The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Thinking Cap
Review(s): 97

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126575Chapter: 1
Humph. Now I wonder what would happen if Harry and Ginny were Slytherins and Hermione was a Ravenclaw. Meanie. It was funny to see the interactions between Godric and Salazar, though!

'"Don't try to sound insulted, Godric. Honestly, between the Parselmouth and the Weasley, I may not speak to you for the rest of the year!"
"Do you promise?"'

'"'Not Slytherin. Anything but Slytherin'," Salazar quoted in a high voice. "Honestly, what did I do to deserve THAT?"
"Do you want that alphabetically, categorically, or chronologically?"' Very funny lines. I needed that after some of the more...depressing stories on here. (i.e. Sirius is trapped between life and death forever)

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 116965Chapter: 1
I gave in to the urge. I'll be back for the next lot in a bit!

These are so funny - I love them.

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114988Chapter: 1
Hahaha, very funny. I'll never think of the Sorting Hat the same way again! Ahh, you got me! :D Some parts seemed to drag out a bit, but all in all, a very pleasant and humorous take on the sorting, in my opinion... definitely very creative... ;)

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112786Chapter: 1
*grins* I like the idea of the Founders being in the hat. And bickering is always fun. I like Slytherin's Parselmouth jig most, I think.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87377Chapter: 1
Wow. That was absolutely brilliant! I can't even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this one. Wonderfully humorous, fantastically original. . . this one has it all. Great job!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 85013Chapter: 1
This is hilarious!

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80575Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH

Reviewer: açorDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77059Chapter: 1
Loved your story! It was really funny and original

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75332Chapter: 1
This is TOTALLY hilarious. I laughed all the way through! Love the witty humour, love the idea of the Founders bickering in the hat, and all the little details from canon you throw in, like the “little boy that wanted to be Minister for Magic” and would have made a perfect Slytherin, and the fact that Salazar isn’t at all happy about the way his Heir turned out! You write their conversation so vividly, I could totally see them arguing, which made all the references to the fact that there *is* nothing to be seen even more hilarious. I’d quote my favourite lines, but I can’t decide which ones to pick, so instead of quoting the whole story back at you – thank you Andrea for giving me such a series of good laughs! Gotta check out the sequel…

Jolie

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74903Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful new take on the inner workings of the Sorting Hat. The banter among the voices of the Founders is a joy to read, and I love how you fleshed out some very minor characters in the story such as Terry Boots and Teagan Nott. In the end, I even felt rather sorry for poor Salazar who missed on Harry and the Weasley twins before him.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73762Chapter: 1
Oh, this is brilliant! It was recommended over on the "Have You Read a Fic Like This?" thread, and I'm so glad I followed the link! I love seeing the Founders' good-natured bickering. Nice to see the "pre-break-up" Slytherin, too; you make it quite plausible that the other three would have liked this man well enough to found a school with him. Interesting choice to make the Founders only "ask" the student when there's a disagreement; it jarred me a little, but I think I like it. In short, a delightflu piece!

TSS

Reviewer: JeanaDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72200Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh! This is so hilarious! I love the way that Slytherin isn't prejudiced against Weasleys. Haha...This is really good. Awesome job.

Reviewer: KaitDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72198Chapter: 1
This is such a good story. I'm sorry I havne't reviewed before. I read this a long time ago and forgot the title and your name, when someone pointed me in the right direction! I love your Salazar. He's such a sweetie and I think of him with a whole new light.

<<Honestly, between the Parselmouth and the Weasley, I may not speak to you for the rest of the year!>>

I know people have already said it, but I would love to see a MMWP sorting. It would be interesting to see what happens with Sirius, considering his background.

Anyway, great job!! Keep writing!

~Kait

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71893Chapter: 1
This was so cute...original idea! I love it.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71819Chapter: 1
that was very interesting. I love how you gave the reason that Neville was in gryffindor

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66397Chapter: 1
Absolutlky brilliant I can't believe I only just found this fic. it is possibly the best sorting fic I have ever seen. You should possibly think about following it up with the arguments they had about other major characters from other years. I really enjoyed it myself.
Mask

Reviewer: WeenyDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54616Chapter: 1
Excellent fic! I really like the way you portray the founders, specially Slytherin...

Reviewer: ZakiDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54477Chapter: 1
This is one seriously amusing and amazing story. I thoroughly enjoyed it! THANK YOU for making the founders real people, and the true ideals of each house real for us. Of course Salazar wasn't totally evil- how could he have been, if he worked with the other founders. And Hufflepuffs aren't the wimps everyone makes them out to be. A teriffic story and very well done!

Reviewer: Shawn CurtisDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53250Chapter: 1
O_O

I've NEVER read such an original fic!! This was so cute!!

"Be nice, Godric. He's sulking," Rowena advised.

*squees madly* Awwwwwwww, they all sound like my friends and I on a good day. *giggles* I loved this fic madly. Great job!!

Reviewer: ShaeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50475Chapter: 1
Just want to say that I loved that! It was so cool!

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45104Chapter: 1
that was funny !!!i liked it !!it would be nice if at the end it showed something like this...

one year later
"weasley,ginny"said mcgonagal
"A weasley!yes!shes mine!! exc"shouted salazar

or somethin like that,it would be fun!!!!!!

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42416Chapter: 1
A brilliant, witty foray into the Sorting Hat's, um, minds. I loved the personality clashes between the Founders, and I can assure you, I will never think of the Sorting Hat the same way again. (But that's a good thing, because I really enjoyed this.) I'm off to read the rest of your work. :)

Reviewer: Anne S.Date: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40153Chapter: 1
This was quite a unique and funny fic! I really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40076Chapter: 1
funny!hmmmm, yeah funny!

Reviewer: DustyDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39823Chapter: 1
I quite enjoyed that chapter. It was very amusing. Oh dear, what an pathetic comment this it. Sorry about that. -Dusty

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39540Chapter: 1
Oh--I LOVED this! It was hilarious! And I liked the personality you gave each one. Great!

Reviewer: LenitieDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39531Chapter: 1
LOVED IT. Make another chapter. or make a 2nd year.

Reviewer: VeldDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39529Chapter: 1
This is probably the best ( and funniest,) fanfiction I've ever read.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39508Chapter: 1
I have no idea why EVERYBODY remembers Blaise Zabini. No idea at all. But still,this is a HILARIOUS ficlet. "Not Slytherin...anything but Slytherin...I think that answers that,old friend."

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39453Chapter: 1
Great!!! Gotta go read the rest now!!! never thought of the sorting hat hiding anything...especally the Founders!

Reviewer: AdriannaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39446Chapter: 1
Just stumbled upon this story today. It's amazing! I loved it soooo much! I've never read something that was this creative. I laughed my head off the whole time! Very,very good story.

~Adri

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39440Chapter: 1
I love it! Very well done. Thanks for an excellent read.

Reviewer: SkippyDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39430Chapter: 1
Wonderful story, I really enjoyed it. There aren't many stories about the founders, but of all of those I've read about them, this would have to be my favorite. Good job!

-Skippy

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39388Chapter: 1
I loved this story! Especailly the arguments over the Weasleys *grin*

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28655Chapter: 1
Andrea13's "The Thinking Cap" was well thought out and it's dialoug was excellent. Smooth transitions, proper grammar, and an excellent use of humour makes this story a delightful read. In "The Thinking Cap" we revisit the sorting of familiar characters through an original and fascinating idea, which provides for enjoyable light reading.

Reviewer: LeahDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25673Chapter: 1
That was just great!

Reviewer: LizardLaughDate: 2003-03-28
Reviewid: 25528Chapter: 1
What a wonderfully entertaining and original fic! The founders literally put a bit of themselves in there, I love it.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25489Chapter: 1
*claps hands, amused* Brilliant, simply brilliant! The idea of all four founders in the Sorting Hat was briliant and simply original.

<i>"Besides, I tried a halfblood fifty years ago, and look how THAT turned out!"</i>

I loved this dab at Tom Riddle. Excellent job.

Reviewer: ginnyfanaticDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21377Chapter: 1
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19847Chapter: 1
All of these stories are delightful! Someone already asked to write the Marauder year sorting - I join in this request!!!
Thanks!

Reviewer: BobDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19711Chapter: 1
Great little story. Now I am going to have to read thru the rest of your writings.

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19686Chapter: 1
Fun!

Reviewer: MeenaksDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19671Chapter: 1
HI, That was one of the most wonderful piece of work I've read for so long.. Terrific stuff.. Keep writing more..

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19591Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed that (:

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19569Chapter: 1
This is great! I love the way you portray the founders, with distinct personalities and flaws, and I really like your Sortings of Ron, Hermione and Neville. You make the story very light and humorous but it still looks into what the characters are like.

Reviewer: Jessica NicoleDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19516Chapter: 1
Quite an enjoyable prospect. I can't picture Salazzar being so cheery, though.

Reviewer: MarshaDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19438Chapter: 1
vairy vairy funny. I'm off to read zee sequels hright now.
That was my Fleur accent. Honestly though, very good theory.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19342Chapter: 1
*dancing around in glee* Why have I not seen your fics earlier? This is so cool! I love the idea of the Founders actually doing the Sorting! The dialogue between them is wonderful, and you do a great job of showing that the kids aren't THAT easy to pigeonhole...

Reviewer: AnjaDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18621Chapter: 1
I love this, it's so hilarious!
I liked especially the characterizations of the founders. They are like good old friends, bickering with each other, but always remaining friends. And you made Salazar not evil &#8211; yeah! (He was my favourite in the fic) The founders WERE friends, after all, and I doubt they would have been friends with an evil overlord.
Neville daring to discuss with the hat &#8211; I knew, there was more to him than what meets the eye. :)

I enjoyed the whole fic immensely, but there were a couple of lines, I enjoyed most:

"They're my prejudices, I've had them for a thousand years now, and I'm quite happy with them!" he snapped in reply. "Besides, I tried a halfblood fifty years ago, and look how THAT turned out!"

"Which would be why you barricaded yourself in the library for a full year to figure out how to deal with that upstart wizard in the next town?"
"I found the solution in the end, didn't I?"
"AFTER I'd already dealt with him!"
"You accidentally knocked him off a cliff!"
"It worked, didn't it?"

"FINE! Take him, then. I hope he loses twenty points a DAY for you!"

"'Not Slytherin. Anything but Slytherin'," Salazar quoted in a high voice. "Honestly, what did I do to deserve THAT?"
"Do you want that alphabetically, categorically, or chronologically?"

OK, I'll stop now before I quote the whole story ;)

Great work! Keep it up!

LG,
Anja

Reviewer: PhoenixRoseOfHopeDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17674Chapter: 1
Oh, fabulous! I love this take on the Founders. This had me nearly in stitches - all the bickering is priceless. I think Salazar is my favourite, but I also love the way you portray Helga. She's definitely a Hufflepuff, but no 'duffer.' It's really refreshing to see a great portrayal of her, since she's so sadly unappreciated (along with the rest of her house) in the fandom.

Another thing I really like is how you show that the students have qualities that fit all the houses, but it's the choices and the foremost trait that makes the biggest difference. I'm of the opinion that Percy should have been a Slytherin, but the part about the Weasley family upbringing makes sense.

One thing I wish you would've done is shown the thoughts when Sorting Draco, Crabbe, and Goyle. I think they're not exactly good examples of the house at all, and C & G especially embody the fact that Slytherins aren't always ambitious, but can sometimes just be big and mean. I wonder what Salazar thinks of this sad fact.

Lovely fic! I'm definitely going to read the sequel :)

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16087Chapter: 1
hahahhaa this is BRILL!
omigod.. haha i can hardly pick meself off the ground !
they sound so.. REAll this is EXCELLENT smashine wizard !!
i really really love the way you managed to show EVERYONE thru their eyes..
continue this !!

Reviewer: SicilyDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16086Chapter: 1
Hey, this was really cute! I'd always thought of the Sorting differently, but this was an interesting idea. I love the way the Founders bicker like old friends, and some of the details you put in -- especially the real reason the Patil twins were Sorted into different houses. Harry's, Ron's and Hermione's definitely didn't disappoint. Lots and lots of fun.

Reviewer: ilyssaDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16046Chapter: 1
o that was so cute! what na original idea! i thik it was wodnerfully written. please write some more like that (well ok, there is a sequel so i know you did but still LOL) this is a really great piece of fiction. i like the reference to the half-blood slytherin from 50 years ago, no doubt Tom Riddle. Really Great stuff. Definately. :)

Reviewer: allyDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16013Chapter: 1
Wow!!!!! you really have a knack for doing behind the scenes stories!!!!!

Reviewer: ~*Cynthia*~Date: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15973Chapter: 1
hahaha!! That was so great!! I just love the bickering.. so brilliant... ;)

~*Cynthia*~

Reviewer: WillardDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14834Chapter: 1
WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!PLEASEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!LOVELY FIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: DovaDate: 2002-12-22
Reviewid: 13636Chapter: 1
Oh my God! I love this story! Beautifully written in all aspects! I would love to see a sequel! *wink*

Reviewer: ClariceDate: 2002-12-21
Reviewid: 13500Chapter: 1
I love this fic!! I love how you made Salazar not some scary little creep...but more of the cunning little Tom Riddle we all know (I also liked that little reference to the half-blood 50 years ago)...I also loved "next Weasley's mine" and the battle over the Weasleys..ohhh just all together a really well thought out fic. Very Entertaining as well!!

11/10!!!

Reviewer: Chocolate MuseDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13485Chapter: 1
LMAO! This was hilarious. Will you please do Ginny's sorting, and if you can, The Marauder's sorting, that would hilarious.

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13479Chapter: 1
Hi!i am back.i couldn't resist(i probably spelled it wrong).how about writing the marauders' sorting!that would be so much fun!i loved your story!bye

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13475Chapter: 1
oh my god!i really-really enjoyed your story!very good!!!!please write more about the sorting hat(ginny and colin's sorting,dennis' sorting)please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13414Chapter: 1
This is just adorable--so nie to see a funny take on the Founders!

I giggled especially hard over the moments when they got into snits because of what the *students* thought about their Houses.
Typical teachers...

Nice to see a less-than-sinister Slytherin, too.

Calanthe.

Reviewer: ArgelfrasterDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13380Chapter: 1
That was really funny! I cracked up the first time I read one of the Founder's arguements. I wasn't expecting something this good! Excellent characterization of the founders also; I like how you have your Slytherin not evil, just misrepresented over the years. The bickering between them was done very nicely as well. Do you think you could write more chapters of this from other character's sorting?

Reviewer: GinnyWPotterDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13374Chapter: 1
::rolls on floor laughing:: Oh my God, that's hilarious...I love the Founders...funny funny people. ::giggles:: Wonderful job.
I have a question for you...could I post this on my website? We need fanfics, badly. The URL is http://www.geocities.com/potterfans_inc/diagonalley, if you'd like to look at it first. Email me if you have any questions!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13373Chapter: 1
this is a fun look at the inside workings of the Sorting Hat and the four Founders! I definitely enjoyed it.

Reviewer: GinnyWPotterDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13371Chapter: 1
::rolls on the floor laughing:: Oh, my God...this is hilarious!!! I love the Founders...funny funny people...::giggles::
Okay, also, I have a question for you: Could I post this on my website? The URL is http://www.geocities.com/potterfans_inc/diagonalley, if you'd like to look at it first. Email me if you have any questions!

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13339Chapter: 1
very nice!!! this was a really enjoying read for me :-D hope to see some more soon!

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13277Chapter: 1
LOL! This was great! I loved how you did this! Especially Harry and Ron. Bravo! This was sooooooo excellent!

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13263Chapter: 1
LOL! Funniest story I've read in a while!
Pushover!Helga - lol!
The whole argument over Ron was great. I just loved all the banter between the four founders.
(just one thing, Slytherin was talking about Tom Riddle - half-blood 50 yrs ago - but he was his heir, wouldn't he have said something about that? I know it's all in fun, just something I thought of while reading...)
Anyway, good job!! Makes me curious about Ginny's sorting...

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13218Chapter: 1
Oh, good job! This was a hilarious read, loved it to bits. You, er, wouldn't happen to be thinking of doing more? Perhaps at least the next year? I'd LOVE to see Salazar's reaction to Godric getting ANOTHER Weasley. And their reaction to Harry showing back up again could be interesting... ;)

Reviewer: sweatpants24Date: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13205Chapter: 1
I love how they bicker!
*"Not Slytherin! Anything but Slytherin! Honetsly, what did I do to deserve that?"
"Do you want that alphabetically, categorically, or chronilogically?"* hehe- loved it, absolutely loved it.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13189Chapter: 1
I quite liked this! I don't think I've ever read a story about the Sorting Hat before. Very ingenious, and really well written! The four personalities were a lot of fun to read!

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13153Chapter: 1
oh, excellent! I LOVE it! I was totally caught up throughout the whole thing, it was so realistic, and at the very end I burst out laughing...brilliant, positively brilliant. I loved ALL their personalities, and I loved how they could argue so much and still get everyone in their perfect house. Great job!

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13151Chapter: 1
That was very unique! Great idea!

Reviewer: arielDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13144Chapter: 1
Really uniqe. WOW!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13140Chapter: 1
This was amazing. The best by far... no one has ever written anything as good or as clever or as original! Luv it!

Reviewer: TuiDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13129Chapter: 1
That's really good, and funny! I like the way you haven't made Salazar evil, more grumpy- it's great you haven't got the whole stigma thing. :D Hey, a sequel would be nice...
T

Reviewer: Adam ÖstergrenDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13122Chapter: 1
Salazar Slytherin is a sadly mal-treated character. He WAS one of the four founders and this would make one suspect that in some way he was not the first dark wizard.

Rather that he might be a sneakier than usual good guy. Perhaps acting more like Dumbledore and insisting to give information away only when he needed to.

Ambition, wanting power is not necesarily bad things if you are competent enough to wield that power and can grasp it without destroying those around you...

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13086Chapter: 1
I like it. It's great. This was probably a lot of fun to write.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13077Chapter: 1
Excellent, looking at the story from a completely new angle, with plenty of humour.
Salavar as not completely evil is a new twist and highly plausible in this piece of writing.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13061Chapter: 1
Very amusing. I liked-

"'Not Slytherin. Anything but Slytherin'," Salazar quoted in a high voice. "Honestly, what did I do to deserve THAT?"

Fine, I'll give you the dragon tamer -- that kind of stupidity can only come from a Gryffindor

However, I wished you had done Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle.

Reviewer: CaderynDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13057Chapter: 1
What a creative fic!!! I totally love it!! I mean I don't I've seen anyone else do this before. Anyway, it's so totally funny as well.... I know that J.K. Rowling doesn't specify the founders' personalities completely, but I think that you've had them down really well!! I love the arguments between Godric & Salazar about Ron! This made me crack up: "Fine, I'll give you the dragon tamer -- that kind of stupidity can only come from a Gryffindor -- but you can't have them ALL!" Hehehe, nice ol' Charlie.... And I love Rowena's indignation when she learned that Ravenclaw was second choice for Hermione!

Reviewer: DrThinkerDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13051Chapter: 1
Very good and funny.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13041Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that was funny! Delightful. I wonder if that's how it really happens? :)

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13032Chapter: 1
Saw this on FA a while back. I'm glad it's over here on the Quill. Let me join the calls for a sequel. Besides Ginny, I'd like to see the discussion about Colin Creevey.

One grammar nit or typo: "If she goes into Ravenclaw, she's NEVER take her nose ..." I think you meant "she'LL NEVER...".

Reviewer: LaceyDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13027Chapter: 1
This was hilarious - a great story to read while taking a break from finals! Thanks for posting it!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13025Chapter: 1
OH! That was brilliant!

I love the bickering... and how you paid particular attention to our Trio... they were all contested... which makes perfect sense. And Neville... so, that's why the Patil twins were seperated!

This is just fantastic!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13013Chapter: 1
Brilliant!! The four Founders had me laughing out loud. Their enthusiasm for the Sorting and the way that they welcome each child was so wonderful. Even Salazar and his comments about Muggle-borns were endearing. His comment about Tom Riddle made me want to applaud, so I did.)

I loved your descriptions of all of the Founders. Helga "like a mother who refused to grow up," refined Rowena, brash Godric, and Salazar who speaks with a bit of a hiss.

Poor Helga and Salazar, I felt sorry for both of them, when they heard some of the students' thoughts about their respective houses. Hermione's and Neville's Sortings were so perfect and marvelous!! I loved the way that everyone fought over them, and Neville talked back! Good for you, Neville!! (Loved Godric's comment about how Neville's gran scares HIM.) And Salazar's joy over finding Harry made me want to hug him! I thought that you couldn't top that bit, but then you did, with the way that the Founders reacted to Ron. "His chief ambition right now is a new set of robes, Salazar." That was so adorable!

(Hmm, Salazar seemed so set on a Weasley of his own, I wonder how he reacted to Ginny? Have you thought about writing a sequel?)

Reviewer: Princess FireballDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13010Chapter: 1
oh that was so cute!! I'm still giggling.

Reviewer: julieDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13006Chapter: 1
Oh, that was funny

Reviewer: zequistDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13005Chapter: 1
This was brilliant, I LOVED it! Imaginative, original, wonderfully written, and utterly hilarious! I am printing it out right now and adding it to my three-ring binder of favorite fanfics. Neville, Ron, and Hermione were great, and the reactions to the students they want not wanting them are priceless, especially Slytherin's losing Harry. The only thing missing that I wish you had done are Crabbe and Goyle--probably NONE of the founders wanted those two. :) And you have to do a sequel if you can invent enough original characters to fill it; I'd love to hear what they had to say about other classes, especially Gred & Forge's year.

Reviewer: JV33Date: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 13003Chapter: 1
This was such and AWESOME story! And funny too. Great work. Heh, Salazar didn't get that last Weasley after all, did he?

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12999Chapter: 1
I was pleasantly surprised by that. What fun! The four founders sounded like people I know--friends but bickering to the end. Great job!

Oh, and my name's Andrea, too.

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12998Chapter: 1
Wow, the Founders were fighting over Ron, hehe.

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12991Chapter: 1
There were so many quotes to love in this piece that I could only write down a few of them. I absolutely adore the way you portrayed each of the Founders fighting over the students. You also managed to keep them true to canon and yet fun. I liked Salazar in spite of myself.

<<"Helga, you can't kill me. I'm just a disembodied mind," Godric said swiftly. "It's not my fault, honestly!"

"WHY is it," Helga asked in a low and deadly voice, "that everyone seems to have gotten the idea that MY House -- my loyal, hard-working students -- is full of 'duffers', I believe that one boy put it? HONESTLY! Oh, be quiet and stop arguing, boy. You clearly don't deserve to be in MY House."

"He's arguing with the Sorting Hat. The Hat that was created by the Founders themselves." Salazar sounded incredibly amused. "Oh yes, he definitely belongs in Godric's house of idio--er, bravery." A mostly-stifled snicker. "Absolutely."

"Oh shut up, snake boy."

"GRYFFINDOR!"

"...Dear, you might want to take the Hat OFF now," Rowena suggested gently. "Honestly. This is why he clearly isn't a Ravenclaw." >>

This is the finest explanation of why Neville took so long that I have ever seen. I LOVED the idea of him bickering with the hat, Helga being so offended, Salazar's comment, and then the last with Rowena -- so funny and sweet at the same time!

<<"You took the twins! You took the little boy who wanted to be Minister of Magic. Fine, I'll give you the dragon tamer -- that kind of stupidity can only come from a Gryffindor -- but you can't have them ALL! This one is very ambitious.">>

Fighting over Ron! Yet it makes sense. And I love the idea of Godric claiming the little boy who wanted to be minister of magic. Really lovely.

Sorry this review is so scattered but I am typeing as I think of things. I love the fight over Hermione, the argument over Harry, and the battle for the Patils. Very fun. Poor Salazar desperate for his Parselmouth! And the whole, "I let in a halfblood fifty years ago ..." was SO great. I loved it!

Now I want to hear Ginny's sorting!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12988Chapter: 1
This was very funny. I loved the way the founders argued. Could you do some others years, IE MWPP, Ginny's year... etc.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2002-12-17
Reviewid: 12985Chapter: 1
Nicely done - I really liked Slytherin's reaction to Harry's request to go anywhere but Slytherin House. Too funny!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --