The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Out of the Woods
Review(s): 31

Reviewer: Crumple-Horned SnorkackDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144552Chapter: 1
ahh!! *fans self* Rather hot and spicy for a pretty tame fic. You certainly do know how to light a fire despite the lack of obvious, well, sparks. ..Oh, there were sparks, yes, but it wasn't gratuitous in the slightest. Better to leave the best to the imagination, mm?

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138155Chapter: 1
Oooh... this gave me goosepimples! "You'll do." Excellent stuff.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137825Chapter: 1
Hm. Interesting. Excellent adventure, excellent humour and quite beautiful.

Reviewer: Miss SophiaDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135836Chapter: 1
Canis M. - I'm getting to be a real fan of your writing. This story is nothing short of *beautiful*. I love MWPP (they're the main focus of my own writing, which, pending beta-read, shall hopefully start appearing on here very soon </shameless plug>), and while I'm still figuring out where I stand on Sirius/Remus (my inclination is "no" for anything *strictly* canon, but "yes yes yes" for canon-based fanon, if that makes any sense), I love reading them, and your story does such an amazing job of reminding me why.

What really gets me is the sensitivity and tenderness in their relationship. Your story makes a brilliant case for why intimacy and intimations of attraction are so much more fulfilling than smut could ever hope to be. Their relationship is so beautiful it makes me want to cry. This is definitely a fic I could read over and over again.

I also love the writing itself--the descriptiveness, the earthiness. It really captures the essence of the scene and puts the reader right there in the middle of it.

The exchange between James and Sirius about fairies really cracked me up. It was so teasing and teenage boy. I love the Marauders' humor, and while JKR would probably never write that exchange (she's always a bit cautious with some of the more mature themes), I think it definitely could have happened. In addition, even though one could point out an irony in Sirius making a comment about fairies, I simply cannot equate what happens between him and Remus at the end of the story with the derivative concept of fairies. Your story subtly, but powerfully, points out how stereotypes are so different from the actual concepts beneath them.

I also love how we see Peter, and the others' feelings toward him, in a positive light (e.g., Sirius and Remus trying to make him feel worthy of the outing; James acknowledging that Peter saved their hides by faking illness with Madam Pomfrey).

One thing I often wonder about is how the Marauders always manage to smuggle Moony the werewolf out of the Shrieking Shack for their nocturnal wanderings. As I understand it, the only way out of the Shrieking Shack is the Willow--but how do you conceal a fully transformed werewolf exiting a tree *onto school grounds*? I doubt a werewolf will be all that cautious about keeping an Invisibility Cloak over himself, either. Perhaps JKR has dealt with this problem and I have just missed it, but it's definitely something I'm going to have to contend with in some of my MWPP pieces, too.

Another thing I love about your story is the way you wrote the interactions between the Marauders as animals. You really captured the canine nature of Moony and Padfoot in particular, especially the physicality and the use of scent.

There's so much I like about this story, so I hope you don't mind the lengthy review. Shall I continue?

One really pleasant surprise was your treatment of the transformation from Moony back to Remus. I've thought *a lot* about so many different aspects of the Marauders, but it didn't really cross my mind that it also hurts Moony to transform back into his human form--not just when he transforms *into* the werewolf. And Padfoot's protectiveness of him during the change really grabbed my heart.

There are so many ways you could have gone wrong with this story, and each time you chose the high road, to splendid effect. For example, when Padfoot lies on top of Remus to warm him, things could have gotten really raunchy, but instead it was innocent, as well as practical. Again, I believe that a drop of intimacy, with or without sexual overtones, packs way more punch than a bucketful of porn. And your writing also underscores the foundation of Sirius and Remus's relationship: Before anything else, they have a deep, deep *friendship*.

Your tie-in to "A Particular Affinity" (Sirius could have chosen to be a wolf, but didn't) was nicely done.

Your writing also does a great job of making the reader *hear* when James came into the room with Peter and Justin Middletree (I seriously felt like I was sitting in a dorm again), and I love how we at first think that James saw something he shouldn’t have, then are led to believe that we were wrong and James just didn’t want to wake Remus, and then ultimately find out that yes, James did see something, but was being discreet for the sake of his friends--and that he had no problem with it. While I'm not sure how realistic it is for a teenage boy to notice, and be OK with, his two closest guy friends having an attraction for each other (many Sirius/Remus stories tend to take it for granted that James would be fine with, and even encourage, their relationship), I can't help but enjoy James's discreet supportiveness.

My absolute favorite line: "When Remus opened his eyes, the wolf was in his gaze. Sirius froze. Slowly Remus reached, touched, closed his hand where the black robes fastened, just below Sirius' throat." He goes for the jugular rather than the genital and as a result ends up capturing the reader's heart. Absolutely gorgeous.

Beautiful, beautiful story.

Reviewer: 11HARRYPOTTER!!!!!!Date: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128520Chapter: 1
i have been waiting for something ABOUT the adventures they have this is wiked good

BRILLIANT!!

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128518Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!

Reviewer: Xio A.K.Date: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120446Chapter: 1
That was a very cute story that made me feel all bubbly inside (I'm fairly sappy). I liked your writing style which was easy to get into and I liked it how you easily described the surroundings and the feelings felt with ease. All in all a good story and I'm going to search for any other stories you've written on the web.

Reviewer: OliviaDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113509Chapter: 1
I like this story. I like it's simplicity in describing the connection Sirius and Remus have. It hints at some slash, but it's innocent mostly. It's almost as if they're just starting out and kind of exploring. Anyway, I liked it.

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109419Chapter: 1
Awwww....I think this is one of the best Fanfiction ever! Of course I usually cringe at the thought of R/S..... But Honestly...This fic ROX!!!!!

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90842Chapter: 1
This story was beautiful and perfect. Thankyou so much.

Reviewer: GwynDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90695Chapter: 1
That's it. You have me. I might just have to explore this Harry Potter fandom a bit. I've read all the books, growled at the movies' inconsistencies, and checked the HP section at ff.net... I think that is the reason I don't follow it much. Fanfiction.net doesn't do much to impress one... but you've thoroughly converted me. S/R, I always thought, was the best slashy couple in Harry Potter. Your story was cute, innocent, and just rebellious enough to be realistic to the characters. Good job. Again. Slash is a marvelous thing, really.

Reviewer: Sev's BoiDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87674Chapter: 1
Oh!I loved that storey!It was so sweet!You should really write another chapter!Oh,and the Gryffindor curtains are red,Slytherin are green.

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73228Chapter: 1
Just one thing, Centaurs are always male, there are no female ones, rather they either suduce or kidnap human females.

Reviewer: SnorkackDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61965Chapter: 1
lol

Reviewer: ThrenDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60797Chapter: 1
That was very good. I really enjoyed the delicate/vague wording in the appropriate places. Leaves some things to the imagination. I also enjoyed your style of writing- it can't be easy to write without dialogue, internal or otherwise, but you've pulled it off very nicely indeed.

I thought the bit at the end about the eyes was a bit over the top. It's a common enough thing to find in romance stories, but this was a bit more than that and I was a little disappointed to find something like that at the end of such a lovely fic. I thought James just then was very amusing. ;)

All in all, very well done. I liked it a lot. And I'm not even a fan of OTW. :)

Reviewer: CorinaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50999Chapter: 1
Like all your other fics, this was brilliant! I love it!

Reviewer: KaliDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43429Chapter: 1
What can I say that I haven't already said in my reviews of your other stories? Tremendous, beautiful, delicate, written with a definite knowledge of how Sirius & Remus think, speak, act, and so forth. Very polished and lovely.

-K.

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-05-15
Reviewid: 32117Chapter: 1
i loooove this story. i just love it. i...its SUPER GREAT AWESOME! i just dont read many good pre-POA Marauder's stories that much. excellent :)

Reviewer: OcearnaDate: 2003-05-01
Reviewid: 30308Chapter: 1
That was good. I thought you used wonderful imagery and the idea of going into the forbidden forest was good. I liked your characterisation of all the marauders, it's how I imagine them.
Well done on a good story.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22270Chapter: 1
question on fairies, Wormy and Bambi, prey animal and pampered house pet *snort* LOL!

Wow, what a great piece for R/S. The reaction to the centaurs was great; that confusion inspired by the stirrings of desire was portrayed perfectly, as was the reaction between R&S. The transformation scene was both a gesture of comfort and seudction. Love the idea of Padfoot keeping Remus warm.

The desciption of Remus in the dawn..like a changling, was just such a beautiful image. Almost like a part of poem from one lover to another.

THe realization of what Sirius feels for Remus was justamazing. Especially the line --another sort of creature all together. Oh, I just got the shivers from thsi piece!!!! You write love--in all its uncertainty, awkwardness, wonder and power--with such genius. A truly fantastic piece. I'm usually not a R/S shipper, but your fics have convinced me to take a sail.

Reviewer: fable2112Date: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21876Chapter: 1
This story is just the cutest thing ever! :)

Special favorite bits:

- The silliness about the "limit on fairies."

- "Why not? You're a magical creature." How adorable. *grin*

- The whole "Is Padfoot going to keep me warm again?" bit at the end, and Sirius noticing how well they fit together in human form.

I feel all warm and fuzzy now. Thank you. :)

Reviewer: Milly (from Italy)Date: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20767Chapter: 1
Where did you get an idea like that?

Reviewer: MillyDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20729Chapter: 1
This was one of the best Marauders Story i've read! Nice work!

Reviewer: GwenalynDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15862Chapter: 1
Aw! I love this story! Remus and Sirius are so cute together! Perfect story to read before I go to bed!
~Lenny

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15414Chapter: 1
Eheheehehehehehehhehehehehe. that was great. =D

Reviewer: JKLBDate: 2002-11-26
Reviewid: 10243Chapter: 1
I love Remus & Sirius as best friends, and I love them in love. Always wonderful to read a story about their friendship developing into more, and this one was really lovely. Interesting the way you used the sighting of the centaurs and then Padfoot needing to keep Remus warm as a catalysts for the relationship. And then the scene in the dorm was so perfect. I loved the way Sirius briefly sees "the wolf" in Remus's eyes-- the kiss is so close-- and then INTERRUPTION! Glad that James helped to reclaim the moment by suggesting that they close the curtains. "Clever ungulate."

Reviewer: madmouthDate: 2002-11-14
Reviewid: 9136Chapter: 1
man...that was really cool. I love it when young boys love each other. and, yeah. anyway, I have to go cry with joy now.

Reviewer: StormyfireDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6277Chapter: 1
That was wonderful!

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2002-08-20
Reviewid: 2634Chapter: 1
Thank you for being such an imaginative writer!
I love all of your stories, but this is my favorite. I get so absorbed in them that I sometimes think I forget to breathe, and this one had me gasping!
You've created an incredibly sweet relationship between two rowdy boys and I really look forward to reading the completed "A Fearsome Business."
Please, don't make us wait too long!

Reviewer: ScribeDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 2024Chapter: 1
Awww! That's so sweet! Certain parts of it remind me of a story I just sent in for beta-reading, mostly just some of the ideas about the particulars of Remus' transformation etc. Your style is very clean and easy to read, and I love your use of vocabulary. This story is very daring and very, very good! I love it.

Reviewer: ZinniaDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1202Chapter: 1
Me again. I love this story too. Awww...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --