The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136467Chapter: 1
Funny

Reviewer: BlumenthalDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130179Chapter: 1
Have you, by any chance, seen The Mummy? I have a hunch the answer is in the positive.
It's nicely written though, and it's refreshing to find a story that gives a trifle more realistic view of 'love at first sight' - which in my experience, tends not to be, after a few more 'sights'.
Well done!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71480Chapter: 1
lol! Yay! Just rereading this.... and I have to say, it's just as great as it was the first time. lol!

Reviewer: TangwstylDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42805Chapter: 1
*GRINS*
haha... took me a minute.. but I got it.. cute,very very cute...

seen the Mummy once too often?

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30653Chapter: 1
Oh I do like this. The touch of a cross-over with The Mummy is cute. Poor Bill, he did end up in a mess.

Reviewer: TigermouseDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30500Chapter: 1
Cute! Really luvved all the Mummy references...I'm a big fan myself...especially the way Vivienne was always "quoting" her grandmother! Hilarious! No harm ever came from reading a book, indeed! You'd think that family would learn...

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17173Chapter: 1
Wow! This was wonderful! I'm a big fan of "Job Hazards" and this is a perfect companion piece. I liked the attention to details, especially the Weighting of Souls and feather of truth...nice use of Egyptology. The idea that the library of Alexandria is still standing is is used by a whole order of scholars, great idea! Love the Molly Weaslet hen-pecking and desire for grandchildren, very cute! The dry humor is the writing is crisp and tart like an apple. Loved the line, "because at six-foot plus with flaming red hair he was otherwise quite hard to miss noticing. She had missed. Cleanly." The phrase " he only wanted to hazard his heart, not his hide as well" was pure poetry. Great story! Please send Bill on other dates until he meets Elizabeth Knight!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14835Chapter: 1
OMG, COrgi! I can't believe I've missed this *gem*! LOL! I love this story, and it's definitely worth being a little bit late to the office for. ;)

I love your opening. In just a few lines we already know so much about Bill (and wish he lived next door, frankly), and after that, it just gets better and better. This tale reads like an Indiana Jones film (with a nice little nod to "Evie" in "The Mummy") and packs just as much punch! (Even down to the hero *almost* getting his girl. ;) )

The descriptions are wonderful, well-researched and imaginative ("...the 'nobody here but us chickens' charm" LOLOL!!) and had me laughing out loud first thing in the morning, which is always a good sign. ;)

You do a fantastic job with the dialogue, too, as well as Bill's wry interiors (including "he muttered under his breath, 'Good thing I never owled Mum. She'd be crushed. I yelled at a lovely, nubile witch just for nearly getting me killed -- how could I be so insensitive when it could have led to grandchildren?'")

What a treat! I certainly hope you'll be sending on more of Swashbuckling!Bill's adventures. *HINT*

Thank you so much for sharing this with us!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: Miss ZippitydodahDate: 2002-12-24
Reviewid: 13876Chapter: 1
that was really cool! i liked the description and the history--someone did some research!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13254Chapter: 1
A Mummy fan I see. Not to worry I loved the show as well. I also love Jedi Boadicea's work just as much, but I'm prejudice...she's my beta for Ancient Prophecy here at SQ.

The story was wonderful and I don't often like to see Bill paired with anyone but Fluer from ATE so take that as a complement.

I only had one problem...her name. I felt like she was cheating on Rick!!! Maybe change her last name--that would help!

Are you planning more? Molly would love Bill to settle down.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13249Chapter: 1
Hilarious. Poor Bill. Very well crafted side story to the core HP universe.

thanks for sharing

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13222Chapter: 1
A-haaaa! I knew the name "O'Connell" was familiar! :D

I really enjoyed this story, Corgi! (Using an exploding curse from the twins...LOL) I enjoyed seeing Bill ruffled for some reason. Now I really have to read Jedi B's fic to get more of a glimpse into Bill's life. Thanks!

Reviewer: MandaDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13219Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Corgi!

I had to read parts of it out loud to my sister - she couldn't understand why I was laughiing so hard. O'Connell clued me in first, and combined with Vivienne's looks and lineage, that was just priceless!

Cheers!
~Manda

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2002-12-18
Reviewid: 13216Chapter: 1
O'CONNELL?!?!?!
What's really sad is that it took me until she was rattling off her lineage for it to click, and I'm a HUGE fan of The Mummy!
This is truly worthy of the note "Inspired by Jedi Boadicea." ;) That was most certainly Bill in your story, and you'll never know how loud I've cheered for that fact. There isn't enough good Bill fiction on the net... but yours certainly is a wonderful part of what's here!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --