The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 65

Reviewer: crystalnovaDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144365Chapter: 1
Wow. I just loved Interwoven, but the entire time I was reading my (distracting) brain kept going "Abby/Sirius! Abby/Sirius!" despite how R/S I am. Anyway, this really makes up for it. Yay! Thanks!
Um, is there anywhere I could find the letter? Have you written it? Has somebody else? :)
Right, so. Just had to add to the squeeing for you. It's really great!

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142635Chapter: 1
Oh, for a first attempt at mushy goo, it is marvellous! So wonderful, so bittersweet, so lovely.

I <3 Sirius/Abby!

:-)

JK

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2006-04-10
Reviewid: 141805Chapter: 1
Dear Katinka
WONDERFUL, fully-fledged mushy goo. Just reading this made me want to go round the house wearing a big soppy grin for at least an hour. This probably wouldn't go well with my family. Thank you!!
But please oh please, couldn't we have the note? Pleeeeeeease?

Reviewer: Moose42Date: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135155Chapter: 1
*wubs the mushy goo* That was amazing!

Reviewer: AkuniDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131417Chapter: 1
I love the Abby stories. I don't recall if I've reviewed one before, but let this stand for them all - they're so much fun, and Abby is such a loveable character. I find her extremely believable as well, which is not something you find very often with OCs in fanfic.

Is "The Letter" stored anywhere new, since the author has withdrawn her other stories (which I sadly did not get to read... maybe when she publishes!)? I managed to read it once but it'd be nice if it were available somewhere for future readers/rereads! :)

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109570Chapter: 1
i've read most of your "Interwoven" series (most) and I really like, but i think you should write one for when Abby finds out that Sirius is dead after book 5. that would make one very angsty fic, but a good one! and btw, i've loved all of the "Interwoven" things, and that's saying something, 'cause usually i like Remus with Sirius. But i don't mind OC's much, i can't stand Remus w/ Tonks though O_o no way. but GREAT story, i love it, and merry & bright, interwoven, & in the kitchen (that 1 makes me laugh)

~Goldfishy

Reviewer: reaDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100585Chapter: 1
I just wanted to thank you for both this and interwoven. They are lovely pieces of fiction, and I enjoyed reading them. I particularly like the deft way you are handle emotions - I was nervous with Abby when Draco was insinuating things at her, and sooo happy when she and Sirius were on the sofa together.

And I have to confess that although I am a very serious intellectual most of the time, I read romance novels (a lot), and you're jsut as a good a writer as my favourites and better than most out there (especially when it comes to the SQUEEE! scenes).

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87104Chapter: 1
Aaaaaw... geeze loueez, Sirius! I guess I understand why he didn't much fancy being a ghost. *grins in spite of herself* A ghost can't snog his girlfriend!

Reviewer: place matDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78973Chapter: 1
really sweet! you've made sirius sound really great and abby is a v.cool character. i like the way you slip dumbledore in it and how much sirius hates snape. Excellent fic!!! ( it's so cool i put it in my favourites!!!!)

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-02-03
Reviewid: 69290Chapter: 1
This was really sweet!

Reviewer: IsildurDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69129Chapter: 1
Hi Katinka....

OK, I just have to say that this story was amazing. I loved it, every second of it. It was beautifully-written, exciting, and sweet, and it was the perfect resolution to the bittersweet ending of "Interwoven". (I loved that one too, mind you.) Please write more! Abby and Sirius should get married and have babies galore! Squee!! Thank you for writing this!! *dances around happily*

~Isildur

Reviewer: Charis IadDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45524Chapter: 1
I just wanted you to know that I got an e-mail from a semi-romantic acquaintance, or I suppose you could call him one of those wavering acquaintances, and he signed his e-mail with "from a kind and caring friend" and I squealed (squealed! what is this world coming to?) with delight . . . all because of this fic.

Reviewer: CarrotDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34368Chapter: 1
ohmygoodnessSQUEE.

Words. Cannot. Express. I must go off to read 'Gifts for the Master,' because OH MY GOODNESS, that was so utterly adorable. I cannot get over it.

And here, I thought the end to 'Interwoven' was suitably adorable, yet slightly sad... this is just cute cute cute. Squee!

Okay, I'll stop acting like such a... uh, well, fangirl. Even though I am. Eee!

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32611Chapter: 1
Oh wow! That was excellent!
I really enjoyed Interwoven, but I haven't been able to get back on and read more in awhile. I just couldn't take my eyes off the screen as I was reading it.

I want to find out what Sirius said in that note.

Reviewer: CrookshanksDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32581Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so sweet! I was waiting for that to happen when I was reading "Interwoven" and finally it's come up! Brilliant, I tell you...

Reviewer: kate griffithDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31584Chapter: 1
Thank you kindly for relieving the ansty end to "Interwoven"!

Reviewer: Anna HattersleyDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31241Chapter: 1
(Reads on excitedly, as Abby opens Sirius' letter.)

(sing-song voice)"I know what's gonna happen! Now I'm glad I read My Abby..."

(Sits with baited breath to read the outcome...)

*Sirius loved her.*

"WAHOOOOOOOO!!!!!!" (Dances wildly around the room) Sirius and Abby! Sirius and Abby!!! WOOO!!!

Reviewer: BorealisDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28044Chapter: 1
Perfect!!!! Absolutely no words to describe how perfectly outstanding this is..... *ahhhhh*........ Sirius and Abby are perfect!!! I luv how you blended the words to create the tender loving moments that Sirius and Abby enjoyed together. I'm soooo glad you created Abby, so that there is someone for Sirius. Thank you for writing this story as well as Interwoven, and thank you for creating Abby, I don't know what I would have done without you!!! Thank you so much, please write more, I don't know what I would do if you let me hanging..... I hope you continue to write sequals for Abby and Sirius with loads and loads of fluff and goo..... I luv details!!! Thank you again!!!!!

Reviewer: BorealisDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27864Chapter: 1
PERFECT!!! ABSOLUTELY TOUCHING, especially the ending with Sirus and Abby, and THEM!!!! *ahhhhh*..... pure pleasure with lots and lots of fluff (I luv that)!!! Please, oh please write a sequal to this story, I really want Sirius and Abby to be together again (with more fluff)!!!! ;) Great story, absolutely perfect!!!!

Reviewer: FefiDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25169Chapter: 1
I love your character Abby! She and Sirius have a beautiful relationship, and this addition to your other story was really welcome. I also enjoyed your other novel-length story as well! Off to check out the sequel . .
Fefi

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24810Chapter: 1
While I admit that too much mush would have been out of place in "Interwoven," I'm delirously happy to read this and get lots and lots of it! :) It was really beautiful, too, with "To her increasing delight, he’d left little room for guesswork, but that in no way diminished the giddy pleasure of re-reading the lines a third, fourth, and fifth time." and Abby's "How does he expect me to concentrate when he’s doing that?!?" Lovely, and thanks again!

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-03-06
Reviewid: 23013Chapter: 1
To say that I've enjoyed the Abby series is a gross understatement. To demand more would be impertinent, especially with the knowledge that you're dealing with moving and a new baby (that nesting instinct makes us do crazy things, doesn't it?)

But...

The kiss aside, which was great (and let me thank you that it WASN'T in Interwoven, because my children think there's too much kissy stuff in the world) but you simply cannot let this plot end here.

Does the Whisper Weave work? How did Hermione get the idea that an invisibility cloak would be available from Abby? What happens with the Malfoys and how will Sirius rescue Abby from it?

Please write more is such a pathetic demand, but I hope that you will. Abby's a great OC and needs more story!

Kim

Reviewer: PiperDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15955Chapter: 1
Yay!! That was just lovely. Your pacing is perfect in this scene as it has been in the whole series. The slow formation of their relationship reflects their mindset from being forced to live relatively solitary lives.

Nice use of the flashback sequence to increase the anticipation (as if we weren't anxious enough!) :-)

Reviewer: Cassie MDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15623Chapter: 1
Awesome Awesome Awesome!!! Thank you -- so perfectly done and so completely in character. What a terrific epilogue to Interwoven!

Reviewer: StarlilyDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15168Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!!! Perfect!!!!! :) :) :) *screams more like a little fangirl*

Ok. Um. May I put in a request for Sirius and Abby to get married and have loads of children and much snogging in the future? Just a tiny, tiny request. *goes back to fangirly screaming*

Reviewer: demon16Date: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14419Chapter: 1
Beautifully written, as always. HEHEHEHEHE!!! THAT WAS GREAT!!! Thank you.

Reviewer: DemiDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13903Chapter: 1
This is good, but I like "Interwoven" better. Do please post any Abby/Sirius stories that you've written; I've read all three of yours and I like them very much. I don't have a homepage, but if you do happen to have one, please give me the address, I'll visit it. Thanks! and keep writing! Not only that, keep posting as well!!

Reviewer: FirenzeDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11722Chapter: 1
Please write more gushy goo! I loved it! please write more soon. Like when he comes back....

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2002-11-28
Reviewid: 10432Chapter: 1
Hmmm.... lots of mushy stuff. I don't usually go for that. Well, as long as it has Sirius and Abby, I don't care what it's got in it! So, are you going to be writing anymore about these two? You know you want to...... Well, we want you to anyway! Please?

So Sirius is a scruffy guy..... that's good. Scruffy is nice.

I so wanted to slap Draco in this. I'm glad Abby finally threw something back at him, even if it was just a memory charm. Go Abby!

Veela Ventures? Sounds like expensive cosmetics. What else do they make? Shimmer Potions, Glowing Creams, maybe even veela hair extensions? They probably have a slogan like, "Look like a veela with our special appearance-enhancing products!"

"Martin Miggs and the Martian Masquerade". LOL! So, is this about what wizards think of Muggles who see UFO's?

Well, that's all for now. Do keep on writing more of Abby and Sirius, will you?

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Darkangel369Date: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9718Chapter: 1
I love the mushy goo!!! I might have already reviewed, but I'm gonna do it again!!! Are you going to write a sequel? This is really great!!

Reviewer: LalaDate: 2002-11-19
Reviewid: 9534Chapter: 1
Thanks so much for not making us wait any longer. I assure you I only laughed at the parts where I was supposed to. The mushy-goo was great.

Reviewer: AlchemillaDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9423Chapter: 1
(Sob!)that was wonderful, wonderful.

That part about "you get a little crease here," where he touched her face, I loved that bit.

At last! He loves her! I'm melting...

Yes, I think I have to go back and read the last several paragraphs again, and again. You do 'mushy goo' very well.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this entire Sirius/Abby set of stories, and I hope you will write more about them (or someone else, invented by you.) Your writing is brilliant and perceptive and very adult. Sirius and Abby are very credible over-thirty characters.

--Alchemilla

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9255Chapter: 1
Ooh - more Abby and Sirius - wonderful of course. I do like the angsty stuff as well, or possibly a bit better than the mushy stuff - but that's just me ;-) I liked the advancement of the story - I still want to know more about what happens with the Whisper Weave, etc. Loved the part about hexing Malfoy! To Abby: You go, girl! I love it when the real her shines out from behind the dimwitted shopgirl persona she has to affect.

Reviewer: MChipie36Date: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9247Chapter: 1
Wow. Wow... If only I had a "Sirius" whenever a headache strikes (or I could always fake it, hehe...) Ah well. I'll settle for reading your simply wonderful story. I admire you so much for being able to write like you do. I mean, for me Abby is as alive as any canon character and I can't see Sirius with anybody else (and I've read my share of sometimes excellent fanfics, mind you).

That part was just perfect. I found myself moaning: "But I want to read the letter now!" when I finished it, and it cheered me up (let's just say that I had a truly horrible and far-too-realistic looking nightmare which successfully dampened my mood for the whole day, but your fic helped) immensely.

Oh boy. Draco, Hermione... Everything was perfect. I can't wait for the next bout of writing you'll put online! But I will, cuz hey... A baby AND a move, wow... A move was almost enough to "kill" me in May, so...

Well, to sum up: wow. And keep writing (great big duh!)

Cécile.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9237Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed re-reading this. What struck me immediately is how Abby is so focused on denying her feelings at first. You really did a great job of showing the progression from "what is he doing here?" to "he's just Sirius" to "will he touch me again if I fake a headache" to the kiss. In so many ways, Abby represents our fear of being vulnerable and getting hurt, but our own inability to deny love when it finally stares us in the face. You captured all of those things so well. This scene reminded me very much of the way I acted when my husband asked me to marry him, so I really enjoyed reading this.

I have to mention this too. I love the scratchy beard!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9216Chapter: 1
*CHEERING* Oh, HOORAY! Good for them! And I'm so glad I didn't have to wait weeks between the end of Interwoven and this wonderful moment.
Whew! I think I need a break from reading after that! :D

Reviewer: CGDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9214Chapter: 1
YES!! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you! I'm so glad you posted this- It's such a wonderful little story! I've been looking forward to more of your stories ever since "Interwoven" as well as any other stories about Abby and Sirius.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2002-11-16
Reviewid: 9213Chapter: 1
Finally! That was really nice, right there. Sweet.

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9199Chapter: 1
I couldn't decide whether to review this at fanfiction or here, but this is easiest. I love Abigal! And this is wonderful! I was waiting for this the entire time, but I really like how you kept it out of your main story. It's so funny! Clever Hermione.

Reviewer: ArianrhodDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9179Chapter: 1
"After spending the last twenty minutes relearning Sirius by other senses – the heat of his breath, the muscles of his arms, the scent of his hair –it had been a bit of a shock to see his familiar face just inches from her own."

Ohhhhh, that was perfect. Simply perfect.

Wow, Katinka. Wow. This was...just...wonderful. So sweet, so non-mushy. It was beautiful. I love Abby, and I love your Sirius. "The One True Exception" indeed! ;) The sensual quality of this was just breathtaking - the slight caresses, the shivery feeling of it... It was simply wonderful. But, then again, I didn't expect anything less from you. You still amaze me.

Reviewer: SaxifraceDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9157Chapter: 1
*Slobbery drool-ness!* Oh, oh! I've been waiting for you to write something like that for forever and a day. ^___^! I'm so happy. Yay.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9149Chapter: 1
"I'd rather eat a Murtlap." LOL! I don't have any of JKR's companion books, so I don't know what a Murtlap is, but from the very sound of it it's got to be nasty -- although yes, less nasty than a Malfoy :) I also like the name Stanley Peterparke. He sounds familiar ;)

Abby is, as always, a delight. Her habit of letting girls try out new products is very sweet. Great job!

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9145Chapter: 1
Katinka! Yay!! More Abby! *happy sigh*

You manage to sweep the reader right along into the romantic tension within a few paragraphs, reminding us both of Abby’s charming (if flustered) nature and Sirius’. . . well, Sirius’ inherent attractiveness :) You get poor Abby’s tormented inner thoughts across very well. It’d be difficult to remain apathetic to her situation even if one wanted to (which I certainly don’t!)

> His voice sounded boyish and hopeful

How can you not love him? At least he doesn’t sound anxious or tense like he did before he left; he’s healing. And the chemistry between them is definitely smouldering. I like how he manages to completely disconcert her by simply caressing her hair, her face; the delicacy of the scene and the way it’s underplayed emphasise all the emotions coming to the surface more than any graphic description could have done.

The glimpses we get of Abby’s day are marvellous, too—her kindness with Hermione and Ginny, her ongoing work with Dumbledore, her cool handling (well, until that Confundus Charm, anyway) of Draco. Hopefully you’ll continue the story along those lines as well!

Very, very well done "goo" :) Can’t wait to read "Gifts for the Master"!

Reviewer: leafDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9141Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwwwww........ that was so SWEET!!!! there are tears in my eyes. You better write more stories- you are very talented

Reviewer: katieDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9132Chapter: 1
omg! I live your fics! i read interwoven a while ago and couldn't wait to read more!:) I'm sooo happy you decided to write another part to the story! keep writing it's awsome!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9125Chapter: 1
My real review:

I love your use of words....you describe everything in great detail, but it never, ever, seems superficial.

Will Abby make more cloaks? Will Sirius kiss her again in the reader's presense? May we see what the note says? Does Abby realize that Ginny took the hair ornaments from Veela Ventures? (And if she does, does she care?)

more is *always* appreciated...
~TPR

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9124Chapter: 1
::cries:: Beautiful....just beautiful...

~TPR

Reviewer: BooDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9119Chapter: 1
Thank you, Katinka! That was wonderful!

Reviewer: Thanks from Katinka! :)Date: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9092Chapter: 1
Awwww, thank you, everyone! This is the last thing I'll be able to post before a new baby and a move, and so it's been heartwarming to have such a nice reception to it. This moment for Abby and Sirius was LONG overdue. :D

Clarimonde -- I couldn't resist the "beard burn". For some reason, I always see Sirius as perpetually scruffy, even when he tries to clean up. Of course, scruffy isn't necessarily a bad thing... ;)

Manda -- Your co-agulation comment made me LAUGH!!! I'm glad you liked the story.

Axelle -- I'm not sure where the Draco idea came from, exactly, but I thought there would probably be some troubled witches out there who would find Lucius' combination of wealth and power attractive (ew, yuck, yuck!). I imagined that Draco probably saw glimpses of this sort of thing as he grew up, which probably contributed to his protectiveness of his mother. Thanks for encouraging me to write this!

Juliana -- Um, I'm sorry for distracting you from your studies! I'm glad you found it a worthwhile diversion, though. :) I think "Interwoven" was all about Sirius working through some issues, and now that those are mostly out of the way, he's going to be much more unencumbered in his personal relationships.

Zisk -- Glad you liked it! Thanks!

Wahlee -- Thank you, fellow Cougar! :) I'm working on another Abby/Sirius ficlet, which I hope to have finished before the baby comes. Sirius does need some love, doesn't he?

Rugi -- Thank you for your review here AND at ff.net! You're too kind. I figured that these two have some developmental delays, romantically speaking, so even though Sirius has decided to "go for the gold", he's still going to be a little nervous. He didn't exactly have female interaction in Azkaban. ;)

Michelle Ravel -- You crack me up, girl! Yes, I admit it -- this little piece had some furtherance of plot, but was mostly an excuse to let Abby and Sirius kiss. Hey, they deserved it. :D

Arborealis -- Well, thank you for all your comments on this! I thought that once Sirius had some of the Azkaban baggage out of the way, he would have a natural aptitude for, well, this kind of stuff. This all stems from his canon characterization, of course, not from my slight fascination with his passionate nature. Um, yeah.

Alkari -- Thank you for all your encouragement on this, as well as for all your inspiration on another writing project that shall remain nameless. I'm working on it, I promise! :) You've really helped me to understand Sirius better, for which I'm very grateful.

I have much to do today, so I'm going to continue these responses later. But THANK YOU, everyone! :D

Katinka

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9083Chapter: 1
Yippee!!!! I read this yesterday at FF.net, but something was weird with the font so I wanted to see if it would be posted here. I love this interlude and cannot wait to read more about Abby and Sirius! They fit together perfectly! This story is jsut perfect and I just loved "Interwoven". OK, specifics:

1) Love your Draco, especially his comments about the Muggle comic book, so in character!

2) The Ginny-Hermione dynamic was perfect! "No Hermione, that would not be interesting." Also liked Hermione's hints, "You've woven those in" and "They look almost invisible."

3) The pacing of this story is perfect!!! There's this nice, slow build-up of tension between Abby and Sirius. The awkwardness and uncertainty of not knowing how a person you care about feels about you is portrayed so realistically without the angst or the sap piling up. I just can't help but cheer when they finally do kiss!!! It's so sweet the way Sirius notices the little give aways that Abby is tense and reveals that he is truly paying attention to her which clues us in as readers that he likes her. I also like Abby's frustration that Padfoot is easier to express eotion toward. You've captured the soft side of Sirius in a way few writers have without making him a mopey tourtured soul. I love how he's a sloppy eater, popping ginger bisquits whole into his mouth and blowing on his cocoa. You write him as such a *man*, and in that way women just love men, for their sloppy tenderness, boyish charm, and sincere, awkward fumblings toward romance. The way the two of them interact on the sofa, Sirius's attempts to show that he cares for Abby is just so real and yet has that magical romantic aspect to it. And the part about Abby getting Sirius to shave...so true and it adds just the right touch because what woman hasn't thought that about her boyfriend or husband at some point after a snogging session? Perfection!
Which brings me to my next point,

4) the gentle teasing and humor in your writing is also beautiful. I love the line, "A note?  My goodness, a show of manners?  Is this Remus Lupin’s doing?” she teased. I also like the joke about a que forming for invisability cloaks.

5) The timing of the overall story is just great, especially splitting up the scene with Sirius and Abby on the sofa with the flashback to Hogsmeade. The use of foreshadowing, that Hermione hinted at the invisibility cloak, was also done very well. There's also enough mystery in the story to keep me intrigued for the next chapters, especially the Whisper Weave cloak, awesome invention!

The only thing that was distracting is some of the font was just a bit too big in the transitions and in Abby's inner thoughts. I liked it when Abby's inner thoughts were all in italics. They start off in italics (very nice touch) but then half way through (the "oh dear Merlin that feels incredible" line.

I love your Abby stories, she belongs in the OC hall of Fame and is an example to every writer as to how to create believable, likable heroines. Never estimate a Hufflepuff and I *can't wait* to read more!!!!!

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9077Chapter: 1
*follows Michelle and fangirls around your review... thread-thingy*

Katinka, I can't praise you enough. I *heart* your writing. Right now, I'm at work and have been reading this in snippets, but I'm grinning so broadly and squealing so much and is honestly *bouncing* around the office, that people surely must notice I haven't been working... heh.

Erm... yeah. I can't say anything more right now. *squealbounce* ;)

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9076Chapter: 1
Ah!

There are... no words, Katinka, to describe what this piece does. I feel... just the way Abby does--light-headed and woozy.

Oh, my.

You are a powerful writer, and have an unbelievable character in Abby. I'm *so* glad to see her again! I'm intrigued by the storyline, but I have a feeling I'm going to have to get started on Catherine's work, just to get all of the nuances.

BTW--Stanley Peterparke? You crack me up!

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9073Chapter: 1
*dies*

I'm a happy girl. Must.Read.Letter!! Excuse me while I go walk around with a stupid grin on my face for the next hour. :D

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9068Chapter: 1
Wow!

That was nice to read again! I love your slow build to romance. You just have a natural gift for that kind of pacing.

So, what do you think? Should we let them see the letter too, before GftM? Let me know your honest opinion, and if you want me to, I'll post it. I mean, I hadn't exactly planned on spilling the contents in the story.

Back to praise for you. Your subtle details and interiors of Abby are very well done, and you've come to write Sirius like a champ.

Thanks, Katinka!

Catherine

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9057Chapter: 1
That was just - beautiful! But then you know what I think of your work, and the way you characterise both Sirius and Abby.

The way you show us Abby's confused emotions when Sirius arrives, the way she tries to see this as 'just' a friendship, her concern about blundering and being clumsy, and her reactions to Sirius ... perfect.

Draco really is a poisonous little toad isn't he! (Though that's probably insulting to those reptiles.) But he, Crabbe and Goyle were perfectly in character.

And then - The Kiss!! Just lovely! And the way she goes to bed to dream of Sirius, and not all the nasty things that have troubled her day. Abby is so very childlike in many ways, isn't she - she is a true delight.

I am so glad you decided to post this and didn't make us wait till Catherine's fic caught up.


Alkari

Reviewer: ArborealisDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9052Chapter: 1
Well, you've already heard from me about this...

...buuut it's still just as good. It's beautiful. The One True Exception continues in its vein of truth. A very good description of kissing...erm...Sirius...mmm...

And the description of Ginny's hair has stayed with me for days. It's just beautiful. And she has a good attitude, too.

Thanks for this. Yum. :-)

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9047Chapter: 1
*fangirls around Katinka's review board*

lalalalalalalala...

I already told you what I thought of this, didn't I? I hope so, but I might as well say it again--it is very satifying to an Interwoven fan because they finally KISS!!

Oh, and... for less shallow reasons, and good writing anc characterisation and blahblahblah but also the KISS!!!!

*is in immature mood* lalalalala!

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9045Chapter: 1
Can you hear that?

It is the chorus of delighted squeals that happened when we all saw you gave us the Sirius/Abby love scene everyone wanted since the first few chapters of Interwoven.

I really liked when she asks Sirius for the note and he gets all nervous but not nervous. I loved when she finally looked at him and KNEW. I loved ... well I loved all of it.

Even Draco.

Reviewer: Emily BythewayDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9043Chapter: 1
Katinka, you are amazing.

I'm surprised I can even type right now, as I am nothing but a big puddle of goo.

I never reviewed Interwoven-- sorry, I'm just getting into the habit of reviewing things I've loved-- but the whole world you've created is just spectacular. Hooray for Sirius! He needs a good woman. :)

Luff it. Need more.

Reviewer: ZiskDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9039Chapter: 1
Awwww. That left me with a big grin. Good job!

Reviewer: JulianaDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9038Chapter: 1
*dies with a happy sigh* Wow... Thank you! When I just came online for a moment to take a break from my calc homework, I wasn't expecting to see anything new from you... so I was VERY pleasantly surprised to see that you had posted something, since you're one of my favorite fan authors. And then this STORY... aaaahhhh.... KISSING!!!!!! The description was so wonderful... I could practically feel the shivers myself. It was also lovely to see a less angsty side of Sirius... it left me feeling very content, just like Abby. It also make me wonder what he's been up to since Abby last saw him, that's let him find his way to such a good (or at least better!) place. I guess I'll just have to look forward to Gifts for the Master now... *happy sigh again* This really made my evening...

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9037Chapter: 1
Oh, Katinka!

(I'm taking a break from all my sighing to leave something slightly less unintelligible. ;) )

Even without having read Interwoven (that would apply to all of, what, three people?), it's clear that there has already been so much history between Abby and Sirius, which you describe beautifully through subtle movements and expressions. Even from Abby's POV, you can really feel how affected both she and Sirius are. It's *electric*! A beautiful way to lead in to this romance.

Weaving in the Malfoy flashback from earlier in the afternoon works wonderfully for the story (and nicely for the pacing, too -- delayed gratification, you naughty woman! ;) ). Hermione and Ginny are delightful here -- good to see that Granger gumption and the Weasley temper in concert. And Draco, nasty as he is, it does make sense given what we (think we) know about his closeness to his mother that he would be protective that way. But boy did he get the wrong end of that stick. "I'd rather eat a Murtlap." LOL! Indeed.

And the long-awaited moment! Sigh. Just reading that scene over again gives me goosebumps. Cue the wave of joyful wind and strings! And I'm looking forward to seeing what that letter says!

Thank you for such a terrific treat!

Axelle

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9036Chapter: 1
HOOOOORAAAAAAYYYY!!!! It's so wonderful to see another story from you, and to see more of Abby and Sirius together!!!! Really together too! I loved how tender he was with her, how he looked after her, how they joked around together, it was perfect!

The scene in Abby's shop, first with Ginny and Hermione, and then with Draco, was also perfect. Poor Abby, when Draco started his insinuations I was scared for Abby, and I just wanted to smack the little ferret. I hope that Abby's Confundus Charm won't wear off any time soon.

I'm glad that Sirius knows about whisper weave now. It's so lovely to see them together and aware of their feeling for each other. Both of them deserve this happiness, even if they can't spend a lot of time together!!!

Thanks for writing this story!!!

Reviewer: MandaDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9035Chapter: 1
Ohhhh!

I melted into a puddle of goo when I read this, but I co-agulated long enough to write a review.

If only you could see my face - I have the biggest grin right now!

Katinka, that was wonderful! You needn't worry about people laughing at your fluff - it was adorable and, as always, very well-written. I can't wait for Catherine to update "Gifts for the Master", just so that I can read more.

Thanks for the welcome fluff!

Cheers!
~Manda

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9033Chapter: 1
I was a naughty girl and read "A Kind and Caring Friend" when I should be writing an English essay. I'm glad I did. This is the best break from analyzing Toni Morrison I've come across.

I confess I cried at the end, when Abby reads Sirius' note. I'm so happy for them! /dance You captured the emotions so well, that passage was so touching. I am glad to see Abby find someone to love after so long, ditto Sirius. Both of them deserve "a second chance."

I love how you humanize your characters. Abby reminds me of me in a way, because she's clumsy and blurts her mind. And Sirius dribbles crumbs from his mouth and gives Abby "beard burn" when he kisses her. He's human, not some sex god! :)

Your "Draco" is spot on canon, as far as I am concerned. He's a nasty, selfish, budding sociopath. Accusing Abby of coming onto Lucius indeed! I'm sure she'd sooner kick him in the privates.

Love your story! Love Sirius and Abby! Now I want to hear about the "Whisper Cloak."

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --