging.In the book,it says that Harry is exited about two weeks without the Dursleys,then Hogwarts.That means that he went school shopping at atleast August 15th,but your diary starts at August 4th.But besides that,it was a really good fan-fiction.
Sincerly,
Sharon :)

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9734Chapter: 1
Wonderful conclusion to TVSD, thanks. Poor old Ginny :(

A request, Arabella? I love After the End to bits (it's up there with canon, in my eyes), but seeing as Dumbledore is no longer around for that series, any chance of another piece of writing featuring everyone's most favourite powerful wizard? You write him so well, I would love to read more.

Cheers,
Myf

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9706Chapter: 1
Another fantastic piece of writing, even though the subject matter was very disturbing. This better than the neat ending for Ginny and the the Weasleys that we see in CoS. Arthur's reaction was dead on perfect and I would really like to see him get Malfoy back. I laos liked Ginny piping up that she was 12, not 11 and that being a sign that shewas stronger than everyone thought.

Your characterization of Dumbledore was great. I especially liked how he answered questions with questions and let Ginny figure out how to feel instead of telling her how to feel. Your fics ring with such an honesty and truth to them. Your writing always evokes a strong emotion in me, which doesn't happen too often with fanfics. This is truly brilliant work.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9689Chapter: 1
Fantastic. There aren't words to how well TVSD was wrapped up. Rape. Riddle mentally raped Ginny...poor girl. This was a fantastic series, the whole lot of them. Thanks for writing it--fabulous.

Reviewer: SlowFoxDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9661Chapter: 1
Very touching.... Dumbledore is so hard to capture; to set him up as a master of language as well as a master of magic was setting yourself a high target... but, as usual, you met it.

Dumbledore's power seems to come directly from his ability to say exactly enough, no more, no less, and lead the listener to deduce things that really were already known. He's more a signpost than an informer, it seems... and you've caught that exceptionally well in this fic... Ginny's questions getting back bounced to her, and so on.

GREAT writing, as usual...

SlowFox

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2002-11-19
Reviewid: 9572Chapter: 1
Wow. Not only can you characterize Tom (the slimy...evil...kfjdjhg) and Ginny perfectly, you've got Dumbledore down too! His reaction to Harry; what he told the Weasleys, and especially his treatment of Ginny. Wonderful.

"along with many colder feelings, Albus felt a surge of pride. These children - these remarkable children - they seemed able to withstand all things, and they were so willing to name the difficult truths. He had not seen their like in many years." I don't even know what to say about this. I think you've captured an important part of JKR's universe here.

And the ending is also perfect: ""You are a Gryffindor, Virginia," he said quietly. "And he has not won.""

Reviewer: Mrs. HobbesDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9460Chapter: 1
Hi Arabella! I can't remember if i've commented on any of your stories, but I guess I'll just lump 'em all together here. First off, "The Very Secret Diary" and "Disenchanted" were brilliant! There have been so many fics discussing the consequences of the event, but thank you for putting it in beautiful words (terrifying, yes, and even haunting, but beautiful, nonetheless), perfectly capturing the horror and terror of Ginny. Now whenever I read a fic and see allusions to CoS, I'll always think of this. Thank you for truly solidifying the link that I've always believed will bring Ginny and Harry together :)

On another note, just a quick one, I read "The More is My Unrest" and thought it absolutely tingle-in-my-back creepy. At the same time, so tightly woven and coherently written, it probably is one of the best in the archive (IMHO, of course).

Lastly, one sentence that sang to me, long after I clicked the close button on my browser:
"Such a pity that truth and comfort so rarely walked together."
How right you are.

Reviewer: KylaraDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9447Chapter: 1
I don't quite know what to say. Ginny has never been a favorite character of mine - after all, she is covered very little in the books, and the extent that she is covered is somewhat superficial. This story surprised me; it's written in a way that fits Ginny so well, the one from the books that I know so little. The Dumbledore you portrayed was even more fitting, and I enjoyed this greatly ^.^

Reviewer: AliceyDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9412Chapter: 1
Well. *rubs hands* Here goes. I haven't read fanfiction in a very long time, and haven't reviewed any in still a longer time. But I'll do my best to give you a good review.

Someone provided me with a link to "The Very Secret Diary" and I read that in a day. It utterly restored my faith in fanfiction. I'd lost it some time ago. After I read this, I looked through your other titles and decided to read this, since I figured it'd be related to TVSD.

All I can say is, wow, absolutely wow. Your writing talents are absolutely remarkable. You don't stoop down to using clichés. The characterizations of Dumbledore, Ginny, and her parents are absolutely spot-on. I was drawn into the fic in the first few lines. The change from being a little naive girl to someone so much more dishearteningly experienced is very noticable and made obvious through her discussion with Dumbledore. I also liked how you didn't portray Dumbledore like JKR does in the book- always quiet with the occasional wise thing to say. You instead showed his inner thoughts, self-doubts and personal conflicts- there's even a hint of guilt here and there. Poor Ginny. Ginny's strengths that you've pointed out through Dumbledore have changed my thoughts that she was just some silly little additional character in the HP series. I don't know what else to say.

So, in all, you've got some absolutely marvelous stuff. I'll be back to read more of your stuff.

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9325Chapter: 1
Oh, Arabella! This is beyond wonderful! You characterise Dumbledore so well! And Ginny, too. It's just...wonderful.

Reviewer: jessDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9265Chapter: 1
Disenchanted was great! you captured Ginny's character better than any other fan fic writer i've read. It was great finally knowing what goes on in Dumbledore's head, and it was exactly how i imagined his thoughts. keep writing!

Reviewer: VoxMailleDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9226Chapter: 1
I think I loved this scene even more than VSD. Beautifully done--particularly the part where Ginny reminds her parents that she's "twelve."
Thank you, Arabella. :-)

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9211Chapter: 1
This was a good one! I especially like how Dumbledore reflected on the fact that children are stronger than adults believe. Poor Ginny, to have to live with that all her life. Considering what she must have gone through, no wonder the Dementors affected her almost as badly as they did Harry. Excellent job!

Reviewer: bohemian vixenDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9196Chapter: 1
Arabella, you give me chills. I was reading this at 3 am in the morning, I shouldn't have. Ginny was...disenchanted. The way she was talking was very heavy that it's scary. This is a very good fic. You've captured what I can only feel in my guts. I could never express in words just how Ginny was after CoS. Thaks for this fic, people can have a sold feel of what it was like to be Ginny in her first year. Scary *shudders*

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9187Chapter: 1
Yeah! This was such a good protrayal of Dumbledore!

And I really enjoyed Fiery!Ginny.

You set the mood, characters, and setting. And I can see something like this happening in the end, very easily.

Skillful work, Arabella. This is exactly the kind of thing I've been hoping you would do, ever since I read that Pride and Prejudice story way back. You've had some good stories since then, but for some reason this one strikes me like that one did. Thanks.

Catherine

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9177Chapter: 1
Arabella,

After reading "The Very Secret Diary" and now this, I have been practically rendered speechless. One word definitely springs to mind, and that's "creepy" -- but I think that the way you have portrayed Tom Riddle's manipulation of Ginny is beyond creepy and into terrifying.

I've truly enjoyed (if not been more than a little scared to death) reading "Disenchanted" and "The Very Secret Diary" and it's really struck a chord within me.

Forty thousand stars times sideways eight. This is truly magnificent.

--Courtney

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9172Chapter: 1
First of all - LOVE the title. Ok, so I just love it all. Wonderful. Honestly, you can just write every single character ever mentioned, can't you? :) This was a lovely post script-ish to tVSD. I cannot tell you enough how much I enjoy your writing.

Reviewer: nikaleeDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9142Chapter: 1
I am a terrible horrible person that devoured this story and the very secret diary in one huge fascinated gulp. Wonderful ending. Your story was so well written and believable that I went and reread Chamber of Secrets to experience it in that point of view. That poor girl. I hope she gets a way bigger part in the next books.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --