The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Chess Set
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: ves.heillDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134025Chapter: 8
I read this fic after seeing a recommendation for it elsewhere (sorry, I can't remember from where), and I didn't really know what to expect at first. I have to say, however, that I rarely have read fics so easy to read, so thoughtful, and so delightfully ended. I'lm bookmarking this to read again in the future. Cheers to a job well done!

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119448Chapter: 8
WOW That Was Great Thanks.

Reviewer: RikaDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93974Chapter: 8
Fantastic! Very clever plotline, I love the idea of tracing it back by person. I thought your characterizations were dead on, and I especially enjoyed your portrayal of Draco. This really was a wonderful story.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83397Chapter: 1
I loved this story. It is beautiful. I wanted to cry when Draco died- he was not too sweet, nor evil, he was wonderful. I loved the ending. It is wonderful.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82495Chapter: 8
This is one of the best fanfics around. Absoulutely amazing, the shopkeeper is so realistic and the story's he tells are heartbreaking. Virginia is also really cool.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77383Chapter: 8
Absolutely lovely!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70884Chapter: 1
Intriguing set-up. Nice build up of mystery. Great way to set up a first chapter. Looking forward to seeing the significance of the chess set.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63897Chapter: 1
I love the unfolding structure of your story. Every individual story fit so beautifully into the whole work. I was especially struck by your vivid characterizations of the Teddy and the junkie and your colorful description of the pawn shop, especially the stuffed pelican.

Reviewer: CaliDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56104Chapter: 8
Brilliant story. Just brilliant. Touching and just... oh, I loved it. Brilliant =)

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55592Chapter: 8
*sniff* It's a wonderful story... but did you have to kill Draco?? I loved it besides that part ^_^;;

Reviewer: Miss Stephanie D.Date: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55375Chapter: 8
A very excellent story, rather Donald Kingsbury-esque in structure (and he is one of my favorite authors), with the best plot-based character development that I have read in a while.
Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: megarooniDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54732Chapter: 8
that was soooooo great! i've never read anything like it before wow! i was confused for a while but at the end it all made sense! i love it! only thing, i didn't like that draco died, but for the purpose of the story, it was excellant! marvelous writing!~meg

Reviewer: stephanieDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36779Chapter: 8
I don't really know what to say...it was touching, well-written, and quite beautiful. I loved it and I appreciate your writing.

Reviewer: JennaMaeDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35747Chapter: 8
That was beautiful. The way you wrote it, back in time, with a different lead character in each chapter is something new... and the history of the chess set itself is touching, as it came back to Ron. The chapter on Harry broke my heart. And as for Draco -- I just can't believe he died (or simply got hurt, I hope) because of some addict. And Lucius, whoa. Anyway, great job! I really like it!

Reviewer: sproutgirlDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34323Chapter: 8
Wonderful story! Beautifully written and crafted. I hope to find more work from you. Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20362Chapter: 8
eccelent! i like how you went from the end to the beginning...back to the end...its real sweet...but draco dying...now, that kinda creepy...but still...eccelent story...write more like it...

Reviewer: LeahDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20328Chapter: 8
Amazing. I love how the chess set passes through so many hands after so many years. Everybody (except the drug-addict) seemed to have a connection with it.

Bravo. Write more. Please?

Reviewer: MelodyAprilDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 20055Chapter: 8
This was extremely well-written. I was hooked from the beginning. Each chapter focused on an interesting character's personality, perspective, and struggle. You actually made me feel sorry for Draco. Oh, and the end just made me feel all warm and fuzzy. Thank you.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11929Chapter: 8
Tears...yes, emotion-filled tears are streaking down my face as I am typing this. I am so glad I read your wonderful story!

What an absolutely clever idea, retracing all the steps of the journey this chess set took, and then coming full circle.

I loved Harry's line oh, blast it all, could I write to you? Wonderful beginning to a beautiful friendship.

I loved Ron's speech in the end...yes, there are things more important than pride, namely Hermione.

I think you had Harry perfect in his scene after the Dursley's were attacked. He would feel like he hadn't done enough...just perfect.

Poor Draco! And he was just turning over a new leaf. Oh, well...I don't feel THAT bad. He may have been tempted again, who knows?

I love how you left the final battle a mystery for JKR to unfold, but hinted at it.

I love the ending...OBHWF ROX! And that, my good ladies and gents, is why FITD/Harry's Creek would ruin the ending of JKR's series...we wouldn't have scenes like this!

Thank you for writing this story!

Reviewer: ArtooCDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11673Chapter: 8
Wow. What a well-constructed story. You've got complete control over everything that happens, and you do it unobtrusively, which is *so* important...thanks for writing!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11500Chapter: 8
Oh that was lovely - do write more soon! I've really enjoyed each chapter gradually unfolding the story - to such a lovely epilogue as well!

Reviewer: ella weasleyDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11486Chapter: 8
im crying. seriously. its insane. i cant stop. either im really tired or this story is so subtley touching and each word is so loving that it makes you cry and laugh without knowing why. i think i prefer the latter, dont you? ^_^

and percy gave ron hogwarts a history for his birthday...Laugh. Out. Loud.

i cant express how wonderful this is! i am in love with this story! it was SO GOOD!
ok, end rant...~~Ella

Reviewer: Pheonix SongDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11472Chapter: 1
Amazing. The history of a chess set from different perspectives. Amazing!

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11471Chapter: 8
but did draco die????

its so sweet...

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11447Chapter: 8
Wow. I was very close to crying at the end... this is such a beautiful story. Bittersweet, because Draco might have had a chance, but that only adds to the beauty of it... and I love to think of Ron and Hermione on their 50th anniversary! I think maybe I will cry....

Reviewer: MaloneDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11445Chapter: 8
Oh this was beautiful. Simply beautiful. I loved the different charecter stories, and the chain that centers on the chess set.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11434Chapter: 1
nice surprise ending. I was sure it was Ginny who
had bought the set. I was surprised to find out it was
"Virginia" the granddaughter of Ron. Nice wrap up.

Reviewer: LolaDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11374Chapter: 1
This is a clever bit of story - I enjoyed it alot, but I've got questions -

Who was the woman in the beginning? Ginny? daughter of Harry and Ginny (red hair (ginny) but messy (Harry))? Who's she giving the chess set to?

Reviewer: ella weasleyDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11330Chapter: 6
*sniffle* oh, that was great! i love harry! i love ron! i love hermione! that was so sweet and ron was so sacrificing for hermione and harry was so caring for those stupid dursleys and...

ok, end rant.

seriously, wonderful stuff

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11303Chapter: 6
damn it! youre confusing me to hell!! im dying to know who that woman is??!?? and is draco dead? i mean sure billy thought that he did kill draco but you never said if he was dead... damn!

update with a chpter that will not make me want to tear my hair out with the "suspense" of it all please!!!!!!!

man, ron is really sweet here... i love ron... im gushing... forgive me :)

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11296Chapter: 6
This story is very compelling. Nice characterization and I like that you're experimenting with the story form and telling it "backwards." Keep up the good work, I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11282Chapter: 6
Oh man, now you've gone and made me cry! First with Harry and Ron at the beginning (I couldn't work out why what was obviously Ron's chess set was calling itself Harry's - lovely explanation), then with the death of Vernon Dursley of all people! Your writing is so good, and imaginative - keep up the excellent work!

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11246Chapter: 6
This is interesting... I really like it. Eeverything is so sad... but you are writing a great story! I cannot wait to see how everything urns out.

Reviewer: AmulderDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11155Chapter: 5
Wow, I'm impressed. This is an interesting story!
It is rare to find such a deep and convoluted story, and yet compact. It must be tough to pack so much into those paragraphs. Kudos to Jenlee.

So the question, are we going farther back in time, or will we finally jump forward to Ginny giving Harry the chess set?

thanks for sharing
...art

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11151Chapter: 5
this story is going to be sad isnt it?

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11148Chapter: 5
What a fantastic weaving of a story - so intricate, with more details being revealed from each perspective. I am in awe at your ability to keep this all making sense, and so intriguing. Fantastic!

Reviewer: ella weasleyDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 11070Chapter: 3
oooo thats so exciting! i love these kinds of stories, following an inanimate object backwards through time through several owners....cant wait to see who's next!

Reviewer: zequistDate: 2002-12-03
Reviewid: 10969Chapter: 3
This is a very intriguing story so far. Good mystery. I can tell I'm going to enjoy seeing where it goes, and what's up with this particular chess set.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --