The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Stars In the River
Review(s): 348

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-16
Reviewid: 146458Chapter: 30
Most Excellent - Thanks.

Reviewer: StormriderDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133729Chapter: 25
Re-reading your stories while waiting for RL to give you a break, and noticed this:

An electric shudder ran through his body. Eyes wild, he clutched her shoulders. "This is it, we're going to die!"

It seems rather prophetic, you know, having Snape quote Arthur Dent like this... ^_^;

Reviewer: itor66Date: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114895Chapter: 30
Just Smashing. The King is progressing nicely. And it is true, no one that walks the earth is totally lost, the nazgul was close, but you have shown a wonderful progression as he grows and changes. May he yet find piece in the halls of the elves? Good Story.

Reviewer: Itor66Date: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114888Chapter: 24
An absolutely wonderful read. Such words to bring a nazgul to life and then to show him changing. And the interaction with his new folk, just awesome. Any more of these coming after this story is done?

Your efforts are appreciated.

Reviewer: EowynDate: 2005-02-08
Reviewid: 113212Chapter: 3
I liked the first story very much. Glad to see someone reads LotR completely (including the Silmarilion) However I think the Nazgul is extremely unrealistic. Nazgul just don't behave like that.

Reviewer: ricDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99778Chapter: 30
I so throughought enjoyed this. I can't think of any crossovers with lotr that blended together so elegantly and don't make the reader thing... 'that really is rather lame isn't it?' .. its also nice to see attention paid to both the silmarillion, my personal favorite, as well as the trilogy.
i just found this the day before yesterday and was so wrapt in it that well the work I could put off certainly was as I read my way through.

i felt enchanted a bit myself reading it, bravo, I eagerly await more.

Reviewer: Firenze StarfireDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65502Chapter: 7
Is he Good or Evil? Weird... Well done though, I love your story... Snape the good guy is fun to read...

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61729Chapter: 24
Slytherin part of his mind was nattering frantically about the approaching danger Lucius posed and shouldn't he be planning some sort of defense? The Gryffindor part of his psyche promptly bundled the prudent serpent into a cupboard in his mind and shut the door firmly.

Well, lions are a bit..foward at times. Great chapter!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61484Chapter: 6
The Simarillion:
I have never been able to get through this. Should I listen to music or something when I read it? I love all of JRR Tolkien's other work but I'm stuck when it comes to the The Simarillion. Help!?
But Great job and go on for glory!

Reviewer: Chocolate MuseDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61389Chapter: 23
Well, a long, long time ago, I can still remember, when I read your first story, just as it was starting out, and followed this one for about five chapters, and lost interest. Well, upon finding out that you were writing yet another one, I just HAD to finish reading this one! As of yet, it is simply fantastic, and I love Garbardon! Seeing as how I must now go to sleep, I will have to finish this later *pout*

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58775Chapter: 30
Oh boy, first Snape and Eregion, and then their horses! Do I feel shocked. I had had to calm myself down before really going hysterical and before anyone thinks that I'm going insane! Anyways, nice work done Murasaki99. I'm now going on to read the next story!

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58451Chapter: 8
Oh my word! I've been giggling like madly (when I was at my local library, on a computer of course) and had decided to save the best part for later. I'm still giggling like madly when I just read the last of this chapter! Yes, yes, I will go on to the next chapter to find out what's next. Oh Albus, sometimes I wonder WHAT are you really getting into and why, you cheeful little bumblebee.
-A 16 year-old dressed on Halloween as Prof. McGonagall
October 31, 2003
Carry on your stories Musaki99! (I'll read the next sequel)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56734Chapter: 30
I don't think I was able to reach the very end of this chapter and thus was unable to leave a review...anyway, I am raring to start on the next installment, so let me just be generic and say very very good job as always :) The last line had me in stitches.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56641Chapter: 30
I told you I'd be back. And this review is even longer, if that's possible. In case you can't tell, I kind of take notes as I read, recording my favorite lines and my impressions. You shoud know I only do this for the very best stories!

Great scene with Snape, Eregion, and Draco. Looks like there could be some hope for Draco yet.

Oops. That is, assuming he survives his father’s attack.

Whaaaaaa? “Cure” him????? I don’t know how much good that will do…although I’m looking forward to finding out.

“Severus found so many arguments to the contrary springing to his lips that none of them could emerge in any sort of coherent order, and he was reduced to making strangled fizzing sounds of dismay” ROFLMAO!!!!

It’s also great that he can shoo his clothing to the coat rack. Great detail!

Loved the confrontation between Lucius and the King. Especially the references to betraying the Queen. We don’t think of the Wizarding World that way much, but they are English subjects, aren’t they? AND you’ve got a wonderful LotR reference there with the “Daybreak approaches” speech. I wonder what Lucius can learn from Gobardon?

“Salazar’s Fang”, was it? You don’t overlook the tiny details, either, do you?

Draco can definitely learn some things from the King too. I get the feeling he will learn much more (and understand much better) than his father could.

You know, I can’t see canon Draco heading this way, but it seems perfectly logical in your story. I even like the ferret-boy! Living with Snape and Eregion (not to mention their Lord) for the summer will be VERY good for him, I think.

GREAT toy from the Twins! For some reason I found the phrase “various cute, fluffy forms” very funny. Snape’s reaction was priceless!

Hmm…the Malfoys in Patagonia. *thinks for a minute, then nods* I like it.

You have SUCH a way with words! “Pigwidgeon plopped down upon Ron like a wet sponge” :)

Oooh, yay, it looks like the Trio will have a little adventure before the end! These whole last chapters are wonderful!!

Have I mentioned I like the way you work God into this? It’s so…natural. It’s too bad that the Wizarding World seems so unaware. Harry’s idea about asking permission is perfectly perfect!

I’m looking forward to your next story! Can’t wait for a confrontation between Voldemort and the King, not to mention a little Snape! Can they tell the sex of the baby yet? ;)

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-10-15
Reviewid: 56587Chapter: 25
Finally, FINALLY catching up on this story. I just read chapters 13-25, and hope to finish it tomorrow. I took lots of notes, mostly of lines that were perfect. (I'll get to those in a minute.)

I think you've done a great job of bringing the LotR world into the world of Harry Potter. Snape has changed a lot, but you've kept it believable - which is a hard thing to do, I think, working in an AU. At least, that's what I've noticed in the AU's I've read.

Lines I liked and my reactions:
(I've pared this down some - there were lots of parts that had me laughing out loud, but I don't want this review to be out of control! :) )

Loved the way the whole school wants Snape back - "even Neville". You'd never imagine that other teachers for Potions could make it so bad!

“The quality of the kings of Middle-Earth has declined greatly since our time, Failivrin Indorion. If I am now considered the best example of kingship…"
That’s pretty sad, really, especially since it’s most likely true.

ROFL at the Trio as a black colt, a bay colt, and a chestnut filly!!!

Squeee! “Three” subjects!

Loved seeing Numenor under the ocean like that! Why could North Star show them that?

“Permission to come aboard?” ROFL! And now the Trio are Squires and a Sheildmaiden, hmm? Great!

"Ah, hullo. I don't think we've met?" Ron asked politely. He was pale from either cold or fright, perhaps both, but the king admired his pluck.
Go Ron!!!! This is just so…Ron. Great job.

Whenever those British Airways tickets to Numenor DO become available, please book me a seat!

Snape looked appalled and stepped forward to feel Ron's forehead. "Hold still, Mr. Weasely. You and Miss Grainger must be coming down with a fever." He glanced at Harry with a worried frown. "What about yourself, Mr. Potter? Do you also share their delusion?"
Perfect response! Just what Snape would do (OK, not in canon, but in your story).

"What? But… I thought you were counting the dog!"
ROFLMAO!!! This whole scene is wonderful!

"Spells are easy," Ron grumped. "It's adults I'll never understand."
The perpetual cry of teenagers everywhere!

Woo-Hoo! Hogwarts has the “Red Book”! That’s AWESOME!

'“You haven't looked in a mirror lately, have you? You're flamin' gorgeous, you are!" Tui gazed up at him with rapt attention, a smile on her face, hands clutched at her chest.'
Yay! This is a wonderful idea! Tui and a Nazgul. Perfect. :)

I like Draco’s concern for Snape. Very plausible.

The conversation at the Slytherin table is great. I bet Draco gets just a bit bored there, sometimes, hmm?

Hey, is that Lucius that Draco saw? Good thing Gobardon's hanging around.

I really love this story. Like I said, I hope to finish it tomorrow. I'll review more then.

Reviewer: sasmonDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54939Chapter: 30
i havent read any lord of the rings crossovers before as they never seem to do the books justice. but this is wonderful, really brought to life. a big wow.

Reviewer: AlexandraDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54317Chapter: 30
This was even better than Clouds Over Snow. I'm so sorry it's over -- I printed it out and carried it around, and mailed Clouds to my sister-in-law. I have enjoyed Snape's struggles against his own proud, suspicious and cynical nature, and if anything would have been convinced by more wavering and inconsistency. It is very hard to give up one's mistrust and fear of betrayal, and except for that one moment on Nox Fortuna's back, I'm not sure Snape ever became conscious of the work he was doing. My own experience as a human being and a psychotherapist is that this kind of work is easier when we know we are doing it; otherwise the defensive responses push people away without our realising it. Certainly Eregion knew what was going on. Why did she never choose to tell him?

When can I start on Lions??? I'm so looking forward to it.












I'

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53904Chapter: 30
*giggle* Do you know what a hilarious picture you gave me in your response to my last comments? Now I'm picturing Lucius Malfoy with an SUV or king cab pickup! Huge and black, of course, with green and silver detailing . . . oh, and there must be a hood ornament! How about a serpent's head, like the cane? ;-)

Now, as to your latest installment . . .

I positively tingled at "God's there." This story is taking on deeps that I wouldn't have imagined when I first started to read it, and I like that very much. My heart ached when Harry talked about how peaceful it was there, how his scar didn't hurt and he didn't have any nightmares. Hey, can *I* go and live there?! Oh, and Gobardon's shock over the idea of "asking permission" was priceless. He's lived a long time, but it's good to see he's still capable of being surprised.

What fun that Nox is expecting, too! And Snape's closing line was perfect: leave it to him to think of the practicalities. I can hardly wait for the next story. Please make it soon!

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53468Chapter: 30
Hhhmmm, I'm excited about the next book. I love that you brought God into it. I really love it, it has always bothered me that Harry Potter has always been without any sort of higher being. There is always something no matter where you go. I am a Christian, so the reference to God, the One, rings true to me, and I love the way you wrote it, but still in canon there's nothing. It bothers me, everyone needs something to believe in, even if they don't neccissarily believe what I do. Harry might have more hope if he believed in something. But then I suppose it might be harder to sell wouldn't it? Ah well, beautifully written, and I get such a kick out of the idea of going to the mountain to ask God's permission! It's funny to me for some reason. Oh I do hope you start the next book soon, I'm excited. I'm glad Nox is pregnant, it's sweet that they're pregnant together, and it seems like it gives more hope. Poor Severus, he just has issues with this thing called reproduction huh? :) Well, write and update quickly(oh and I identify with the up late work late ideology! ugh!) I'll be looking forward to it!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53461Chapter: 30
Sorry it took so long to get a review posted!

They are going to ask permission to un-sink Numenor??? Wow. That'll be interesting!

I was wondering when Nox would make an appearance. :-)

Looking forward to the next fic... with all the stuff that's happened in recent chapters of this story, it's bound to be great!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Romm/MaliDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53133Chapter: 30
Heh, I love Snape's comments when mixed in with Eregion and Gobardon's. They're busy being noble seeing the sarcastic contrast of Snapes ahh... not so optimistic thoughts is very entertaining.

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53115Chapter: 30
*happy sigh*

Fabulous ending. Looking forward to the sequel - heheh - the Tolkien Curse can be a pain, ain't it? We readers are thankful for it, though - heheh.

Can I just say I LOVE Harry? Absolutely adore that boy? Raising Atlantis (Numenor) out of the depths indeed....now why oh why am I suddenly as certain as G.A. that if that particular kid asks The One for permission to raise the bloody place, he'll get it?

*giggle*

I shall toddle off to LJ now and rec this thing all over again....

Reviewer: Da BreeDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53027Chapter: 1
to: alex
yes this is the sequel to a story called clouds over snow, it'll fill you in...I guess ;P

Reviewer: alexDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53004Chapter: 2
I'm confused; I just started on chapter one but I seem to be coming into the middle of something. Is this a sequel to another story? I'm new to Sugarquill.

Obviously I like this a lot. I just want to know what came before.

Reviewer: Aenjil ElfDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52990Chapter: 30
*claps hands excitedly* I absoloutely LOVE this! I can't wait for the next book! Poor Ron, he's not too bright... And Hermione is always elbowing him for one reason or another... ^-^ Wow! O.O I didn't know Númenor had that many names!

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52948Chapter: 30
Ha! So both ladies managed to get covered! Just remember the horse takes 11 months, not 9.

Reviewer: Da BreeDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52781Chapter: 29
I LOVE THE NEW CHAPTERS THEY ROCK!! Hey my friend lil' werewolf is writing a fanfic called "Draco and the muggle-born and we were wondering if you would be a Beta reader for us. ('cus It's no good having just me seeing that I can't spell)well I'll try to keep in touch!!. ^_<

Reviewer: Da BreeDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52776Chapter: 29
I LOVE THE NEW CHAPTERS THEY ROCK!!

Reviewer: FinduilasDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52737Chapter: 30
That was worth the wait. I almost CAN'T wait until the next update, but... that was one excellent chapter.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52709Chapter: 30
I was wondering about the "number of elf-children" thing. Fingolfin had three kids and Finarfin had five. Earendil had two, and Elrond had three, and there's speculation that Celebrian wasn't an only child.

I like how the Trio suggested asking Eru. Gee, who'd'a thunk God could be *approachable*? lol

So, um, don't mean to be impatient or anything, but when will there be action again?

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52638Chapter: 30
Start of the new school year, huh?...that ought to be interesting...hooray for a happy chapter! It would be SO COOL if Numenor returned from the sea...

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52498Chapter: 30
The last line is perfect! Hah hah. Yay, the little Snapelet arrives!! And poor Severus, doesn't understand how nature works. Can't wait for the third book!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52493Chapter: 30
I'm sad to see this story end, but delighted that there's more to look forward to!

Your ending was lovely in every respect. I got a laugh out of Ron's answer to Gobardon's question about Draco being a friend to the Trio.

This exchange is my favorite:

"Gobardon Agnen smiled slowly at his open question. "What if I had, Squire Harry? What if I had bound Draco Malfoy to my will with fell magic?" He raised a hand and gold fire sparked for an instant from under the covering of his leather glove.

Harry felt cold sweat prickle his skin. Outside the dark windows of the hidden study, snow was now falling. He was suddenly aware of how tall the king was. Power and strength lay like an invisible mantle over his shoulders. Ron's face held alarm, Hermione simply looked thoughtful. "Well, I suppose we'd have to try and free him, sir. It's not right to hold someone against their will." Harry looked up into the king's pale face. "Even if you don't like them."

"What, not even Draco the ferret?" asked Ron in an undertone. The question earned him a dig in the ribs from Hermione.

"No, not even Draco," said Harry firmly. He gazed at the king soberly. "But you haven't, have you?"

The Númenorean smiled. "Yours is a perceptive heart, Squire Harry. Draco Malfoy is under no constraint or spell of my devising. He simply acts out of knowledge gained from his hard-won position as warrior."

I'm glad that Harry, Ron and Hermione know what's been happening with Draco. It's enlightening to see familiar people from different angles. And I was delighted with Hermione's thoughtful response to Gobardon's question and Harry's heartfelt one.

Another exquisite exchange:

"Harry thought for nearly a minute while the fire crackled and popped. "Um… could we ask permission then?"

"Ask… permission…" The king stared at Harry as if he had never seen him before.

"Yeah!" Ron nearly bounced in his enthusiasm. "I mean, what could it hurt?"

Out of the mouths of babes...

And speaking of babes, Severus-the-father-to-be is adorably nervous. It's poignant that Eregion is new at pregnancy and motherhood even after she's lived for so long.

Nox is going to be a mother too! -Grin- When Severus asked "How did that happen?" I burst out laughing. Poor Severus. Azra'mor's smirk made me laugh again... I'm sure that Hagrid didn't mind breeding Nox and Azra'mor at all.

I'm really, really looking forward to "Lions On a Banner!"

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51336Chapter: 29
Patagonia? The Malfoys? LOL!! Somehow, I do *not* see Lucius doing his shopping at Eddie Bauer! But it was great fun to read. This part, however, gave me a bit of a chill . . .

--"But…! No place is safe from Him!" Draco protested, his voice shrill with fear. "He could Apparate right to them!"

"No. He cannot." Eregion shook her head in a firm negative. "Your father and mother will be safe as long as none of us tells anyone of their location." She nodded at Severus. "With your permission, we will burn the letter. That will ensure only the three of us know their plans."

"How can you be so sure they'll be safe?"--

For that matter, how can we be sure Draco and Severus will be safe? (I didn't include Eregion because I know she'd slay Lord Thingy in his tracks if he looked at her the wrong way.) But it'd be just like the Moldie One to do something like kidnap Draco. He never was one to pick on somebody his own size. Still, pity the fool that messes with anybody Eregion has decided to protect, let alone the King. This could get messy.

I also burst out laughing over Arthur's note detailing the odd behaviour of Lucius Malfoy--though it says something of Arthur that he was happy to help out and didn't seem to hold Lucius' former actions against him. Way to go, Arthur. He may come across as pretty absurd sometimes, but that man is one of my heroes.

Good to see Tui again, of course:
"But this – this is bravery and strength. This is the fire that warms without consuming. . . We wizardfolk need this. I can't put it into words, but we need it like living things need air. There is power in it – a good power."

Hey, Tui, this Muggle feels the same way about music! 8-) Don't go hogging it all to yourself . . .

And finally, I liked the cinematic quality of the trio falling through the wall and fetching up right in front of the Nazgul's boots. I could see it happening. BTW, I watched the DVD of *The Two Towers* this weekend and it refreshed my memory of how terrible the Nazgul could be, so this gave a whole new appreciation of your version. Hoping for more soon, as always!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50811Chapter: 29
So Lucius is going to be getting in touch with nature, huh? Hehehe.... I just can imagine him and Narcissa sitting around a campfire zapping bugs with their wands, lol!

Looking forward to the next chapter!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Aenjil ElfDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49967Chapter: 29
I'm so happy Draco gets to stay with Eregion and Severus! He needs a good home... ^-^ *grins* I like Tui better every second. I absoloutely love when Harry, Ron, and Hemione go tumbling into the kings little library... thing... and Ron says, "Well, I think we've found him." The king seems to respect and think funny the brave but often nosey trio...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49918Chapter: 29
Yay! An update, and what an update it was!

Lucius's sudden change was funny. I am of course sorry that it bewildered and distressed Draco so much, but he has the Snapes to go to now so I think he'll weather it just fine. I really enjoyed how Lucius had to go to Arthur Weasley for help -- I'm sure Arthur gave him more info than he needed! (And I can't help but imagine how Lucius might have reacted to Arthur's enthusiasm about his job and willingness to help. I'm sure there was a lesson in there for ol' Lucy.)

Tui's attitudes about the music of Numenor was very moving. I loved the way she spoke about it. LOL, I seemed to see the same fervor in Ron's protests over the decline of the wizarding population. Being a good pure-blooded wizard, I'm sure that he and the rest of the Weasleys will do their part in perpetuating wizardkind ;)

Great job as always! (Oh, and before I went to read this, I saw that you had 311 reviews -- 311 is my favorite number :D Congratulations for reaching it!)

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49639Chapter: 29
Yay, new chapter at last! I was aching for my 'Stars' fix! Mmm, tasty fic. ::contented purring::

I like the scene with Eregion and Severus, just after Draco leaves. *Are* we ever going to see Avenging!Eregion chastise Narcissa? Maybe next story? That would be satisfying... though I think a year of camping in Patagonia will be fairly good punishment for the pampered Mrs. Ferret.

Hmm, Tui and GA now have a standing appointment... does this mean we get some Romantic Tension? :D Maybe even a Romance?

The Trio were quite IC; I can just see them haring off to find the Nazgul King based on the fact that Draco's behaving oddly.


"Should I worry?" asked Ron as they reached the door of the Transfigurations classroom.

"Oh no," Harry said in airy tones. "It should be as safe as anything we've done."

Ron stared at Hermione in alarm. "Now I'm worried."


Hee hee... that's almost as good as that scene in Return of the Jedi; "How we doin', kid?" "Same as always." "That bad, huh?"

::reads reader-responses:: Ooh, spinoffs! Links, anyone?

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49495Chapter: 29
Another amazing chapter. I love the way you're changing Draco slightly and still managing to keep him in-character as you do so, if that makes any sense. I bet Hermione'll love the library!
How many months are left until the baby is born?

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49468Chapter: 29
That is exactly how I pictured Gaearon, a large Irish wolfhound (which I absolutely adore) but a ghost, the red ears and tail are cute though, I like that. I love the way Tui talks about GA's music, it's a beautiful description and it's the truth, people need inspiring powerful music to give them hope and strength. After Sept. 11th, the concerts and new songs and whatnot written just about that gave millions of people new hope, Tui is right on the mark. Though I wonder what the King is remembering on the edge of his consciousness about music and power...hhmmm a puzzle left for you to explain to your faithful readers, like me. :) I dearly love this story you are an excellent author!!! Post again soon!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49454Chapter: 29
"This isn't normal. Father would never want to leave the Ministry, and Mother's deathly afraid of bugs."

I love the way that you write Draco! This line is so endearing.

Gobardon's worked some Nazgul magic, he has!

Another lovely bit:

"Rising, she stepped forward and caught the young man in a fierce hug. For a moment he stood stiffly, as if uncertain what to do, then gradually he relaxed and returned the embrace. At last she released him and held him by the shoulders so she could look into his eyes. "Draco, if you remember only one thing, remember this: it is never any trouble to speak to us, for any reason. It is not weak to worry about your loved ones." She smiled at him. "And it is good tactics to share such fears with those who can perhaps offer assistance at need. We are not without resources, if it should come to that."

Perfect! Eregion's hug reinforced their reassuring words to Draco in a way that spoke louder than any of them. As always, I admire her directness. -Grin- The thought of Eregion speaking to Narcissa 'With edged words or edged steel, depending upon the need' is also delightful...

"...Pigwidgeon plopped down upon Ron like a wet sponge..." LOL!! Arthur's letter to Ron concerning Lucius's eccentricities, and the last bit from Molly about the darning also made me grin.

I LOVE Gobardon's description of Quidditch as "a flying war game!" Perfect! As well as his conclusion that it's proof of the wizards' descent from ancient Numenor!

His thoughts are a perfect prelude to his lovely conversation with Tui about the music of Numenor. It's always a pleasure to see Tui. I love the way she talks to him. This particular exchange is my favorite:

"All I've got is a guitar and a rather Celtic skill for composing lyrics that annoy the powerful."

"That is part of what makes a good Herald, Tui O'Carolan. I already know you have a brave heart, and that is the foremost requirement. You do not need to spill blood to be a warrior."

Never underestimate the power of a song. I wonder where Gobardon's thoughts are leading...?

-Grin- Hermione, Harry and Ron have found their way to Gobardon's sanctuary!! The book carving is PERFECT, as well as the way Gaearon's enthusiastic greeting led Ron to trigger the opening! -Bigger Grin- Gobardon's smile at the sight of his unexpected visitors, I love his dry sense of humor!

More stuff I love, but nearly forgot to mention: Gobardon's gold dot on the map, and Hermione's taking note that the castle could easily hold more students and staff.
(Three times as many? Wow! Poor Filch... he would need to have a few assistants hired if the Castle were filled to capacity.) I hope the wizarding population isn't in decline, that would be tragic. Perhaps the Castle is anticipating future need?

"My baby brother once threw a measuring cup down the toilet and created a perfect blockage that required the plumber to take the toilet apart to fish the thing out - could you see Filch dealing with that?"

Most definitely! Of course he would be grumbling the entire time. -Grin- I hope the Snapelet won't be plugging up any toilets with measuring cups or whatnot... (Nudge, wink!)

Reviewer: lqwampyrDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49425Chapter: 29
I knew Hermione would eventually see this private library. Can't wait for the next chapter, your doing a great job. Wonder what the King will think of how the trio found him? Once again I loved it.

Reviewer: RommDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49424Chapter: 29
Heh, telling me that you re-read it is perfectly fine. I finally managed to finish it myself, and oddly enough it was actually helpful to have people to look for. A bizarre sense of triumph to see something that you've used pop up.

But on to this chapter. It's good to see Draco feel slightly uncomfortable, as he's still adjusting to having a family. Especially a "mother". Is Lucius camping out muggle style? Heh, maybe he'll feel at least a little more empathy for them now.

Reviewer: FinduilasDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49402Chapter: 29
The wait was worth it.
UPDATE! ASAP.

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49204Chapter: 28
I'm back! ^___^ The last several chapters were wonderful. Hehe, I'm beginning to picture Gaearon rather like the Hound of the Baskervilles or something...I especially liked the stuffed animal. D'you have any idea where I can find one?
...gah. And now back to the real world and my Government homework...

Reviewer: R'hanna ShadowbaneDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49143Chapter: 28
REALLY GOOD STORY!! i love lord of the rings... and harry potter... and your story captures both really really well. I wish i'd thought of it first. oh well, at least i can read about it.
Good Job!

Reviewer: SothisDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48460Chapter: 28
I am addicted. Really addicted. Seldom have I read such beautiful stories in so short a period of time, when I should be doing holiday homework instead. Yes, stories. Both of them. How I praise the one who nominated your story for the Galvorn Awards. Never knew Tolkien and HP crossovers could end up so well.

I like your Nazgul King very much, and now has taken to speak like his majesty. Unfortunately, in a very faux Tolkieneax way. I really want to know that spell for calling Eregion(or any other willing fea) back into the world.

The doll from the Weasley twins is adorable. Pity it didn't explode or something.:D

Eregion is very much a belivable elf, and Severus, well, a kind-of-very-much-in-character-and-extremely-snarky-peredhil. It should come to something good. I long to see their child. What kind of celebration would Dumbledore dream up when he/she is born?

Lastly, the true name of Eregion. It may seem rude, but I do want to know why Inglorion. Is it Son, or house or something of Inglor? If that is so, Inglorien(female form) would be nice. And, was she in Gondolin so long ago? If she is of the kin of Feanaro, I find her presence in Gondolin somehow queer. Turgon hated Feanorains.

How did her blonde hair came to be, in her original body? I think this indicates Vanyan blood, and Feanorians are not famous for likeing the Vanyar.

Anyway, I will shut up now, being so impolite and all that. Never enjoyed anything like this this much before. You are truly brilliant.

Sothis

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48333Chapter: 28
I have no sympathy for Ferret Sr. None at all. Never mind if he kinda resembles a certain Woodland Elf's father - I still want to twhap him upside the head with my Mallet(tm).

Snickered at Draco's reaction to his...er, eventual redemption? Hm. Ferret Jr. annoys me on general principle and JKR hasn't given him any slack with the recent book. Still, I like the way you're going about giving the little rodent a second chance. It doesn't look sudden and it doesn't look like he'll be bosum buddies with Harry but hey, the world doesn't revolve around my favorite ickle green-eyed wizard after all.

Regarding Harry and Voldie - anything that annoys Voldie and makes my Harry-sweetie happy will just make my day. ;)

LMAO over at the gift-opening scenes. Negligee, huh? Wonder which wizard/witch with a wonderfully wicked sense of humor gave it? I realy would want to know! Awww...and ain't the baby blanket cute! And kudos should really go to Gred and Forge for a fantabulous present (that wasn't a toilet seat after all - hehehe!)!

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48228Chapter: 28
Ah, Lucius, Lucius . . . what will become of you?

I was touched by Lucius reaction on seeing Draco. That one (almost throw-away) comment: "I suppose was good of you to keep it from the hound." For Lucius Malfoy to think and acknowledge aloud that one he believes to be his enemy has done a kind thing . . . it's a small step, but a step. I *still* have my doubts as to what's ahead for Lucius, but maybe, just maybe . . . let me say this to you: Anyone who can make me pity Lucius Malfoy has great powers indeed. May you always use them for *good*! ;-D

Oh, and I always enjoy seeing Gaearon. She is such a *hound*! Capable of such deadly force but then joyfully butting her head into Snape's stomach--it makes me miss owning a dog; it really does.

I can hardly think of anyone better than Gobardon to give Draco instruction in what happens if one succumbs to the darkness. May Draco take the lesson to heart. I was amused by how quickly he could get straight to the point in his discussions with Gobardon, as in "How did you get yourself into such a mess?" or "But you took it anyway." Few things (in fiction or in life) charm me more than seeing vice returned to virtue, and if both Draco and Lucius can be pulled back from the edge, this will be *feast*!

Finally, let me offer my compliments again on how well you blend drama with comedy in each installment. Those gifts--hey, Snape can *blush*!! Who'd have thunk?! *giggle* And I loved the toy sent by the twins. But I'm in Snape's camp on this one--I suspect there's more to that toy than meets the eye.

More soon, I hope! Yes, I'm greeeeeeedy!

Reviewer: Aenjil ElfDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48190Chapter: 28
! *bounces around happily* Ahhh... Finally I manage to catch up!!! *sighs contentedly* I felt so deprived... First of all I love Tui's exclamation about our good king... "You're flamin' gorgeous, you are!" and "Mister, you're so hot they should call the fire brigade!" And I love the part where Severus finally figures out he's going to be a father... ^-^ And I LOVE it all!!! It's sooooo kawaii!!! I simply can't wait for more! *claps hands excitedly*

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-08-21
Reviewid: 48086Chapter: 28
Yay, we got to see the gifts! Heh, it would be entertaining if Snapelet chose the Weasleys' squeaky changing animal as his/her 'Teddy'. Is Eregion going to attempt using the cookbook? :O

Draco and Lucius were quite well done. Wonder what Lucius will do with his life now? I mean, if he just goes back to Malfoy Manor and whatever his day job is, a crew of Death Eaters is going to show up sooner or later and try to drag him back to Voldemort. It'll be interesting to see Snape being a father to Draco... he can be quite the little brat! Eregion probably won't put up with much bratliness, though.

Reviewer: RommDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47597Chapter: 28
Cool story, although now you've made me want to go back and slog through all of the Silmarillion... *sighs* Far, far too many names. Awesome writing... I can't wait to see how Gobardon continues to adjust to the modern world, and how the modern world adjusts to him! Speaking of adjusting, what happened to his new Herald?

Reviewer: FinduilasDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47372Chapter: 28
Yeah, they turned out to be harmless! That was really unexpected! UPDATE! I'm postive it took you longer than a mere week to update. Oh well... UPDATE!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47369Chapter: 28
Yay, an update! Great job writing from Draco's POV. The details about Crabbe and Goyle snoring was a rather "homey" touch. If Draco is anything like me, then the snoring can be really irritating! I have a spare set of earplugs if he wants them :D

GA's conversation with Draco was wonderful. It was sad that the kid has no illusions about what is expected of him, but then when GA pointed out to him that he had made a very mature decision and even chose the path of honor -- I'm sure that must have rocked the boy's world to its very foundations!

And I'm glad the school got to see the presents being opened. I liked the contrast between Snape's caution and Eregion's enthusiasm (especially regarding the twins' perfectly harmless gift)!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47362Chapter: 28
I love the scene where Gobardon shows Lucius what he thinks at first is Draco's body... very powerful emotions there, shown beautifully in the way that Lucius moved and spoke, the way that he worried about showing weakness and then showed it anyway. I also loved the way that Gobardon spoke to Lucius, firm, but also gentle.

Draco waking up was adorable. His curiosity made me want to hug him!Gobardon's conversation with the ex-Nazgul, revealing so much of the king's past was quite poignant. (I tried to choose a favorite exchange from their conversation to quote, but I couldn't pick just one bit because it's all brilliant!) Thank you for giving Draco a chance to choose the light.

I also loved Severus and Eregion's reactions to their gifts; Eregion's delight and Severus's apprehension played off each other delightfully! Fred and George's baby toy is a lovely gift which will (hopefully?) not reveal any hidden suprises.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter!!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47330Chapter: 28
Presents were really cool! Especially that little squeaky-animal toy. Though, I can't help but think that it has some hidden power, too.

And Lucius was sent home. Hehehe... it's like a time-out. Hmm... I wonder if Voldemort will come looking for him?

I hope Draco can learn that he does not have to be evil....

Great chapter, looking forward to the next!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47306Chapter: 28
I suspect that next year the newest Slytherin will be spending a good portion of the time sleeping in the hospital wing during the day. When s/he isn't hungry or in need of a change. Woe betide anyone who looks at the baby cross-eyed.

However, I don't see detention babysitting as much of a punishment. The Snapes are likely to be overwhelmed with volunteers from the senior years, particularly those with younger relatives. I smell a R/H and/or H/G plotbunny.

You do realize that on that schedule the snapelet will be crawling, climbing, and attempting to walk by the end of the school year? As to setting up a household on campus for a married couple with a third on the way, I strongly suspect Dumbledore hasn't run out of surprises.

I guess the good news is that elves don't get morning sickness.

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47301Chapter: 28
Well, the baby blanket was quite popular. And trust Gred and Forge to come up with an innocent present just to twist Snape's knickers.

I think the "scent" gives away just who provided the negligee. Or one of them, at any rate -- three young ladies from Gryffindor 5th year...

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47277Chapter: 28
Oh, I'm so happy to see another chapter up! I love this story. Your characterization of Snape is just perfect. The writing and plot also flow extremely well, very gripping. I adore it. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46852Chapter: 27
I just stumbled on 'Clouds Over Snow' last night, going straight on to 'Stars In The River'... and let me tell you, it took a MAJOR act of will to go to bed at 1 AM and finish the story in the morning rather than stay up all night reading! Bravo, Murasaki!

I have previously stayed away from HP/LOTR crossovers, but since I had just read 'Unhappy Horseman' and was feeling adventurous, I gave 'Clouds' a go. You have managed the blending of the two universes flawlessly; the humor of JKR, the lyrical nature of Tolkien... and you write a chapter a week! Let me worship small idols of you, O Wondrous Writer! ::grin:: Well, maybe not idols, but... wow. If only I had half so much discipline.

On to the story comments. Dunno if Malfoy Sr. can *really* go back to the Light Side, but hey- a Nazgul managed it, maybe he can. Gobardon could dangle Draco in front of him as incentive, too; "Be good and prove that you're a fit father, and maybe I'll let you have custody of your son back."

In the meantime, it'll be interesting to see how the Snapes adjust to life as an openly-married couple. Does Hogwarts have special housing for married faculty? What about the Snapelet- they'll need room for him/her, and who's going to babysit while Mum and Dad are patching up students and keeping Neville from blowing up the dungeons? Speaking of Snapelet, it would be really cool if Severus' streaky-topaz eyes turned out to be inheritable :)

Great job on Gobardon King, btw; I would never have believed a Redeemed!Nazgul before now. You did it quite well, having him see the light gradually and realize how cruddy life under a Dark Lord really was and is. Be fun to see how things develop with Tui ;)

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46540Chapter: 27
YOW!

I have my doubts as the ultimate reformability of Lucius Malfoy, but seeing Gobardon try it was certainly . . . interesting. The account of draining the Dark Mark out of him made my skin crawl. And when Lucius let out his wail of "No, no! That's not the way it's supposed to be!" it made me wonder how many people have uttered the same lament when they realized what they were serving. Must've been appalling for Lucius to see the evil of Sauron and how Gobardon had been so crushed and enslaved to that for thousands of years--makes Lord Thingy look like a mighty small bully in comparison. May the experience do Lucius some good!

Oh, and Gearon gnawing on the thighbone--I nearly heaved. And I don't have a weak stomach, either. Consider it a tribute to your abilities. ;-)

Love the idea of Severus and Eregion as Draco's guardians, and I'll look forward to seeing how that plays out. And Snape "shooing" the clothes to the coatrack, heehee! Where can I get some of those clothes that put themselves away? While we're at it, a house that cleans itself would be great, too! ;-D

Reviewer: Mark SeeryDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46302Chapter: 27
Excellent adaptation of "Harry Potter" and "Lord of the Rings". Thoroughly enjoyed it. Can't wait to see what happens to Lucius Malfoy. He does deserve worse, but I can see the direction you're going. Though I don't know if I'd try it with some of our modern day villains. Good Job!!!!!

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46165Chapter: 27
Bwahahahaha! Suffer and DIE, Ferret Sr.!

Hm. I like the way you're trying to bring Draco around right now. *sighs* Half of what annoys me in HP fanficdom is the amount of SuddenlyRedeemed!Draco fics that keep cropping up. Ferret Jr. is a git. He won't turn into a decent guy overnight. And even if Draco redeems himself, he's more likely to fall into the "Snape-category" of white hats than anything else. Heh. Looks like you're going the right direction for that.

*grins* Hope Harry gets just as lucky as well. Darn it - I want to adopt the poor kid himself if he has to stand the Dursleys one more time....

Oh yeah - baby blanket soon? Trying to work on the sillyfic right now and the blanket seems to want its own spotlight....

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45919Chapter: 27
Ha! Take that, Lucius! Not Voldemort's-most-powerful-Death-Eater anymore!

I cannot predict what he's going to do next. Reformed!Lucius is waaaay OOC in my mind... but then, so was GoodGuy!Nazgul.

Maybe instead of Totally Evil he'll be Sorta Evil. Or maybe he'll do something Stupid and Evil and end up dead.

Well, whatever happens to him, removing his Dark Mark was one huge plot twist!

I like the idea of Draco not having to spend the summer at home. Maybe he'll learn that he doesn't have to be such a snarky little ferret....

Until next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45750Chapter: 27
Yay to GA for making Lucius squirm (and cry -- hehehe!) :D You know, now that he can't be in league with Voldemort, I have no idea what Lucius is going to do with his life. He obviously defines himself according to his allegiance with the Dark Lord and I'm just as lost as he is! (Somehow, I can't see him as leading a life of honor...but that's just me compartmentalizing him as a bad guy...) Can't wait to see what else GA has in store for him!

As for Draco living with the Snapes -- heh! Not only was that an interesting (and welcome) twist to the story, but I also couldn't help thinking about all those "Snape adopts Harry" fics that seem to be scattered throughout the fandom :D This one was not just more original than those other fics, but it's also more likely IMO.

I hope that means there's a part 3 to this series? Draco spending summer with the Snapes and possibly pacing the St. Mungo's waiting room along with Severus as Eregion labors? :D

Reviewer: LqwampyrDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45626Chapter: 27
I still say that I would have liked to see Malfoy eaten, but now I'm just as interested in seeing if he can manage not to mess this last chance up (not to mention his punishment if he does mess it up).

Reviewer: nefarious_vixenDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45589Chapter: 27
Heh.
Never thought a Nazgul would be capable of being redeemed.
A truly enjoyable, well-thought out crossover.
I shall construct a glimmering shrine of fine Belgian chocolates and leather bound Tolkein books in your honour.

Provided you update quickly, of course ;D

Heheh, superb installment, I can't wait for the next one!

Reviewer: FinduilasDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45585Chapter: 27
Oh... that was so good! What can I say? Except UPDATE? Which I know you will... that was bloody brilliant.

I can't wait until Snape opens the presents! Fred and George's and Hermione's- the baby blanket... I can't wait.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45513Chapter: 27
Lucius's reaction to having the Dark Mark removed made me shudder. Severus's realization that Gobardon has seen and heard too much to let himself be affected was a powerful moment.

Loved this bit! Such an elegant solution to the problem of how to make sure that Draco will be looked after properly!

"Do not fear, Severus Snape, I will not be caring for Draco directly. He needs a proper pair of guardians who can offer him a glimpse of a life of honor, and I know just the ones."

Eregion looked startled, but Severus jumped in quickly. "Excellent, M'lord. And who is…?"

"You and your noble Lady, of course."

"W-whaat!?" Severus found so many arguments to the contrary springing to his lips that none of them could emerge in any sort of coherent order, and he was reduced to making strangled fizzing sounds of dismay. Finally he managed to gain some level of control over his thoughts. "Me, a guardian? The idea is preposterous!" The king smiled encouragingly, putting Severus in mind of a professor patiently waiting for a slow student to catch on."

Loved Eregion's calm "we can do it" as well. It's an adorable contrast to Severus as he frets about the legal hazards of taking Draco, the impossibility of lying to Dumbledore, the removal of bodies and bloodstains from the floor.

At least Lucius feels (and recognizes that he feels) sorrow for Draco. He's not completely beyond hope.

Love the Lucius-eye-view of Gobardon!

"On his left, in a straight-backed chair, not two feet from his bedside, sat Death himself, robed and cowled in black, his armored hands on the hilt of a long dark sword that was resting between his knees point-down against the floor. Death did not breathe or make any other movement, but cold radiated from his motionless form, catching at Lucius' breath like the icy frost of winter. His gasp of horror strangled in his throat at the nearness of the creature."

The bit with Gaearon gnawing the thighbone made me shiver with dread.

This part made me shiver in awe:

"Malfoy found himself staring helplessly into those lambent orbs and without warning felt the weight of thousands of years of madness, pain, and grinding slavery. He saw a blasted, barren world, ruled by a mighty form of darkness overflowing with rapacious hunger. His mind recoiled from the vision, trying to deny the reality, but the king would not let him turn away. These are the rewards of service to the Darkness, Lucius Malfoy, said the voice in his mind. Is this what you have worked so hard to achieve?

Malfoy struggled feebly to free himself, weeping in fear and frustration. "No, no! That's not the way it's supposed to be!" he wailed. "I was promised power! A place of honor at his side!"

"But that is the way it falls out, little wizard. The Dark Lord brooks no rivals and consumes all, in time. His is a hunger that knows no end." To Malfoy's surprise, the dark king lowered him to the floor and released him almost gently. "Listen to me, Lucius Malfoy. You are young, as your people count it, and you have the time ahead of you to change, if you have the courage."

Lucius's despair was honest at least. I liked how Gobardon was gentle with him then. Can't wait for "Morning!"

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45512Chapter: 27
He's redeemed! Sort of...Oh, this was so good. The best part of this chapter was the King talking to Lucius Malfoy. It just seems so hopeful. And I'm dying to see Lucius's reaction when he sees his son, very much alive. And poor Severus. So exhausted...::sneaks a teddy bear next to Sevvi-poo (Eregion won't mind, will she?::

Reviewer: MoniqueDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45383Chapter: 26
Lady, what a ride! LOL, I'm so glad to be able to catch up on your work. I've finally arrived (sans furniture yet) safe and sound in my new East coast home, and spent a few, very enjoyable hours immersed in your wonderful blend of HP and LoTR.

First off, I don't think I've mentioned how much I admire your command of the LoTR universe. Your usage and extrapolation is brilliant, and you merge it quite believably with HP.

I'm catching up here so some of these things are from chapters past. I LOVE getting Tui back! Her comments to the King were hysterical. I can't fault her on her taste in men, either. ;) Having her swear allegiance to The King was perfect – and foreshadowing of another relationship, I hope <G>. You had me cheering when we found her teaching music at Hogwarts. IMO, music is the only real oversight (so far) of JKR's universe. There is such a connection between magic and music that it seems a shame that the use of music as a conduit has not been explored. Yet. You, however, have breached that gap quite well.

Once again, you compel me with your characterization of the King. It is obvious that even he doesn't realize the extent of his transformation. He is one of those leaders (special few) that draw loyalty like iron to a magnet. I'm betting that this will help diplomatically since Fudge still has his head embedded in nether regions. :b I also found it interesting that Tui could truly ‘see’ him. What is his form right now? Is he solid? If so, solid what?

When I read the 'three' comment from the King, I was jumping up and down with excitement. LOL I was hoping you would provide Severus with his next and biggest character challenge. <G> I can't wait to see what he thinks of the baby blanket. Eregion seems to have taken this news in stride, but I wonder if she has ever had children before? I realize that she has certainly lived long enough to have, but because of her previous life as an Elf and her later calling as a warrior, I wonder if she has ever experienced motherhood before.

I have mentioned this before, but I really like the way you have cultivated Draco. He's not perfect, and definitely still Slytherine, but you're turning him into a young man with the ability to make the right choices. That said...PLEASE don't let him die? I mean, it's not like too many authors can actually make me like the little brat.

And Finally, Lucius. Hmmmm. I was laughing at MaryAnne's Batman comment in the reviews, but she's right. Wow, what a plot twist! I have no idea how you will pull this off with Lucius. To me, he is bad and likes it that way. Not due to any poison that was injected into him, but rather, poisoned by his own nature. It will be interesting to see how you persue this issue.

All in all, I think you're doing and excellent job! You truly have the knack for lyrical storytelling, and I am enjoying your work immensely.

Monique/harpinred

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44669Chapter: 26
Hey, Jedi: Ferret, Sr isn't a liegeman, he's comic relief. Make his sorry butt Court Jester, complete with hat and bells.

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44668Chapter: 26
Aww, man. I wanted to see their faces when they unwrapped the baby blanket. Maybe next chapter...

Reviewer: StormriderDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44613Chapter: 26
I notice His Majesty only _thinks_ he has the control necessary to remove the Dark Mark without killing Lucius...He didn't do so well the last time he tried it, back in Chapter 7. He did drive the Mark out of Barnes, but it killed him.

Either way, I doubt that either Lucius or Voldie will be happy with the results. I mean, Lucius accepted the Mark willingly the first time, right?

On the other hand, Voldie might see it as betrayal, on top of the incompetence Lucius has shown in not being able to get rid of our closet Gryffindor, and decide that his usefulness has reached his end.

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44459Chapter: 26
(Skysong passes around the popcorn and drinks)

'Tis another popcorn-worthy chapter from Our Great Authoress!

Good lord - I think His Majesty can do better than getting Ferret Sr. for a liegeman. I'll accept subservient minion though. (Tee-hee - can ya tell I'm not very fond of Ferret Sr. ever since what he did and is still trying to do to my favorite Snarker?)
The jury's out on Ferret Jr. though - he's still an utter heel in canon but fandom is much kinder to him, generally.

Recced you on my LJ - like I said, yours is my FAVORITE Snape het story. (giggle - no comment on my...other pairing tendencies) And Eregion will forever be my fave OFC for Snape.

Hop on over sometime if you like - http://www.livejournal.com/users/darth_stitch

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44455Chapter: 26
So Lucius is going to get the Death Eater-ness sucked out of him? Well, I hope it hurts.

Somehow, I don't think he'll like not having his Dark Mark tattoo....

As for Draco... guess he's definitely not going to be a bad guy in this AU. Good for him.

This was a great chapter, and I'm looking forward to the next!

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44245Chapter: 26
Methinks Lucius isn't going to appreciate the cure much.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44204Chapter: 26
I had thought that Lucius would attack during the party, but he obviously didn't. That's OK, because we got a big lovely fight scene anyway, complete with GA and the Dawg! :D

You wrote Draco so well in this story. I like to think of him the way you depicted him here: that he not only "uses" his henchmen, but he takes care of them, too. It's like he knows his friends are stupid but doesn't only take advantage of that. The boy learned well, thank goodness; even if it did mean he had to choose between his father and his teacher in a very nerve-wracking fashion.

Heheh, they're going to leach the poison out of Lucius' system, are they? May it be long and painful!

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44173Chapter: 26
Holy Plot Twist, Batman!! *shaking head in amazement*

So . . . mercy from the killer Nazgul. I like it. It shows just how much progress he's made since he first appeared and tried to make Snape one of his servants. However, I strongly suspect that Lucius Malfoy will find this *mercy* worse than the justice he expected. It raises lots of interesting questions: for instance, what will Voldie the Moldie do when Lucius vanishes from the Dark Mark Radar? Hmmmm, that's certainly one way to defeat him--cure all his followers! 8-)

I have to admit I'm having trouble picturing what a redeemed Lucius Malfoy would be like; he seems so incurably bad. Except for this:

--Severus joined them, his face tight with tension. "What is to be done with him, M'lord? Death seems almost anticlimactic somehow."

"Indeed it does. Do you wish to die, Lucius Malfoy?" The king asked the question dispassionately.

Malfoy stared at him as if not quite believing his ears. His mouth worked silently as he battled a stream of conflicting emotions. He cast a quick glance toward the still form of Draco where he lay on the bed. Finally he spat out. "No."--

So there is something of the loving father in Lucius after all, at least in this AU. I'm looking forward to seeing what you do with this; it should be a real writing challenge! If the cure "takes," that is . . .

Reviewer: VladTepesDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44142Chapter: 26
*giggling evilly* I love the command given to Gaearon... "Watch him. If he frees himself, you have my permission to eat him. Slowly." Gaearon took up station in front of Malfoy, licking her fangs, her eyes glowing like phosphorescent lamps. Almost seems as if she were "urging" Malfoy to remove the sword... :)

I do have to like the fact that Draco has more to him than previously shown. Hope to see him develop some more over the next few chapters...

*drooling over 27*

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44134Chapter: 26
Whoa! Gobarden is going to get rid of Lucius' Dark Mark!? Whoa! I don't think he'll take kindly to that! It'd probably be pretty ugly! Whoa! Post again very soon please!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44101Chapter: 26
Whoa! Lucius is going to be *cured*! Great chapter! I can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: FinduilasDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44089Chapter: 26
THat was brilliant. Draco really has grown up heaps, hasn't he? That was so great.

Reviewer: lqwampyrDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44068Chapter: 26
I knew that clock would come in handy.

"Watch him. If he frees himself, you have my permission to eat him. Slowly."

"Very well. If I do not execute you, I am left with only one option. To cure you."

Although I would like to see him eaten slowly, I think that it could turn out to be a fate far worse than death to be a loyal Death Eater and be "cured" by the enemy. Keep it coming I can't wait.

Wonder what the Twins have given the happy couple? Will Draco forgive his father or will he hate him for life?

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44038Chapter: 26
I'm back, and facing mountains of camping laundry. What better way to keep myself occupied between laundry loads?

I love the word-picture of Severus and Eregion coming upstairs after their party, their gifts floating after them. I love Severus's answer to Eregion's question about what happened to his faith in humanity... :o)

I love everything about Draco in this chapter. The way he looked after Crabbe (who was written delightfully!) His clock. His conversation with Eregion about caring for his comrades. The way he tried to protect Snape from Lucius.

I love the way that Eregion fought both battles; the one against the Death Eaters and the one for Draco's life.

Gobardon's mercy for Lucius was honorable, and the prospect of the cure is a delightful surprise. I really loved how Gobardon put it:

"On the contrary, little wizard, a dark taint runs in your veins, pollutes your body, and fouls your mind. You are gravely ill, Lucius Malfoy, but do not fear. A cure is at hand."

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44028Chapter: 26
Thank goodness for early bedtimes.

Is there any way to worm in that flashback scene with Severus and the Marauders from book 5? I'd like to see the newly-happier Severus come to grips with that.

But hey, it's your story, so I'll just sit back and enjoy (children permitting).

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43498Chapter: 25
Sorry, but I'm behind in my reviewing! Real life has a nasty way of interfering with what's important, you know. ;-)

Evil chuckling, imagining the trio trying to baby-sit little Snapelets. Even more evil chuckling trying to imagine Severus as a father--but he's already proven himself quite adaptable in this story. I'm looking forward to his face when he sees the baby blanket.

Only Eregion would have the nerve to tickle Snape under the chin. Or anywhere else, for that matter. ;-)

--Eregion let herself collapse onto his chest, still laughing softly. "And what does the condemned want for a last request?"

Severus put aside his terror of the unknown to consider the possibilities.--

*Love* exchanges like this . . . nothing in the least objectionable, but when you . . . consider the possibilities . . . yummmmmm. *licking lips*

I'm watching Gobardon with great interest at this time, especially after the last installment when Tui told him he was "gorgeous." I can't think when I've laughed so hard as when he though the might need a translator. *snicker* But I'm really starting to get the suspense-quivers with him knowing that Snape and Eregion are in danger and going into hunt-mode: I could almost pity Lucius. Something tells me the senior Malfoy is going to get his elegant tuckus kicked all over the landscape before too much longer. (The portrait of his great-grandfather was a good touch--so, they've been bad for loooong time, have they? I thought so.)

For the Most Striking Image Award in this installment, I pick Draco looking across the room and seeing "his own face peering back at him from the deep shadows beyond." A memorable visual and a good way to play off his conflicting loyalties right now. He's not like Canon Draco, but your version is certainly interesting to see in action as he wrestles with his family ties vs. his respect for Snape.

More soon, please?

Reviewer: AVSPDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43131Chapter: 1
doesn't murasaki mean purple in japanese?

Reviewer: Judy BrownDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43103Chapter: 1
More Please...... :-)

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42452Chapter: 25
Lucius is getting brazen, isn't he? Honestly, he's about to try to take out Snape right in front of people like Dumbledore and Eregion. Hmm... maybe he's just getting desperate.

Anyway, the party decorations ROX. Can't wait to open presents! :-)

One tiny nitpick: Draco seems unusually ignorant.

Really looking forward to the next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42300Chapter: 15
Gee, this Fudge is as big an a$$ as the canon Fudge. I wonder if that whistle in the distance is an oncoming clue train?

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42299Chapter: 12
Was Sirius going for some mountain oysters? Too bad he missed, might have taken Malfoy out of the equation.

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42296Chapter: 8
I've been saying all along Snape needs to get laid. Maybe this will mellow his snarly attitude.

Reviewer: lqwampyrDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42214Chapter: 25
Can't wait to see everyone's face when Snape and Eregion open their gifts. I loved the decorations for the party (you were not kidding when you said that Dumbledore "Knows things". I don't know if you have an end in sight but Vlad Tepes and I have a few ideas for a continuation on this series if you would like to hear them. Can't wait for the next chapter, and the next ones to swear fealty to the king.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42159Chapter: 25
Howdy! I'm reviewing this from the little town library in the woods near the campground. EEEEEEEK!!! Cliffhanger!!!! You've got me on the edge of the computer chair!!!

Loads of great stuff in this chapter... Harry, Ron and Hermione dealing with the notion of Snape and Eregion as parents. Gobardon dealing with the events told in the Red Book. His reaction to Eowyn and Merry's slaying of Angmar made me grin. His reaction to the destruction of Sauron made me squeal joyously... he understood that it was THREE 'little folk' who brought down the Dark Lord! Frodo and Sam and Gollum... even if Slinker/Stinker wasn't technically on the side of the light.

I love the way that you write the Slytherin kids. You've done an especially fine job with Draco's conflicted loyalties.

Your description of the Great Hall took my breath away!! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: VladTepesDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42088Chapter: 25
Hmmmm... apparently not only Dumbledore "knows things"... The other professors helped with the decorations? So THAT'S why they were "tasteful"... :) Can't wait to see how this turns out. LQWampyr and I were thinking about G.A.'s reaction to the Dursley's. Maybe you should consider expanding the series? If it has an end in sight that is...

Eagerly awaiting 26...

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42059Chapter: 25
OMG- that was so good! It was also funny- Pansy liking Gilderoy Lockhart, Hermione with the baby blanket and Eregion and Snape soon to be parents... that was really good! UPDATE!
Oh, by the way, Draco seemed a little too human... and Snape, but... I suppose that they can be redeemed...
I found the Red Book of Westmarch funny... a barbarian woman warrior and one of the small folk called hobbits. So much for the prophecy that he would be slain by 'no man!'
The Dark Lord was killed by three more of these small folk... UPDATE!

Reviewer: StormriderDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42049Chapter: 25
Loved Gobardon's reaction to Angmar's downfall, and Sauron's. Of _course_ the Creator has a sense of humor, or else how would he have given _us_ one?
Gobardon's getting ready to lay the smackdown on Lucius..."Hello, haven't we met before? I remember you were there when I shot your master." I'm not sure what that dagger is, but I bet it's no match for Anglachel.
Thanks to _The Encyclopedia of Arda_, I now know Anglachel's story (still looking for the Silmarillion). check it out at www.glyphweb.com/arda/default.htm .
Just know that clock's going to see some use...'Time to Fight', indeed! :-) Severus is going to wonder how Draco became so precognitive (he isn't taking Divination in secret, is he?) :-)
Also, forgot to mention from last chapter: Too bad that GA's translation spell can't translate colloquial English into something he can understand...:-D 'I believe I require an interpreter.'

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41995Chapter: 25
Great chapter as always! I loved Hermione giving the boys a lecture on *female signals* (very OotP) -- and Draco making something for Snape speaks very highly of the little pointy-nosed git indeed. At least we know he admires the right guy :)

I loved Snape's thoughts about Dumbledore's taste :D and the decorations were lovely. How nice of the teachers -- especially Sprout and Trelawney -- to pitch in and help.

Hmm, so Lucius is there. And I take it he is in disguise? Glad to see that GA is keeping an eye on his subjects, but now I'm torn between wanting him to kick Lucius' butt and having the Weasley twins' birthday present save the Snapes! :D Can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41974Chapter: 25
(Skysong does the happy dance)

Oooh! PM me the name! Please! I'll do it! I will I really will!

LMAO on Harry and Ron's reaction to the Snapelet news. "The poor kid." Loved Sirius' reaction to that as well. Boys, wait till you get to babysit a half-Elven snarky widdle Snapelet! (evil grin)

Heh. Why am I SO not surprised Hermione would be perceptive enough to catch that bit of news and act accordingly? And why do I see His Snarkiness rolling his eyes at the blankie and Eregion loving it? Why do I also foresee the Snapelet getting quite attached to that blankie? And why am I seeing the beginnings of the sillyfic plotbunny nipping at me because of that blankie?

Was also highly amused at G.A's reaction to reading "The Lord of the Rings." I have the sense he didn't like Angmar very much. Neither do I. I like him even more!

Luscious - er, I mean, *Lucius* Malfoy seems to be in full evil villain mode right now. Looking forward to seeing his @$$ get righteously thrashed by one Nazgul. Suffer and die, Ferret Sr.! (Skysong pops the popcorn in the microwave and prepares the drinks)

But poor Draco. Confirming that his fave Head of House is actually on the side of the light is going to throw that kid for a SERIOUS loop.

Read your reply to Ara Kane: I have seen the future and it's a Numenorean kingdom populated by Snapes, Granger-Weasleys and Potters. Awwwwww!!!!! Cute!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --