The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Except the Past
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65282Chapter: 2
Aww, poor Remus... *sniff*

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20527Chapter: 2
Very good. A very original take on the after-he's-the-only-one-left!Remus. Very nice way to encorperate Nick in there. I like him.

-Athena

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19373Chapter: 2
oh Kaite this is wonderful!!! so sad... :( But I really like it!!! the way you describe all of them is so... *sigh*

" Another was of Remus with James Potter (another newly deceased buddy)" and some humor... ah... this is just what a fic needs... I especailyl liked the "Tapping his pocket, he felt his wand there. He put his wand aside for another day, the spell he put aside forever." strong stuff I tell you...

Will there be more? *hopeful*

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18426Chapter: 2
Love your description of the arriving owl just helping himself to Remus's butterbeer and roll!

"While Voldemort was the one who killed forthright, Sirius was the one who killed from within." oooh, very chilling line!

The letter from Sir. Nick was beautifully written; just the right balance of sympathy and emotion without it being too sachrine. A thread of dignity runs through that letter and the tone perfectly captures Sir. Nick's demeanor. Bravo.

Hmmm? Small, picky point, but why would Remus be having a Butterbeer at 11 and not 13 for 3rd year Hogsmeade weekend? Maurauder prank?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18425Chapter: 1
Great imagery- like the idea of her robes "devouring" her. Like the details of James's scar and the idea that he didn't like broomsticks when he was a kid. Sirius- "more curves than there are Goblins at Gringotts" LOL!

you do a great job at conjuring up unique mental images.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18151Chapter: 2
Very nice. I agree with Emma, the detail involving the butterbeer was a great way to show how recent events changed Remus. More soon, please!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18150Chapter: 1
Aw. I liked the way you described the Marauders and their friends, especially Lily, as they grew up in Hogwarts. Sirius' description of Lily's grown-up body was cute :)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17790Chapter: 2
While I wonder why an archaic ghost like Nick would measure things in meters :) I think that the reflection of the first chapter is very moving. I found Nick's chapter to be a better reflection than Remus, perhaps because I've seen so many of Remus, or Nick had a trigger.

Both chapters seem solid writing.

Catherine

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17731Chapter: 2
The change in the effect of butterbeer on Remus is an excellent analogy for the emotional change and loss he’s just been through. I like it; it’s original and shows how he’s feeling rather than telling.

Although heartbreaking, I’d imagine Remus’ suicidal thoughts are an extremely realistic reaction to his having lost pretty much his entire life. . .

> the fates have a way of toying with us just to see how far we'll travel to get to that light

An interesting idea, and well-put. I like that Nick is the one to reach out to Remus and pull him back from his grief. He does seem like a very nice fellow (if a trifle obsessed with the Headless Hunt ;)), and this seems like something he would do.

This chapter seemed better-written in that the diction was more even (the first chapter seemed a bit uneven in that the word choice seemed too sophisticated for its placement), and the transition between Remus’ memories and the arrival of the owl is well-done.

Good job! :)

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17717Chapter: 1
> The year after James had changed positions from Chaser to Seeker.

James-as-Seeker was a Kloves invention.. JKR’s verified that James was actually a Chaser :)

> No one seemed to remember the small boy who wouldn’t go near a broom if his life depended on it.

I’d love to see backstory to this :)

> He had felt both a dread and a feeling of relief at these words

:( And we know exactly why. . .

> Nick watched as James and Lily rocked back and forth on the blanket. Lily and James were gone, Peter was gone, and Sirius was responsible. Pearly tears fell from Nick’s face and slipped through the stone floor as he floated up to the owlery to send this photo to Remus Lupin. The poor man had nothing left except the past.

This is just lovely. The Marauders would have been just the type to get their house ghost on their side—just look what he did for Harry in CoS. Looking through old photos is a wonderful plot device, and I love seeing inside Nick’s head. And what he says about Remus is so true. . .

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17631Chapter: 2
>Sirius was the one to censure for this all, not Voldemort. While Voldemort was the one who killed forthright, Sirius was the one who killed from within. He had needed not a wand or weapon to kill Remus - he had done it through betrayal.

This is wonderful! Both in insight and in the writing style.

Sir Nicholas is such a great character, as you write him - empathetic and involved in the students' lives. I like that he tells Remus to 'keep the past with you.'

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17629Chapter: 1
>This picture was taken when James had become what most people knew him as: the gorgeous guy who was chased by nearly every girl within fifty miles, Muggle or witch. No one seemed to remember the small boy who wouldn’t go near a broom if his life depended on it.

This is a lovely bit of characterization that makes one wonder...in a good way! James apparently did quite a lot of growing up and changing, and I like how you acknowledge that.

I was amused by Nick's precision with numbers, and I would have liked to hear more of 'his voice' in this piece - I sense that you could do a really good job in bringing out his personality. But you conjure up some evocative images, especially in the picnic scene, and above all in the scene where James is standing in the middle of the Quidditch field, muddy and happy. Good job!

Reviewer: SparlkleDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15507Chapter: 1
this is really good. can i just ask wat happened to arabella? i dont think ur story mentions it.

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13470Chapter: 1
*lol* I think 1.5 meters is accurate enough .. you really don't need four decimal places on someone's height!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13436Chapter: 1
::sniff:: Aw, Katie, you know I love this story. I siriusly tear up everytime I read it. :-) Wonderful job of featuring Nick as the main character of a non-Deathday Party fic. :-)

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13413Chapter: 1
That was lovely and sad. Nick doesn't appear in nearly enough fics! One minor quibble: in the books, Arabella Figg (aka Harry's neighbor, Mrs. Figg) is described as a "mad old lady." I don't think she was young enough to have been Sirius's girlfriend. But I could be wrong...time will tell. In any event, good story!

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@MSN.comDate: 2002-12-20
Reviewid: 13392Chapter: 1
So good, but soooooooo sad! :`(
(that's a tear)

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13375Chapter: 1
Pleaze continue this... it's amazing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --