The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: To Save a Squib
Review(s): 35

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142024Chapter: 4
I love your work. Every section is quite outstanding.
Thank You for sharing.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46400Chapter: 4
I can't really add much to all the other
reviews...

I just really, really love Argus' take on
everyone and everything in the Wizarding
world. Bravo.

Reviewer: EloraciDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24053Chapter: 4
I've been going thru the SQ's stories looking for stories that might be a good read and I saw your list of Filch fics a couple of days ago. Finally I got around to reading them. I started with the oldest ones and worked my way thru them... I think I have one more to read. I never thought reading anything about Filch would be nearly this entertaining. I've spent the last couple of hours glued to my monitor reading your stories. These are VERY well written and entertaining stories. I laughed out loud more than once and my family looked at me like I was crazy. LOL Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20784Chapter: 4
That was really good! I read the whole thing and loved it!

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17882Chapter: 1
It's true! Each one of your stories is better than the last! How do you do it?

I love going into Filch's mind; everything he does makes sense, the way you write it.

And who knew he was so . . . fragile? Just a bitter, hurt fellow who doesn't recognise or trust his own strengths! It's heartwrenching to read about the contrast between him and Callandra: He was raised as an outcast, and then chose to live as one; she is pampered, praised and protected for being the very thing that hurts him the most!

Awesome.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15703Chapter: 4
"Iíve been lying under an extremely large pile of very heavy stones! It seems that some fool of a Squib dropped a tower on me!" LOL! This story ROXd, Ozma! (No Transfigured!Callandra jokes intended.) I loved it that Fawkes gave Snape away by trying to weep on him and stuff -- I keep imagining Snape in Dumbledore's office, trying to shoo away a big, red, singing fly... I seem to be devouring your stories at quite a clip here -- mainly because I want to read about Mrs. Norris having kittens!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15697Chapter: 1
Awww! Ickle Neville is in love! How sweet -- and how sweet of Filch to take a liking to Callandra :)

I loved the description of Filch using Malfoy's power. I didn't realize until now that he could have picked up so many spells by standing on the sidelines. Kewl. Next chapter!

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15591Chapter: 4
This was fan-BLOODY-tastic! I especially liked the end. Just like Snape to forget about magical creatures. Guess that's why he teaches Potions instead of Care of Magical Creatures. *giggle* Another excellent story. *sigh* Almost caught up now.

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-12-22
Reviewid: 13566Chapter: 4
I love the balanced way you portray all of the characters--they all have their good and bad moments. And I think every one had a line that just made me laugh out loud. Excellent series.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2002-12-12
Reviewid: 12326Chapter: 4
I love Snape trying to use a glamour to prevent having to stay in the infirmary with Sirius--and having Fawkes spill the beans! And having Filch tell Severus and Sirius that they were worse than when they were children--very realistic. I also thought it was very accurate that Severus would be concerned about Lucius suffering from Crucio even though he knows what he is like. They were schoolfellows after all, and Lucius was taking punishment Snape could have expected. Excellent detail. But I'm very concerned about Snape owing Lucius a wizard's debt.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12250Chapter: 4
Poppy knew that the only way to keep Severus Snape and Sirius Black in the same hospital ward safely for any length of time was to have one or both of them drugged
-made me laugh

I like how Voldy blamed Sirius. Nicely done. If I were Filch I'd wear enchanted mirrored longjohns from now on.

this may give Filch a reason to visit the Drs. Granger in their professional capacity if the two missing molars continue to trouble him.
-Oh, I do hope so.

Everyone greatly in character. I enjoy your fics very much and look forward to the next - "The Squib gets Drilled" aka "The Squib goes to the Dentist"

now owed a wizardís Debt to Lucius Malfoy. Twice over.
-Well maybe once. Voldy would have cursed Snape silly, but probably wouldn't have killed him. He didn't kill Lucius and he accepted the responsibility for everyone. Also, isn't there a life debt exception for spies? It may be magic at its oldest and most basic, but surely betrayal has been around for just as long.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12228Chapter: 4
Thanks for the thanks - but it's always a pleasure! I really can't think of many people whose stories I so eagerly await as yours. I mean once again, you've finished a story and I'm already wanting to know what happens next! Things I can't wait to see;

1 - Argus and Minerva showing a slow appreciation of one another
2 - Snape/Sirius interactions - make me laugh out loud every time :-)
3 - Mrs Norris and Crookshanks kittens! - is it just me, or are these going to be some very smart kitties? Perhaps their own mini-series spin off?! <deep movie voice over voice> "Follow the adventures of this fantastic feline fighting force!"

Sorry I'm clearly over excited now! Can't wait to read more, S xxx

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12208Chapter: 4
I have really enjoyed this story, and promise I will get around to reading and reviewing your other works - once time permits.

Your Filch is a very interesting character, and I love your rendition of Snape. You have kept his nastiness, his haughtiness, his pride, and his absolute disdain for Sirius - "that idiot Gryffindor". I particularly enjoyed their interractions, and how they eventually called a truce when they spoke almost civilly, but didn't look at each other.

That comment by Sirius after he changed to Padfoot that he couldn't smell anything on Snape - "worse than usual". Classic schoolboy!! I wonder how (or even if) they will work things out between them in Book 5 and after.

And of course, I absolutely LOVED your ending with Poppy bossing them both around. The way she deals with Severus is simply priceless, and I can just imagine her having a good laugh later on with Minerva about how all grown men are really just little boys, whatever age they happen to be.

Alkari

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12202Chapter: 4
Aww, Neville escorting Callandra around! And her art talent made me melt. There's magic in art, there is!

Kitten toys! And a plump Mrs. Norris! =;=

Loved everyone worrying over Severus. I AM so glad he escaped the blame for the debacle with the scroll and tower. I wonder about Lucius' motives... could it be he'd rather have the power for himself since he knows Voldemort is a danger to his child?

And Argus suddenly sees Harry as warrior. We all grow up eventually & it ain't easy.

Hee-hee, Black and Snape using their little reserves of energy to snipe at each other. I guess it's better than both of them sitting around moaning and groaning. Sort of. :-D

To quote the younger folks, this scene: "I hadn't considered the Phoenix! The creature kept singing at me ...wanted to weep on me... just ignored me when I shook my head at him and told him to let me be. Blasted bird..." Made me go SQUEEE! Woo-hoo, way to go Severus!! You know I just envisioned the old Sorting Hat on the shelf weighing snidely in with "In the wrong House, Severus?!" Yah-hah!! Heroism will out.. along with the bruises. We are in agreement that Severus makes a lousy patient & sleeping draughts are a very good way of keeping him in line for the duration.

Uh... maybe Argus *could* see the senior Grangers? Dental implants might be a good idea... and might implode any other spells if the DEs are dumb enough to try and use them! Heh.

Wonderful end to a great story!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12192Chapter: 4
Well Done! I was wondering, whatever happened to that thing that belonged to Harry's mother that Filch gave to Ginny to pass along to Harry? Did that all ready take place? Will we see it again?

~Lilac, who wants more Ginny and Harry together in your next story. That is, if you take requests...

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12177Chapter: 4
Oh this just keeps getting better. Wait 'til I tell Mrs. Nonymous another Ozma chapter's up! Will we be seeing more of our favorite Squib?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11498Chapter: 3
I was expecting another action packed chapter like the last so was slightly disapointed. However, the turn of events made sense and it was ice to see Harry's scar be of some practical use for once.

You only gave Fudge one line but it was spot on.

My only quibble was that McGonagall is a very powerful witch and with Voldemort's back to her..well, one good shot and that would have fixed alot of things. Please include something in the next chapter on why she didn't come back and try (perhaps with some support) after getting the wounded out.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11495Chapter: 3
Oh. Wow. You continue to astound me.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11477Chapter: 3
Oh *NO*! Now, I'm concerned about SEVERUS SNAPE! First Filch, now Snape...next, I'll probably be worried about WORMTAIL! *GASP*

But Siriusly, great chapter!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11467Chapter: 3
Wow!

Both Mrs. Nonymous and I are waiting on these with baited breath. What a payoff!

And McGonagall... thank you for showing us why she's in charge of Gryffindor. (I wish I could've done the same in MM.)

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11464Chapter: 3
Umm... I think I see a 'ship on the horizon! And a very nice one, too! :-D

Glad everyone (well, almost everyone), made it out alive and back to the relative safety of Hogwarts. Brave Minerva! I'm glad to see her get a little heroic action. Hee-hee, won't Voldie be properly steamed when he discovers his victims have up and disappeared while he was sifting through the tower!

C'mon, won't the skele-gro fix Argus' missing molars?? They're bones too, technically.

And the rescuer approaching on "silent cat feet" made me think of the poem. Very nice!

And a plump Mrs. Norris! Purr-purr!

Poor Callandra's parents. I'd be pulling out the old curses for Fudge if I was her mom. "Let me see now, '1001 Horrid Hagridden Hexes', there's the ticket for Mr. Fudge!"

Transfiguring into and out-of inanimate form while damaged does NOT sound like a chuckle. Could Argus claim he was "stoned"? :-0

As for Severus, I really hope he isn't getting the blame for this latest debacle with Squib scrolls? Will wait for next chapter anxiously.
Thanks for this one!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11171Chapter: 2
Wow. That's all I'm gonna say about that. *is stunned with awe*

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11164Chapter: 2
Go Filch! Excellent!

"Mrs. Norrisís kittens... I wasnít going to live to see them born. It wasnít fair!"
-Sheesh. This guy needs a girl friend - a human one that is. Your next fic should be "The Squib gets a Date"

"The spellís shock wave ran down my right arm to my shoulder, pulverizing the bones"
-Eah! That caused me to shiver just imagining that.


"Gryffindor idiot!"
- I liked your comparison of the two houses (reckless stupidity vs. calculated risk)

"...along with the Dark Lordís screams."
-could there be a sweeter lullabye?

"Knowing Moody, he would have experimented by casting an Unforgivable Curse at me while I held the mirror, just to see what would happen"
-too true

More please. I really do like your Snape.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11163Chapter: 1
Excellent! I liked Lucius's ""How aptly named you are,...A pathetic Ďfilch.í"

I liked how you opened with a bit of future action, then went back in time to build up to it. Nicely done.

I thought the garden party was handled very well all around - the reason for it, Filch's behavior, and the introduction of the new squib and her family.

Loved the fight scene.

Now, how did you get this?" Malfoy murmured, curiously.
-looking forward to see how this is handled.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11144Chapter: 2
Oh, that was so short! But so strong, that I forgive you ;-). Wow, you continue to amaze me - the Gryff/Slyth comparison was very astute, although neither would agree! And Voldemort - I could feel his presence. Brilliant.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11141Chapter: 2
Oh brave Argus!! And those lessons with Moody have paid off, I see, but at what a price! I can't manage a scrap of sympathy for Voldemort, but I just shuddered at poor Argus' broken bones. Hey, maybe (assuming) they get back to Hogwarts, Madam Pomfrey's Skele-grow tonic will grow back his missing teeth as well as he shattered bones? Owwie, owwie!

This line: "Slytherins refer to similar behavior in Gryffindors as Reckless Stupidity. Both Slytherins and Gryffindors will insist that there's a world of difference between the two. I can't see it, myself." is just perfect! And I'm with Argus' interpretation. Very much the pots calling the kettles black with them. :-D

Um, where is the Magical Search and Rescue Team when you need it??

Great chapter as usual!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11120Chapter: 2
Oh SWEEET! Good thing Gilderoy Lockhart isn't around to mend Filch!

And I am, BTW, VERY glad you managed to work in both past- and present- enemy issues. I can't see Filch and Sirius getting along right away. And it looks like you're going to take the hard way and show us how one steps through such issues.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11105Chapter: 2
It's about time that Voldy got a taste of his own medicine. And a nice double dose at that!

Reviewer: AnorielDate: 2002-12-02
Reviewid: 10866Chapter: 1
EEP!!!!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10799Chapter: 1
There's just so much WONDERFUL stuff in this chapter!!!
"I held a mighty serpent by the tail while his fangs sought my throat." Excellently descriptive of tangling with Lucius Malfoy!!

The part where Callandra's mother looks on Filch as if he were her own child's death omen is stiring! Excellently captures both a mother's anguish for her child, and the cold cruelty of treating Filch as a Squib first, not as a person.

Touching, to refer to Callandra as Neville's "young lady".

Once again, you've left Snape in a sticky spot. It's probably a good thing that you like him, because I'd hate to see what you'd do to him if you didn't!!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-12-01
Reviewid: 10731Chapter: 1
AAAaaugh! Terrible cliffhanger!! Out of the frying pan and into the fire for Filch and Sirius!!

Oh man, after just spending at least 1K to save and repair one tooth, the thought of Argus losing yet another molar just had me screaming with sympathy pains!! I don't care if he was numb, it's still awful. *whimper* PLEASE have Poppy give him some potion later (or better yet make Severus brew it!) that'll re-grow his 2 missing teeth. Unless he really needed them out - like old wisdom teeth - he needs them replaced ASAP. Agh.

Of course, this assumes he'll survive this little escapade! I think you can safely deduce that I enjoyed the story even if you did leave us in a particularly harrowing spot.

Oh, Neville and Callandra - I nearly melted over the two of them. She's perfect for him. Go Neville!

And go Argus!! Bond is going to have nothing on him (well, except maybe the cool car...). Now I've got the theme song for "Secret Agent" playing in my head. Was delighted to hear Argus using all the long-memorized spells and charms - including the one Dumbledore used! Way to go!

Thanks for the new chapter.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-11-30
Reviewid: 10675Chapter: 1
Hooo boy... this is going to be a good one, I'm sure!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10565Chapter: 1
OMG! You can't leave it there! I knew you wouldn't leave poor Filchy snuggly and happy with his pregnant cat for long :)
Can't wait to see how he gets out of this one!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10558Chapter: 1
oh...good...ack...can't talk...stunned...*shakes head, and hits self, HARD* okay, much better. This was brilliant, as usual. I loved the plot from the start. Yes, excellent. I'm completely obsessed with Filch now, I hope you're happy. Everyone thinks I've gone insane. Pshaw. What do they know? Filch rocks. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-11-29
Reviewid: 10503Chapter: 1
Yeaaaaah! More Squib goodness for us in the audience. I can't wait to see how Filch sorts out his past-enemy issues with Padfoot! (Assuming, of course, his present-enemy issues with Voldie don't kill him first.)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --