The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Secrets of Silence
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: DragonDiDate: 2007-10-16
Reviewid: 149647Chapter: 1
This is one of the best things I've ever read. I read it about a month ago, but (sorry) didn't review it. Over this past month, this story has haunted me. The intensity, the angst, the way that it seems so likely to have happened this way for Remus--it's incredibly well written. And insidious--it's gotten under my skin and the images won't leave me alone!!! Thanks!

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-06-06
Reviewid: 143253Chapter: 1
I really liked this short fic. Your Delilah is a wonderful round character. As a Slytherin and as the one to present these scenes.

I especially liked the way you portrayed the Auror´s headquaters and the atmosphere there. It was very beliveable. Delilah is also the right character to present the ways of power at that point of time and how they work. As a Slytherin she is perfect to look at the mechanisms of such an abstract thing and explain it to a reader. The parallelism of Voldermort´s and Dumbledore´s power is very alike and you´re one of the few authors I´ve found to bring this fact so clear in a story.

I also liked the way, you introduced the Marauders through the eyes of a Slytherin and your Snape is just perfect canon. Just as Frank Longbottom and Alastor Moody. I´m fond of the glimpsles you gave in your story and I´d really like to know how Moody reacted when he finally found out the truth about Sirius.

Thanks for this piece.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112819Chapter: 1
An overall feeling of stillness / oppressiveness – appropriately well done

Reviewer: elyle.livejournal.comDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109799Chapter: 1
This - this is marvellous. It's rare to find an original character, especially a Slytherin, so well-drawn, but silent Delilah is perfect for calmly narrating such a harrowing time. Your Auror department, by the way, was also intriguing; the departmental political strain hinted at made the bureaucracy all the more realistic.

I think that's what I liked best about this story: in a relatively short piece, you developed several original characters well (Delilah, Peasegood, and Gordon), anchored the moment of the story within Delilah's pre-existing world (with passing mentions of the raid with Platt and the explanation of her school days), and tied it comfortably to canon (Remus was heart-breaking; Snape was shockingly in-character; and Crouch, who after all was so influential then, was referenced appropriately).

As a side note, I thought the sleep requirement for Aurors was clever. I think I'm integrating that into my own personal canon. :)

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58052Chapter: 1
Well, I can't say that I *liked* this--it was a bit too dark and a bit too real for that! But it was certainly wonderful. I especially liked the look at young Snape, as well as Delilah's thoughts about Lupin and the searing insight into her days in Slytherin.

Reviewer: MatildaDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55805Chapter: 1
I liked it. Overall, it was very insightful and believable. I was especially impressed by Delilah who I was afraid would be too weak or too strong as many non-canon characters end up being, but she was well-drawn and well-rounded. Congrats. :)

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43676Chapter: 1
ties in nicely with the memories arc. nice background and just oh-so-true. poor lupin...

Reviewer: LindsayDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37969Chapter: 1
I've been reading your MOT/DOY stories (and the stories about Bill that came before that)... pretty much since you started writing them. I never really reviewed before now, because I normally read the stories off line, and when I get back on the site it is only to find the latest updates. I never really noticed this story had been posted until you pointed out that we may need to read it to understand the last few chapters of MOT/DOY. I'm glad you did because this was a really great story. The scene with Remus was touching... and the ending was incredible. I also liked the part with Harker and Snape in the common room. You are a very talented writer, one of the best fanfiction writers I've ever read, and the way you describe emotions is really incredible. You seem to capture them just how each individual character would react perfectly. I enjoy reading everything you write, and hope that you will begin another story after MOT/DOY ends.. Thanks for another great story!!

Lindsay

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15730Chapter: 1
> That most of her old house mates would have understood the motivation behind her silence even as they disapproved of her passivity, while her new fellows could only reluctantly admire her control even though they did not understand her motivations at all, was an irony which had bitterly amused her in those early days.

:-/ Poor Delilah. That she can maintain her course in the face of such disapproval says a lot about her character.

> Weren’t things hard enough, without idiots like Peasegood trying to stir up gossip and awkwardness? Wasn’t it bad enough that they didn’t know who to trust outside of the department, without creating tensions and suspicions within it?

Indeed. I think you manage to capture the gossip and intrigue surrounding Sirius’ supposed defection very well in this one character of yours. Nosy brainless git.

> somehow, thinking that Sirius Black, Gryffindor nemesis to all respectable Slytherins, had become an agent for the Dark Lord and murdered thirteen innocent people was just too much. It felt wrong. It made something about those years at Hogwarts a lie, and it had been those years at Hogwarts which had led her here, to this wing in the D.M.L.E., to this uniform.

I’m glad that *somebody* realizes that those early years are formative ones, at that there’s something inherently wrong with the situation.

> Silence possessed many edges, and few people recognized the dangers or the defenses it presented. Too few knew how to guard against it. Silence, for her, had long since become instinct.

I’m really intrigued about this character. . . will you write her into MoT/DoY?

> If he’s working on the Dark side then chances are he’ll move as soon as possible, just like all the rest of the rats - running to ground, the lot of them.

Nice allusion there :)

The flashbacks are beautifully done and well placed in the story. I particularly liked hearing her thoughts on the Marauders and Snape. The uneasy truce between Delilah and the latter was perfect. Snape’s reactions to her were perfectly in character. . . just as I imagined him to be back at school.

> With the rage of a caged animal, he demolished the sparse kitchen, lashing out at everything that came within reach, destroying all that was breakable as though in doing so he might purge the fury and the desolation which poured out of him in torn sounds.

:( Poor Remus! My heart really goes out to him here. It hurt to read this. Very well done. His grief and rage are tangible.

An extremely well-written story, Jedi. But reading about Remus and Sirius only makes the suspense for the next chapter of MoT/DoY worse, you know? :P

Reviewer: LeiaDate: 2002-12-31
Reviewid: 14592Chapter: 1
Cleverly and poetically written as most of your other works. The character of Delilah is real and strong. Good job

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11963Chapter: 1
This chapter just proves why so many of us have been waiting not so patiently for you to begin writing again. Wonderfully realized look at what it would be like for someone like Delilah in Slytherin during this time. And you did such an enigmatic take on Snape. And poor Remus' despair was very powerful. Is this part of a longer piece?

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11612Chapter: 1
Delilah's really cool and all that.

You are an awesome writer. Especially amazing is the way that I can interpret your stories to mean whatever *I* want them to mean, even if you don't intend them that way.

And I still maintain...

REMUS HAD IT WORSE.

"His hands slammed against the table, clutched at the papers before him; the Prophet sporting Sirius Black’s manic image ripped with a sound almost drowned by the continuing roar of pain. The chair in which Lupin had sat all night tumbled back as he surged to his feet, and with a single effortless movement he flung the table away from him with such force that it slammed against the far wall and one of the legs broke off. "

HE IS IN PAIN.

But in all siriusness, my favorite part of this story is the underlying discussion of the Hogwarts houses, and the people in them, and how they mold themselves based on those house qualities, or despite them. Did what I just said make sense?

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11567Chapter: 1
Powerful. Delilah understands implicitly the power that can be wielded by silence, but I think you just demonstrated the power that can be wielded by words. A masterful job, Jedi! (Now get working on MoT/DoY! ;) Just kidding, take your time.)

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11475Chapter: 1
I should have known better than to check the Sugar Quill on a study night, but I did, and ho, I find one of my favorite authors has posted.

This was really excellent. The tone of the story is perfect for the subject matter, and the silent watch kept over Remus the night after Sirius is sent to Azkaban is chilling. The touches you've completed this story with are perfect, each one exactly where it needs to be. And if it weren't after 2 in the morning, I'd offer something more detailed. As it is, I'm very impressed, and this particular fic will certainly stick with me for a long time.

Beyond that... here's hoping we see a MoT or DoY chapter soon! (And with Bill! *hint hint*)

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11473Chapter: 1
It's hard to know what to say - what a powerful, incredibly sad, piece of writing.

Your picture of what it was like in Slytherin was amazing and chilling - the testing of fellow students, the pressure and expectations, their perspective of MWPP, Delilah's strength through silence, her 'relationship' with Snape. And a very believable Snape, too.

I think you absolutely caught the whole mood of those times immediately after the Potters' deaths. The need to clean up the rest of the DE's, the sense of work unfinished, and above all, the sense of unreality that Sirius Black had been the one to betray the Potters. I like how you show that through Moody and Longbottom, how there is that sense of disbelief, and unwillingness to speak of the inthinkable.

And then of course, your portrayal of Remus Lupin and the total prejudice he faced (and still faces) in the Wizarding world, that being a werewolf immediately predisposed him to be a suspect too. But the part which really hit home was the picture you painted of a man in total shock, of the blind rage and despair which he felt. I think you managed to show us the incredible sadness of the person who was left - the sense that he could eventually mend the physical things in his life, but he'd never mend the broken friendships and the emotional loss.

Beautifully written as always. And yes, it DID fit into the background of MOT/DOY, because it gave us a better understanding of Moody and Remus.

Now ... oh inconstant author! May we please have another chapter of MOT/DOY? No hurry mind you - but sometime before Book 5 would be nice!!!

Alkari

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11457Chapter: 1
I must say that I am very impressed. Thank you for sharing this fanfic; I enjoyed it greatly.

I particularly enjoyed the parallel between Harker and Remus. Both put great emphasis on control and for good reasons. Congrats on a such a powerful ending. ^-^

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11444Chapter: 1
Shame on you getting my hopes up like that! But I forgive eazily and will read on...

<<It meant maintaining the advantage of height in seemingly trivial situations, or reserving trust and respect until a person, no matter their stature, had proven themselves worthy and above suspicion.>
How very Slytherinish!

<<&#8220;We can&#8217;t fill &#8216;em up fast enough, as far as I&#8217;m concerned. But I&#8217;m not feeding the Dementors to suit another man&#8217;s agenda - and don&#8217;t play the righteous man, Gordon. I know you don&#8217;t like it any more than I do.&#8221;>>
Moody always the man of honor!
He is so true to his ideas and it shows here. Heaven help him when and if he learns of Blacks innocence.



<<She wondered if he&#8217;d been sitting here like this since the paper&#8217;s arrival in the morning.
She wondered, not entirely certain that it was a foolish thought, if he&#8217;d been sitting here like this since the arrival of the first paper, two days ago.> I was wondering too. Very few people have managed to capture Lupins grief. He has lost everyone and shock will only be the start of it.

<<&#8220;Damn you, Sirius. You bastard. You bastard.&#8221;>>
See, I knew he'd loose it.


<<Delilah gritted her teeth and forced herself not to move. In this state, there was no telling if he&#8217;d through something out of the window onto her...>
Do you mean 'throw'? I think Ijust found a mistake!!! HEHE there is justice in the world.


<<She had to admire the power Voldemort held over his followers. The ease with which he commanded, and yes - inspired. Many of her fellows could not bring themselves to understand that the true measure of Voldemort&#8217;s power lay as much in influence as in magical ability. They followed him, his Death Eaters, because he was glorious in his power, his determination, his ruthlessness. Delilah understood why they followed him.>>
YES. YES. YES! Just how I see him. I'm certain JKR had Hitler in mind when she pinned Voldemort. In AP watch for the first battle at Holloween and see if I got a similar point accross. I promise I'll remind you. :)


<<Control. Control was everything. Control meant survival for a girl surrounded by the cruelties of children too naïve to understand the true depth of the games played.>>
God your good! I've got he best Beta. I knew it last April and I'm more certain now.

A wonderful short that stands by itself. So many people start a short fic and then drag it into more story and more chapters. In most cases it ruins the original work (just look at Star Wars I--;))
This stands on its on and needs nothing further to make readers happy.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11423Chapter: 1
You have long been one of my favorite fan-fiction writers. A year and a half ago, before I ever tried to write myself, I found and loved your stories (Blood and Ink, and the interconnected Memories of Tomorrow and Dreams of Yesterday.) They were so exquisitely perfect that I had to print them out and share them with my two sons and my mother, who were longing for more of Rowling's world just as much as I was.

Well, you've done it again. Delilah Harker is pure gold. The gritty mood of the Aurors' Hall is perfect! All the Canon characters are portrayed to perfection and your OCs sparkle! Shocked and devastated Remus tore my heart out while the poignance of Delilah's past history made me ache for her. The glimpse of quiet, competent Frank Longbottom was another beautiful and achy moment.

And, the comparision between Dumbledore's ability to draw others to his cause and Voldemort's talent for doing the same... sheer brilliance!

Any time I see your name in the update list I feel delighted. Thank you for writing your stories!

Reviewer: BBennettDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11410Chapter: 1
"Hopefully this “little” bit of pure angst and Slytherin psyche delving will serve as (some sort of) an apology for continued tardiness with works in progress…"

Yes, well you thought RONG. FINISH MOT/DOY ALREADY. >:O >:O >:O

This, however, was beautifully written, as are all of your stories. You mixed just the right amount of realism with angst. The Gray Eye was a particularly intriguing concept. Lovely job.

Love, B

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11401Chapter: 1
Liked this *very* much. The idea of a mixed-blood in Slytherin is always fascinating, and the survival strategy Delilah adopted makes for a very interesting character. It also makes her compassion for Remus ring very true. And the Grey Eye is a marvellous magical contraption...

Your writing conveys the emotions of the characters very clearly, especially the trauma everyone feels in the aftermath of Voldemort's failure. the story's very balanced; the way you've structured in the flashbacks works well to complement what's going on in the 'present-day' narrative. I particularly liked the glimpse of young Snape...

And the Dracula reference was good, too.

Calanthe.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --