The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Bits and Pieces
Review(s): 61

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133648Chapter: 4
Very Good

Reviewer: SiobhanDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123022Chapter: 4
I think I'm going to cry.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119852Chapter: 4
Rather than commenting on each chapter, I read straight through these first four.
You have such a talent for this story!!! I love the warm interplay between Arthur and Molly, the realaistic touches, the happy and sad parts.

Please continue this! It is delightful!

Reviewer: mistyDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83655Chapter: 4
This is great! I haven't read many good Molly and Arthur fics before.PLEEEAAASSSEEE add more "bits".

Reviewer: fluffy sparklesDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 76968Chapter: 4
oh that's so sad!! it's still a nice fic, though. it's coming along nicely.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75731Chapter: 4
Aww! That was really moving.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75228Chapter: 4
Awww... that's it. You've just portrayed the sweetest couple EVER. And Arthur is just the husband from heaven, isn't he? But seriously, these little "bits" are some of the most heartwarming fanfic I've ever read. It's wonderful to read Molly and Arthur this young, and this in love. I'm not quite sure I buy into the whole "lost Weasley boy" theory, but this chapter was still a wonderful read, tragic and bittersweet. One little nitpicky suggestion: On the first chapter, when Aiden Dixon begins the storytelling, you describe him as "Aiden Dixon, Molly's father." I think you'd be much better off just saying "Molly's father", it flows more naturally in the paragraph.
Anyways, cheers!
I'd love to see a birth scene in this *please Ginny and Ron, please Ginny and Ron*

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69343Chapter: 1
>A big grin had crossed his face. “Oh, Molly, that’s brilliant!”

This is so fabulously sweet, and then followed by the so-real practicality. I love his concern about how Molly learned to cook on a <gas> hearth!

Arthur having an antique broom is such a magnificent bit of detail.

>He rather wanted her to kiss him again, but he figured there would be time enough later…

Again, lovely detail.

The bit about Arthur being a rascal was just so lovely, because for all his honest politesse, he *is* one - he takes such joy in his childen and their pranks and in life - he is a rascal, in the best sense of the word.

It was wonderful, seeing Molly and Arthur just starting out. You've filled in a much needed space in the HP world.

Reviewer: arochwen romenDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68227Chapter: 1
I've often wondered if there could have been another boy that died. . . It would make Ron the seventh son, and their's all sorts of magical connotations that go along with seventh sons in folk lore.

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67405Chapter: 4
Oh, this is beautiful. I love every single last word of it. It made me cry. When are you going to write more?

Reviewer: slateoneDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66455Chapter: 4
Dear Shellebelle:

Here you have written about two of my favorite characters Molly and Arthur Weasley just four chapters and that is it??? How long of a hiatus were you planning on for this story? You have not written a chapter since 11/26/2003 in two weeks that will be two months!!! Come on now these are my two favorite characters lets get cracking and write more chapter PLEASE!!!!!

Reviewer: katieDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66284Chapter: 4
oh i like this idea. there's barely any stories about molly and arthur before the books. its a good explaination about why there is a few years between charlie and percy. i've always wondered about this. update soon. great story.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66011Chapter: 1
Wow! Molly and Arthur are indeed great. I love how you've created their parents as well and fit them into the story, it's brilliant and lovely. ^_^ The burrow! It's so sweet and spiffy. Yay!

“I didn’t love that broom, Molly. I love you."
Brilliant. ^_^

Reviewer: slate_oneDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64886Chapter: 4
What is this you write four chapters just to get everyone hooked and now you leave us high and dry??? What am I suppose to read over the Christmas and New Year's holiday??

I want more Molly and Arthur and I want it NOW!!!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60896Chapter: 4
Very thoughtful installment; I've read some stories that explains the "gap" between Charlie and Percy and a possible "missing Weasley son" in more dramatic terms, such as a Death Eater attack, but your take on it I think is much more realistic; sometimes, bad things seem to happen for no reason at all, with no one to blame. In general, I think your exploration of the Molly/Arthur relationship is very true to the characters, and I like how you've depicted little Bill and Charlie so far. Hopefully we can see little Percy too some day (and the rest of the family!)

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60852Chapter: 4
I really liked the story and hope you keep writing more. It's really great to read about Molly and Arthur before the books. One minor thing though, I found Arthur to be a bit out of charecter in the first two chapters. He reproached Molly over very minor things a few times, which I don't think matches his charecter in the book and kind of made me annoyed with him. But otherwise, great story, keep it up!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60840Chapter: 4
Bill and Charlie were so cute in the beginning of this chapter.

I adore the dynamics between the Weasley family that you display. You captured the warmth, the worry, the tensions and love that I found in the book and present them here; you make it your own, but it still FEELS like the Weasleys.

And your Molly just is brilliant. I adore your writing and the story. It flows well and always is just wonderful. Thanks so much for this. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60838Chapter: 4
aw...such a sad part..

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60821Chapter: 4
Oh, it's so sad. But I love it. I like how they want to keep trying until they get a girl. :) It is clear that you love Molly and Arthur - these stories have heart!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60820Chapter: 4
Well done! That is a tough piece to write, but you did it well! The emotions are so hard to deal with around miscarriage. You have made a very realistic setting. There is a sort of time warp that occurs. And many people do not know how to deal with those who experience miscarriage. It is definitely not easy to get past. You used a lot of compassion here. Great work!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55715Chapter: 3
awesome story i love it so nice if you write more it would be lovely but it is also good where it is at i just love how you protrait arthur and molly i cant say enough good things about it =)

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55504Chapter: 3
*That was cool! I've not read many Molly/Arthur fics B4, I like this one though, and it's so cool 2 C Bill young!*

Reviewer: H;tariDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55458Chapter: 3
very nice :) keep writing!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55456Chapter: 1
Yeah *sniff* they are :)

Reviewer: MandyDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40484Chapter: 3
*sniffles* Okay, teary-eyed, now...you really do such a wonderful job with Molly and Arthur. Wonderful work, and I hope to see more!

Reviewer: MandyDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40482Chapter: 2
*finishes Bit Two* Awww, another cute bit! *giggles* Oh, I just love them, and you write them so very well!

Reviewer: MandyDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40478Chapter: 1
Oh, how darling. I'm always looking for new Molly/Arthur fics, and I've never read this one! Off to the next part...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35992Chapter: 3
A charming story. I'm looking forward to the next Bit.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34760Chapter: 3
Aw, Bill talking to Molly's tummy! So cute!

Like young Bill digging for treasure in the sandbox, cute idea and I really like Elisabeth Dixon. She sounds like a cool grandmother!

[The only sound in the house was the ticking of her Chore Clock, which happily rested at ‘Mending and Thinking.’] I like that invention, very cozy.

I always feel like I've had a cup of tea and a piece of cake after reading these stories. Even though the title is about the bad times, you just can't help but feel safe and loved around the Weasleys. I like how you've explored Molly's gentler side...before the twins started driving her nuts.

Reviewer: LaylaDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32760Chapter: 1
what a delightful series! wonderful

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32374Chapter: 3
This is beautiful! I love seeing someone focus on Molly and Arthur. They're such wonderful characters, and you do a fantastic job of portraying them. I'm looking forward to reading more "bits" soon!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32342Chapter: 2
Oh, I love the image of pregnant Molly baking up a storm for Christmas! It's such a cozy image!

[Arthur laughed. “Well, the lord of the manor has found that if the lady of the manor is pleased, life is a happy prospect, indeed!”] Isn't that the truth! Very cute!

Arthur at the end, his hand on Molly's belly...so tendeer and sweet. what a lovely way to end this piece. You can really feel the love these two characters have for each other radiating off the page.

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32333Chapter: 3
That was really lovely! I'm so glad you updated! Little Bill was adorable and Charlie is on the way! They were dark times indeed, but love concur all, right? Promise you'll write more of this story. ;-)
Great, really Great

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32190Chapter: 3
Little Bill is so cute - I especially like his collection of finds.

Are you going to add any more Bits to the series? Bill being big brother to Charlie would be cute

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32187Chapter: 2
So sweet.
Arthur's such a dear, and Molly's such a giver.
A lovely "bit" story

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32186Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. It's very in character for Arthur and Molly.

Just right!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32148Chapter: 3
Baby Bill is so sweet! I love how he shows his treasure-hunter tendencies so early in life :) (and Charlie's athletic qualities, too, LOL). How sad that Voldemort's evil is reaching even into a child's life. I hope Harry blows him to bits in Book 7!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32147Chapter: 2
What a wonderful Weasley Christmas! I love celebrations with lots of food and family :) I'm sure Molly looked wonderful in her holiday getup and it was sweet of Arthur to help out.

Reviewer: Hannah's GolemDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32122Chapter: 3
Oh please do not stop writing this. Your Molly is so wonderful and Arthur is even better. I adore them and this story. Bill my boy is great too. So bright.

Dee

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32111Chapter: 3
Excellent chapter! Please continue this as soon as possible. I look forward to reading the next chapter. Bill is very funny in this story by the way. :)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31366Chapter: 1
Your characters are wonderful, and this is a great slice of life piece! Skillfully done!

Catherine

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31086Chapter: 2
aw, precious!!! keep up the great work!

Reviewer: LughsmoonDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 29981Chapter: 2
Oh Please give us more! I just love Arthur and Molly! Your doing a wonderful job here, the story just exudes the warmth and sweetness of the couple. Thanks you for writing this. PLEASE write more!

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24689Chapter: 2
This is great! I was so glad when they got their own home!! And Molly is pregnant to Bill!!!!
I hope toy are going to write more about Molly and Arthur's memories!!

P.S.Molly's family seems so nice!!!

Reviewer: lexiDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24609Chapter: 2
extremely heartwarming. beautiful charachterization, especially 4 molly. this bit goes deep into the intimacy of arthur and molly's love. beautifulous. i love ur idea of the origin of the name "burrow". also beautifulous. heartwarming. made me smile!
~*lexi*~

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20809Chapter: 2
Please write more bits since what you have already is so wonderful. You've captured them perfectly and I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: TayloireDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16262Chapter: 2
This is such a sweet story. Update soon!Tayloire

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16238Chapter: 2
Very sweet and very enjoyable.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16202Chapter: 1
Oh, wow, I LOVE this! It's so adorable! M/A is a ship that hardly ever gets touched in fanfic, so I'm delighted to see them get a story of their own. It's very believable, too. I love Arthur selling his broom to buy the Burrow, and the reason behind the name for the house. Lots of wonderful little touches -- great job! I'm off to read the next chapter!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16165Chapter: 2
This is awesome! I hope you keep adding to it.

Reviewer: lotrfanDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16137Chapter: 2
I love this so far! Molly and Arthur seem very...Molly and Arthur:), and these little memories are adorable. I can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: LosseniaielDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12364Chapter: 1
absolutely brilliant.

there is so little Arthur/Molly out there, and it is so sweet. the idea of arthur giving up the broom for molly sums up their marriage - that love matters more than possessions.

this reminds me why i read HP. keep going. this much neglected pair need more ficss

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12232Chapter: 1
OhhHHHhhh, that was so sweet! Do keep these little memories coming, that was great.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12224Chapter: 1
This story is excellent! I really love Molly/Arthur stories, and this one is perfect. I love the interaction between Molly and Arthur, and I love how they got the name for their home.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12201Chapter: 1
That just made me fuzzy all over. I don't usually read Molly/Arthur stories, as I'm more interested in the present stories... but this just caught my eye.

And it's sweet. Arthur is... *sigh*... that explains his sons...

Really, this is quite lovely!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12178Chapter: 1
oh, beautiful. This is so adorable...I love it! There are not enough Molly/Arthur stories in the world. And I particularily love how you got the timeline right. It bugs me to death when people put Molly and Arthur in the same year as the Marauders. But you didn't, and it's adorable, and I loved every minute of it. Can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12175Chapter: 1
I look forward to many more installments! Not much else to say, really.

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12155Chapter: 1
Aww, this is such a darling story! I do like the way you are approaching this; it's great so far! I love your Arthur and Molly. Very in character.
-Tiki

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12152Chapter: 1
Oh, this was so sweet! Nice background on Molly. Liked her maiden name of Dixon, very clever! And I liked how the name "Burrow" evolved, it givesthe story a sense of charm and history.

"She snorted through her tears. “I somehow doubt our ‘brilliance’ had much to do with it, Arthur Weasley.”" Love that line, so Molly! Cutting through the B.S. as usual! Good preparation for Fred and George!

"There are other brooms in the world, but there is only one Molly, he said to himself. And she matters more than anything else in the world."--Oh, beyond lovely! You've captured Arthur's true character!

And the we'll keep trying until we get a son! :D! Looking forward to more snapshots. Would like to see something even earlier too, maybe the proposal and wedding? They're so much fun to write about!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2002-12-11
Reviewid: 12149Chapter: 1
Aww! That's just how it should be... I love Molly and Arthur! Great job!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2002-12-10
Reviewid: 12141Chapter: 1
Can you continue this story please? It was amazing! Thanks.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --