The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 259

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137897Chapter: 9
Oh my goodness, Lois is simply wondeful!! "au naturel"!!! Ladel to London! Fantastic! I am thoroghly addicted to your writing. This a wonderful read all around!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135843Chapter: 1
I found the story / main characters to be absolutely wonderful. I thought that Black was a little off character and that the brother discovery / giving up his life portion could have been better. Thank you for a delightful read.

Reviewer: AlexannahDate: 2005-11-04
Reviewid: 135688Chapter: 30
I really loved this fic. I've never read a Snape romance before, but I gather it must be really difficult to keep him in character - and you pulled it off brilliantly! ;-)

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130285Chapter: 18
I have been reading and thoroughly enjoying this fic over the last few days. I've been sort of "reviewed out" from writing group commitments and other reviews I've done, so I want to apologize for not reviewing sooner or more chapters. This story is really a fun read! I love Snape and your characterization of him is wonderful. It is interesting how you can make him sexy, as JKR's descriptions - the sallow skin, the yellow teeth, try to do the opposite. You, however, have succeeded admirably and without straying from canon in my opinion, but maybe just overlooking certain details like greasy hair, LOL. His initial reticence to become involved in a romantic relationship is well explained and true to what we can understand of his character.

I also have a soft spot for OFCs and your Lois is wonderful. Working in medicine myself, I can relate to her perpective and interactions with her patients. My only beef with her was how she reacted to Snape's revelation of being a Death Eater. I thought he deserved more grief from her and instead, she gave him the opposite. Well - I guess I understand she chalked it up to a rash and youthful decision. But still - a Death Eater!

Lois' interactions with Lupin are wonderful as well. I only wish you could have "shown rather than told" about their evening in the Three Broomsticks. This is actually a compliment because I so enjoyed the way you described it as it was, that I only want MORE of it. The way you described their progression into drunkeness was priceless, as was your description of their hangovers. I absolutely LOVED that chapter. And what is our favorite werewolf doing with her anyway? Is he interested in her too? I'm curious to find out, but I think he's probably just being friendly and goading Snape a bit.

And now Ch 18. Wow. Very sexy. Very hot. I always love fights/arguments that lead to passion. You write dialogue quite well - especially high emotion and drama. I love fics that aren't afraid to delve into emotion. And I love kissing/love scenes that are understated and tasteful - yours was absolutely both of those and was very well done. I can't wait to finish the rest! Nice work.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129305Chapter: 30
I really enjoyed this story. Glad I saw it in New Fics... Just discovered it & was drawn in by the beauty of the title. Stayed for the glory of the writing & its humor. Enjoyed it so much I have shared it. Thank you!

Reviewer: hpnanaDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128792Chapter: 29
OUTSTANDING!!!!!!
Even though HBP is out, read and in discussing even as I write, I am looking foward to the last chapter. I NEED to believe Snape is human, innocent and not evil. Your story would mingle in the HBP reading and made me refuse Snape had totally turned to the Dark Side. Your story gives me even more hope. So please don't delay too much if you can.

Reviewer: FawkesDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128482Chapter: 18
what else was holding her up in chapter 18?

Reviewer: alexandriaDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127819Chapter: 11
"Snape’s sceptical expression changed not one iota, but inside he gave a silent cheer – it seemed the touching was back on!"

hurrah! great light-hearted fic. Lois is borderline Mary Sue, but I still like her. I think her first-person commentary makes her much less of a Mary Sue. good job with Snape, too!

Reviewer: Sapphire_luna232Date: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127635Chapter: 4
I love the story so far! Very creative- but perhaps this cliffy will be a bit too predictable..... I'm betting everything I've got that it's Lois.

*runs off to read the next chapter*

Reviewer: magellanDate: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127574Chapter: 30
I loved it! It was so sweet. I wish Snape really did have someone for him like that. This is on my all-time favorite list of fanfics. Great work!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127396Chapter: 30
This story is incredible. I'm totally in love with the dialogue between your couple, so true to life. I look forward to more of your gripping cliffhangers and tender moments in future stories.

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127254Chapter: 30
I've been wondering, how do you say Lois's full name, Achelois? It bugs me that I'm saying it wrong. I'm saying it "Al-ke-lois" and I know that isn't it. Well, loved it. It makes me emotional reading it! Love it!

>>Fish

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127253Chapter: 30
Thank you, thank you, Chary, for such a warm ending! I have followed this story for a long time, both here and on FF.net, and you could not have picked a better day to post the epilogue. You have changed my view of Snape - made him such an understandable, sympathetic character. I'll be ready tomorrow to see how he plays out in Canon, and I wouldn't be surprised if you got him, spot on. Just a beautiful story! Thank you for all of your hard work.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127235Chapter: 30
Lovely poem, lovely story. I look forward to more from you!

Reviewer: MollyDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127234Chapter: 30
Yes, may we all be so lucky...

Beautiful.

Thank you Chary

Reviewer: SilverthreadsDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127204Chapter: 30
Good story, even though I don't normally read romances. :)

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127202Chapter: 30
Yay! I bet it's a relief to have this done now. You've left me with a new appreciation for Snape - one I never thought could have. The ending is quite satisfying. Well done!

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127175Chapter: 29
Hurray! My favourite SQ story finally, perfectly (and so!) completed.

Ah, Chary! You really had me there. For months now (yes, *months*!) I have been preparing myself for - well, perhaps I’d better not go revealing the story’s end here, in case there are people reading this review who have not got there yet. Wouldn’t want to spoil it for them.

I love how you’ve managed to confound *all* my expectations, and this despite all the digging-for-hints emails I sent you! Your secrecy is worthy of JKR. She would be proud ;)

Your narrative in this last chapter is, as always, composed of such beautiful, rich and expressive language that it genuinely makes my heart soar to read it. NO exaggeration.

It is impossible to pick favourite lines, or even favourite chapters, but I will mention some of my favourite moments (in no particular order):

-Snape’s attempt to convince Lois –ahem!- that his objection to people imagining they are sleeping together in no way means he is not attracted to her. In NO way.
-Harry in hospital. Poor Harry. And then he comes ‘home’and we feel even more sorry for him.
-Hagrid’s unsavoury culinary offerings – Vole-au-vents! Had me in stitches. Great chapter.
-Snape’s attempt to dispatch with the competition – and when Lois found him out.
-Heartbroken Lois. Had the same effect on me that Marianne’s ‘disappointment’ does in S&S. Particularly when she encounters Snape in the corridor a few days after.
-‘..you have exactly two seconds to change your mind…Time’s up.’ Okay, I lied about favourite lines.
-Luvdup!Snape. Undeniably sexy.
-The ending.

I know from your comments, Chary, that you feel a great sense of relief that you’re finally done with this story, but I do hope that HBP inspires a new creative impulse in you and we see more of your writing at SQ in the not too distant future.

Thank you!
Helen

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127160Chapter: 29
I LOVE YOU!!! YOU BROGHT HER BACK AND THEY'RE ALL HAPPY AND YOU FINALLY POSTED!!!! There is no way I could express what I'm feeling right now, I'm in between happy that's it's here and sad that's it's pretty much over. God you're an awesome writer!!!

>>Fish

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127140Chapter: 29
You Updated! You Finished!

I am so happy to BotE tied up. You did a wonderful job of suggesting a world that still goes on and is filled with danger but still gave us a sweet - but not toooo sweet - ending. I also loved the fact that Lois didn't become a super-mediwitch. Sometimes things just don't work out that way. I thought it was great and real.

And Gretna Green! As a reader of Regencies I got to experiance GG quite a bit and I can say that this is the first time it has come it in a Harry Potter setting. Nicely done.

I have said it before, but I think your Snape is brilliant. You somehow made it possible for Snape to be utterly Snape-like and yet tender and loveing at the same time. That takes a lot of skill with the character. I have read many Snapes, but your is still one of the best.

Cheers! I can't wait for the epilogue.

2 days to HBP!

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127019Chapter: 29
I'm SO glad you updated. I love this wonderful story. I can't wait to see the epilogue. Thank you again and again!

Reviewer: MollyDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126980Chapter: 29
Wow. Wow. Wow.

to be honest, for some crazy reason, I thought the last chapter was it. I haven't been around a lot lately and just stumbled upon this by great fortune, and I have to say, wow. It's just beautiful AND in character.

I will be looking for the epilogue.
MM

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126970Chapter: 29
This was simply perfect. I laughed, I sighed. I love the way you write Lois and Snape's banter.

Perfect.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126968Chapter: 28
[i]A brief look of bittersweet sorrow flickered across her pain-ravaged features. ‘For the rest…. of my life?’

Severus felt an icy twist of pain spear his insides. He lowered his face to hers, the fierceness she couldn’t see in his gaze echoed plainly in his tone. ‘No. For the rest of mine.’

[/i]

Guuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh!

Reviewer: RCGgymratmomDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126966Chapter: 29
I absolutely love this story!!! I hope that you do a sequal some day. Your writing style captured me from the first moments of the story. I really enjoyed the character development here as well.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126965Chapter: 29
I literally screamed when I saw you updated. Considering I was in my office...bad idea :)

Now I am off to read...

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126938Chapter: 29
Just as I'd hoped. Thanks for making it come true. At least, in a fictional sense!

Big sigh of relief.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126850Chapter: 29
Wow! I stumbled on this story over a year ago (or so it seems, I could be mistaken), and became extremely depressed when it seemed you were one chapter short of an ending. I'm so happy to see you've started wrapping it up! Great update, very imaginative.

Reviewer: steve calabreseDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126843Chapter: 29
Glad to see this again - a week ago, I was hunting for this story on FF.NET and was worried that it would never be continued.

-Steve

Reviewer: vonDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123255Chapter: 28
ahhhhhh... update soon please! I don't think I could wait to see what happens to poor lois. Brilliant story! I'm now looking for more snape/OC fics, see what you've done to me? =D

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122425Chapter: 28
I really loved your story. I just read through the last chapter again and found myself tearing up even after all this time. I have read your other stories on SQ and really enjoyed them, but I was wondering if you were planning on finishing this? Thanks!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121089Chapter: 11
Hi, Chary! I'm really enjoying this story. (Who knew I would like a Snape story?) I'm glad that Lois is going to be his friend. I guess somebody has to. ;)

My favorite lines came at the end--I was laughing outloud!

>>'I’m not going to expect you to sit around giggling about boys while we braid each other’s hair. Although,’ she said, reaching out exploring fingers, ‘yours is nearly long enough.<<

>>with one tiny unthinking move he’d just denied himself a friendship with a beautiful woman that involved touching, even he knew those were the very best kind.<< Oh dear! I'm afraid I'll *never* recover from that one!

>>inside he gave a silent cheer – it seemed the touching was back on!<< Poor Severus! Never knowing how good it cam be to be touched.

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120661Chapter: 28
Please, I am freaking BEGGING YOU to updated soon! It's been forever and I'm dying for the next chapter!! PLEASE!!!!

Reviewer: QemDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120460Chapter: 28
Wow, very enjoyable story. I thought it was a lovely characterisation of Snape. You can't kill Lois off! o.o;

Is it possible you could email me when you update?

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-04-16
Reviewid: 119753Chapter: 2
Hi! I've started reading your story. You've included some great details -- I particularly like the comparison between Snape and Miss Robson. Hee hee.

Reviewer: blehDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119419Chapter: 1
dude, it's been what..AT LEAST six months since your last post, you cant leave people wondering like this, this is bogus.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114625Chapter: 28
No pressure here. Just wanted you to know there are still those out here wanting a little more when you have it! Until then...

Reviewer: paiaDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111836Chapter: 28
umm. i really like your story. very clever. the talking toothbrush amused my roomie and i for over an hour. i love your snape characterization, right on. so are you ever gonna update this? you know you cant leave us hangin like this. Lois can't die. that's just plain awful. please finish the story. it's really good!

Reviewer: annoyedDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110997Chapter: 1
i am so about to give up on this story, update...and soon, this is rediculous

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109743Chapter: 28
Please, please, please, PLEASE tell me this isn't the end! Please tell me she didn't really die. This was a wonderful story but all I want to do is cry right now. When are you going to update? Please tell me it's soon!

Reviewer: FoxfierDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109242Chapter: 28
PLEASE don't kill her!

Let her evil uncle's mind-meld thing be enough to save her life!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107712Chapter: 28
Oh my God, don't kill her off. Another chapter , means there may be hope, right?

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107430Chapter: 28
Oh.My.God.
This could take all night. I just LOVE this fic! Where to begin?

I decided to read this fic, because I just couldn't believe that you could pull it off. There seemed to be NO way ANYONE could possibly (1) SMUGGLE a MUGGLE into Hogwarts castle (2) get her involved with SNAPE??!! and (3) sustain disbelief for ANY length of time. And yet, as of chapter 2? 3?? I stand in awe of this COMPLETELY believable, comPLETEly compelling work.

Have honestly not felt this way since Voldemort was brewing a potion with Harry's blood on his father's grave....

You make SNAPE SO attractive.... That chapter where they finally get together is of course one of the keys, but it is amazingly intimate on an intellectual level? It creates a deep emotional bonding between the characters in an unusually believeable way. Loved it, and LOVED their dialogue as well. Very thoughtful, creative, and sensitive. Lois shows a lot of integrity by being honest about how she would respond to an encounter with the Dark Lord, while showing her hatred for what he represents at the same time.

Snape is SUCH a perfectly unredeemable character in most ways in canon. I have been holding out for him for quite a while, to little avail, based on the last Rowling comment on her web site, he may not come out well, which disappoints me quite a bit.

It's not that I found him especially attractive, but then again, surely such an unattractive character would have some OTHER appealing quality? (That's what they told me in SCHOOL?!! I BELIEVED THEM!! Oh, NO!! Does this make ALL Ugly people truely EVIL as well?? HEEEELP!! )I'm not holding out much hope for him at JKR's hands. (Perhaps he'll do good in some Gollum-like fashion only at the end?!!) This fic is therefore SO very satisfying.

You also explore that situation, not-uncommon in the real-world, in which SOME of us find ourselves inexPLICably drawn to taciturn, wounded-in-childhood, vicious men who aren't-good-for-us. CLASSIC Beauty-and-the-BEAST material here. CLASSIC great story! SNAPE in your hands, becomes SO deadly attractive! How do you do it?? It is REALLY well done. While I DO TRY remind myself to "pick the BRIGHT and FRIENDLY puppy," your story captures faithfully the THRILL of danger in a kiss ... SO nicely. Left me breathless more than once. It's nice to remember that we don't have to try this ourselves to feel the thrill now and then, and that's what fiction is, after all, all about.

I wanted Snape to say just ONE more line after he's SO nasty to Achelois in the chapter where they attend the staff-party...something like--"oh, and I meant what I said about your hair." To deepen the torment.

But there's certainly nothing resembling a lack of torment with this story. Torture itself--in the best possible sense: "Will they get together?" "Will Snape NOT blow it completely?" "WILL he EEEVER kiss her???" "Will they EVER get any further than this??" "WHAT'S wrong with her magical powers??" "WILL Snape MANAGE to keep her?" "How COULD Moody?" "Who DID ransack Achelois's room?" "What WILL I do if you don't update?" "How CAN Snape BEAR to break her heart?" "Why DOESN'T he at least kiss her ONE last time beFORE he breaks her heart?" "WILL he manage to let her leave Hogwarts?" "WON'T Remus and Sirius manage after all to get them back together?" "DAMN, I guess NOT then...." "IS she dead or does she live?" "WILL SNape conVEY his unDYING passion beFORE she shakes this earthly coil" "We may never know...."

Okay...I admit, that this woman was CLEARLY MARKED in ADVANCE by the MISERABLE (FORESHADOWINGGGGG) remark about it being easier to go on than to be left behind. That was a wonderful chapter. ( I write accidently kicking over my drink....Red Eye...toMAto juice on a beige carpet?? )
Ohkay...
I MYSELF would just about now, hardly mind if you'd keep on going, however, with a completely alternate universe from here. WOULD not MIND at ALL reading about Achelois and Snape taking a chance on their progeny inheriting her brain and her good looks in the slightest.... (PLEASE!! PLEEEEEASE!! Have mercy, PLEEEASE!!!)

Lastly, your title for this fic is the absolute BEST and says so much so well. I really look forward to reading that chapter which is ALMOST DONE?? but have decided to not hold my breath for any length of time.

This has been just absolutely wonderful. I've loved reading it. All the best in the future, and good luck with your newest fic!

P.S.: Your characters are COMPLETELY believable. Completely! I LOVED the scene where Harry, Ron, and Hermione take Lois to visit Hagrid. They were COMPLETELY believeable, completely in character, and completely hilarious. I almost DIED reading about the stoat sandwiches. They were so appetizingly Hagrid. That was one of your great show-off scenes, they interact SO perfectly.

Your CHAPTER HEADINGS are ALSO just great!! I ALMOST CRIED WHEN I saw "The End of the Affair" coming up.... (How could you!)

P.P.S.: This is all probably so that when we come back to the Hogwarts school in Book 6 by the original author, that all of this will just fit into our consiousness such that we will have a tiny bit more sympathy for Snape, but be able to read the book and keep going after all.

But once AGAIN...don't hesitate. Feel FREE to go off on your own...oblivious to the upcoming BOOK 6...heck, write your OWN...in the knowledge that we, your fans, will still respect you in the morning....EVER EVERY so much!!

Reviewer: FamiliaDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107376Chapter: 28
pleease continue i LOOOVE it pleeeease update soon ill die

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106353Chapter: 1
no real offense, because i love this fic, and i think you have considerable talent, but you need to finish this. you cant just update every six months and expect people to stay hooked on the story. so for the sake of the story, and for everyone's sanity, update this god-forsaken story.

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104854Chapter: 28
I stayed up all night and at least four reboots to read this. Please continue to write more. Thanks

Reviewer: ~*GoldfishDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104656Chapter: 28
c'mon!!!!! WHEN IS THE NEXT UPDATE?!?!?!?! pleeeaaase! i HAVE to know what happens!! Lois and *sniffs* Snape!! I MUST KNOW!!! AAAHHH!!!

~*Goldfish

I MUST KNOW!!

Reviewer: sarah-janeDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104101Chapter: 28
i can't believe this isn't finished! i stumbled across this fic the other day and i'm completely hooked! is there going to be an ending?

Reviewer: piratebloomersDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102327Chapter: 28
oh my gosh, you can't leave it like this! what happens next?!?!? this is one of the best snape stories i've ever read! keep up the good work.

Reviewer: CarolineDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102169Chapter: 28
Hi, Please Please Please update this soon, it is brilliant. I think now this is probably one of my favourite stories so please update!

Reviewer: bookworm848Date: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100785Chapter: 28
wonderfull. Thank You.

Reviewer: dot schwemmerDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100257Chapter: 28
I love the story so far, you're not ending here are you? I hope the next chapter comes soon, because I can't stand the suspence much longer. Keep up the good work

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99657Chapter: 28
AAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!!! new updtate PLEEEEEEEEAAAAAAASE!!!!!! i wanna know what happens!!! this chapter has been the "last chapter" for MONTHS!!! PLEASE oh PLEASE update SOON!!!

Goldfish

Reviewer: Snuffle's GirlDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99200Chapter: 28
Please Please Please don't tell me that she is dead!!!!! I just could not handle that!!! ahh poor poor snape..he is such an idiot! you HAVE to update soon. I love your story!

Reviewer: ~*GoldfishDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98739Chapter: 28
oh no!!! LOIS!!! crap!! there had beter be another chapter!!!! PLEASE!! dont make her dead, please dont let her be dead!
I belive that is an almost exact quote for OotP when Hermione is unconcious at the end...
boi, im too big an HP nerd!

~*Goldfish

Reviewer: aurendelDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98198Chapter: 28
"For the rest of my life?"

"No--for the rest of mine."

I know that's from a movie, but I can't remember which. That you borrowed doesn't make it any less effectively gut-wrenching.

Chary, your story has been my second favorite fic in all Potterverse, and the only reason it's the second is because *it's not finished*. I'm begging you, please pull the rabbit out of the hat--expeditiously--so it can become my favorite. Don't leave me in short suspenders another six months.

Reviewer: Avada KedavraDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97770Chapter: 26
when did Remus become such a pervert?! seriously!!

Avada Kedavra

Reviewer: LadyCrowDate: 2004-08-14
Reviewid: 97319Chapter: 28
Chary, I don't often shed tears when reading any stories, but I had to tell you that this incredible gem of yours brought them on. I hope that the next chapter will be up soon...

Pax,
LC

Reviewer: Avada KedavraDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96929Chapter: 28
you should make an epolouge, bout Snape's reaction and Harry, and Ron and everybody! i feel so sorry 4 Snape though, he loved Lois! Poor poor Snape!! :'( wwwaaa!!! i like the idea of Snape happy!!

Avada Kedavra

Reviewer: SisuitlDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96692Chapter: 1
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! all I can say is wow. I have been following this story forever, and it has me totally captivated. Please please please with sugar and cherries on top don't leave this for another year! Your ocs are so three dimensional and believable, you actually got me to cry at the end of "Parting Gifts" Plus, I had to post a comment on someone's story for the very first time ever. :-) see how special you are!

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96677Chapter: 18
I've enjoyed this fiction thoroughly, and I apologize for not saying anything sooner. However, this line made me break my silence:

‘Harry’s been really worried about you lately – you know with your… abnormally high Snape tolerance levels,’ he continued delicately.

This made me laugh out loud. It is a great line!

Thank you, and I hope to enjoy the rest of the story as much as I've enjoyed it so far.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: Avada KedavraDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96524Chapter: 28
aaww, thats so sad, will there be another chapter?? im about to cry!!!

Avada Kedavra

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96499Chapter: 28
Argh!!!! No, no, no, I can't stand it! "Parting Gifts"!!!!!! She really is dead, isn't she . . . .?

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96418Chapter: 28
Chary, you have got to be kidding me.

I seriously hope you 'do better with the next one.' No WAY you can leave a cliffie like this for months and years at a time. The lynch mob will come after you!

I'm sorry, but I'm in too much shock to write a cogent review. There are precious few really great OC's out there; they must be protected and nurtured--you can't go killing them off!

And Hugo/Niall. He did squick me a bit from the beginning, of course, but I definitely never expected him to be her *uncle*. Wild.

Okay, now, if it's almost done, you can update SOON. Right? Put us out of our misery? Right?!

Canopus

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96321Chapter: 28
What? You've killed her! Chary, Chary. I was really loving you, too.
The writing was excellent, as usual. Wonderful characterization. I like how Snape is still in character, even in a Snape/OFC fic.

Reviewer: WalrusDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96289Chapter: 28
aaaah! That has to be the most heart clenching, cruciatus worthy, beast of a cliffhanger that ever appeared in fanfiction. Is she dead?!!! damn. update soon.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96280Chapter: 28
Oh, I'm so glad you're continuing your story! I 'lost" your story for a while and now I've found it again and Lois is ?????? Oh, I hope she's not gone! But your story has been great: the great descriptions of the characters emotions, the story line. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96270Chapter: 28
Guh. I'm in shock. If Lois dies and we get more heart-rending!Snape, I will never forgive you. I'm about to cry. This is so Not Allowed.

Give us more quickly, please, if you value our sanity.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96262Chapter: 28
Wonderful story! I can't wait for the next update!

Reviewer: RudeyDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96237Chapter: 28
I've been with this story from the beginning. I love Lois, her doubts and faults, her fierce heart. I've really enjoyed waiting for each chapter. It's especially been a delight to watch you progress as a writer and to watch the plots twist and turn. Looking forward to reading more of your work!

Reviewer: Kiki CabouDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96231Chapter: 28
This was a real roller-coaster ride of a chapter. There's so much in here, and it's all so good that it's hard to know where to begin. Lois's type of "revelation scene" is an almost expected part of a story that takes its cue so much from the HP series, but the impact of Niall's story, combined with Lois's essential Muggle-ness, was really powerful. (I liked the bit about her staring stuidly at him when he had his wand pointed at her, because she just cannot instinctively react like a witch.) There was a first-rate fight sequence (Harry and Snape both rocked), and all of that juxtaposed against an incredibly effective and romantic love/death scene ... Wow. I'm shaking. Great job. :D

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96179Chapter: 28
You know, I really, really appreciate the update, but if you make us wait six months to find out what happens I don't think I'll be able to forgive you.

Wow.

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94407Chapter: 27
Talk about a cliff hanger! I love your story! Update really soon.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94152Chapter: 1
alright, first off this story is wonderful. It's one of the best snape stories i've read, but you're killing me right now X_x I need the next chapter, soon. Please update soon.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94091Chapter: 27
Gaah! No! You can't leave it on such a cliffhanger! Please, PLEASE post again SOON! I'm DYING to find out what happens next!

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93988Chapter: 4
Your Snape is hilbloodyarious! He is just the funniest here. I was planning on reading the whole lot before reviewing but I HAD to say something now! Your story ROX!!! lol!

Reviewer: LeighDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93416Chapter: 1
This is a great story! Snape is both likeable (mostly :) ) and believable. I hope you'll update soon!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92629Chapter: 27
Oh, girl, you've got to finish this story! I love it!

Reviewer: audaniaDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91607Chapter: 27
glad to have you back! can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Solarius ScorchDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86322Chapter: 1
Excellent story! Now, at least I found a good, believable Snape. Not a monster nor a stupid git nor a troubled child, like he often appears to be in fanfics. And Achelois is a really nice person too, although - luckily - not too perfect (I hate that when they are, really).
I grow fond of those love stories more and more... Now who said boys are not interested in such things, huh? (Ron's case excluded) Well, maybe it's that Slavish soul of mine... ;)
Please, don't let mwe wait any longer! You can even send me a beta version, if You like, Chary! Ot at least say hello ;)

Reviewer: Mary HegartyDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81252Chapter: 27
Brilliant story but we need the next chapters - please hurry.....

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 76011Chapter: 27
I found your story a few days ago and have been enjoying it immensely! Please write more!!!

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75791Chapter: 27
I have loved this ff! You have quite a knack for writing and you have explored a whole new side of a particularly despicable character! Please let me know when you plan your next update. I'm addicted!

Reviewer: CarolynDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75688Chapter: 25
Great story - I love it but there is one teensy niggle....

The Irish name you gave Lois' mother is spelt Niamh (pronounced Neeve), not Niahm as you have it. Hope you don't mind me pointing it out

Reviewer: Badalien9Date: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72223Chapter: 27
*gasp* i love it and need to know what happens! I can't help but love Snape, you did such a good job with it so far and I hope that you cintinue soon. *very very soon*!! Good job!! Definately a favourite!

Reviewer: KatherineDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72007Chapter: 27
Hey!

I've really enjoyed reading your story, it's become addictive! But i couldn't beleive it when i saw that the last chapter wasn't the end! oh no! what shall i do? You're a wonderful writer - creative, whimsical, methodical and you've nailed Severus' character down darn well, and he's the hardest character to do! I absolutely love your story, and Archelois as well... Please don't leave it as is... you'd break my heart!

Compliments,

Katherine Stephens-Doll (ongaku_spirit@yahoo.com)

Reviewer: FionaDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71334Chapter: 26
Wow, what a long detailed chapter.. I'd begun to wonder if you'd died or something, God forbid. This chapter was very much worth the wait, though.. though I also wanted to smack Snape more than a few times. How dare he be rude to Remus.. grr! I still very much enjoy your Lois, though. She's a wonderful character and I'm off to read the next chapter! Keep up the good work, and here's hoping that it won't take as long to put up the next one :)

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70857Chapter: 27
Great new two chapters! More soon...oh yeah, and get to the Lois-Snape smoochies, soon, OK? <g>

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70852Chapter: 25
Aaaaaaah! Aaaaah! You've updated! *runs around screaming madly, then settles to read*

Reviewer: LizzieluDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70844Chapter: 27
Whoa, that took me a while to make my way through! I just read this entire story in almost one go!

I will admit that at first, I didn't think that I would like this story, but I read it because the plot sounded interesting. I was not a Snape fan before this. But I got sucked in, completely sucked in! You had me rooting for Snape, and praying that nothing would go wrong between him and Lois!

You have a fun writing style, descriptive and flowing and you do a great job at charactarizing Snape, who is very hard to keep consistant to canon. Lois is a wonderful character, and you keep adding new and interesting developments to her!

On Lois and Snape's relationship, I was a little squicked a the thought of Snape in love at first, but in these last few chapters, I have been cheering him on, hoping he will propose! Although I was immensely sad at the breakup, you handled it very well and the fight that ensued kept me on the edge of my seat.

I'm already dying for your next update! Please update soon!
Lizzielu

Reviewer: carlotta snapeDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70780Chapter: 27
umm...the story is really well written...but your dragging the main characters through the mud pretty much without stop. Does this have a happy ending??

Reviewer: Patricia CVDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70771Chapter: 27
I surely do hope the rest is forthcoming soon! I am so totally enthralled by this tale! Very well done all the way through. You have kept your characters perfectly defined (although I don't quite disagree with your interpretation of Sirius, it works perfectly for this story). The tension mounts with every chapter. Another aspect I like is that your renderings are not as obviously formulaic as the original author's have become... Perhaps it is the change of perspective...

Encore! Mas!

Reviewer: Patricia CVDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70706Chapter: 1
Excellent start. I like the flow of the scenes and your descriptions are very good at calling up images in my mind. Characterizations are on target as well!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70687Chapter: 27
Please keep writing this story. It is an excellent Snape/OC fanfic.

Reviewer: FeadinDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70672Chapter: 26
Hey, I never knew you were continuing the stroy! It is my favourite on Sugar Quill, and i really hoped you would make a sequel, but this is even better!

Reviewer: okpossumsDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69608Chapter: 26
I *NEVER*EVER* read "Mary Sue" stories...this one is so NOT. It is brilliant and extremely well-constructed. All I can say...is more!! "clap, clap, clap!!!! P.S. I am old and cannot wait a year!! Hows that for a pathetic plea?!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-02-03
Reviewid: 69335Chapter: 25
Thank GOD!!!!!!! You finally updated! I was about to give up hope. Now I won't have to rely entirely on my fantasies about this story. But maybe we shouldn't go there . . . . . ;-)

Looking forward to more, more, more, so please don't wait another twelve months for the next chapter.

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68994Chapter: 26
Ooh, extremely good. Snapefics always have to be very carefully done - he certianly isn't a fluffy, easy-to-write character, but you did great on this one. Post as much as possible! I love this story!

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68855Chapter: 11
"but inside he gave a silent cheer – it seemed the touching was back on!"

I've just started this story, but I've got to say that the vision of Snape thinking this just cracked me up. Chary, not only are you a great beta, but a wonderful writer! Your OC of Lois is fantastic!

Reviewer: willow_babeDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68840Chapter: 26
Well I may have been a long time in between updates, but it gave me the oppourtunity to read it again... Damn Snape for being noble... Oh, that would be a great insult if Lois ever finds out why he broke up with her... "How gryffindor of you Severus" tee hee

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --