The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: BrendaTDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145002Chapter: 1
I love this story, the marauders are very well written, one of my favorites...but there is a bit of a flaw, i do not believe you are able to pick you animagus transformation.

this is from "Edinburgh 'cub reporter' press conference, ITV, 16 July 2005"

http://www.quick-quote-quill.org

Robert Dawson for Asda - If you were an animagus, what would you like to be?

JK Rowling: This always amuses me this idea. You see, you do not know what you are going to be until you have done it, so you might spend half a decade trying to turn into an animal and then find out you were a slug or something, which would be most unpleasant.

sorry to bring that up, but i still loved the story

Reviewer: ClytymnystraDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142787Chapter: 1
Congratulations on your award for this Most Touching Fic!

It's well deserved. And well-written....

Reviewer: Miss SophiaDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135829Chapter: 1
This is such a sweet story that does a masterful job of capturing the soon-to-be-Marauders' personalities so vividly. I love the natural, playful dialogue and their easy, but intricate friendships.

I particularly like how it's Sirius's generosity, not selfishness, that prevails when he finally chooses his Animagus form. Sirius may have been impulsive and reckless, but this story reminds us that when it comes down to it, he'll put his friends above himself in a heartbeat.

Favorite lines:
"Go fly into a nice pair of Bludgers, why don't you."
"As for Peter, well, something small and innocuous. Maybe he would end up as the rabbit. He certainly had the right name for it."

Of course, canon has established that the Animagus transformation is less of a choice than the process you have outlined, but if it had been a choice, then Peter is really quite thick, choosing to be a rat when there are so many cooler animals, magic and non-magic, to select from!

"Its the color of no moon." -- *heartwrenching*

And the sexual tension at the end was so delicious in its subtlety--far more fulfilling than the naughty stuff, in my opinion.

Beautiful story. :)

Reviewer: RaineDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131275Chapter: 1
I love it! Thank you for writing. It was more of a friendship thing, but I loved it all the same.

[Made me cry too. O.O] xD

Reviewer: Black HawkDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122637Chapter: 1
That was an absolutely darling tail. I loved the contradictions of Remus and Sirius' friendship- very complex, like real life. And the thought processes by which Sirius arrived at his conclusion of his animagus form was very believable and convincing. I also loved the line about Peter having the right name to be a rabbit. Well done!

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122062Chapter: 1
This is a nice piece. It gives a teeny little hint of slash, but can still be taken as merely a platonic piece between Sirius and Remus.

Really, great job.

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108845Chapter: 1
I LOVED YOUR STORY!! IT WAS REALLY COOL, and the strong friendship between Remus and Sirius was really nice. You should write more!

Reviewer: mellafeDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96906Chapter: 1
That was such a sweet story. You always write the Marauders so well.

Reviewer: MonikaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95922Chapter: 1
i love you

Reviewer: AnnDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93185Chapter: 1
What a very nice story! I can see the guys acting that way, and Sirius is actually thinking about what someone else would want.

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89602Chapter: 1
This was so cool! I really think that sirius would have thought about those things i loved it!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88116Chapter: 1
*eating a chocolate-and-rare-book casserole* *grin* When James was talking about the kitchen raid and Sirius was all excited about _biscuits_, I figured he already subconsciously knew what animal he'd like to be. And which line was my favorite?... Oh, I've got about a dozen! I don't know what animal you seem to have an affinity for, but you seem to have "a particular affinity" for the English language.

Reviewer: M&M loverDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85190Chapter: 1
I Loved Your Story. It Was Very Good. On Second Thought, good Might Be The Understatement Of The Century...

Reviewer: MaleenaDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73524Chapter: 1
Awww... I absolutely LOVED it! I have a major soft spot for the Marauders - especially Sirius and Remus. Brilliant job, to say the least! Keep it up!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73122Chapter: 1
Sigh. I LOVED it. I absolutely adore the close friendship you've created between Sirius and Remus; we all know that Sirius and James were closest, but it's interesting to conjecture who Remus and Peter felt closer to. I like it your way. And Sirius' friendly competitiveness with James in this fic is great, too. AND I'm glad you remembered that Sirius is brilliant. Lots of fanfic authors sort of paint him as another Ron, goofy and careless, but I think your Sirius is closer to canon. Sigh. I miss Sirius.

Reviewer: SteppenwolfDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67596Chapter: 1
You're a genius. That's all.
Arooo!

Stepps Little Howl

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2003-12-21
Reviewid: 64228Chapter: 1
<a single name amid the blather seized his awareness in firm jaws, dragging him back into himself at once> Niiiiiice imagery.

<As for Peter, well, something small and innocuous. Maybe he would end up as the rabbit. He certainly had the right name for it.> *giggle*

<"It's the color of no moon."> *keens* sweet.

I love the progression in choice from wolf to dog. It makes so much SENSE. *applauds you*

Reviewer: Lady DeathAngelDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59833Chapter: 1
Oh that was awesome! It was a really good take on how Sirius chose his animagus type (the best I've found yet) and it was very sweet and funny and well thought out. Loved it!

Reviewer: Artemisia BristolDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56949Chapter: 1
Hummm! This story leaves you with such a nice, warm feeling inside (and I trying to say that in the least clichd way possible but it's true!) There aren't many stories that are so well written and cleverly characterized that they leave you smiling and wandering around looking for someone to hug (Thank goodness everyone's asleep at this hour).

Charming characterization of Sirius. A little self-absorbed but still caring deeply for those he has chosen. Witty, arrogant but still very human.

I especially enjoyed your characterization of Peter and even the inclusion of his character. How Sirius sees him, also rang true.
Adored Remus's throw away lines about being a werewolf (ie. "I wouldn't wish it on anyone, not even those I hated"). Very touching.

Very well done!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55322Chapter: 1
Just got to this after reading all your others on SQ. 'Out of the Woods' is my favourite, but this is lovely! Favourite sentence, I think: 'Who are you, and what have you done with my Sirius?' Like a fairy tale - is it 'Beauty and the Beast'? (which I love!). It must be nice to know, now, that Harry and Ginny continue the 'eating chocolate in the library' tradition! Are you working on anything now? - is there more of 'Fearsome', or has something else happened since OotP ... oh, it's too awful to think about. I wish you well.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48914Chapter: 1
ooooooooooohhh
i always DID wonder how he chose.....

Reviewer: IssabellaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45636Chapter: 1
Loved your bit of writing Canis! Do hope you continue writing! Truly loved Sirius in this story! Very nice!

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44461Chapter: 1
aww...cuteness! great feel-good story...i like :)

Reviewer: Kali-franDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43403Chapter: 1
BEAUTIFUL. I love this story to pieces. Please write more - this was a brilliant little fic, you've got all their attitudes and modes of speech down perfectly. Only criticism I have is your attitude toward Peter, but since that's the way everyone thinks of him (badly, that is), I can't entirely fault you... just that I'm a Wormtail fan, but that's my problem. ;)

Anyway, great work.

-K.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39107Chapter: 1
I LIKE. sirius is my favorite character in the history of time..and lupin is a damn close second. :-)

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33580Chapter: 1
How many times I stumbled by this story before reading it, I don't know...and now I'm kicking myself. It's very well done, and I love the way Sirius has chosen his animal. Very touching! Kudos.

Reviewer: DrachenaugenDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29567Chapter: 1
Wow, this is a very good fic indeed. It's very well written and it's also very sweet. I like the way you make Sirius think and Remus act (I get sad for the poor fellow at times though *snif*). Oh! Yeah, black IS the best color no matter what *lol*
Great job, keep it up! ^_^

Reviewer: Arietty (or the sad girl obsessed with Remus/SiriuDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23875Chapter: 1
I love (have I reviewed this one? oh well)
I love
I love
I love
etc.
x

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-03-09
Reviewid: 23408Chapter: 1
Lol! That's cute and really well written!

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20836Chapter: 1
"Sirius fancied he was already wagging a furry black tail. " LOL!

Reviewer: annaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20595Chapter: 1
I adore your fanfics! I absolutely love this one!!! It's so sweet and thoughtful!! I love your Sirius.

Reviewer: AriettyDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19695Chapter: 1
Gorgeorusly cute and sweet and sad and perfect. You master of the written word you!
Arietty x

Reviewer: foxwitchDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15606Chapter: 1
I really liked this fic. Sirius is my favourite character, and I loved the way that you presented him here. Such a wonderful mixture of boyishness and goodness and a hint of sullenness that is recognisable in the character from the third novel. What a lovely friendship you have presented here too, very sweet and at the same time typical of a bunch of teenage boys. Brilliant. I hope there is more!

Reviewer: Pseudonym SylphmuseDate: 2002-12-24
Reviewid: 13843Chapter: 1
That was cute and understanding actually.

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8453Chapter: 1
I adore your young Sirius, they way his high spirits are backed up by such wonderful thoughtfulness. And the idea that his decision for his Animagus form comes from an "a particular affinity" (as all Remus/Sirius fans know!) is described perfectly here.

Reviewer: anneDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3954Chapter: 1
Ahhh soo sad! But great. Thanks.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2002-09-10
Reviewid: 3627Chapter: 1
Oh, this has to be one of my favorite Marauder day fics. It shows us the kind of bond between Remus and Sirius that I always thought existed. Besides, it's to read fun and lighhearted stories about them :)

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 833Chapter: 1
Oh, I quite like it. Most Marauder fics have Peter being looked down upon, mocked, the like. This one didn't. It's quite good.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --