The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: In Winter they Burn
Review(s): 72

Reviewer: Alohomora BlackDate: 2007-09-23
Reviewid: 149373Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwww

Reviewer: Princess TwirlDate: 2007-03-03
Reviewid: 147345Chapter: 1
you had some very poignant moments there. my favourite lines are:
'she was beautiful, harry thought recklessly.'
and
'You think your stars are impressive, wait until you see my sunrise.'
I think you are really able to get out of the narrarators perspective and into Harry's head, and the way he thinks.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136842Chapter: 1
It’s EXCELLENT.

Reviewer: golfclub/golfball/golftee/gothmeDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134111Chapter: 1
WAAA-AAIIIT
WAIT UNTIL THE
DAAA-AAAWN
WAIT FOR ME TO FINISH MY
SOO-OONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(i know. i suck at singing.)
AGIVEGA'S LEFT THE SUGARQUILL!!!!!

Reviewer: AlaDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130404Chapter: 1
Ok so i loved your writing and all the descriptions they were wonderful But, (there is always a but)i think you could have put more romance into the story

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125928Chapter: 1
Ahhh fluff!!! Lovely, wonderful canon fluff! And not just that, it's the kind of fluff that drives you crazy because you know things will only get better after this... lol Anyway great job! Write more! :D

Reviewer: CarissaDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124568Chapter: 1
That was such a great story! I loved it!

Reviewer: lilitorcenDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 120064Chapter: 1
Trully great. Thanks a lot for the very pleasant time I had reading your story !

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117174Chapter: 1
All together now: "AWWWWWWW!"

Seriously, that was great. I love the way both...sort of couples... talk around things rather than just blurting out their feelings.

Like this:

Harry sighed, leaning back on his elbows in a reclining position.



“We’re going to stay out here, discussing very important things, such as how many of my Bertie Botts can I trade with your Chocolate Frogs, and what will annoy Filch more next year, a farting skipping rope or belching juggling balls. Then the sun will rise.” He scoffed at the sky, “you think your stars are impressive, wait for my sunrise.”

That was a beautiful line.

Reviewer: Persephone LunaDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106736Chapter: 1
Oooooh, very good! Wow, I like this very much. Write more! Write more!

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103906Chapter: 1
a great christmas. i'm in Australia, and have never had a 'white' christmas, but the spirit is so much the same. lol, nice fight too, it really is inevitable, isnt it?

i loved all the little harry-noticing-ginny moments, and ginny's mistletoe - i wonder how that panned out? *crossed fingers ;)*

"The alliance shattered as the twins scattered." i just adore the poetry of that line. shattered, scattered.... splattered snowballs too :P yay phoenetic alliteration!

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101740Chapter: 1
This is the best Christmas fic I've ever read. I like that the story could take place anytime after fourth year, you don't place it anywhere on the timeline and it works better for that. You have the Weasley down perfectly. Each of them has a nice moment. The support that Harry gives Ginny is wonderful, it sounds like something Dumbledore would say, "...we just have to wait until the dawn." Very, very nicely done.

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89388Chapter: 1
Sigh. That was wonnnnderful. I couldn't stop grinning through the whole snowball fight scene. The moment before the Weasleys erupt into fights is just beautiful, the way you describe the whole family (OBHWF, heehee) sitting around together in the living room. Ginny's giggles were infectious, for once not annoying. There were a ton of great lines--like:

Harry wondered how it was possible, after numerous games spanning the course of over four years, for Ron to get more smug each time he won.

Heeheehee! And I loved Ginny's stars, and

"I get my arguments stored up."
That one's the best, actually. Because you KNOW that's exactly what Ron and Hermione do. They say exactly what will drive the other mad, it's hilarious (like in Book 5, Ron saying "I feel like a house-elf!" or "I could eat a hippogriff!" in book 3. I think you perfectly replicated that rapport in this fic.
What a lovely bit a fluff, the best I've read in awhile! More than fluff, really. It was a joy of a fic.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89021Chapter: 1
i liked this it is really good...u just hav to finish it!!

Reviewer: fadingslowlyDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86050Chapter: 1
that was sweet. i especially loved the mistletoe part with ron and hermione!

Reviewer: RaeDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85665Chapter: 1
Ok, now I want to be a Weasley.

Percy was the best, in my opinion. I loved him all the way through. This was such a gorgeous piece, really it was.

Reviewer: SkyeDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82923Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. Simply beautiful. The last bit with Harry and Ginny on the roof was particularily beautiful. *_* I am in awe. ^_^

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79117Chapter: 1
Oh bargh... just leave us hanging... *frown* Really good, though. Although I'm disappointed with the ending :/

Reviewer: HP fanaticDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77594Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!! OMG that was soooooooooo cute u kept everyone in character !! Great Job!!!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76857Chapter: 1
Hey Ellyse! I love this fic, as if you look at my ten page long review from before, and it's especially interesting looking at it now after OOTP.
I just wanted to let you know that I did a little pencil illustration of the R/H mistletoe scene. If you want to take a peek at it, it's achived here at the Quill: just go to the fanart tab and look up sveltskye.

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76693Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. I loved the rich tradition, the fighting over the Christmas tree("He secretly thought that the reason there was so many decorations was to avoid too much conflict. This of course, had happened anyway, with Fred ending up with a bloody nose, and Ginny elbowing Percy in the eye." Reminds me of my family), the snowball fight, attack on the twin and Percy was very very very amusing. I loved the fact that they didn't kiss. I think in some ways the hug said more then any kiss. The talk on the roof between Harry and Ginny was touching ( I wept). I was always a fan of wise Ginny, and I loved her in your story.
I think you should write a follow up where she does see Harry's sunrise.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76327Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I am so glad Sveltsky's art drew my attention to this story! I love the whole Weasley Christmas tradition, inculding the bickering and Ginny on the roof. The last few paragraphs are beautiful. "“you think your stars are impressive, wait for my sunrise.”" Fantastic.

Reviewer: CherylDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68199Chapter: 1
Wonderfully-written. It's just so... real. The characters remained true and I can see something like this happening in canon. I really enjoyed the part where Ginny went 'I looked up' and 'In winter they burn'. I don't know, I just read that and went, 'Wow.'

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64481Chapter: 1
AWWWW! This was so wonderful! Horray for Christmas! You've done such an awesome job balancing fluff with plot, and your writing is fantastic, very descriptive.
Great job!

Reviewer: DuckyDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64306Chapter: 1
I love this story. Is there more to it? Like a sequal or whatever. I hope so.

Reviewer: CherylDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63552Chapter: 1
Lovely lovely story. I love the title, I love the ending, I love how you stayed true to their canon characters.

Reviewer: shafaqDate: 2003-10-15
Reviewid: 56555Chapter: 1
Sweet,Simple and Cute.
Its wonderful and lovely.
Cheers
Love every incidents especially snow ball fighting.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54607Chapter: 1
::Sniffles:: I've never cried at a fanfic until today. Yet I am in tears now. This was a wonderful, wonderful fic. (Gets all glassy eyed again.) Thank you. I loved 'the dawn'.

Reviewer: CassDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52241Chapter: 1
REALLY cute story!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49436Chapter: 1
great.. perfect...
write more soon.....
:)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49280Chapter: 1
Hermione and Ginny who had used their “I’m a girl” cards with relish.
HAHAHA! so true.....

and asides from that...
hmm. this was wonderfully pensive. i know a lot of people dont like "WiseBeyondHerYears" ginny. but, after reading OotP, i mean... hey. shes cool.

oh and you shoudl write a sequel where harry explains mistletoe to ron, and ron feels like a git and makes up for it with mione.....

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49187Chapter: 1
great story, i think you need a second chapter or something

Reviewer: no oneDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46683Chapter: 1
so sweet

Reviewer: ManravielDate: 2003-06-28
Reviewid: 38787Chapter: 1
It was sooooo.....nice. I loved the subtle romance and the family feel of it all

Reviewer: laylaDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35928Chapter: 1
that was so good! i really enjoyed it a lot. thanks for such a great story!

Reviewer: petranillaDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35912Chapter: 1
do you think you'll be writing more?!?!?!?! it was great, but it would be better if you wrote more to accompany it!!!!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35877Chapter: 1
this is so incredibly endearingly cute... i love the double reference to the dawn. good stuff!

Reviewer: LannahDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35822Chapter: 1
i love this story it seems to give hope for the future as well as being commical and showing kinda what its like having lots of family around at christmas.

is there going to be a continuation to this or is this a one off?

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34066Chapter: 1
this story is so good. i wish you went into hermione and ron a little more, i'm like obsessed with them.

Reviewer: AquillaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29767Chapter: 1
owh... that was so good. And so cute, and soooo exactly like my family christmases. Thank you.

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29722Chapter: 1
Awwww... so cute ;-) I would have liked more R/H, but that's ok, good story =)

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28316Chapter: 1
Aw. That was so...nice, for lack of a better word. Satisfying. Little Ron/Hermione, little Harry/Ginny
...I have to say I like the H/G better. "For circulatory purposes." Yeah. Okay, Harry.

“We’re going to stay out here, discussing very important things, such as how many of my Bertie Botts can I trade with your Chocolate Frogs, and what will annoy Filch more next year, a farting skipping rope or belching juggling balls. Then the sun will rise.” He scoffed at the sky, “you think your stars are impressive, wait for my sunrise.”

I love it I love it I love it!

Reviewer: AnandaBlack2002Date: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24426Chapter: 1
Keep going please. Sorry I can't write more, but I'm grounded.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@MSN.comDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24405Chapter: 1
OMG! GREAT!

Reviewer: antigoneDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24073Chapter: 1
Christmas at the Burrow! Yayyyy!The Weasleys are noisily precious as I expected.
I like that you make Ginny struggling to express her opinions about Vodermort's return and Harry helping her with them.
Harry is quite a romantic guy, isn't he? The awkward but friendly interactions between Harry and Ginny are beautifully depicted. Great job!

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23678Chapter: 1
In winter they burn. Artistic. I like it very very much! Very well written!!! Excellent!!!!!!!

Reviewer: bladeDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20171Chapter: 1
hey wheres the rest

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19091Chapter: 1
I really like this story...its so sweet... ::sigh::

Reviewer: Mary JoDate: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19046Chapter: 1
Wow, I love the ending of that! I didn't know Harry could be so eloquent! But at the same time, it was totally believable. You really impressed me! Keep writing, you are very talented!!!

Reviewer: MillyDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18508Chapter: 1
Great story! The snowball fight was the best!!!! I loved it. The PERCY PRANK was suberb! 5 stars!

Reviewer: g. weasleyDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17423Chapter: 1
this story is so sweet. the part where the chess pieces totally lost their heads and started wrestling made me laugh out loud. any chance of a sequel? or r/h or h/g?

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17119Chapter: 1
Oh my god I love this! It is sooo good!

Reviewer: ValDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 16978Chapter: 1
Well, I think the only appropriate thing for me to say about your fic is "Awwwwwwww!" I ESPECIALLY loved the last scene with Harry and Ginny. Just perfect! squeeeee.....

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15953Chapter: 1
WOW! that was sooo beautiful.. "wait for my sunrise.. " .. wow!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15860Chapter: 1
this is veri cute.. think ya gonna have a follow up ??
it wld be nice to now wat happens in the mornin..
ahahah but mabbe.. too much description ??

Reviewer: Miss SnufflesDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15841Chapter: 1
Oh! *claps hands* Christmas stories are always fun, and what a better time than to crowd all the Weasleys, Hermione, and Harry together? And of course, to expose some hidden feelings for one another?

I especially liked the mistletoe hug as opposed to the kiss, and then the rooftop tryst between Ginny and Harry. :-)

Reviewer: Gemma HillDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15789Chapter: 1
Amazing,perfect,ROCKIN'

Reviewer: loonyDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15614Chapter: 1
That was amazing! I am in awe of you! Please write more as soon as you can- I mean it would be such a tragedy if you didn't----SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: annieDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15555Chapter: 1
This story is absolutely beautiful, stunning, wonderful, perfect...I can't describe it. I read it when you first posted it & I thought I reviewed it, but somehow my review's not there, so I'm trying again. I just reread it and remembered how much I absolutely loved it.
First of all, the characterisations are spot on. Particularily Ginny, whom I've seen quite a few versions of which I didn't like. I love that you made her real and not silly, but still kept her blushing & giggling & nervousness around Harry. Some people seem to want to turn her into this kick ass, sassy & bold girl who suddenly stops blushing around Harry & teases him unabashedly, which I hate, but your Ginny was just so natural &...Ginnyish, like she is in the books, like a real person. Especially like the little touch of her lying on her stomach by the fire, all tuckered out :). All your other characterisations were nice, too, such as Fred & George's pranks, Molly's fiendish looks, her blowing up at them during the fight yet trying to dissaprove when her big boys were excited over their toys. (gah, horrible rhyme, sorry :) The snowball fight was excellent, too, I can just see Hermione getting upset when Ron inadvertantly wrecks her masterpiece & the "family fight" was perfect. One little suggestion: it would be neat if you had described the wizarding way they had decorated the tree, maybe conjuring tinsel or hanging ornaments w/ their wands.
The R/H was very cute. I loved that they didn't kiss under the mistletoe. It just didn't seem like it was time. Very smooth, Ron! :>) I had wished Charlie & Bill had had an opportunity to tease her & RumpledHair!Ron- fresh from the shower!- :)
But the G/H just completely blew me away. The heart to heart on the rooftop was just the stuff of romance movies, chillingly romantic & beautiful. They really need that serious chat, for them to ever become romantic; I hate it when Ginny "changes" & Harry all of a sudden notices her. But their moment was nicely developed, in character, & it seemed natural for him to open up to her. I'm absolutely head over heels for R/H right now, & have a hard time seeing H/G b/c of the way most people write it, but if it turns out like this than I may end up liking it more than R/H- it's so much ...deeper.
I'm going to try to illustrate some scenes from this, so if they're good I'll post them & you can check them out.
Sorry to blab so much, but I had to gush...got it out of my system now. I'm kind of embarrassed now :). Anyways, there's my review!

Reviewer: Miss ZippitydodahDate: 2002-12-24
Reviewid: 13879Chapter: 1
awww now THAT put me in the christmas spirit! its christmas eve, and i loved spending it with the Weasleys. good job, and merry christmas!

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13771Chapter: 1
That's one of the best fics I've ever read! Seriously! It's poignant and sensible and perfectly believable. Great job!

Reviewer: TayloireDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13738Chapter: 1
That was such a cool story, good job!*Tayloie*

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13691Chapter: 1
Very sweet! I like this!

Reviewer: ThariDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13684Chapter: 1
Wow this story rocks! The details in the decorations and characters are really good! Sequel?....

Reviewer: Queen SusanDate: 2002-12-22
Reviewid: 13617Chapter: 1
wow.....u are a great author. more more more, sorry i can;t write too much i am in the dark.....anyways wow again ;) u rock

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2002-12-22
Reviewid: 13578Chapter: 1
HILARIOUS story, great dialogue, very sweet. I loved the end, the last line was gorgeous. A perfect holiday piece!

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2002-12-21
Reviewid: 13556Chapter: 1
This is so beatiful! Honestly, it's lovely, you really are an amazing author. You've got Molly's character down perfectly, and the ending is wonderful. Your descriptions are really intense and vivid, it's a lovely, lovely story!
Well done!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12652Chapter: 1
Dude! I love that! Good good good good....it was ok at the beginning, but by the end....marvelously sweet and sentimental and holiday luvliness...:D

This image was particularly captivating:
"Ginny blushed suddenly, apparently startled at her behaviour, and stared fixedly forwards again. Small snowflakes teased the top of her hair, looking ironically white hot against the red. Her brown eyes were wide and moist in the bitter evening cold. Her nose was slightly red from the temperature, and adorned neatly with the Weasley freckles, and from her small mouth escaped uneven breaths of winter, rising above them both in cloudy white wisps."
I can perfectly see that, when I close my eyes....

Moving wonderfully towards H/G...actually one of the best 5th year Harry-starts-to-take-an-interest-in-Ginny portrayals I've ever seen! And that last line:

“I know,” he said. “But I think now we just have to wait until the dawn.”

::sighs::
~TPR

Reviewer: Nico686Date: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12044Chapter: 1
Aww! that was mondoly sweet! I loved the last line- and the whole mistletoe thing w/ron and hermione. It was very cute. :) I really liked it. DO you think there's a ring of "sequel" in the air?? :)

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11694Chapter: 1
I love it! I love the title, and the "you think your stars are impressive, wait for my sunrise", and how the R/H and H/G levels are just right...the in-between awkward but somehow safe and normal part...everything is perfect and poised in the waiting and hoping and preparing and oh...perfect.

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11624Chapter: 1
Good story

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-12-06
Reviewid: 11551Chapter: 1
Amazing story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --