The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Right To Dream?
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: dogreaperDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139540Chapter: 1
i would have liked to know what dumbledore asked of harry but other than that, i give you the highest praise-it made me cry.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102176Chapter: 1
This is my favourite piece of Harry Potter fanfiction. It is very well written.

I cry every time I read it.

Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: hannaDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77623Chapter: 1
all i could say is thatt i cried. I dont cry often

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74637Chapter: 1
Wow. This fic is such a well written one. If you've been to Fictionalley.org, i'm positive this would be a DA. Its so beuatiful. I luv that song though! And it has been KILLING me, because i haven't been able to find out who sung it!

but its wonderful.

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74588Chapter: 1
Wow. This fic is such a well written one. If you've been to Fictionalley.org, i'm positive this would be a DA. Its so beuatiful. I luv that song though! And it has been KILLING me, because i haven't been able to find out who sung it!

but its wonderful.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65440Chapter: 1
Ohmygod this is so sad.. it seriously made me cry

Reviewer: SandraDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34035Chapter: 1
This was the sadest story I've ever read! I'm still crying...

And i doubt I'll ever be able to listen to that song without berinning to weep...

*sniff*

Reviewer: JKLBDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26632Chapter: 1
I bawled my eyes out as I read this. First, because I too suspect that Harry's death will be necessary to destroy Voldemort (JKR is dropping clues left and right), so this was a painful glimpse into Harry's future. Second, because of the very effective use you made of Remus in this story. To many of us HP fancic groupies, Remus is THE tragic figure. His family of friends is SO important to him, and he had it all ripped away from him in such a horrific fashion. And now, with the death of Sirius and the impending death of Harry, you've done it to him again. "It hurt because he knew that he would break the man's heart, he would sever the last link he had to his most loved friends."
I think you also captured the "not seen but mentioned" characters very well. What you say about Hermione especially, that she would cry but accept it, very accurate. She's a true friend, but she's also a realist.
BTW, I too ALWAYS think of Harry when I hear this song.

Reviewer: MorganDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26617Chapter: 1
Absolutely heart-wrenching! Oh, my, I'm crying as I write this - I just can't believe Harry is leaving forever, but I am so very proud of him! Excellent, excellent - please write more Harry fiction!

Reviewer: sophieDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26521Chapter: 1
this story is great, it nearly made me cry!

Reviewer: LizPskyDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26416Chapter: 1
I was bawling... Omg! That was so sad.

"I want to fly...I want to fly so fast that I forget. That I forget to hurt..."

That was when I started to cry... This was amazing... Wow...

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26401Chapter: 1
Wow. That's all I can say is wow.

Reviewer: CasisDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20302Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. That was the sadest story I ever read!!! I cried during it!!! Poor Sirius. Poor Harry. Poor Remus. I loved it and hope you'll write more stories to make me cry. We all need that every now and then! Keep up the great work!!!

~Casis~

Reviewer: KSDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20193Chapter: 1
That was too sad! I'm crying, I can barely see the screen right now, oh that was just so sad, the choice that Harry has to make and Sirius dying! This was a wonderfully written, but extremely sad fic, keep up the good work.

Reviewer: LisieDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20083Chapter: 1
That was just...just...amazing. I'm speechless. It's one of the most moving things I've ever read. Really, fantastic. You really do have a gift. I don't imagine the books having a happy ending for Harry. They're getting darker and darker, so I think this ending is quite appropriate. It's tragic. The way all the eyes of the world rest on a savior, but their savior is a young boy who has to carry everything and give up his prospects and dreams and hopes for the Cause, even if he doesn't want to. It's amazing, and you captured it. Wow.

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20077Chapter: 1
This story was so sad.... I loved it. You made me cry! I cried over fictional charries, weird! You're an awesome writer! I think you should write a sequel showing Harry's good-byes and the final battle. Tissue alert! Oiy....in a good way...

Reviewer: JohanaDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 20058Chapter: 1
A friend of mine told me about this and I thought she was lying about how good it was but then I read it myself and boy, you had me in tears. Now I'm not some 12 year old here - I'm 32 years old and this stuff isn't supposed to bother me. But, well I am almost speechless about the affect it's had on me. You asked questions about appropriate sacrifices and moral arguments without being preachy and some of the so called 'greats' in fanfiction wouldn't be able to do that without making it sound preachy. I thank you for taking the time to write such an emotive piece, I'm sure it must have been difficult for you to write it.

Very well done.

Johana

Reviewer: TreebeardDate: 2002-12-26
Reviewid: 13955Chapter: 1
ok u like the angst don't u? this was great if 2 sad. i never thought about harry dying in the end but now i am which isn't good. i made my sister cry when i told her why i was crying at the fic and now shes reading it and calling you a lot of bad names for being evil and killing harry. u have a real gift for making it seem real like a scene i was watching happening in front of me. u can almost see harry close his eyes and the tears coming anyway. really sad. in summary u r evil but great and i want 2 read more.

Reviewer: The Amazing MauriceDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13932Chapter: 1
You're not the sunniest of sunny cougars, are you? *shakes head* 2:23 a.m. on boxing day and I'm teary as hell. Humbug! I'm going to read something cheerful now!

By the by, that was my way of saying it was a very good fic. *Ahem*. Yeah. Just a bad time to read it. V. good, though!

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13904Chapter: 1
the angst!!!! my god...

merry christmas!

Reviewer: SallyPotterDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13894Chapter: 1
OMG!! I'm cryin' here! Whatchu go and do that for? It's not nice to be thinking of my Harry not seeing out the seven books, you're ruining my ideas of a nice happy ending for him with Ginny. This was so well written and heartbreaking to boot. There was one line in it that I found particulary moving and just had me howling so hard that my dog was giving me strange looks:

He reached out his hand and touched the cold headstone as he kept his voice low. "I'll tell you a secret, Sirius...I don't want to die..."

Now that was cruel. Poor Harry.

You have amazing talent - considering this and your trio of other stories why aren't you on the Professors bookshelf? You just need to write yourself a big long happy R/Hr, H/G piece and maybe you'll get a look in, you're probably just too angsty and different for them. Not that that's a bad thing but for you, you should probably write some fluff - people generally prefer meaningless fluff to stuff that makes you think, especially thing about morals and the like.

Anyway bookshelf or not I think you're one of the best writers I've ever read in this fandom and I will continue to love your work. Great work.

SP

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2002-12-25
Reviewid: 13888Chapter: 1
Very dramatic and morbid but I will not put it pass JKR to think along these lines.... Harry's life for Voldie's defeat. Well done.

Reviewer: AnoniDate: 2002-12-24
Reviewid: 13885Chapter: 1
I hate Dumbledore even more than I already did!! That was a wonderful, terrible, heart-wrenching piece. I'm interested to see more of your work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --