The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 69

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145534Chapter: 15
Excellent - Thanks.

Reviewer: ivy davidsonDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107422Chapter: 15
wow

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87657Chapter: 3
I hope you'll forgive me for reviewing before I've read the whole thing, but I simply must say now that this is a lovely case of characterisation for both Remus and your OCs, there, and one of the few early-adulthood-Remus pieces I've read. I love it and I probably won't go to sleep until I've finished. Thank you!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74982Chapter: 15
Oh, yeah, the Anti-Recognition Charm. I think the idea of somehow being able to make people not recognize you is creepy, but I guess if she has a Kelpie to deal with... she can face emotional issues when she's less busy.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74979Chapter: 14
WHAAA~AT? What "misery"? Harry, couldja please show this Healer fellow the error of his ways? *Harry has his Patronus mow down the Healer* So there! (er, except the Healer ought to be dead now, if he was so old. Dead or at least VERY old and much wiser.) It's s-sickening... a little kid... imagine, what parents would give their tiny little son a potion to kill him? And so Curie's a half-Squib. At least she's not a whole Squib! I wouldn't hold it against her. 'Specially if I was Remus. Nobody'd ever tried to put HER out of her "misery"!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74977Chapter: 12
I just thought of this, but this story seems really realistic. Like it could actually be happening.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74976Chapter: 10
You try to help a person, and then when they get drunk they suss out that there's a reason he can't stand the smell of the bait and can hear so well near the full moon. I think that's it, oui? Oh, great, I've picked up using bits of French all over the place from Jeannie! Zut, now I'll never stop, I swear it...

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74953Chapter: 9
*sniff* Jeannie, w-why would you wanna watch someone c-cross over? She really seems much more ethical about animals than people. Wonder what she'd be like towards a creature that's not entirely one or the other?

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74949Chapter: 6
What? Werewolf inspections? Making sure their werewolves are up to standard... *giggle* Strikes me as funny. Although the wand-confiscating reminds me of a... whaddaya-call-'em... plot bunny. About Umbridge going back to the Ministry and hating "half-breeds" even more and making it illegal for part-humans, etc., etc., werewolves and half-giants and all (not that Hagrid's supposed to have a wand, but if they had another Triwizard Tournament everyone from Beauxbatons would be upset, since Madame Maxime wouldn't be allowed a wand)... and I'm just chattering on like my life depends on it to banish mu bittersweet mental images of Padfoot (yes, I'm calling Sirius by his nickname... I do that when I start being sentimental. I'm like a human hosepipe who tends not to cry!) whacking Bludgers right and left, grinning doggishly all the while. Aaaanyway, I like how you use different fonts for everyone's handwriting.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74932Chapter: 5
“Is there something good about gagging?” *grin* And have you memorized "Magical Beasts and Where to Find Them"? But Curie doesn't make much sense yet. So when she's pissed-off, she tends to make stuff explode. Like Harry does. And there's something wrong with her being recognized...? And I guess she's in a lot of danger, but why?

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74930Chapter: 4
*imitating announcer at amusement park rides* Keep ALL hands AND feet OUT of the Pest Pot at ALL TIMES! And away from the Chizpurfles, too. When're Curie and Remus going to quit bantering like their lives depend on it? And what's wrong with Curie? Is there any reason she can't Apparate? Why's she so upset about meeting Bree? And what's the deal about her father?

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74925Chapter: 3
Er, well, either Mrs. Rowling's being quietly evil, or in the Harry Potter books silver doesn't hurt werewolves, 'cos- well, Mrs. Rowling must be being quietly evil, 'cos in O.o.t.P., right before dinner, Mundungus asks Sirius about the goblets, if they're solid silver, Sirius says they are, and then Mrs. Rowling makes sure to mention that Lupin's drinking wine from one of those silver goblets. So I bet he'd have twice as much of a hangover! And does anyone besides me think it's lucky that Wolf!Lupin didn't manage to bite his paw/hand off when he was spending the full moon in the Shrieking Shack? Distressed animals often do that, and... don't look a gift horse in the mouth.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74924Chapter: 2
I've heard a theory about Lupin having French ancestors before... never mind how I got that idea myself. Anyhow, he has to be really sneaky, doesn't he? Wouldn't he be surprised if Mr. Grapple recognized his Boggart and didn't give a damn at all? He'd probably just stand there with his eyes the size of saucers and his mouth agape for about ten whole minutes! But Curie is sneakier.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74922Chapter: 1
*grin* Yeah, how come he had all these Kappas and Grinylows and Red Caps on hand? Anyhow, what're they up to? Especially, what possessed Remus to take on a job like this? Apparently he doesn't mind it, but if I was him...

Reviewer: ADate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69841Chapter: 1
Hi! I was wondering... sequel? Oui? Non? Please yes! The Epilogue was like a cliffhanger in itself!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64989Chapter: 15
So sad. No more like wistful. Those are great OC's. Very real with a natural feel to them. I think my favorite parts are the action parts though. When Silver and Rouge were working. nice bit about making her Silver. Pain comes in many forms, doesn't it?

Great work!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64927Chapter: 1
Just FYI: The good news is, I am definitely planning a sequel -- two, in fact. The first sequel will probably be short; the second sequel will clear up the Remus issues that were referred to in the prologue. The bad news is, it probably won't hit SQ until sometime next year. Thanks for all the reviews, everyone!

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64896Chapter: 15
A lovely story, but I find myself somewhat unsatisfied with the ending. Why? Well, what happened to Remus? From the looks of him in PoA, he'd been out of work for a while, so obviously he lost his job at some point. The only person connected with Grapple's who found out about his lycanthropy was Obliviated before she could tell anyone. So... what happened? Does this mean we get a sequel? ::hopeful look::

Silver is a strong, human OC, and the rest of your world is nicely fleshed out as well. You have a gift for atmosphere and setting; the Epilogue particularly has a 'real' feeling without being overly verbose.

Here's to a sequel, and possible romance for our favorite werewolf!

Happy writing,
Lin

Reviewer: LoresDate: 2003-12-26
Reviewid: 64834Chapter: 1
Loved this story, any chance of a sequel? Will beg shamelessly if it helps.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64710Chapter: 1
I've just read the prologue. Your dialogue shines, shines, shines!

I'm very curious about these characters.

Anxious to read the next part.

Catherine

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64690Chapter: 15
It's finally finished! And it's wonderful! It's a pity it took quite a long time before it was finished, because I've forgotten some details from the previous chapters. But that doesn't matter much. I like the story, and especially the last chapter and the epilogue. It's nice to see that Silver comes to terms a bit with her past and her being an almost-Squib.

"Welcome to the Kni – ah, you again! Return trip?"
I had to laugh at that. :)

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61532Chapter: 13
grrr another unfinished one!! finish, i'm starting to have trouble keeping track of all the different stories i need to read the rest of! :) great story so far. I'm dying to know Curie's secret. I mean ok so her dad died. I'm guessing either he was a muggle born or just plain muggle, but i lean towards the former anyway. What's up with Curie? at first I thought she was a squib, she obviously didnt go to Hogwarts, but apparently she has some magic. Is it just that it isnt all that strong? or is it just because she was never formally trained (hence the reason she has accidental magic so much)? I dont get it. but I'm dying to find out. finish!!

Reviewer: HosannaDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61311Chapter: 13
The alliterated chapter titles are neat.

I am now even MORE curious as to what is going on. Some facts are clear, but I think there's a piece missing in the puzzle. I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52785Chapter: 12
I've just read all the chapters of your story, and I'll post one review for all of them.

The Prologue is quite interesting. After reading all those chapters, I still don't know what they were talking about, but I suppose we'll find out eventually.

It's a strange job for Remus, but at least he's making some money and he's getting some experience with Defence Against the Dark Arts, his best subject. I thought he didn't knew much about the creatures, though. With high marks for DADA, he should have known all the creatures he's fighting in his new job. On the other hand, they seem to fight annoying, but not Dark creatures too.

I wonder how Jeanne and Curie would ever have managed to find the two half-Thestrals if Remus hadn't been there...

The Visibility Spectacles are highly interesting. A nice invention, and a good explanation why Jeanne was able to discover Remus' secret quickly. I was shocked that Remus just Obliviated her. It's not out of character, though. But I would've liked to know what Jeanne was up to. For a moment I was afraid she would take him to M.S.P.C.C. Headquarters, when she said "You see, Monsieur Lupin, as you may know, the official M.S.P.C.C. policy on werewolves is that, absent any immediate threat, they should be treated similarly to other magical creatures".

I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter. You've kept us wondering for about 8 chapters what is so special about Curie.

I think you've done a good job writing a entertaining story, quite action-packed, while you're still not telling us everything and that way making us continue to read it.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49870Chapter: 12
"he felt fortunate that he had not been so far gone as to lose the sense of self-preservation that had kept him from inflicting any serious harm to his underside…Wait, what am I thinking? He frowned. He would not think of his body that way, as if it were a beast’s. It would have been bad if I’d ripped my belly open. "

This was powerful. I often wonderen how he would think about himself - sometimes human, sometines beast...

The part about Sirius and his family was also powerful. And what a foreshadowing, with that duel in the Great Hall idea.

Curie mystery is really something - the more yoy tell us, the ore mysterious it gets!

And oh my, I hope they do not have to fight a crocodile! Do they?

Great job with golf, and thoughtful autor notes.
Thank for letiing us know the chapter is up!

Reviewer: KerryDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49865Chapter: 12
Fantastic as always! I loved the little "Marauders" section - it really adds to Remus' history, and plumps up his character nicely! Please post again soon, I can hardly wait!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49508Chapter: 12
Yay, new chapter!

The first thing that struck me about this chapter was the interaction at the beginning bw Sirius, Peter and Remus. It was really nicely done. Lol...I love how Sirius is written here. And:

“I know what sarcasm is,” Peter said, and Remus could just imagine the pouting expression on his face as he said it.

I loved this line. Peter, trying to fit in but just not quite making it, and pouting from Sirius's sharp humor, with Remus taking it in. It was a little thing, but it captured the scene and characters nicely for me.

Curie - Still loving her. Part of her story has been revealed, but there's still things I'm intrigued over. I already said she's a nicely rounded OC I really enjoy reading, but I'll say it again, lol. And we got to see a good deal of Rouge, which is always an amusing and fun time to be had. It's easy to immerse myself in reading your story and caring about your characters, so thanks for a great read again. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49464Chapter: 12
Oh that's good, I can't wait to see how this turns out! It's bound to be entertaining! Post soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47872Chapter: 1
I read this last night, and must say that I was quite impressed. You dealt very well with Remus, but I was much more impressed with Curie. Though I started reading late, I kept reading because I wanted to find out what her secret is. While you have shown us a part of it, I know there is more yet to come from her, and I look forward to finding it out. Bravo!

Reviewer: Charis IadDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47739Chapter: 11
I don't know how I'm going to deal with this last week without school I keep finding new fanfics to rave about, but which definitely do not have enough chapters to keep me satisfied for 5 boring days without work or roommate. AAAAAAAHHHH!!!
I really like the characterization of Moony. I like his personality, his respect for other people's secrets, and his humble, even deprecating impressions of himself. I think he fits charmingly in with the DADA professor whom JKR portrays him as in POA. I think that you have done a remarkable job at feeling the real Remus.
Thanks for this story.
Charis Iad, who waits with bated breath for fresh chapters, even though she's supposed to be packing.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47602Chapter: 11
A few more replies:

John, I have uploaded a revised chapter six where I've changed "Trelawney's office" to "Divination classroom". I suppose some can nitpick as to whether the same classroom was used before Trelawney, but I didn't want to take out the silver ladder reference, so I hope that flies. FYI I started this story pre-OotP, but I've revised it slightly post-OotP to confirm with post-OotP canon.

Kate Lynn: Thank you for the thoughtful review! :) I do think you have something there about the plot switches. I started this fic with a "I wonder if" type of idea about what kind of work Remus might have had a chance to do, but (besides Curie's secret) I didn't have an overarching plot in mind, so this story is rather episodic. The new story I'm tossing around will probably be a bit more structured, unless I get hit by a lot of plot bunnies.

wslamexe: Canonically, Remus didn't know who really betrayed the Potters until PoA. But I wouldn't say he hates Sirius in my story, either, it's a little more complex than that. I think of him as feeling much more hurt and shock than anger. Such as how he wanted to throw out Sirius's gifts, but couldn't bring himself to do it.

Again, thanks for all the comments! :)

Reviewer: wslamexeDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47579Chapter: 11
wow, this is really cool...
Ijust have a wondering tought..
in canon, does it specifiies (sorry i know my english sucks), that Remus hated Siruis,
or did he knew that peter was the one that had murdered the potter's...

that's my doubt, apart form that,. :) this is a really neat story, hope to see the next chapter's , and if posibble the next story..

jjaj :)
wsl

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47557Chapter: 11
Ah, time for a more proper review! 8-)

I was so glad to see a new chapter up. Overall, I love this story. You've expanded nicely upon Lupin's character, while keeping him believable from what we know of him in canon. I love how you've incorporated the prejudices and restrictions placed on werewolves, and how Lupin deals with it. He's tough, but also reserved and thoughtful - def a Gryffindor, but not just one. He's grown from having to live with his condition, and i think it gives him a sensitivity to people that you show well.

The only thing that I noticed <and this is probably purely a personal preference> is that the transitions to different viewpoints and story plots seems at times a little abrupt. But really, that's only once or twice, and usually they are really seamless. I'm never at a loss or confused, so really, even when it felt a little abrupt to me it did work. So that's prob just personal and not even really constructive, lol...sorry, but pretty much everything works for me in this story, so i gave you my one nit-pick. 8-)

I also do love your OCs. I did notice how they were all 'misfits' of a sort, but they aren't all just the same character, either. Each one has a distinctive baggage, if you want to call it that, and personality and way they relate to the things going on around them. Misfits can also be cliched, but you manage to make them come alive and be real and interesting. I adore Matthew and how he puts himself down, I want more of him, lol. And Jeannie is just wonderfully developed. And Grapple is just cool, with a physical malfunction that serves well the illustrate the internal ones that others have, or the werewolf one Lupin deals with. It makes sense for these people to be drawn together under Grapple, and seeing them interact is so intriguing.

So, loving it. Can't wait to see more, i'll be sad when it's over. I hope you do write another one in this universe. You've created one that I totally can picture and loose myself in. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47467Chapter: 7
Great story so far. Just felt like making one little note. Trelawney wouldn't have been at Hogwarts when Lupin was there. The timing is a little off. She started a couple of years(?) before Harry was born.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47365Chapter: 11
Hi everyone! Thanks again for the reviews. Just wanted to warn you that the next chapter might not arrive as quickly as this one, but I will try to have it up soon, hopefully by next weekend, but it might take a little bit longer, perhaps two weeks. But I figured that it would be cruel and unusual punishment to keep you waiting on the cliffhanger for two weeks. ;-)

I'm glad people seem to be enjoying my OCs. Now, I admit that I didn't sit down and think "let's have all my OCs be misfits" when I started the fic, but that's the way it worked out, everyone has some kind of "handicap", even Grapple himself (the limp), and they all deal with their weaknesses in different ways...Curie with her know-it-all act, Matthew with his shyness and self-deprecation, Jeannie with her, well, attitude (which I myself find hard to describe in a few words, but it's there). I wasn't sure Matthew was a strong enough character to catch people's attention, so I'm glad Lin noticed him!

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47340Chapter: 11
I've always wondered how Remus would make a living, what with the Werewolf Registry and all the anti-werewolf prejudice. This is shaping up to be a very good fic, with interesting OCs and a nicely IC Remus :) I like reading about all the misfits that work for Grapple; Remus, Matthew with his stutter, and of course Curie with her anger magic. Thank you for updating promptly!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47298Chapter: 11
I've been meaning to review for some time. I simply love your story. I like how mysterious Curie/Silver is -- what is her secret!!?? I like that she and Remus are friends, although their relationship seems pretty formal, still. The whole thing is very intriguing, and the writing very good.

I'm especially glad to see another chapter so quickly. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47283Chapter: 11
Wow, this was a great chapter, some turns of events!

Jennie and her detentions from Madame Maxime, he-he.

At first, I thought that Remus would not go as far as obliviating her... that's what happends when you have weapons "just in case, for self-defence"... well, he did, and then he was sorry he did...

Not that what Ministry does to Muggles is such a good example to follow, hmm.

Reviewer: KerryDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47281Chapter: 11
Now I can't wait to read the next piece and see if Silver discovers Remus' secret! I'm really enjoying this fic, please keep writing!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46952Chapter: 1
Hi everyone! Thanx bunches for the reviews! First of all, re the cliffhanger, please don't fret too much, I should have the next chapter up around next weekend. Also, FYI I have revised the "Intriguing Interview" chapter to reflect OotP, so that the story can now be called "post-OotP". If you're interested, check out the chapter again. They're very small revisions, though, and don't impact the plot.

This story should be over in three more chapters, but I am considering writing another fic in this "universe", though if I do I probably won't have it up until the late autumn months. And I do have some plot bunnies floating around for "one-shot" stories, so stay tuned to your friendly Sugar Quill!

Reviewer: KerryDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46808Chapter: 10
This is a truly amazing piece of work, and I can't wait for more of it to be written! Definitely the best Remus fic around!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46716Chapter: 10
Wow! Now, I hope the next chapter in on the way, I can't wait! This is some turn of events at tne end!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46644Chapter: 10
Oh, I love this! I adore how you've written Lupin. You have a nice writing style, and the plot is intriguing. I look forward to reading more of your work. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: KerryDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45703Chapter: 9
I have to say this is one of the best "Moony" fics I've ever read! The first eight chapters are superbly written, full of both humour and suspense, and I cannot wait to read the ninth!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41692Chapter: 9
"As Remus couldn’t think of anything remotely diplomatic to say to that, he stayed quiet."
What a neat little Remus thing!
I liked how you worked little OotP-inspired details in subtly enough, without the story screaming "I am post-OotP!!!"
The story is getting more and more intriguing - I hope to see the new chapter soon.

Reviewer: EloraDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40609Chapter: 3
Very interesting story! I have to admit even my mum can't write a story like this (she's a writer) Keep updating!!

Reviewer: HosannaDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38600Chapter: 8
This is one of the better Remus fics I have read. I like the way you integrate being a werewolf into his daily life. I have read fics where the only difference between him and regular people is at the full moon. The constant references, especially in the context of his job, are fascinating.

Silver is the first original character I've seen that I'm interested in. And I very much like the fact that Remus is sharing center stage with her.

And the prolouge really has me intrigued.

Just wondering, if you have any idea when you will finish this? This is one of the few fics that I'm impatient to see what will happen, and went searching the web for anything else by the same author.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36585Chapter: 2
Great chapter, I like how you deal with Remus's insecurities and doubts. Turning the moon to cheese and having Peter eat the cheese was a nice touch. YOu really captured Remus's sadness and the touch of humor the scene evoked.

Grapple sounds like quite a character. He reminds me of a less paranoid Moody. I liked his test for the applicants. Silver's thoughts on the last applicant running away screaming at an augary was funny!

Nice job!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32340Chapter: 1
I really like the title of this piece.

Intriguing bits of information, the life debt and the code names for Remus and Curie.

Curie's description of her interaction with Snape was perfect! I can just picture that scene so clearly! And now I'm very curious about her own secret.

Great prologue, just enough teasers blended with familiarity to get me hooked!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31934Chapter: 8
WOW! This scene was powerful!

“Well, sad to say, I don’t really remember it, myself, except having this sudden urge to fly up to the Owlery – but then Madame Flambeau, our Potions Mistress, turned me back. See, what forced Transfiguration does is…”
“…it makes you lose your mind,” Remus said, then immediately regretted it as he realized the words had come out much harsher than he’d meant them to. Shut up right now and act normal, he told himself, sternly. Still, the idea that people could get it into their heads to forcibly Transfigure another made him shiver, though he supposed Camille might not have been totally of human mind herself at the time."

The whole animagi conversation - great job!

Hey, is Camilla Fleur's mother?

Oh, and you even remembered the poor Icarus - nice touch!

"He handed his broomstick to Jeannie, and made a gesture as if he was about to help her to his feet.
“Sure,” Curie lied, as she jerked away from him and jumped up. Rouge quickly stepped back from her, and Curie wondered if she had inadvertently insulted him. "
A nice touch.

"Remus had never thought that Jeannie could look so angry. There was no trace of the smile that usually played upon her face. Indeed, she looked so ferocious that he felt a slight inclination to hide behind the bilberry bushes until she calmed down, even though she seemed to be ignoring him completely while she chewed Silver out. "

Hee, I really, really like that Jeannie!

Oh, and the end was very nice, full of action - please keep your word and continue soon!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30228Chapter: 1
Thanks again for the reviews! :) I apologize for the delay (again), but I am unfortunately very busy in RL. May is shaping up to be a little more relaxed, so I hope I can update more frequently then (especially with OotP release date looming...) Insanity70, I'm glad you liked Jeannie...she was rather hard to write. I knew the basic facts about her, but it was difficult to create a supporting character with a defined personality, because I have less "screen time" for her than for Remus and Curie. Also, it seems the fic is turning out to be longer than I first planned...it might go 10 chapters. Hopefully, if OotP doesn't contradict it too much, I'll write another fic in this universe over the summer. :)

Reviewer: PiratDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30174Chapter: 7
Hey, I like this story. Remus is very Remus: nice, but not a pushover, sad, strong, mysterious. And your OCs are looking good too, I agree with Insanity. You seem to have a bit of a bad luck though, publishing the same day as AtE is posted, darn it, people are not too willing to read new authors on days like that. I suggest you publish more often, you will have better chance to get R&R (may start pleading for R&R, too, it works for others, even if I personally hate it). Really, your story deserves more attention, this last chapter was very nice!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29919Chapter: 7
I was so glad to see the new chapter - and I was NOT disappointed. The plot is gettting more and more interesting, with new glimpses into Curie's backgrownd, and Jeannie is a very cool OC! Honestly, it's a first time I see a Remus fic where OC might be even more (well, at least as much) intersting than he is - I did not think it possible!

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27598Chapter: 1
Rouge, hmm? Interesting nickname for Remus! He seems more of a silver creature than a red one.

And so Curie has a crush on him, not that I blame her.

The conversation between the two reveals Remus's history of fighting Dark magic in a natural way, and shows what he must have gone through as a werewolf. I like how Curie was ambivalent about killing werewolves--she understands how it may be necessary at first, but can't fathom the idea after learning the truth about Remus.

I'll review the rest of the story later, but great job on the beginning!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25166Chapter: 6
***Silver laughed. “Maybe,” she said. “Though Mrs. Quirrell said it just ‘followed him home’ one night. Wonder if it’s a female?”

Remus nearly spit out his butterbeer, and struggled to dispel the image that comment summoned to his mind, before it rendered his food even less appetizing.***
OH so THAT is what Quirrell's talent with trolls meant??!! Nice little "elaboration" the piece of canon.

And the last several paragraphs (with James and Quidditch) are incredible.
This is getting better and better.
Insanity

Reviewer: Insanity 70Date: 2003-03-10
Reviewid: 23480Chapter: 5
OK, now I am even more curious ... I mean, intersted in what all this means and what is going to happen! :-) Nice job!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-02-26
Reviewid: 22018Chapter: 4
What an absolutly spifferific fic! I love Remus fics, and this is definitly one of the best! I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21880Chapter: 1
This is a very interesting story. The plotline is very original. I like the dynamics of the relationship between Lupin and Curie, it's more complex than what most authors attempt.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21830Chapter: 4
Oh, wow, this is getting better and better! A pair of know-it-all, very nicely done. And a cliffhanger! So now you really have to update soon, this is getting interesting!
And it is also very realistically shown how small, no-harm-intended, everyday comments and things can be difficult, uncomfortable and painful when you are "different".
Great job, keep it up!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21828Chapter: 4
Eek!

You do a good job of showing their annoyance with each other.... They'll have to get over being irritated with each other's competence before they can be really good partners, I guess. Poor Remus, being Chiz-bit and wondering if he'll give himself away....

This is such an intriguing story. Even if I'm squeaking about the end.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20268Chapter: 1
Just wanted to say, thanks to everyone who left comments! :o) Sorry for the long delay between Chapter 1 and Chapter 2, I'm in school and January was crazily busy. The next installment should be ready soon. The way I have this fic planned, it's mainly an introduction to this "universe" and characters, and it's not going to be that long, probably around 6-8 chapters. But I am planning at least two other fics in this "universe", and maybe more if inspiration strikes me.

Reviewer: JenDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19991Chapter: 1
Yay, an update!! I'm really excited. This story is going places. Indeed a very good chapter and reading it made me reread the story so I could remember. Good job again. Curie is just becoming more and more of a great charater. So mysterious. I love the little ironies you put in the story, they really shape the story. Thanks for the new chapter.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19974Chapter: 3
Ooo, interesting! I liked the explanation for Remus' code name and his reflections on silver. I totally forgot that werewolves had a bad reaction to it!

And Remus' taking a job disposing of magical creatures -- I don't think it's strange at all. He's dealt with a magical creature every month for most of his life! More soon, please -- this is really good work!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19942Chapter: 3
***“Oh, so it’s not like you got hurt fighting some terrible monster?”

Curie was quite surprised to see Rouge’s face turn even paler; she hadn’t thought that was possible. “No, of course not. Not too many terrible monsters run around inside Hogwarts, you know.” ***

Oh, poor "monster".

The part about Sirius and the Quick Quotes Quill is very, very nice too ... and the last few lines really make sense in that SIrius as a traitor and murdered DOES NOT make sense.

It's good to see you writing again. This is meant as a pretty long fic, I assume? Silver seems to be shaping up as an interesting OC. Are we going to see some action?

Reviewer: bonnieDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19272Chapter: 1
Excellent story. Please finish. It would be terrible to have another good unfinished Remus Story.
Inspiration Vibes to you!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19141Chapter: 2
This is really nice, and very plausible thing for Remus to be doing, very in character. I hope you will finish this!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16045Chapter: 1
I'm very impressed by your story, it drew me in and now I cannot wait to see what you have in store for the readers. I like your characterzation of Silver/Curie and cannot wai to see what will happen between her and Remus. This proves to be a very fruitful story and I look forward to your next update. Good luck!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15479Chapter: 2
*laughs* I like the literary reference, though it's not one I'm familiar with; very clever.

I'm enjoying the story, too. An interesting premise, well done, and Remus's interview is, indeed, intriguing.

Reviewer: FAwnDate: 2002-12-23
Reviewid: 13729Chapter: 1
Forgive me for the question, but do you mean to call Remus "Rouge" (rooj - like face powder) or "Rogue" (like the x-man character)?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --