The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 86

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140232Chapter: 12
An Excellent.Read.
Quite excellent indeed. Thanks

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83221Chapter: 12
Did you say this was your first fic?...impressive

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65252Chapter: 12
gah!!! now im curious! WHAT WAS IN THE CASES?! gah!

Reviewer: BitzDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64586Chapter: 12
Awwwwwww. thts a realy gd story n i lke th whole Harry is heir of Godric Gryffindor - I've read a few with that idea but i thot htey wer a bit naff realy, however i thot urs was realy well put. i like th end bit with th suitcases!

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55594Chapter: 12
i really love the story.that's some cliffhanger you put @ the end.i really want to know what was in the cases.:)

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54202Chapter: 12
Wonderful story, can't waite to read more... I beleive his middle name is Alouishus... not sure of the spelling. hope this gets the points for Slytherin.

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47267Chapter: 12
Fab.

Reviewer: MoonEmeraldDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42707Chapter: 12
Wonderful! I loved this story! It was fascinating how it all came out. And no I have no idea what his middle initials stand for.

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33557Chapter: 12
Fifteen points to the House of anyone who correctly guessed that Sirius full name is Sirius Alpha Beta Black. As most of you know, he is named after the Dog Star, Sirius. However, the star, Sirius, is actually a twin star that has an alpha star and a beta star. The alpha star is so bright that the beta star is rarely visible. Thanks once again to all those who took the time to read this fic and I hope you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: MenyaDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30900Chapter: 12
I was waiting for this story to be finished to read it, and now I can say it was worth the wait! Wonderful story. You did a good job with the characterization, and I love the inventive use of presents as a way to tell Harry of his past. I hope you write another story soon.

Reviewer: megarooniDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30787Chapter: 12
aaaawwwwwwwwww! i loved that but i'm so disappointed that your ending it here please condiser a sequal! :)

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30614Chapter: 12
Is it Sirius Arden Black? I read another fanfic in which it was.

Reviewer: som_somyDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30587Chapter: 1
Just wondering, what's in the cases???

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30549Chapter: 12
ahhh....wonderful story, wonderful ending. Of course, I'm off to read Thing1's stories now!

Bravo! I hope you write more stories!

Reviewer: bluirinkaDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30538Chapter: 1
Aurora Borealis! I dunno, it just fits with the whole Stars and Constellations motif. Anyway, great story and your theory about Harry's lineage couldn't make more sense. Keep it up!

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30521Chapter: 12
Here is the answer to Chapter 11's challenge: as was correctly guessed, the description of three witches from MacBeth is a reference to Alphie, Durayan, and Thing1, the "Wonderful We" Alphas from The Werewolf Registry. Ten points to all who got it right.

I'll post here the answer to the Chapter 12 challenge in about a week and fifteen points to those who get that one right.

Thanks for reading this story!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30512Chapter: 12
A very poignant outtake, if ever there was one. What a pleasant ending to a life of injustice... even if it is one in hiding. It is always good to see great stories about our beloved stray and werewolf.

Reviewer: IthicaDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30509Chapter: 12
Sirius' initials? My guess, based on what I know about Astronomy, is that the A stands for Antares. If I'm wrong, well, I still like the sound of it.
And I love this story! You share Thing1's innate understanding of the characters, and that makes it a pleasure to read. Keep it up!

Reviewer: megarooniDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29662Chapter: 11
ooooo that was so good and the Hamlet quote was perfect

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29600Chapter: 11
Lovely! I love the sprinkling of H/G. Update quickly!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29523Chapter: 11
LOL Gryffinjack - but shouldn't the shortest witch have been wielding a pair of scissors?!

Well thought out resolution, and an excellent use of one of the best-loved passges from Shakespeare. I enjoyed Liz's explanation of her own background as encouragement to Harry.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29522Chapter: 11
LOL Gryffinjack... I wish McGonagall favored us!
As my name suggests, I do not mind being called mad. But you best hurry with the next chapter!!!
Insanity

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29482Chapter: 11
As my name suggests, I would award points to Gryffindor even if you were wrong, Insanity!

The answer will be posted in chapter 12, the final chapter. That chapter has a chance for fifteen House points to be awarded.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29477Chapter: 11
One was very theatrical,one painted particularly vivid pictures with her words, and the shortest one seemed to be managing the whole group.

Either I am mad, or this sounds like Alphie, Durayan and Thing... (the shortest one is a pure guess though)... Please do not hate me if I am wrong! So, am I mad or 10 points to Gryffindor?

Insanity70

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29467Chapter: 11
Perfect use of a Shakespearean play... the native hue of resolution... ah and the gentle unfolding of romance..... how quaint and lovely.

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29465Chapter: 11
Did I forget to mention? Ten points to the House of anyone who finds the reference to the Alphas of The Werewolf Registry.

Reviewer: BritzenDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29456Chapter: 11
"One was very theatrical, one painted particularly vivid pictures with her words, and the shortest one seemed to be managing the whole group. They were an odd lot."

Gee, I wonder who this could be a reference to. *snickers* I do believe "odd lot" is the understatement of the year... ;)

Great story thus far; keep up the good work! :)

Reviewer: ADate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27850Chapter: 10
....WOW!!!
that is such a cute story.... i tried to leave the computer oce.....but i had to come back, sit down and finish it...
the way u've captured the characters is really good......I luv sirius...
ummm yea..
wow......keep writing....
....THANX
A

Reviewer: megarooniDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27316Chapter: 10
i love it! please keep writing! ahh the hour of entertainment

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27279Chapter: 10
no time to review- great chapter, update again soon!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27241Chapter: 10
Why is it that great writers always have great cliffhangers? Update already.... pretty please ... with a cherry on top?

Reviewer: LynnDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25829Chapter: 1
Just when I thought I had had enough of JK spin-offs....someone reccomended this site. Most excellent. And I have only read the first chapter!!!

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25768Chapter: 9
Yay you! Another great chapter. And yet, I still have not had time to read "Veritas"! I certainly am after you finish this intriging story. Write again soon!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25691Chapter: 9
Ahhh, Harry finally got his family. I really would like to read the next update asap. I cannot wait.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24155Chapter: 8
Whoa..... this is not the time to hold your horses..... I cannot believe you did this cliffie..... next update please?

Reviewer: MoonEmeraldDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24129Chapter: 8
*Gaps*

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24117Chapter: 8
Was that thud Harry fainting? That would be really funny, but I suppose it was just the door, oh well. FINALLY I know what the gift is! This is awesome! I love this fic, a true work.

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24111Chapter: 8
Wow....weird. I've yet to read "Veritas", but plan to soon, as this story has covinced me that it will be good! You are doing very well. Post another chapter soon, it's hard to wait!

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23309Chapter: 7
Okay, that's just mean! I got all excited when I saw you had updated, but no! Now I have to wait for ANOTHER chapter! grrr.... oh well! Great chapter! I can't wait for the next one (for obvious reasons!)

Reviewer: MoonEmraldDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23300Chapter: 7
NOT AGAIN!!!>_< PLease post more as soon as you can!!
~Moony

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23200Chapter: 7
Oh, this is too much. How could you? What kind of cliffhanger is that? Am I supposed to put a noose around my neck because I am once more at the edge of my seat hoping for an update? ahhhhhhhhhhh! How could you write so well and be this cruel.... pretty please update soon?

Reviewer: MoonEmerald01Date: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23123Chapter: 6
Please post more soon. I would like to know what is so important Sirius and Lupin have to tell Harry.

Reviewer: MoonEmeraldDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21837Chapter: 6
This is a good post. Why is Sirius so nervous?

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21721Chapter: 6
OH! you meany!! Okay, I just got home from spending FOREVER in the stupid airport, (I HATE fog now!) and I'm like yay! I get to find out what this big secret is, but do you want to be nice? NOOOOOOOO :-P Meany! ;)
Oh well, I can't WAIT for the next chapter now! Job well done!

Reviewer: patiently trying to waitDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21634Chapter: 6
You're killing me with the suspense! Write more soon!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21589Chapter: 6
I cannot believe this. THis is so cruel. How can you leave us, poor fans, falling off the edge with such a cliffhanger? Arghhhhh!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21557Chapter: 6
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! NOT CLIFFHANGERS!!! AAAAAAAH! Good story! :)

Reviewer: dabblerDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20644Chapter: 5
Please, please don't stop now! This is a lovely story. I hope you'll get the next part up quickly.

Reviewer: MoonEmeraldDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20635Chapter: 5
This is a very beautiful post. I love Harry's gift. Don't leave us hanging with that cliffy of Padfoots's and Moony's gifts.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20599Chapter: 5
Do I really want to know what Sirius and Remus got Harry? hmmmm, prolly not but either way it will prolly be very entertaining! :-) I can't wait for the next chapter! I hope its up soon!
This is a REALLY great story, I really like it! How long is it going to be chapter wise, do you know?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20594Chapter: 5
Dumbledore is adorable! ("Dumbledorable?" LOL) I really enjoyed his presence in this chapter and the gifts the Trio gave and received. Very nice! More soon please!

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20452Chapter: 5
Excellent!! Please continue!!!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20440Chapter: 5
raaaaargh! A cliffhanger!! thats evil!

hope you write more soon though.

Reviewer: RosaleeDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20340Chapter: 5
Ugh!!! You did it again! The presents were great, but I want to know what Dumbledore has to tell Harry!!! Get writing. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: you've got me hooked!Date: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20338Chapter: 5
more please! i'm a sucker for fanfic and this one is great!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20304Chapter: 5
This is wonderful and right after Valentine's Day, too. Thanks. What a gift to unwrap.

Reviewer: MoonEmeraldDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20175Chapter: 4
I love it so far. Please post as soon as you can!! I wonder what the gifts are? And what Sirius and Lupin will have to say to Harry that is so hard?

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19605Chapter: 4
Nicely done. You have a good knack for dialogue and pacing. It's nice to see Katie transfer well to another author.

Catherine

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19570Chapter: 4
This is very nice. It's always a treat to read more about Thing1's characters, and I think you've pretty much caught them. I never thought of Harry & Co. handing the map down to Ginny after they graduate, but I like the idea.

Reviewer: RosaleeDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19557Chapter: 1
Ah, C'mon! You can't leave us hanging like that!!! Please update SOON!

~Rosalee

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19401Chapter: 4
Oooh, the description of the fairy lights in the rainbow colors was just gorgeous!!

Awwww, the vines and white lilies story was so sweet!!! I also liked the passing of the Marauder's Map to Ginny. Liked how Harry handled everything so solumnly and seriously. Now that Dumbledore had arrived, are you going to *finally* tell us the secret? The suspense is killing me!

Reviewer: StargazerDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19357Chapter: 4
Oh I love this story. It's a marvalous addition to Veritas. But, dear God you've got to finish it soon before we all die of suspense!! Wonderful story, great characterization. The graduation "prank" with the lilies is wonderful. I love the was you have written Remus and Katie and Sirius and Liz. Nice touch with Ginny getting the Marauders Map. I love Ginny and you've written her so well. Now quick finish the story! hehe.

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19352Chapter: 4
There are ants on my chair... that has to be the reason I'm so gittery.... hurry up and finish already! PS- poor Hogwarts crowd. No noisy crowded smelly graduation, with someone streaking, and someone else wearing flip-flops, and someone wearing too much perfume, and Mom's giggling and grabbing thier kids, and too much fuss, and someone crying cuz no one from their family made it... (went to one too many family graduations....) But, your story is excellent! thanks for writing! And bringing back memories... now my grad, now *that* was perfect, but ex-charms schools do tend to do it right... a dozen roses, white ball gowns, and ceremonies reserved for seniors only.... *sigh* you think public schools are bad? Catholic schools start partying in April, and don't quit till the Prom's done!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19350Chapter: 4
Another excellent chapter.

Sirius and his 'evil' influence on Malcolm - no wonder the boy was so upset when Sirius left after 'the Casting Stone'.

Liz and Sirius are so comfortable together - love the 'Miss Harker / Mr Black' interaction.

And the Lily prank on the final morning was beautiful.

Alkari

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19348Chapter: 4
Aah! No! You little bugger...now I wanna know what happens...you keep talking about this thing, but you've never concretely described it...aaaaaaaahhhruuugggghhh...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19340Chapter: 4
What a lovely family gathering :) The passing of the Marauder's Map was especially cute.

I swear I could see Lily blushing amid all those vines -- very nice picture. And I loved how Ron sort of took Malcolm in hand! What a sweet boy!

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19252Chapter: 3
Good! I like! I'm really dying to know what they need to know!!! *eager* I think what you wrote about both Harry AND Sirius excepting the fact Peter was part of them is very true... very... great thinking! =) Will there be H/G? it needs some work though... How's Harry around her?

I really enjoyed reading it! please continue!!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19215Chapter: 3
"...if you want to hear the old stories and get to know who your parents were, you are going to have to hear about Peter as well."

Very good point! I don't really like Marauder fics, and I read them even less when the author cuts out Peter just because of what he became. (None of that on the Quill, though!)

Great job so far :) The interaction between Sirius and Remus is wonderful, and I love reading about grown men adoring babies so much...I'm really curious about what the revelation for Harry is! Update soon please!

Reviewer: MillyDate: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19002Chapter: 3
Hello?! What were you thinking to end it like that!!!! It needs to be continued! Talk about cliff hanger!! Anyways, job well done! I'll be waiting for the next part! PLease hurry!!! I cannot wait!!!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18858Chapter: 3
>Does he still think of Cedric Diggory every time he uses a Portkey?

Oh, that is so sad.

>You can call Sirius whatever you like.

Hee!

Again, you do a wonderful job with the interactions between people. The little details that let us know that Ron and Hermione are a couple, and the little gestures between Katie and Remus.

And you're great at building suspense! I can't wait to hear Sirius' tale about Peter.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18856Chapter: 2
>Itís not like you made the meal!

hee! Poor Sirius. He's really a mess, isn't he? You've done a great job with the details of his temporary madness, and have given the reader fascinating hints about Something To Be Revealed. I can't wait to find out what that is!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18855Chapter: 1
I really like the way you build the relationship between Remus and Sirius. It seems to grow right out of canon. Sirius' frantic worry about Harry, and his nervousness are wonderfully portrayed.

Draco...interesting! Doing the double agent act, is he? I loved the description of his robes.

My only criticism is that your dialogue is a bit choppy, at times. But that's a minor quibble. Throughout the rest of the chapter, you have very good sentence structure/flow.

Reviewer: Eoin CoffeyDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17811Chapter: 3
Great story but I wish there was more.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17711Chapter: 3
Yeah! Ch.3! The stage is set and I am dying of curiosity!!!

The arrival was great, especially the imagery of Ginny blushing like she was on a stage.
"I am Katie," she continued. "This is Remus, and this is Liz. You can call Sirius whatever you like. LOL!!!

I liked how Crookshanks curled up and purred on Sirius's lap. It was a nice, subtle remindeder of PoA. I really liked that small touch.

The gold and red sparks in Potions class! I absolutely love that!! That is one of the funniest things I've read! FOTFLMAO! And the Oblique potion! You're really inventive!

I liked how the chapter started out a bit somber with Remus remembering Harry facing the Dementor and wondering if Harry thought of Cedric Diggory every time he used a portkey, then moved to humor, and then ended somber with Remus and Sirius agreeing they had to be honest about who Peter/Wormtail was. Can't wait for Ch. 4!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17706Chapter: 2
"Ah, my little marauder, would you like me to show you the muddiest places to play in the garden?" That is such a perfect Sirius line! I'm so happy you've written a cheerful Sirius!!! Veela @ bachelor party-hehehehe

Oh, the moment between Remus and his son was so tender and sweet! I remember the blanket from other stories and it was really heartwarming to see it around Remus's son.

Love how Sirius is so good with his godson. The line:"Itís amazing the way Malcolm is always so cheerful when Sirius wakes him up; why canít he ever be like that for us?" remarked Remus. is soooo true! It captures the relationship between Sirius and his godson perfectly.

You also plot out your suspence perfetly. I'm dying to know what they're going to tell Harry!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17704Chapter: 1
Wow! This is great! I'm only vaguly familiar with some of the universe this is set in, but I didn't get too lost. OMG-LOL at the dog food!!

ďI hate to be repetitious, Moony. But, what is this?Ē

ďSo do I. Itís your breakfast, Padfoot.

Love that exchange. It captures their cleverness *and* their dry humor. I so wasn't expecting dog food!! I can really see Remus doing something like that.

I also enjoyed your good Draco. He's still sarcastic and full of himself, but I liked how he was Head Boy (instead of Harry) and showed some respect to Remus.

Intriguing start, off to read next chapters.

Reviewer: StargazerDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17532Chapter: 3
Wonderful story. You have captured the characters perfectly especially Sirius and Remus. Lovely addition to Veritas. I'm awaiting an update very impatiently, but take your time its coming along great.

Reviewer: AprilSkrutinDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17495Chapter: 3
Love it. Want more. It's really great. I love Things stories and yours is brilliant as well... keep going

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17487Chapter: 3
I am really enjoying your story. Write faster !!!!:)

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17432Chapter: 3
At last, you have no idea how I have scanned sugarquill and kept on opening the page to see if you have written ch 3. I really really liked this fanfic and I hope that you have the entire story in your head as I would be really pleased if you will complete this. It has great potential and the first 3 chapters are excellent.

Reviewer: Cassie MDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17406Chapter: 3
Wow -- this is a great story and great writing! Can't wait for the big reveal! More soon please?

Reviewer: Under the North StarDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15486Chapter: 2
Remove the &lt;i&gt; tags from your source and this will remove the extra <i> markings. <i> and </i> (italics, end italics) should create italic text in html but <em> and </em> (emphasized text, end em. text) is already being used to do the same thing in these places.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15456Chapter: 2
Yay! I was wondering when you would update over here.

Um.. but you seem to have a small format problem.

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13444Chapter: 1
Chapter 1's an excellent start - it's very Thingy, and you leave us with a nice fidgety sense of anticipation! :)

Reviewer: TayloireDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13123Chapter: 1
oooooooooh, keep going this is great so far im so intriged lol *rock on*tayloire

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13026Chapter: 1
The truth? OK, now I'm going to keep an eye on this story!

Great little fic. I hope it won't be long until it is updated!

~Dr. Monaco~

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --