The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: In Your Own Nature
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: C-chanDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134591Chapter: 1
Wow. Just wow. I really liked this story.

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112231Chapter: 1
Heart-breaking. Wonderfully written.

Reviewer: dillyDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106744Chapter: 1
Hi,

You had a great idea, not just original but interesting, and you have captured Ron very, very well. I really did like the story so please take what comes next constructively.

Your style and grammar could use a little work. You end on a twenty line sentence! Even your paragraphs shouldnt last that long! I'm not sure what you were trying to do (disjointed train of thought? conversational tone?) but it is just hard to read and detracts from the fact that you ARE a good writer. Ditto for the sometmes clumsy phrasing (an 'obnoxious furture'?) which makes the story awkward and even unintelligible towards the end.

Please dont be discouraged, but it is SO frustrating to find great story tellers who cant write.

Reviewer: ginnycDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105676Chapter: 1
i love ur stories!!! There much more believable than others ive read on here, and because they're short i can read them inbetween homeworks....
any way please keep writting!!!!! realease another one soon please!!

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99453Chapter: 1
Wow. Just...wow. You have totally and completely captured Ron's entire personality in this. His essence just radiates from every word. I don't think I've ever read anything more consistantly characterizing...anyone, but especially Ron.

Just...wow. You need to write more. And more and more and more and more.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99336Chapter: 1
huh, really rambling. but good. a neat idea, and I really like the way you do things from Ron's perspective.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96963Chapter: 1
So Ron can kind of sense the future, eh? But he doesn't really know it and so he hates it, lol. Nice work. At first I wasn't sure who the story was about and then when you said I hate Divination I immidiately thought Hermione, but then when you said the thing about Hermione not being able to help with homework I knew it was Ron, lol. Good job.

*Geena

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92686Chapter: 1
Wow. You do such a good job of portraying Ron here, and if he is a Seer, this is just how he'd react to it. Thanks so much for writing this fic.

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89812Chapter: 1
Brilliant! What a fascinating take on Ron's hatred for Divination! I think you may actually have something, there. I will say that the fic got a little messy at the end, but I love your Ron's voice before that, the way he casually proposes things without admitting he's talking about himself (very Ron--subtle as a bludger). Cool fic!

Reviewer: Lindsay the R/H ShipperDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66733Chapter: 1
Wow... you are really good..... now I am jelous. lolz

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60197Chapter: 1
Vox,
Really nice. It started out as the usual, Divination's idiotic speech, but turned out to be, if I may say, a bit of a study on Ron's character. I like your overall evaluation of the type of thing he would hate, hate being glad that someone was dead. It's not the sort of thing anyone would WANT to feel, but regarding your best friend, you just do.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Basil MDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56500Chapter: 1
Oh, poor Ron! That's soo sad.

Good job, though, really good job!

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53111Chapter: 1
Wow. What else can I say. That was a great portrayol -- and subtle, too -- of Seer ability. Great story. ~Q

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50997Chapter: 1
This was a bit more rambling than your other one, but still good ^^ Ron sounded terribly confused though...

Reviewer: tixDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43352Chapter: 1
Oh, it was really really beautiful! It is a very simple story, no real plot, but... I liked it a lot!
"I hate Divination" is the beginning and actually the end of your fic, natural talent or you like simmetries?
Of course this hate is different: it starts with a class and it ends with this strange gift, that make you feel glad that "someone was dead" and hate the fact, and consequently the gift itslef.

The stream of conscience closes itself like a ring and, actually it is not a stream of conscience: Ron fulfilled the teacher's request, because, all the time, he, even captured by his writhing toughts, kept talking about the very thing he disliked.

Only one thing makes me sorry: the chess affair. It' s the only thing Ron appears talented about and so often people is trying to give rational explanation about how could it be possible. Ron good at chess? Better than Hermione? There must be a trick somewhere...

You are not the first one with a seer Ron; after so many fic, to write somthing really original you should have to write a HP crossover with Star Wars and Godzilla... in this site it's forbiden, by the way, so it is impossible.

But your narrative way is original and I like your style.

Good job!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30982Chapter: 1
Oh - that...changed. It went where I wasn't expecting to go, which can always be a good thing, in a fic.

I love fics from the POV of someone observing Harry, especially when he's in danger, and especially when it's from the POV of Ron or Hermione. They're so fraught, with good reason. But there's so much good stuff that comes out.

I love your work. You have a real talent in making short fics very, very powerful indeed.

Thanks.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27522Chapter: 1
Excellent story from Ron's POV. I like the Seer Ron idea, and I like how it's not over the top here, just Ron "knowing" things. The piece starts out innocuous enough, with Ron making fun of Divination and complaining about the poufs and how he doesn't think it's funny that Harry is going to die every year. The shift in mood from mocking Divination to considering the possibilities that it's right, like with chess, was great. I liked how you showed how Ron evaluates his one gift and acknowledges that maybe it's really cheating.

The shift in mood continuing from Ginny to when Ron knew Cedric was dead--and was guilty because he was glad someone was dead and it wasn't Harry--was paced perfectly. THe style of writing went along very nicely, lots of pauses and one sentence lines in the beginning when Ron was being more hypothetical and philosophical to the long, emotional stream of consciousness at the end when death and the ability to know when terrible things are going to happen really hits Ron. It was those little details--feeding potatoe salad to a Puffskein--that make this part of the piece very personal and humanizing. I really like how Ron starts off looking at Divination in the abstract and then ties it into a more emotional aspect that most people overlook.

Excellent work! I'd love to see one of these scrolls from Hermione's POV.

Reviewer: MiliDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24169Chapter: 1
ohhh that's really cute of Ron! You've got his mind working just right, Voxmaille! I love it!

Reviewer: Lily SolstarDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23105Chapter: 1
Wow. Bloody brilliant. The ending was perfect... just left me breathless. And by the way, the quote you used in your summary matches the story perfectly. I am in awe... Great job!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21902Chapter: 1
Wow. This is just ... wow. StreamOfConsciousness!Ron seems spot-on to me, and I love the idea of him sitting down to write this kind of straightforwardly and ending up someplace else. I can't mention specific parts that I like because I like it all. It really gets across the kind of fear that all of them are living with. Brilliant stuff.

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19774Chapter: 1
i loved this- truly.

Reviewer: GwenalynDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19638Chapter: 1
Wow this was really well written! You captured Ron so well. I never really pictured Ron with this ability but it works for him. Great job!
~Lenny

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19595Chapter: 1
...wow...Ron...wow...just...wow...that was really...wow

Reviewer: Vanessa van NessDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18488Chapter: 1
I think you're just about the only writer that could take an idea as incredibly open to bad possiblities as Psychic!Ron and make it just smashingly possible.

Gorgeous. And I will, of course, cheer on any future writing endevours of yours. Esp. if you write a sequel detailing Draco and what he hates the most. Hermione, anyone? You had that in your Promethian epic and I want MOOORE! (Bundle of id that I am...)

Reviewer: aDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17424Chapter: 1
geez.... that was just... well....brilliant...
aaaaa.......its times like these u really wanna give ron a reallly big hug...
wow.....
thanx...

Reviewer: KathrynDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15481Chapter: 1
Just two words… Infinitely Brilliant

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12233Chapter: 1
I remember seeing that you'd updated last week, but then I forgot to read this because I got sidetracked. Let me tell you how much I laughed just in the first two paragraphs of this. I was like, is this going to be Ron or Harry? Ah. Bloody, bastard, revolting... Ron. Obviously.

Oh, but then I didn't laugh. Then I wanted to hug Ron. Poor boy. What an awesome and terrifying gift.

But well done! In a few paragraphs, you've managed to convey an entire great feeling, and that's wonderful!

Reviewer: snoozysueDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11955Chapter: 1
This is brilliant - you've got Ron's character spot on (right down to his language!)- it's the best I've ever seen it done outside of canon. I love the way you've explored the unpleasant side to possibly being a seer and the way Ron feels about it - bewildered and annoyed. Normally I sum up bad points as well as good in my reviews but I can't for this one except - it's too short! Please write more or a sequel. I loved "Really" as it was so funny. Seeing as how you've got Ron's character down pat perhaps more fics from his POV - even the books themselves from Ron's POV - lots of people have done Hermione's POV but Ron's seems more elusive - as you've created the best Ron-POV-fics I've seen perhaps you could remedy this lack! Well done!

Reviewer: YasminDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11688Chapter: 1
This is *exactly* how I always thought Ron's possible Seventh son abilities might play out. He just *knows* things that second before everyone else knows... with too little warning to actually do anything about it.

The rambly style is perfect for Ron, as is the wandering off his original topic. I love the little things in here that say so much about Ron, like the constant mentions of Hermione. Ron's writing is also almost frantic at some points, which I think fits really well.

A great fic like always Vox!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11363Chapter: 1
I especially like your rambly style in this, Vox. So like a Ron-rant.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11324Chapter: 1
oh, wow. ::is at a loss for words::

Well, gee. What do you say when something moves you like that? It was being inside Ron's head exactly exactly exactly. It was true and amazing and wow and wow and wow.

It gripped me and held me and scared me and made me want to go give Ron a hug, particularly when he thought he was going Barking Mad. :-c

and that last line:
"...and I bit my lip hard and pulled Hermione up to her feet and thanked anybody out there that no one could read my mind, because I was the first—before anybody else in those blasted stands, I was glad someone was dead, and I hate that. "

oh...

~TPR

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11322Chapter: 1
Oh I really loved this! The essay was so Ron-like and I really enjoyed how you slowly brought out what was really bothering him. Not so much what he hated as what he feared or worried about. The train of thought was very natural and unforced. The confusion and indecision believable. Nicely done!

Reviewer: BBennettDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11321Chapter: 1
Wonderfully written 'stream of consciousness' type story, Vox. I can see Ron with this ability. The end made me teary - I really like how you write.

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11317Chapter: 1
This is really Ron, and really, really good. Really! (get it? is clever reference)

I, too, would love to read other characters' dislikes, but I know you have a special gift for channelling Ron. Really!

More, please.

Angua

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11312Chapter: 1
That was wonderful. Even with the use of the word "someplace" (which no Brit would ever, ever, ever say - it's always "somewhere"), that was Ron. That was just incredibly cool. One of the things that makes good literature, for me, is being able to forget that the author's there, and this mostly accomplished that.

You should be pretty freakin' proud of yourself for writing such great stories. :)

Reviewer: liana-fidesDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11288Chapter: 1
wow that was great! i love the way, as you read it, you feel as worked up as ron. really fantastic. keep writing!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11287Chapter: 1
Oh I love it! I can't believe I never thought of it before, Ron could definately be a seer. I'm wondering now if that's where JK Rowling will go with it. The chess thing... interesting. I love all your work, I was so excited to see you on the update list!
Anyway, got slightly sidetracked. Great story :)

Reviewer: CirceDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11253Chapter: 1
Vox, this is lovely. I think you capture Ron perfectly; he's very blunt, non-poetic, and he has a tendancy to be self-aware whilst shying *away* from that awareness.

More, I love that he hates Divination and it's probably NOT for the reasons he says. I laughed when I saw the 'Uranus' joke. Heh, Ron that *is* a classic.

I love the way you present Cedric and how Ron knew him...I think that rings true to both characters. Mostly, I love the last line. Poor Ron.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11237Chapter: 1
This is great! You write really well.

Reviewer: Sweeney AgonistesDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11226Chapter: 1
Vox, if this is what comes from being random and wonky in the middle of the night, I wish being random and wonky happened to me a lot more often.

A punch in the gut. I just have nothing to say...so very, very powerful.

(Incidentally, you have made me believe the Ron-as-Seer theory.)

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11212Chapter: 1
Wow. Just...wow. You've captured Ron so perfectly, and I love it. I've always thought that it's a shame no one's really bothered to take a deep look at Ron's character, and I've always thought there HAD to be something special about him, and I've always wondered what it was. And I really love this version of that, and I think it fits in with Ron's character perfectly. Thank you for this. It's helped me understand Ron a lot better, even if you're not spot on about absolutely everything. Nice job!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11200Chapter: 1
what an interesting idea - you really did a nice job of picking up Ron's "voice."

Reviewer: RoisDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11199Chapter: 1
I really like this! It's great the way you started out sarcastic and funny (perfectly Ron-like) and then move to more and more serious things until the end, which really hits you. It makes perfect sense that Ron would be glad that Cedric and not Harry was dead, and he would have to carry that guilt just like Harry carries the guilt of having not died. I'd love to see you continue for other students!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-05
Reviewid: 11198Chapter: 1
Powerful! Wonderful! I never even considered that Ron's chess ability could be tied into him possibly being a Seer, but it makes absolute sense. I really hope that JKR has Ron have this special gift. Oh, sweet irony!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --