The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Who We Are
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-04
Reviewid: 141625Chapter: 3
That was really very very good. I think I’m going to like this Tom.

Reviewer: Karri AdkinsDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87817Chapter: 2
I'm usually really good with following stories, but I'm having a lot of trouble following this story. I can't really figure out what's happening. I feel stupid , but I really don't understand it. It could be that I'm also reading the rule book for aco Bell at the same time, but.....I still can't figure it out.

Reviewer: Jill "Name the Boa" WeberDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59928Chapter: 1
Amusing interaction between the Dursleys and Harry.

"Don't roll your eyes at me!" "I wasn't. I was looking at my hair."

Then the lights go out and Harry immediately gets the blame. (Reminds me of one party I was at. There was a loud explosion and the lights went out. Immediately, we all blamed the practical joker in our midst… Turned out that lightning had hit a transformer.) ((Lightning would make a good name for a pet, don't you think?))

I got a snicker out of Harry wondering if he could walk to King's Cross instead of relying on the Dursleys. (Poor Harry.)

Hm, looks like electrical problems all over. Nice bit with Arthur's colleague showing up (or not showing up, as the case may be.) It would be very worrying to have magic interfere with Muggle electricity. That's the sort of thing that's bound to attract attention.

"Isn' she a beauty?" Hagrid must be related to Steve Irwin (the Crocodile Hunter) on his father's side. Ol' Steve has the same general reaction to "interestin' critters" that Hagrid has. (There aren't that many people who will hold up a venomous reptile, dodge its attempts to bite and say: "Isn't she a beauty?")

I don't know that levitating is a common skill, even at Hogwarts. Loved the idea of a broomstick patrol, just in case Kiffy decides to throw people off the walls.

"Duck tape" *snicker* And now Ron's wand quacks! *more snickering.*

** By the way, Johanna is wrong. Duck Tape and Spello-tape are not the same thing. Cellophane tape has clear backing, DUCT tape has metallic (and waterproof) backing. Sello-tape is a British brand of cellophane tape, and Spello-tape is a play on the name. DUCK Tape is a brand name of DUCT tape.

In the US, cellophane tape is frequently called Scotch tape (another brand name.)

We now return to your regularly scheduled review. **

Oh, lovely, sticking a cursed, metal object into an electrical socket. Not a good thing to happen. It's a good thing that wands are made out of wood, or Arthur may have had a close encounter with electricity. Sounds like the missing boyfriend was a wizard if he was handing out cursed rings.

I like Jessica and her pet snake. (Rex is a cool name for a king snake.) I liked Harry's assessment of wizarding habits… bring Muggles to Hogwarts, dump information on them, and hope some of it sticks. This is where the value of Muggle-borns comes in… except Hermione doesn't seem to be helping much.

"The ring glittered without comment from the end of the wand." A great, low-keyed cliff-hanger.

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55957Chapter: 3
I love this! Tom Riddle is really the good guy which is cool. Plus voldemort coming back like Frankinstein is cute. Plus the duck tape:

"I think so." Ron drew his wand out and held it up for inspection. "The Spellotape wasn't working, but I didn't want to have to go back to Ollivander's -- so I lined the broken parts up really carefully and wrapped it in duck tape." There was indeed a band a few inches wide around the middle, where the break had been, that had a luster and color pattern reminiscent of duck feathers.

Reviewer: PaliaDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 55011Chapter: 3
OH...truly wonderful! It's so hard to find a decent Tom story, and this definitely is! I love the plot...it's an intriguing premise, and your writing drew me right in. I love it as much as Kate Lynn's take on Tom so far in her stories on ff.net and schnoogle. Really wonderful characterizations - its an intriguing concept, and delves into the themes of human nature, goodness and evilness, and how we relate to each other and shape our world. Everyone's reactions were just great. Yay, another good Tom series!

Palia

Reviewer: Johanna (a different one)Date: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28200Chapter: 3
Wow, that was really cool! I'm usually a bit wary of AU fics, but I thought this one was very interesting and well-written. Nice job :)

Reviewer: JohannaDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28106Chapter: 1
Loved it! along with the sequel which is coming along nicely, its an interesting piece. Just a note, because you may find it interesting: Spello-tape IS ducktape! It isnt a special kind of magical tape. You see, as I read it the Brits call it sellotape (brand name), and kids in the States (like me) call it duck-tape. So JK Rowling calls it spello-tape so as not to confuse anyone! (But I daresay she may have made it worse!)

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23316Chapter: 3
Very intriguing (:

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23314Chapter: 2
Rex kills me (: Fashioned himself into a hat...tried to taste Snape's hair...and they sucked Voldemort dry...gets better all the time (:

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20311Chapter: 2
I am very intrigue. The first chapter was fine. This second one does not connect with the first. I mean there was no link between the first and second chapters at the beginning of this chapter. Then you suddenly introduce Tom Riddle? I am a bit lost here. I look forward to more.

Reviewer: hDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20269Chapter: 2
good but very very confusing

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20214Chapter: 2
"After all, there might be another lightning-scarred, dark-haired Parselmouth wandering around. Two years at Hogwarts had taught him that just about anything was possible."

"It turns out Brazil is on the other side of an *ocean*." -- [snickerfits] You can just HEAR the indignation there. :)

Another wonderful installment from two amazingly talented writers. (And I don't just say that because they write with me too. ;)) I love this series. :D

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17103Chapter: 1
Wow...just wonderful so far. I love Riddle. You write so perfectly both characters and plot. I look forward to more.

Reviewer: PersephoneDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12601Chapter: 1
First, I apologize for the confusion -- this is indeed an AU starting after Chamber of Secrets; I meant to put it in the summary and failed to do so. Second, the story is finished; we're currently on the third sequel. Thank you for being interested!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12534Chapter: 1
Hi, Persephone & Alan! And welcome to Sugarquill! It's wonderful to see you here!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12520Chapter: 1
This is intriguing. Different. Please complete the entire fanfic.

Reviewer: BooklovrDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12501Chapter: 1
Well this is, erm, interesting. Duck tape, LOL. But is this an AU of the third year or what? Ah, well, very interesting and well written. I can't wait to see where this is going.

~Booklovr

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --