The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Headmaster Expelled
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: AngelaDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114819Chapter: 3
*headdesk*

Okay, I'm a tard. It wasn't a one shot. I've never actually been here before.

The rest was even better than the first chapter. I love the humour and friendship, and the format of the second chapter. Such minimalism always gives the reader a greater chance to imagine.

The pot holders - LOL. Very cute.

And the last moments of the story... a shippy moment? I must admit I adore Albus and Minerva as a couple, so I usually read it into everything.

Reviewer: AngelaDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114818Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. I love quick, interesting one shots, and this fit the bill rather well. I also enjoy any scene that features these two, I love the trust and frienship in their relationship. Well done!

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96685Chapter: 1
I definitely like this fic. Your Dumbledore is lovely, and it's always nice to see all the adult pangs and sufferings he must go through-- far away from the eyes of the students of Howgarts.

Perhaps you could write a sequel about what DD does when he's kicked out of Hogwarts in year 5...?

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74626Chapter: 3
Very well written. Alternative POVs and Missing Moments are always interesting to read, especially when they're so real.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56312Chapter: 3
Very cute story! I enjoyed it very much!

Reviewer: TwizeDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54089Chapter: 3
Excellent story as usual - a pleasant vignette to accompany my morning tea :)

Reviewer: Evelyn SingerDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42522Chapter: 2
I like this story. It's a well-written, well-rounded look into the minds of our favorite teachers. And i've never seen this particular piece of canon accounted for before, so your originality is refreshing and appreciated.

(one very very very minor quibble. Potholders? Is this American for oven gloves? Can't say I've heard that word before. Told you it was a minor query :-)

Reviewer: lumosnoxDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34211Chapter: 3
This is the best I've ever seen Dumbledore or McGonagall portryed (aside from canon of course, but Minerva even has more character here!) I have always loved these two characters; Minerva is often seen as detached and such, but every now and then her true personality shines through. You are excallent at picking up on those lapses and illustrating her perfectly in your work, even though you don't have much to work with. Your Albus is just...beautiful. He has so many differant moods and feelings. I love that you gave him some regret, fear, and still humor.
My favorite bit has to be the potholders! I love it when an author can pick up a tiny little tidbit like that and carry it along untill it becomes hilariously funny. Just like Imogen and her 'practical application of method' I will forever die laughing when i hear the word 'potholder'
Thanks a lot, Sweeny ;)
bye, daisy

Reviewer: MastiDate: 2003-05-21
Reviewid: 33036Chapter: 3
aww, i loved it!

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31643Chapter: 3
Brilliant! Bloody Brilliant! Heh, I just had a little background music, since my sister was playing Ruby, on GameBoyAdvance SP, while trying to catch one of the toughest of the three legendary ("tombed") pokemon. Anyway, I would've thought the same thing to write that, but I thought against it. It would be good to wonder where he went.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23594Chapter: 1
the way dumbledore spoke is so reminisecnt of the real him. this story is really really nice.
and McHonagall..insecure ?? nice idea dont think i've ever heard it before.. play on that yeah ? luvz
silver_blaise

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23146Chapter: 1
Did I ever tell you what my first impression of you was, based on your writing? I thought, "Wow, with talent like this and such a high-falutin' name, this Sweeney-person is probably a tenured English professor somewhere." :) So it goes without saying that I'm terribly flattered that you wanted to use Abby in your story universe. You write Dumbledore with the best, and I love the humanity you give him. Even all-knowing superwizards feel old and tired, sometimes! I also love the relationship he has with Minerva -- they both need someone to whom they can freely grouse and gripe. :) The letters were wonderful.

Katinka :)

Reviewer: nutmegDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21765Chapter: 3
This is a very good story! I really enjoyed it, and it was great to hear McGonagall complain, especially about Lockhart (who I was had been frightened witless by Peeves *smile*). I'm Meg, btw, the girl from ASC who reads fanfic. Email me if you want to chat sometime.

Reviewer: MKDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15102Chapter: 3
Very good, the little letter part in the first part was cute.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12246Chapter: 3
Nicely done. Thanks for a third chapter and providing a source for those rumors of Voldy being in Albania.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12239Chapter: 3
A short, simple, and elegant end to the story.

Nice work, Sweeney.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12236Chapter: 3
Again, this just feels so natural and canonical. I'm amazed, I really am.

Reviewer: MDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12220Chapter: 3
That was TOO SHORT!
Very nice though. I think it is a lovely summation and integration of canon and originality.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12207Chapter: 3
"Sharp-eyed;" aw, shucks. :-)

Love McGonagall's reference to "your office." And Fawkes's satisfied noise at Dumbledore's praise. I've always imagined Fawkes as a bit vain--kind of in the way that cats are vain--and I can just see him giving the bird equivalent of a self-satisfied smirk.

Interesting that Minerva refers to students by their last names even in private. Is it just habit, or is it her way of keeping the sort of emotional distance that she thinks an authority figure needs?

This story was tons of fun!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12198Chapter: 3
Ah, so *that's* what happened after Harry left the office.

I don't blame Minerva for getting a bit tetchy about Dumbldore knowing.

He plays God a bit sometimes... but, then again, maybe that's because he knows something very few others know...

You handled that beautifully.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12142Chapter: 3
Is this the end? :( Please say no... it is an amazing addition to an amazing story.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12097Chapter: 2
I can't believe I forgot to make time to read chapter two for all this time! At least it was well worth the wait, though, it's wonderful. It's a great chance to see events from both Minerva and Dumbledore's PoV, and just feels incredibly realistic. Lockhart skiving off, Snape frustrating the hell out of Minerva, her thinking Percy's the best prepared and most well-rounded student... oh yeah. Perfect.

I especially love Dumbledore's humour coming through - "Amusing as it might be, please refrain from frightening Gilderoy. (But if you do, make sure there’s some way to record his reaction so I can see it later.)" Bwhahahahahahahah.

*is jealous*

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11988Chapter: 2
This is the first chance I've gotten to read this, after hearing so much about it on your LJ. Quite good--I especially like how you portray Dumbledore. It's rare that we get to see him displaying or discussing his emotions. He usualy seems rather... bottled up. Just hearing him admit, [I]"It hurt,"[/I] touched me deeply. *sniff!*

You also have a lot of cute comic touches, which balance out the pathos nicely. Lockhart and the potholders, especially. I love that, with all of his abilities, Dumbledore still needs a potholder. Such a delightful little Muggle object, potholders (also, my boyfriend set one on fire last week, so I have an extra reason to giggle!).

Looking forward to seeing the third (final?) chapter. It amazes me how you write so quickly--and so well!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11967Chapter: 2
P.S. Actually, there is something I can’t find – where are the potholders?
-Cute. I rather liked that whole potholder question.

His novels are also very easy to fall into
-Made me think of Ginny and the Riddle's diary.

Nice reference to Ms. Loomis and her incomplete education. I love the fanfics with her! (just can't remember the name of them at the moment..blasted senility)

Sherrinford Shiftlet
-I really liked Partisan Warfare. It deserves far more reviews that it has now.

Everyone felt very in character. It can't be easy to do Dumbledore, but you pull it off. While there is no need, I'd like there to be a third chapter for no other reason than that I enjoyed the first two so much. Thanks for the fic.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11947Chapter: 2
I bet you thought I'd never get to this! Sorry it's taken me a little longer than usual.

I very much liked your use of Abby, and I think your portrayals of Minerva and Dumbledore are the best in fandom. There. I've said it. :)

Thank you, Sweeney, for some of the best fanon letters I've ever read.

Catherine

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2002-12-09
Reviewid: 11923Chapter: 2
*Love* the letters. I'm really amused by the idea of Fawkes delivering them. I like the relationship between McGonagall and Dumbledore; it's like they both have this professional side, and that's all that most folks ever see, but they'll rant and rave and witter on about potholders to one another. It's very real.

Any chance we'll get to see Dumbledore's letter to Snape? It must have been quite something if it got Snape to back off.

Was that a _Gaudy Night_ allusion that I spotted? I seem to remember Lord Peter saying something about not liking being loomed over by gigantic undergraduates and made to feel his age.

Reviewer: R.J. AndersonDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11838Chapter: 2
Oh, duh. Not only did I realize there were two chapters, I didn't realize who the writer was (I came here via an LJ entry of yours that showed up in Zsenya's LJ "Friends" list). Well, no WONDER it was good. :) The correspondence is lovely, too. The potholder crisis was a nice touch -- funny and realistic at the same time.

Reviewer: R.J. AndersonDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11835Chapter: 1
Oh, this is lovely. Brief, but not too brief. Nice character touches, especially that recollection Albus has about Minerva as a fifth-year prefect. Very well done.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11788Chapter: 2
Not that I'm as old as Dumbledore, but I see little doubts and feelings that maybe they aren't as sharp as they used to be in people my mom's age. You got that down well. You can get a lot of their personalities from their letters. And I'm glad Dumbledore liked Stephen King--I don't see him as a Tom Clancy man!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11787Chapter: 1
I loved this line: Her face did not soften as much as sag. For some reason that was really visual for me. You've established them as comfortable partners in running the school. They sound like really good friends.

Reviewer: MDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11772Chapter: 2
Very nice! Can't wait for the last bit

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11750Chapter: 2
What an original idea!

McGonnagal is very funny, I like her... I always suspected she had a sharp wit.

Poor Dumbledore... Harry almost always sees him as all-powerful, I forget he has his frailties.

I can't decide whether to laugh, shiver, cry or what on this story... strangely enough, it takes me all over.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-12-08
Reviewid: 11723Chapter: 2
Well done! I really liked the way you used the correspondence between Dumbledore & McGonagall to move the story along. I think you captured both of their personalities quite well in this chapter. And I loved Dumbledore's advice about how to deal with the frustrations of running the school - knock the stuffing out of a pillow! That was too funny!

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11716Chapter: 2
Pleaze continue this. It is amazing!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11695Chapter: 2
I love gap-fillers in general, and this is a great one so far!

BTW, when I saw "Theron", I remembered I'd read your other Minerva stories before, and left them without comment. I apologize for that, 'cause they are excellent too.

One small thing, though, and maybe this is just my take on Dumbledore, but I can't see him getting AFRAID over what other people think. Annoyed, yes, but the doubt you paint in him seems a bit out-of-character. Either that, or I misread his anger/annoyance as fear. Or maybe there's subtext we'll see in other chapters. 'Tis but a nit - and perhaps I'm pointing it out so I don't become yet-another gusher. :)

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11693Chapter: 2
This is just wonderful!

I love your Minerva, her self-doubts, her frustration, the stress she is under, her lovely Gilderoy observations and suggestions - and the fact that she has been blind to the developing romance between Percy and Penelope! Typical that she is so worried and dedicated about her own duties that she fails to note personal relationships or make allowances for friendships.

You've caught Albus beautifully too - that mix of being a very sharp mind, yet he is still a delightfully eccentric older man with all his own self-doubts and concerns, including his sadness that he had to resort ot violence. No potholders indeed - he could quite easily have transfigured some, but typically he goes on about finding some proper ones. You show his deep concern for the school and his amazing awareness of all the little personal nuances - the letter to Severus was a great touch, as was his response about Gilderoy and Peeves. And it was great to see him with Abby.

I really enjoyed your ability to portray other characters through the eyes of the two correspondents, and how you show that the staff have a different perspective on Percy than his siblings.

Alkari

Reviewer: AmiDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11692Chapter: 2
Sweeeney, you are fantastic.

First: go to your rooms. Second: pick up your pillow. Third: beat the stuffing out of it. Fourth: leave it for the house-elves to clean up. It will prevent you from killing Severus, and repairing the pillow will undo the effectiveness of the exercise."

ROFLMAO. Brilliant. Just brilliant.

Of course, the bit about frightening Lockhart was great also. :)

Looking forward to seeing more of this.

Reviewer: GemmaDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11648Chapter: 1
Most excellent! I'm looking forward to the next chapters.

Reviewer: MireenDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11562Chapter: 1
I love this story - short but sweet. Dumbledore and Minerva are completely in character, and I really like how you explored a part of the books that no one's really thought about before. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: AmiDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11554Chapter: 1
Awesome idea Sweeney, I've always wondered where exactly Dumbledore went during CoS. Can't wait to see more of this.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11547Chapter: 1
This was amazing! I hope that there is more to come.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11531Chapter: 1
The chapter was just getting STARTED! You must write more... more... more... there will be more, right?

Oh, of course there will. You have to use Abby! *eeeeee!*

Reviewer: TeaDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11527Chapter: 1
Ooooooo - this is exactly what I needed on a miserable day when I should be studying!!! Thanks Sweeney, this is great - I can't wait to see where you're gonna go with it. Your Minerva/Albus canon is my favorite :)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11525Chapter: 1
Good start, Sweeney.

Need more.

Catherine

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11521Chapter: 1
This is great! I love the relationship between Minerva and Albus, it's so interesting. It's so nice to read stories where they're *people*, not 2D cut-out characters.

In fact, the only bit about this story I didn't think was spot-on was the last line - something about the 'rather' made me go 'huh'. But otherwise, I am absurdly jealous of your talent, as always.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11517Chapter: 1
I really liked this (there is more, right?). I loved the allusion to McGonagall's past as a Gryffindor prefect - that was a nice touch.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --