The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83499Chapter: 1
Just as fascinating as the first, though Hagrid's reading struck me as odd.

And I don't think Ashanti would use LV's name.

Reviewer: ChthoniaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82890Chapter: 1
Tee hee.

I enjoyed this a bit more than 'Fortune...': the characters of your three students come over well in both pieces, but the greater interaction with canon characters here involved me more more.

And you appear to have accurately predicted Umbridge – congratulations!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71548Chapter: 1
Just rereading, and I read the author's note for the first time. ;) It's pretty cool that you didn't pick the cards; they just happened like that. Great OCs, btw. And a very good story overall. :)

Reviewer: LauraKayDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63775Chapter: 1
Hey, congrats on another well-written and freakishly accurate story! I suppose we know who the Queen of Swords Reversed was--Dolores Umbridge! She made everyone except for the Slytherins suffer, which makes me wonder who Malfoy's QoSR was. The characters are so real, and all the situations and such could have been written by JKR herself if we didn't know that this is all fanfiction. I hope you write more with Roderick Haviland, Ashanti Myers, and Leanora Summerlee! (BTW, great names.) LK

Reviewer: SydPadDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58986Chapter: 1
Hullo, Seldes-- just reading this post OoP-- accurate as ever. Harry's 'ignoring advice' card especially, and I guess we know who the Queen of Swords was! Eerie...

Terrific story! I swear I'll get some fan art out to you one of these days! :)

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46156Chapter: 1
.....I just read this for the first time ever.

Taking it in the light of OotP..... -God-.

Also, I flinched at just about every one of Harry's
cards. >.<

*applauds* Lovely stuff.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30885Chapter: 1
That was really interesting, and I liked how the three could still remain friends in spite of their being in different houses. One thing that annoys me in canon is that all Slytherins seem to be terrible. :) So, good job on creating characters who are multi-faceted and intriguing.

Reviewer: Narcissa MalfoyDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10276Chapter: 1
Haviland, Leonora, and Ashanti are definitely some of my favourite OCs and
I'm thrilled to read more about them. What I like about this story and
"Fortunes favour the Bold" is the interplay between fate and free will.
This is apparent in the readings for all the main characters, but also in
the discussion of the future lives of the trio. And they are so sweet,
posing in the Great Hall for a picture.

"(When the roll of film was later developed, it revealed, among other
scenes, a photo of Roderick Haviland smirking and raising a goblet in
the Great Hall; a Gryffindor, a Slytherin, and a Ravenclaw posing with
arms around each other and grins on their faces; and, finally, a
sputtering but laughing young man being drenched from two sides by
identical streams of water.)"

I found something about this part chilling, as if it reminded us that
this happened in the past (distant or near, it's not clear), and we
don't know where the fortunes of these three have lead them since, even
if only a little time has passed.
NM

Reviewer: Cassie MDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10260Chapter: 1
This was just great and I am glad you did a sequel to your last story. You stayed pretty close to cannon but that last reading for Harry has me rereading Book 4 to see where you are hinting the story will go. Well done, my friend!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10194Chapter: 1
Hi, Seldes :) I'm not into Tarot -- yet ;) -- but I really enjoyed this story. (I read "Fortunes," too, but have yet to re-read and leave a review.) Interesting how your actual readings coincided so well with what we know/speculate about the characters, who aren't even real (in situ, anyway). And the hints provided by the cards will make wonderful plot bunnies for the right people. Great job! :D

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10189Chapter: 1
Hey! A sequel ^_^ I loved this, as I did the original. Your original characters are just great, and the readings seem freakly accurate. The ones from last time gave me chills, and these ones did too. Great job Seldes! ^_^

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-11-25
Reviewid: 10120Chapter: 1
Ominous readings for all three of them. I was especially worried about Hagrid's reading, and what it would seem to mean for his future. Poor Harry, we all know that his future is going to be filled with conflict and difficult choices.

The interplay between Roddy Haviland and Draco was magnificent. Haviland directed the encounter masterfully, every inch a Slytherin. He knew that Draco wouldn't understand the genuine friendship that exists between Haviland, Summerlee and Myers, so he doesn't even bother trying to explain. He just puts their relationship into Slytherin terms. (Poor Haviland, I wonder what happened to his father?) These three characters are wonderfully real and sympathetic. I hope that you'll write more stories with them!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --