The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Grey Story
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25640Chapter: 1
I don't think I've ever really read a fic about Cho or the Grey Lady. I really enjoyed this one. You made Cho real. She wasn't too mopey, and she wasn't suddenly over Cedric. The Grey Lady's story was tragic. Very well written.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23168Chapter: 1
Very well written and characterized. Thank you for making Cho a sympathetic character. :) She's very human in this fic - I know that I have the same reaction to trauma, I can't sleep a wink, though I've never gone through quite what Cho has. And your Grey Lady reminds me somewhat of Miss Havisham in Dickens' Great Expectations.

Also interesting is the tie-in with the belief that ghosts are those with unfinished business on earth. (I don't know if JKR herself said that or if I read it somewhere else.) The Grey Lady's sorrow keeps her tied to this world and now she realizes that.

Good work!

Reviewer: DanielleDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19630Chapter: 1
I thought this was a wonderful short story. I've always wanted to know more about the Grey Lady, the only woman of all the house ghosts. Thanks. :)

Reviewer: AvitalDate: 2002-12-31
Reviewid: 14532Chapter: 1
lovely story I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11431Chapter: 1
wow. you know fanfics seem to get sadder and sadder. oh well. I loved it. GREAT JOB!!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11158Chapter: 1
This is an extremely good story... I am glad someone writes about other characters like Cho.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 11006Chapter: 1
Wow! What a great story! For some reason, I don't like Cho very much (reminds me too much of people I hated in high school, me thinks)but this has made her a bit more sympathetic. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 10971Chapter: 1
Aaaawwww! I'm not a big Cho fan, even though I did feel for her when Cedric died...anyway, I really enjoyed this story because 1) I got to appreciate Cho a bit more after reading it; and 2) you show that she's not only the Tragic Heroine Who Lost Her True Love. I hope JKR will similarly expand Cho's role in canon.

I also like how the Grey Lady isn't just a dry, poised ghost you'd expect in Ravenclaw. Great job!

Reviewer: maidenjediDate: 2002-12-02
Reviewid: 10956Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! Very touching and probably one of the kindest characterizations of Cho Chang I've read. Thanks for sharing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --