The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Bounce
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: citysnidgetDate: 2005-12-03
Reviewid: 136686Chapter: 1
this is rly good. i love neville so much...

Reviewer: vivalehDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135578Chapter: 1
well i could just....cry.
my heart is so very full right now :)
i love your descriptions and i love your way of writing neville.
amazing job.
-vivaleh

Reviewer: The Angelic VampireDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122387Chapter: 1
I loved this story, it enchanted me and kept me glued to the screen for the entire time.
I love how you've portrayed this section of Neville's life and family members.

*bows*

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114464Chapter: 1
I came across this tory by accident, randomly selecting from the profesors bookshelf, and I'm so glad I did. When Lydia tells Neville his mother "grew some wonderful things" and looks at him, I teared up! This is such a lovely story. i hope to see more of your Neville in the future.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110528Chapter: 1
simply outstanding - you are good

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79094Chapter: 1
So nice. The way Neville misunderstands his gran is really good thinking. And I very nearly cried too :)

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77419Chapter: 1
Aw! This fic made me realise all over again why I love fanfic - a tiny part of canon gets wonderfully fleshed out, and makes us fall in love with the canon all over again. I'm feeling inclined to re-read all five books and pay closer attention to Neville (one of my favourite characters anyway) just because of this story.

I loved it! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: TeenaDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77325Chapter: 1
I loved this fic. So cute! Thank you!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52064Chapter: 1
Lovely! I really like the perspective of Neville's grandmama, as well as your word choice here!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47442Chapter: 1
This is an exquisite story! You've written a perfect Neville. Brave, decent and huggable! Even as he's falling to his death it's his fear for his gran (with her arms outstretched 'as if trying to embrace the sky' (such a beautiful, heart-breaking image!) that wakes up the magic in him.

Your Lydia is also exquisite. She's real, warm and human beneath that forbidding exterior. You portray her love for Neville so powerfully.

"Lydia had always heard that right before someone died, time moved very slowly. True as that may be, watching the last seconds of Nevilleís life made time move with terrible speed. She couldnít for the life of her muster the presence of mind to pull out her wand and shout a spell that would break his fall. The thought didnít even occur to her. She only knew to stand beneath the tumbling body of her grandson, arms outstretched to protect him as well as she could, her heart falling as fast he did. She watched him as his face twisted and his body drooped limply in mid-air on its way down. He was not going to hit the ground. He was going to hit her. She was going to take him into her arms, to absorb everything, and he would be all right."

That last sentence had me crying my eyes out. (I started sniffling when Neville found Frank's bowtie, but Lydia's reaction to Neville's fall just opened the floodgates.)

Thank you also for making Uncle Algie's actions understandable, if not actually sympathetic. This story is a masterpiece from start to finish.

Reviewer: RenDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46576Chapter: 1
There are few Neville stories out there, and all the ones that I have read have been some of the best stories I have ever read. I am not exactly a proficient writer, or at least not as indicated by the fanfiction on this site, but I want you to know that this story made me cry. You have done such a brilliant job...this is beautiful. You have real talent; don't waste that. Use it to your benefit, and you WILL go far. This is...beautiful. Congratulations on a brilliantly done masterpiece of writing.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44957Chapter: 1
A great story. I like the way that you have Neville's grandmother being nice on the inside and gruff externally. And there's great play between she and Neville that lead's to Neville thinking les of himself. Gran comes off much nicer than in OotP.

Reviewer: Elanor GamgeeDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41518Chapter: 1
Oh! HOW have I never read this before? This was wonderful! I loved getting GRan's POV especially, and Neville is so very Neville.

And, it strikes me that this story that you do in this story what JKR does in OotP: make us reevaluate the little things that we took for granted and as humorous in the first 4 books and see the more serious side. Very well done.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32703Chapter: 1
Wow! I love this story! There is so much in canon about Neville's terror of his grandmother that this story is a welcome surprise. You show Gran's deep attachment to Neville as well as his appreciation for her. I love how you use the double POVs to enhance the relationship of these two characters. You've done a wonderful job of keeping to character while developing Neville's simple story into something a reader can care deeply about.

Reviewer: AveryDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16104Chapter: 1
Outstanding story. Thanks!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15489Chapter: 1
I wish I had the time for a more thorough review, but I wanted to let you know what a lovely, lovely story this is. Just like JKR, you look past the surface-level comedic aspects of the Longbottoms and show us a family who's been deeply affected by tragedy. I always imagined Uncle Algie as an Uncle Vernon sort before -- the type who would toss his nephew off a pier for a laugh. But to think that he was doing all this out of the fear that Neville, if not magically adept, might fall to the same fate as his parents...oh, it's too heartbreaking. And when Neville found Frank's old tie...it made me sniffly all over. Thank you for making me love Neville even more. I can't wait for him to have his "moment in the sun" in canon (it's gonna happen, I know it!).

Fabulous, fabulous job. So not only are you a great person, you're a great writer. :D

Katinka

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13747Chapter: 1
I love this story! I really adore fics that show Neville with the people who care about him, and this is one of the best I've read. Your Neville is so sweet and you made his Gran such a cool character. She is stern but very caring. Great Uncle Algie was very irritating. I just wanted to smack him for making little Neville so uncomfortable.

I really enjoy what you've done with the plot too. You took a short line from canon and really fleshed it out. I especially liked how it was his concern for his grandmother that inspired the magic in him to show itself. He wasn't thinking about his own life, but about hurting his gran. That's just so sweet.

Good job, and keep writing! I'll look forward to seeing more stories by you.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2002-12-21
Reviewid: 13520Chapter: 1
Little Neville! Tweed robes! OMG!

This is an awesome description of this event, and a wonderful exploration of Neville's home life.

Reviewer: arielDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13179Chapter: 1
Neville Longbottom? Hmmm...

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12996Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this - I expected it to be funny, but then I was pleased that it turned out to be more than just a laugh. Wonderful look at the relationship between Neville and his grandmother, you do a great job of conveying their love for each other through their actions.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12979Chapter: 1
*sniffle* I loved this! Congratulations for a wonderful portrayal of Neville's formidable grandmother -- the name alone had me sitting up straight! I love how she patiently explained things to Neville and tried to catch him when he fell. I also liked reading about Neville's childhood and beginnings in Herbology. Great, great job! Now pardon me while I go search for a hanky, or else the people at work will think I've gone crazy!

Reviewer: MireenDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12952Chapter: 1
Oh, I love it. I love everything about it, especially Neville's Gran. Lydia seems like the perfect name for her... a bit regal and stiff, but loving all the same. Her character is just how I imagine her to be in canon. And Neville... after reading this story, you can't help but want to hug him and tell him that everything's all right, it doesn't matter if he's "Allmuggle" or not... I can't think of anything else to say, except that this is one of my new favorite fics.

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12942Chapter: 1
This is a very sweet story. I love your characterisation of Neville's Gran, and Great-Uncle Algernon...what a *nasty* man, but not, in an odd way, completely unsympathetic. Understandable, at least--and this is quite an achievement. The way that you split the viewpoint between Neville and Lydia worked particularly well, showing their different persepectives on events--it became especially effective in the bouncing sequence, with the contrast between stunned exhileration on Neville's part and sheer terror on Lydia's. And the flowerpot giving Neville a positive link to his parents at last was a wonderful idea.

You use language well and convey emotion effectively, and your dialogue has a nice flow. Neville in particular was clearly characterised through his speech. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

Calanthe.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12933Chapter: 1
You made me cry. I had tears in my eyes when I read the part about Neville not wanting to land on his Gran.

<I>He was almost too happy to bear it, too happy to believe it. Gran had cried with happiness because he was alive. Take that, Great-uncle Algie.</I>

Perfect line.

Reviewer: HalcyonDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12798Chapter: 1
That was wonderful. I love background stories about secondary characters. You kept Neville in character and still showed us another side of him other than the forgetful, incompetent Neville we see in the books. This is the Neville who could stand up to the trio at the end of Book One and sneak out to try to warn them McGonagall was trying to find them. I also liked Neville's Gran, a real person and not just the impatient woman we see in the books. Keep writing! I'd love to see more from you about Neville.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12789Chapter: 1
Oh, Granny Longbottom! I love her! Thank-you for putting together this wonderful background story for Neville, not only with his Grandmother and Great Uncle Algie, but also the connection to his parents. How he laughes like Frank, how he gets his talent for gardening from his mother. This does seem like it would fit time-wise with Bronte or Austen, because of the style it was written. But I think the Wizarding World to be a bit Old-Fashioned in many ways, and Grandmother Longbottom seems like she fits into that time-line nicely.
Very well-done, and I hope to read more stories from you!

Reviewer: MeridethDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12787Chapter: 1
That was beautiful, dear.

:D

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12784Chapter: 1
This was wonderful - you did a magnificent job with the characterizations, and even Great-Uncle Algie, who we've never met, seemed in character! Well done!

The way you worked everyone missing Frank and Alice was very, very realistic. Sometimes when Lydia would stop thinking abous something suddenly becuase it reminded her of Frank and Alice made me want to sob. *sniff sniff*

There are NOT enough Neville fics out there - could you write another one soon? You've got his character down-packed. Maybe his PoV when Crouch Jr. did the Unforgiveables on the spiders...?

^-^ Good Job.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12764Chapter: 1
"Take that, Great-uncle Algie." Oh, what a sweet story! Bitter sweet at points, perhaps, but definitely sweet nonetheless. I really enjoyed that!

Reviewer: CarolineDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12716Chapter: 1
It's sosososososososo good! You really should be proud of this debut fic. Everyone seemed in character and very human (which is a hard thing to do!). I love the inspiration for the piece. It was beautifully conceived and well written. BRAVA!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12711Chapter: 1
LOL, I was *quoted*!

And I still love this story to pieces. I think it's original, beautifully told and just lovely. I love the subtlety in lines like "as she must have been when she last heard her son" - there's nothing that makes the reader feel like they're being hit over the head.

You should be pretty FREAXing proud of yourself. :) Arrrrooooooooooooooo!!

Reviewer: CirceDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12707Chapter: 1
Oh this is lovely! I adore the last line 'she wondered what he would grow'...that's striking and sweet. I love the 'cousin' at Blackpool and the fact that Neville has always loved toads. I think you captured his Grandmother very well! I like the reasoning behind her treatment of Neville. Speaking of Neville, you handle him wonderfully; he's sweet, and insecure, yet still with his moments of bravery. Take *that* Great-Uncle Algie.

Reviewer: ArtooCDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12705Chapter: 1
Huzzah! This really, really good--the characterization of Neville is spot on, and it's great to see a non-caricature of Neville's Gram. And once you start to think about it, this is a scene that really needed to be fanfic-ed, and you did it so well...write more! You don't need to study, finals schminals! Just write fanfic! Works for me...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --