The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Jigsaw
Review(s): 170

Reviewer: synyanDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125180Chapter: 7
excellent one, i rarely read fan fics, but yours is so unique and amazing. it's really hard to find other fiction from poppy's view. i think that yours is the only one

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123571Chapter: 8
Very Nice

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116540Chapter: 8
What else can I say except for PERFECT! .. I have read all your stories posted on here and I am now reviewing them all just because I love them so much! Your write beautifully!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115319Chapter: 8
OH wow. Can I tell you that I just loved An UNusual Student and wow was I pleased to find a sequel to it. ABsolutely wonderful. Love it! I'm very glad you decided to write this story. its made me happy!

Reviewer: ChristianaDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114398Chapter: 8
Well, yet another lovely fic! I was near tears during some of it, I'll admit. Excellent work!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110849Chapter: 8
Oh,my... I've got a lump in my throat about the size of a baseball. You are such a talented writer, and this was a delightfully fresh look at POA. Thanks for writing. I'll be looking forward to more great stories from you.

Reviewer: harmonious jadeDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101434Chapter: 8
I really enjoy how you have captured Poppy Pomfrey. Taking such a character that is seen just briefly and presenting her in such a way is stunning. You have given her the life she deserves. I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter to Most Unusual Student. I am throughly engrossed in that one.

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96100Chapter: 8
I'm finally reviewing after reading three of your fics today! I'm sorry I didn't review the other two I read, "Clean Living" and "A Most Unusual Student". I'm kinda lazy like that. Eheh. ^.^; But anyways, as Remus is one of my favourite characters is was great fun reading such well written fics with good quantities of him in it. I've also gained new respect for Madame Pomfrey, whom I've found somewhat annoying until now. She was always the crazy nurse lady in my mind, but not anymore! Ha ha! Now she's the crazy nurse lady with actual depth! *laugh* I've also always wondered how Snape 'spilled the beans' on Remus, as I could never just picture him announcing, "REMUS LUPIN IS A WEREWOLF!!!". It was very 'Snape' to have him go about revealing Lupin in the way he did. Subtle...well, more subtle then screaming it out at least. XD

You did such a good job on this, and the other fics I've read. I do hope you will be updating "Student" soon and I'm going to be sure to read more of your work. I hope this review makes up for lack of commenting on the other two that I read. -Cheesy

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95560Chapter: 8
Wow. Okay, I'm really sorry I haven't reviewed any of your other stuff, but I'm bad at reviewing so that may be a blessing. Anyway, I absolutely LOVE all of your stories. They're incredible. I love your portrayals of the staff, especially Minerva. You have a true flair for writing, and I hope that sometime soon the next chapter of Student will be out.

Reviewer: Emmeline MoonstoneDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90209Chapter: 3
Another lovely chapter with a touching ending. I think you've captured the voice of Poppy very well, she seems very real. There's not much about her in canon but you've taken what we know and expanded on it to create a very believable person.

Your characterisation of Severus was good too. I did enjoy their little exchanges, although I did wonder whether he would really criticise Madam Pomfrey's care of Draco. No matter what else he might say I don't think that he could dispute that he was being taken of.

I thoroughly enjoyed the staff reactions to the boggart scene, interesting to see what they thought. Had me giggling away, as it's one of my favourite scenes in the books. The reactions I thought were very good and the explaination provided by Remus very believeable.

Keep writing, you've got a real talent.

Reviewer: Emmeline MoonstoneDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90193Chapter: 2
Thought I'd reviewed chapter one as well but if I didn't then this will do for both.

Your characterisation is excellent and it's good to see a different perspective on the PoA events. I always thoguth Madam Pomfrey's views on this book would be especially interesting. Your portrayal of her as a motherly figure is lovely, the amount of time she spent around Remus would have meant quite a close link.

I've really enjoyed the first two chapters and will be reading on soon. Sorry the refiew is a bit short, will try and write more soon.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84577Chapter: 8
Pure and simple fun.

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81172Chapter: 8
Notes on Chapters 7 & 8


Argh! Oh dear, I never imagined that Remus was actually *present* when Snape “let it slip” that he was a werewolf… oh the POOR guy! Another of those incidents that we of course all know about – but you’ve given me a fresh take on it by actually visualizing it in such detail, and so true to canon.


I wondered whether Remus or Dumbledore or both wouldn’t confide in Poppy about the truth about Sirius… but reading up on the end of GoF, Poppy clearly doesn’t know the truth, and is clearly not supposed to, either, so while it would have been a great scene, it wouldn’t have been in accordance with canon, and canon comes first, of course.


Poppy going out at dawn to find him was really, really touching, too. And then Remus, after all the turmoil of the Shrieking Shack night, goes back to marking his essays in the morning. That amount of reserve is just totally exasperating at times!


Added after reading Chapter 8:

Ah, so he did tell her in the end. I’m glad about that. That was a beautiful, beautiful farewell scene – and yes, it did feel right. Not a happy ending, but silver lining on the clouds. And what a lesson in Werewolf Responsibility - Remus is such a wonderful person it’s almost untrue.

And the jigsaw metaphor was fantastic – that’s exactly how it must have felt, an incomplete picture, forced together in a way nature didn’t mean it to… I’m glad there was a resolution for Poppy, too.


And you might like to hear that I literally cheered at Poppy’s reply to Snape’s comment about “Hogwarts putting up with abnormalities”! You tell him, Poppy!!!


Oh well, I’m sad this is over already, it was such a great read. I’ll certainly enjoy re-reading it.

And Alkari, PLEASE do keep writing “Student”. I love it, and it’s so frustrating that there isn’t more of it, after you’ve set up so many intriguing questions and hints in the more recent chapters (Julie’s job, Sirius’ and Peter’s family troubles…) You haven’t abandoned it, have you?


Jolie

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81171Chapter: 6
Notes on Chapters 5 & 6:

(You see I’ve decided to read it all in one go, after all!)

Another thing that hadn’t occurred to me before I read this was that Harry’s Patronus at the Quidditch match must have quite surprised the entire school, and that Remus would have had to explain to the staff at least how it came to that… good thinking. You address so many things I’ve never thought about. And I thought I knew PoA inside out…

Nice to see Abby Loomis making an appearance… as far as I’m concerned she *is* canon. :)

And did I mention I absolutely *love* your Minerva?

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81170Chapter: 4
Notes on Chapters 3 & 4:


I’m really enjoying this “inside” report from the Hogwarts staff room… all those arguments are priceless, especially the ones that include Professor Trelawny and her predictions that Severus Snape Will Suffer. Too bad her predictions never come true. ;) The confrontations between Snape and Poppy were also great. I’m not actually sure I can see Snape *ever* apologising to *anyone*. Or ask after anyone’s grandchildren for that matter, but I’m glad to hear that Poppy *does* have grandchildren now. All the same, I like the way Poppy isn’t intimidated by Snape as so many others are. Even when he’s Not Amused. Good job also with portraying the slight awkwardness for the older staff of having Snape and Remus as colleagues – it *must* have been a little weird to have your former students as colleagues and I’m glad you’re addressing the issue.

Poppy’s thoughts on Sirius, and her confusion about him and the image she had of him is very believable. I’ve just noticed this was apparently written pre-OOTP, though. Are you going to adjust Poppy’s assessment of Sirius’s personality a little? Because we know now that he certainly *was* quite a bully, and the idea that he’s got a difficult temper doesn’t seem so far-fetched after OOTP, either.

(There, I’m nitpicking again – but trust me, the only reason I do is that the story is *so* close to perfect so far – if I didn’t think it was I wouldn’t bother!)


What I’m enjoying most about this story is how well it weaves in and out of canon, giving us a different perspective on the events as we know them… and I don’t find it repetitive at all.

Interesting, I never thought that Poppy might *not* know about the “Werewolf prank”. And it’s of course very Remus of Remus not to tell her even now… I’m curious whether she’ll find out at the end of the year.

Oh, and the idea of Snape and Irma Pince complementing each other with their sour outlooks on life is hilarious. I didn’t know Poppy could be so naughty!


Jolie

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81169Chapter: 2
Notes on Chapter 1 & 2:

This is looking to be very promising… nice gap-filling interpretations of the canon, such as giving us a reason why Lupin was travelling on the Hogwarts Express, or that he was hired because of Sirius' escape.

It’s nice to get into Poppy-mode again… she seems to have changed a little over the years though (compared to “Student”, I mean). She’s a little shorter with people now. That’s not a complaint, though – it makes her the canon Poppy we see through Harry’s eyes.

Your account of the Potters’ funeral was heartbreaking. In a good way.

Oh, and that was a really heart-warming reunion. Poppy just manages a good balance of being kind and motherly without being too fuzzy. And it’s really, really sad that all those memories of the Marauders’ school days had to be tainted by the betrayal…

Love the other characters, too – you write a good Dumbledore. His manner of speech is quite distinct but not overly solemn and pompous. And I love your Minerva as well, her comments to Sibyll Trelawny were priceless.


Jolie

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65523Chapter: 8
Hang on... let me go get another klenex. All right, I must say that was one of the most beautiful endings I have ever read. Really, no joke, I have tears running down my cheeks as I write. I love hearing Poppy's voice and reading about her and Remus' relationship is wonderful. I finally fully understand the title, and I must say the comparison is brilliant. Up until now I have never really been able to put my feelings about Prisoner of Azkaban into words. I see now that I always really felt the same way Remus does here at the end, like I was trying to fit together the pieces of a puzzle in the dark, and was going about the thing completely wrong until that one bit of information straightens the whole picture out. A stroke of genius on your part. Thanks for your wonderful take on these events... now I'll scamper off to review Student!
~Ella

Reviewer: HeatherKu.eduDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58295Chapter: 8
Just beautiful! I love it from another POV. You are amazing.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47235Chapter: 5
*whimpers at the bit about buying the chocolate*

Remus. oh, dear God, Remus.

and he doesn't even know who you -are-.

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47181Chapter: 8
I have really enjoyed everthing that you have written. Hope you still have more to write. Thank You

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45575Chapter: 8
I've recently been reading your works, and I have fallen for them. You have a special knack for displaying Remus's grief with a respect that others would do well to imitate. I had never even contemplated the scene where Snape reveals to the school that Remus is a werewolf-- and as I read that part of 'Jigsaw,' I actually gasped aloud (and brushed away a few tears)! Please continue to write, your characterization is amazing. I can't wait to hear more about MWPP in 'Student!'

Reviewer: AshesDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43019Chapter: 8
BRILLIANT!!!! I liked this one even more than 'student' but that might be because you havent finished that yet. *pokes you* get a move on!! But this one was REALLY good!

Reviewer: SylviaDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41801Chapter: 8
This is some of the best fanfic ever. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Romm-MaliDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40818Chapter: 8
Um, can you tell I've been going through all of your fics? ^_^ Good fic, I can see how you've matured the relationships Poppy had with Remus and his family, not to mention with the rest of the faculty such as Minerva and Severus.

Reviewer: jennDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40252Chapter: 8
just wanted to let you know that I LOVED this story as well as the others, hope you will continue writing!

Reviewer: Knight SamarDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38092Chapter: 8
You are an excellent writer! I positively burst to tears after reading this story and the A most Unusal Student series. I can't express my emotions..Please keep writing..I am in tears. I just want to suggest you to take to proffessional writing job? Sorry if I am being somewhat awkward, but I feel so.. Please continue writing anyhow..

Thanks a lot for writing such wonderful stories. *HUG AND LOTS OF HONEYDUKES CHOCLATES!*

Reviewer: MargravineDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32605Chapter: 8
i've just read the whole story,and i don't know what to say.this is brilliant,and i love the way you've written it - it's so stylish.and the jigsaw metaphor really worked nicely here.
and it made my eyes prickle at the end!
i LOVE your work!

Reviewer: RenabellDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28114Chapter: 8
Alkari-
This is great! The PoV is fascinating. However, I do have one small problem, why is Dobby in there in third year? He goes to Hogwarts with Winky, and Winky doesn't get fired until the summer after this happens.
Sorry for being so picky, I still think this is an amazing fic. Thank you so much for the story!

Reviewer: JKLBDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27715Chapter: 8
I love "Student," and this is, I think even better. You really do a marvelous job of telling the tales from Poppy's POV. Nice attention to canon detail (such as expanding on Wood's line about Cho's history of injuries).
I'm so glad Remus chose to tell Poppy that Sirius was innocent AND that she believed him. Remus may have suffered the most believing that Sirius was the traitor, but he was not the only one.

Reviewer: kate griffithDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25753Chapter: 4
I'm always impressed by your use of Poppy's voice- it sounds just like I would imagine her to sound. And I like the way you incorporate the details from canon- it didn't occur to me that Percy would be more careful with Harry, with Black on the loose, because of Ginny's scare with Riddle's diary the year before. Well done!

Reviewer: RilinaDate: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25407Chapter: 8
What an excellent final chapter!

"I’ve seen children playing with jigsaw puzzles. Sometimes they get frustrated and force certain pieces into place, trying to make them fit so that a picture can be completed. But it never works, and the picture never comes out properly. There are always holes in the puzzle and bits left over – until someone comes along, rearranges everything, and the real picture is revealed in all its glory.

Remus had that look, as though he had only now rearranged the pieces of a puzzle that had been brutally forced into shape after Halloween 1981. And the picture was ‘right’ now – the way it should always have been, with Sirius standing in his proper place beside James, Lily and Harry."

These two paragraphs are simply beautifully written. You took a very cliche metaphor (pieces of the puzzle) and made something new and elegant from it.

Some other things I admire about your fic:
- Your ability to avoid the easy, happy ending without going overboard with angstiness.
- Your depiction of Poppy's feelings toward Sirius: Though your portrayal of Remus was typically strong, I thought that her musings on Sirius were the most moving part of this story. In real life, people don't move completely and instantly from liking to hate--emotions are far too complicated for that!--and you showed that perfectly.

I'm looking forward to reading more of "Student" when it's ready.

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25330Chapter: 8
I very very much enjoyed PoA from Poppy's point of view!!
And I am really glad Remus told her about Sirius.It might be just in fanfiction(great fanfiction), but I can't stand the fact that almost everybody thinks that Sirius is a murderer.

Great story!!

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25231Chapter: 8
Thank you SO MUCH for this story, Alkari, it was so heart-warming. I don't know if you remember, I kept nagging you about writing it when I reviewed Student, so you can guess that I'm especially happy you did. :)
You made me an absolute Poppy and Minerva fan a long time ago; but I'm also glad about what we see of grown-up Remus here! There's so little in canon, and what's there isn't exactly private or easy-going. It's wonderful to see him from that side. And the glimpses into every-day teacher life are great!
What else can I say? Your style is very smooth and elegant, but not too 'intellectual' (eww! ;)) - just natural. Whatever you might write, I'll read it (unless you're planning on some horrid ship, inspired by some horrid threads)!

See you around,
Allemande

Reviewer: CasDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25224Chapter: 8
Oh I'm so glad Remus tells Poppy! I agree it had to be like that to fit in with canon. This has been a thoroughly enjoyable read, well characterised throughout, especially in the case of Poppy where you have further developed the character you have done so much with in Student. The interactions of the adult characters have been believable and have given an interesting slant to the events of PoA. In the past sometimes when I've read PoA from character X's POV it's merely seemed lazy - there's been no development of the story from other perspectives. This is certainly not true in the case of Jigsaw. Kudos to you.

Cas

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-03-24
Reviewid: 25128Chapter: 8
tell his miserable little tribe
-Sheesh, over the years she must have run into alot of Dracos and Snapes.

"It puts up with YOU, Professor Snape!"
-Amen

Dobby wouldn't be there. He and Winky look for work together at Hogwarts.

Excellent ending!

Reviewer: eysieDate: 2003-03-24
Reviewid: 25038Chapter: 8
that was a great story. Lupin is my favorit HP character and there aren't to many people, in my opinion, who do that great of a job keeping him in character. But i think you did it brilliantly. THe ending to this was just perfect. Do you think you'd write another fic from poppy's point of view after a few more HP books come out?

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24996Chapter: 8
How sweet! It was good to see that Poppy learned at least part of the truth- it gave the story a sense of closure, apart from making me happy because she knows Sirius is innoccent. :)
I really liked her interactions with Remus and, in contrast, with Snape.
The last scene was very, very touching. Grat story!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24917Chapter: 8
I'm looking very forward to the MWPP fic, as well as the rest of "Most Unusual".

I have to admit I'm curious about something. I wonder what Poppy's reaction would be to the events of my "Mischief Managed" - especialy chapters 9 and 10? Ahhh, you've enough on your plate, and it's not like I'm visiting here a lot to see the results. (Babies, work, it's enough to drive you mad, I say!)

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24900Chapter: 8
It was a wonderful ending, you did a great job.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24877Chapter: 8
Really wonderful, Alkari! I stumbled across this a few chapters ago and should have responded to it then, but I've been anxiously reading every part since. The relationship you draw between Remus and Poppy is realistic and believable, and your Remus is amazingly true to the book... there's nothing in here that I couldn't have seen happening in parallel chapters of PoA. I'm glad he told Poppy that Sirius was innocent--that would really have to be a load off her mind. :)

Great, terrific work. Thanks for sharing it.

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24876Chapter: 8
Brilliant! It was so sad though, very moving in a way. Poor Remus.... *cries*

You write very well, and have really captured a great character. I cannot wait to read you next fic! Congratulations on a great fanfic!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24866Chapter: 8
Brilliant, as usual. And unusually beautiful, even for you. I can't begin to describe how much I love this story; it's poetic, it's emotional, and it's so very true to canon. I can imagine each part of your work happening in the background because it fits so perfectly with POA. I'm especially glad, though, that you let Remus tell Poppy at least part of the truth. I think she deserved to know.

Again, great job, and I'll certainly check out "Clean Living" and eagerly await more of "Student"! Keep up the wonderful work!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24859Chapter: 8
Not the happiest of endings, but at least Poppy knows the important stuff in the end.

The part about the puzzle-- very creative comparison. I guess that's why it's called "Jigsaw," Most of the pieces fall into their correct places during PoA, after all.

Congrats on meeting the SQ Challenge! I'm looking forward to the 4th year MWPP fic, as well as a new chapter of "A Most Unusual Student."

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24855Chapter: 8
"No tears, Poppy!" he said firmly. "Please – no tears..."

"His eyes were lowered. Why did he look so … so ashamed? There was nothing for him to be ashamed about ..."

""Do you understand what I’m saying? Sirius never betrayed the Potters – he loves Harry, he’s desperate to protect him. It was Peter … Peter! Peter was the traitor! Not Sirius!" The last words tumbled out of him in a half-cry, half-whisper, as though releasing emotions that had long been suppressed, pushed to the very bottom of his heart in a futile attempt to forget his erstwhile friend"

Oh, and the jigsaw puzzle, of course. Great idea.
And you managed to add perfectly matching, beautiful pieces to canon - honestly, I have never seen anyone to do it so perfectly yet.

Reviewer: armabeeDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24846Chapter: 8
Squee! I was so excited to see this posted so soon after the last chapter. And I wasn't disappointed. Wonderful ending, if heartbreaking. Poor Remus. Oh, and I love that Poppy got to find out about Sirius, I'd been hoping she would. It fits in with what we know about their relationship, Remus just wouldn't want to keep something like that secret from her, and he knows she'll never break his confidence.

Anyway, I just wanted to thank you for sharing this. I've loved it. And I can't wait for the next one you're working on!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24845Chapter: 8
Yes!! He told her about Sirius!! It was very right that he did, Remus knows how well Poppy can keep a secret. Poor Poppy, and poor Remus. Her reaction to his resignation made my eyes get teary. I'd never considered the fact that the staff had been asked to keep the secret and that Snape had broken the agreement.

Remus's conviction that he'd been a danger to the school and its denizens was really heartbreaking.

I'm looking forward to the lighthearted romp very much!

Reviewer: PJinNHDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24843Chapter: 8
*sniff*...so nice...so sad it's the end...Hope you continue to write about Remus (at least in other stories). He's such a wonderfully complex character. :)

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24831Chapter: 8
[Anyway, after what’s happened, I don’t think I’d trust Severus to make me a cup of tea, let alone the Wolfsbane potion]. Awww. Remus is still clever and dry until the end.

[of certain – abnormalities."
"It puts up with YOU, Professor Snape!" I said]. I'm so glad Poppy got to tell Snape off a little.

[I’ve seen children playing with jigsaw puzzles. Sometimes they get frustrated and force certain pieces into place, trying to make them fit so that a picture can be completed. But it never works, and the picture never comes out properly. There are always holes in the puzzle and bits left over – until someone comes along, rearranges everything, and the real picture is revealed in all its glory.]

Oh, wow. What a lovely piece of prose. It completes the title as well, and as the story comes to a close, the entire picture is seen. I never realized until now just what a clever, meaningful title "Jigsaw" is. I guess the pieces fell into place for me as well. What a beautiful use of metaphor...the theme goes through the entire piece, but it doesn't whack us over the head. Instead it gently hits us at the end.

An absolutely lovely ending to an enjoyable, entertaining, extremely well written piece. Not only have you given Poppy a soul and personality, but you've fleshed out and developed both a young and older Remus. My views of Remus and Sirius have been heavily influenced by this piece and "Student" (yeah! more student coming!). Absolutely lovely.

Reviewer: VJADate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24830Chapter: 8
Wow. Just...wow, as usual. I've been very lazy about reviewing this recently, I'm afraid - sorry!
I was hoping so, so much that Poppy would find ut about Sirius' innocence, and you let her, and so convincingly! Great! Looking forward very much to your fourth year outtake and the rest of "Student".

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24738Chapter: 7
He just couldn't help himself, could he? Sigh. Poor Remus... I really enjoyed this chapter, even though it was a bit sad at points. I loved Remus laughing when he found out Sirius had bested Severus. I loved your portrayal of the time lapse (practically none at all) between Dumbledore leaving the ward and Sirius' escape. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24726Chapter: 7
Oh Snape is so evil! If it wasn't for him Sirius would have his name cleared, Remus would still have a job and most likely more people would know the truth about Pettigrew!.... I mean Snape knew that Peter was in the shack! He would have seen it on the map! He's being intentionally ignorant in order to get back at Sirius and Remus. (Please ignore my bad spelling)
Ok, enough ranting about Snape.... I can't wait to read the end of the story (and the end of "Student" too)! Wonderful job as always!

Jennifer

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24673Chapter: 7
OK. The Shack scene has passed, and Remus is back from the Forest, unhurt for the most part.

But Snape is lucky he is nothing more than a fictional character, or else I would be out to get him for that little stunt he just pulled in the Great Hall.

I hope the Headmaster makes him do something like clean the trophy room (several times) the Muggle way for that. Maybe make him clean all the bathrooms, too. Something greatly humiliating to Snape would be good.

Snape is such a jerk. And you write him so well.

I'm inclined to believe that Poppy will be imformed of.... this stuff... sometime soon, if she doesn't already know in GoF. (You never know, do you?) Either way, I think it's necessary that the Healer of Hogwarts (which is probably going to be anti-DE HQ, because the Ministry SUX) should know who is on what side.

Only one more chapter to go!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24613Chapter: 7
Wow. That was well done. I'm mainly impressed that Lupin could keep his true thoughts hidden when Poppy told him about Sirius.

Excellent perspective, all told.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24602Chapter: 7
Everything was wonderful. You managed condense all the action logically, and neatly, and beautifully, while keeping Poppy in perfect character. I thought the hospital scene might be hard, but you did a wonderful job, and the epilogue will be just as good, I'm sure. I wonder if you plan to continue writing in Poppy's view, even if just snippets and not a whole book?

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24601Chapter: 7
Poor Poppy! :( It's too much for just one morning. And, of course, poor Remus...
I really liked seeing how Poppy felt about the incidents of that night- that must have been quite confusing for her! I can't help but wonder how you managed to keep the story coherent when she didn't know half of what was going on.
Can't wait for the last chapter!

Reviewer: rachDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24588Chapter: 7
This is done so well. One more chapter? I'll really miss this fic, but I'm sure I'll end up reading it again. Can't wait for the concluding part! :)

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24585Chapter: 7
Wonderful, as usual. I love Remus' reaction when he learns that Sirius was caught--I must confess that I never thought of what he must have done after transforming, or how he found out that Snape had shared his secret with the Slytherins. Your take on that, however, is wonderful, and I still love Poppy's point of view. Her confusion over Dumbledore and Remus' reactions to Sirius is interesting, and I kept hoping that someone would let her in on the truth! Poor woman--will she ever know? Regardless, great new chapter, and I hope to read more soon.

Reviewer: Katsie (eclecticmum)Date: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24550Chapter: 7
I have to say, if it weren't for my running across the conversation you mentioned with Alphie and Durayan at WWR, I don't know if I would have discovered this touching story. I'm so glad I lurk the boards :)

I greatly enjoy seeing the books from different perspectives, and your Poppy is an exceptional observer. She's so very human and it's lovely to see her devotion to Remus, and his to her. An odd friendship, but very in character.

In fact, your characterizations are what keeps me coming back for more of this and "A Most Unusual Student". They are perfectly canon while building each person into something more as well.

Both excited and so sad to know that this is almost at an end. Thank you for sharing with us.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24536Chapter: 7
This just gets better and better!

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24528Chapter: 7
Great as usual! I smiled when Poppy came back into the room to see Harry and Hermione flushed and out of breath, we know what really happened! I wish I could just give Remus a big hug - you have written him perfectly. Poppy is a fantastic character too, and is still the tough matron that we know from the books, but with something more... Great writing!

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24525Chapter: 7
Ooohh---your Remus is perfect, and your Poppy is just as maternal and no-nonsense as I pictured her. And as for your Snape...he's just as much of a contemptible git as he is in canon! I hope Minerva hexes him but good! (WHY does Dumbledore let him stay on?!?). Your Minerva has a bit of a maternal streak too, doesn't she? Especially when it comes to Remus.

I especially loved this part:
<<I looked down sadly at Harry Potter, and gently removed his glasses. Poor lad – and he did look so like James. For one disconcerting moment I was back in the past again - James lying there asleep, and Sirius sprawled out in the next bed. They’d both taken knocks at Quidditch, I remembered, and I’d kept them overnight to make sure there were no lasting ill effects. But then Hermione Granger murmured in her sleep, and when I turned, it was a tangle of long, brown bushy hair on the pillow, not Sirius’ black mop. The present returned with all its troubles.>>
Oh, Poppy. You've captured her completely. Great job!

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24523Chapter: 7
Loved the end. I'm glad they didn't got through the
scene in the shack. I hope Poppy has some choice words to say to Severus.

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24518Chapter: 7
Aaah, glorious. : ) This was very well done, Poppy's perspective on the events was wonderful. I especially liked her description of Harry and Hermione's being flushed from exertion when she came back after they had time travelled. Nice little tidbit from someone who wouldn't have made the connections. Malfoy was perfect - you made it feel like a direct quote from the book! : ) Damn Snape! The rotten, scheming, conniving SLYTHEIN! Only one chapter left?

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24500Chapter: 7
It was wonderful to see the aftermath of the climax of PoA through Poppy's eyes. Her frustration at all the screaming going on in HER hospital wing was palpable. She fights so fiercely to protect her patients... I really liked that!

Her reaction to Snape's hysteria, and her chagrin at Dumbledore's asking her to give him a few minutes with Harry and Hermione were also perfectly portrayed.

Two moments that I especially loved were her noting the excellent job that someone had done on the first aid for Ron's leg, and the moment when she thinks of the Marauders in the hospital wing and then sees Hermione in the bed, not Sirius. Lovely and poignant.

The next part of the chapter was really heart-wrenching. Poppy's worry over Remus, alone and Transformed in the Forest made me ache for her. I particularly enjoyed the way that she mothered him when he came to her the next morning. Poor Remus. Though his reaction to the news of Sirius's escape made me laugh.

You ended on a tense, cliff-hangery note! I wonder what Minerva is going to say to Severus now? (Whatever it is, he deserves it!) Looking forward to the next chapter...

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24496Chapter: 7
[Amazing how all the little aches, pains and strange illnesses simply disappear once exams are over.] Oh, how true that is!! I teach and it's amazing how sick students get around exams but they miraculously recover for $1 draft nights! I absolutely love you SharpCookie!Poppy!

[I did the only sensible thing. As he opened his mouth again I stuffed a large piece of chocolate into it, at the same time pushing him back onto the bed.] He! I love it when Poppy gets into no-nonsense mode! She manages to be this great blend of mothering and steely. So great!

Poppy's night vigil for Remus was this amazing blend of tension and tenderness. The description of the grounds (black and silver....beautiful and eerie) and how she putters around keeping busy and doing what she can are just so stoic and in a way extremely brave. Poppy caring for Remus the next morning was incredibly sweet and the comforableness and familiararity between the two comes across clearly. (loved Remus's reaction to Sirius escaping...too bad he can't tell Poppy).

[He gave me a strange, sad look. "And I know I didn’t – well, eat anything last night, in the Forest. I didn’t hurt anyone, Poppy."] Aww, poor Remus. And the structure of that sentence, the pause and the well, conveys just how difficult this is for Remus to deal with.

OMG!!! That was an incredible cliffhanger and Severus was just evil, evil! The malice and cold calculation in his manner and how he "accidently" let it slip that Remus was a werewolf...oh, he's just awful! That scene was like an explosion...everything is calm and tranquil and then BOOM! Severus sets off that news. I'm so glad to see Hagrid and Minerva leap to Remus's defense (and Hagrid clapping Remus on the shoulder and Remus wincing...classic Hagrid!). And Remus's quiet dignity...oh.

Hmmm, I know it's a little early, but Remus plays a big role in Book 6.....possibly another Poppy chronicle? Please? :)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24492Chapter: 7
Oh very good. I do hope you have Albus tell Poppy of Sirius's innocence. I would like your take on her thoughts.

Even though parts of this were from the book, they read as if almost new.

I thought Draco's public brown-nosing was very in character and Snape's reply did a wonderful job of explaining just how he let the news out.

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24164Chapter: 6
Ah! A cliffhanger! Great story, can't wait to see what'll happen that wasn't covered in PoA...

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24080Chapter: 6
Oh, poor Remus! The foreshadowing... Loved the chapter, though. My favorite part was your description of Minerva after the Quidditch match, and then the very innocuous question: "I wondered how much headache potion I'd need to give her later." Cracked me up! Keep writing!

Reviewer: Amaya (formerly Queenie)Date: 2003-03-14
Reviewid: 23974Chapter: 6
I like the way you manage to put in serious illnesses without interfering in the book. Since it's only the Slytherins and the first years who get the potion our Trio would not notice it. I am impressed how you stay to canon as true as possible and still be able to throw in little bits and pieces like that; that's wonderful.

Loved the whole exchange between Flint and Poppy. Here comes again Poppy's ah so wonderful grumpy side! It's so natural for her to get that way in the light of her big work load. I also liked how you interwove the other staff in this. Just by saying that Ivy helped her with clinic and that Harriet came down to help too, you give us some glimpse into their characters and establish them with these little mentions. I especially love Filius and Minerva.

I also liked the fact that two friends of Heather were a Ravenclaw and a Hufflepuff. I love it how there isn't enmity between all of your Slytherins and the other houses. Pity that none of her friends were Gryffindors...

Poppy's thoughts about her husband were funny and her reminiscences about the Marauders were shockingly insightful, I think. Peter wondering why he always suffers, James injuries under 'unusual' circumstances- LOL! And then Sirius of course. I feel sorry for Poppy because she doesn't know that he's innocent and probably won't know for a long time.

Remus little speech about Sirius was really heartbreaking and at the same time fitting. I guess nobody would be able to forget the good times.

I loved how Poppy thinks that Remus could do with a young woman in his life. That was just so Poppy and so motherish.

Remus' "I know the world too well, Minerva, to believe that I can fully settle in to this sort of position." really summed up a lot of things he had to endure in his former life and his problems in getting a paid profession. Excellent. As always. I'm very angry with Severus right now for being responsible that Remus lost his job.

Thank you, Alkari for another great chapter!

Amaya (I noticed another Queenie here; to avoid confusion I changed my name :)

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23851Chapter: 6
Great chapter! :)

I especially liked Minerva's 'Quidditch fan' attitude, like her bet with Snape and the way she celebrated in the end. McGonagall draped in a Gryffindor flag- that's an amusing thing to imagine!

The last scene was very touching. Poor Remus, so hapy with his job and yet so defensive already... Knowing what happens next, though, I think it's better for him if he doesn't build too many castles in the air.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23821Chapter: 6
Love Poppy's reaction to the trolls! And what a great opening for a chapter!

The Farrens Fever was really inventive; great details about how the disease progressed and its symptoms.

That's interesting how you wrote Peter as being quite popular with the female students. Half the time I think yes, the other half I think no, but it was worked insubtly, as was Peter's complaint as to why *he* always was on the receiving end of the worst hexes.

[The hands clasped to their heads did little to hide the enormous bunches of leeks growing out of their ears.] I really and truly love it when authors who retell the canon books pay such close attention to detail and are sure to include it in their stories.

I also must applaude you for being completely fair to Severus's character. I know you don't think that he's all warm and gooey underneath the grease and sarcasm, yet you till write him as a balanced, three dimentional character. You still give him his dignity and intelligence when most other authors would reduce him to an overblown character.

Oh, and I just love your Minerva! Even though she's a supporting player in this story, she's just so colorful, quirky and alive. The depth of her friendship with Poppy comes across, as does Poppy's relationships with the other staff members.

P.S.- I'm really, really looking forward to Poppy telling off Snape when Snape lets it "slip" that Remus is a werewolf. Please tell me you have this scene in the ending chapters!!!!!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23819Chapter: 6
Oh I love your stories! I've read both "Student" and "Jigsaw", and I cannot wait till you finish them. You capture the characters so well! I don't know if it's easier or harder to write Madam Pomfrey given what little is known about her but you do a wonderful job! Can't wait to read the rest!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23767Chapter: 6
I've read the whole thing. Chapter 7 is just smashing! Wonderful, wonderful work!

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23724Chapter: 6
<<“They’re not immune, surely. Some of the students – mix.”>>

Ha! I can just see the look of disdain on Severus' face as he says that.

<<Men can be such silly and demanding patients. Stephen rarely got sick, I remembered fondly, but when he did, well, you’d think he was dying, even if it was only a bad cold.>>

Much truth in that phrase!

Lovely reminiscing on Remus' and Poppy's part -- it makes me want to whisper in their ears, "Just wait! Not much longer! You'll find out the truth about Sirius soon!:

<<Abby flushed with pleasure as I complimented her on her work.>>

Well, Abby is quite pleased and flattered to appear in your universe. :)

<<“Filius, it is much more fun taking Severus’ money than it is taking yours. Besides, I have not forgiven his students for that Dementor incident.” The light of battle was in Minerva’s eye, and Ivy shook her head and winked at me across the room.>>

Minerva's in nice form as the most strict, buttoned-down, raving Quidditch nut the sport's ever known. I loved her behavior at the match. I'm sure she suffered a bit of chagrin over that later! :D

The leisurely pacing that you use in "Student" works so well here, too. I like that you don't have Poppy flitting around from BIG EVENT to BIG EVENT -- her day-to-day interactions and observations are much more interesting.

This particular fic SO needed to be written, and so I'm glad you took it on!

Katinka

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23698Chapter: 6
Brilliant, as always. Loving it :)

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23679Chapter: 6
Oh my goodness, my favorite author somehow keeps getting better and better - this chapter is absolutely brilliant, so much of it is hilarious, and then some moment just make you cry...

***I didn’t need to ask Minerva what she wanted for breakfast – I just passed her the coffee and the sugar****

***I saw a tearful Minerva embracing Remus, who sported an enormous Gryffindor rosette and had a grin from ear to ear. Minerva was draped in a Gryffindor flag – her hat was askew, her cheeks were flushed, and long strands of hair had escaped from her bun. That she would embrace anyone in public, let alone a young man who was a former student, was almost unheard of. I wondered how much headache remedy she’d need later.****
OMG!! This is SO funny!! I doubt this couls actually happen, but I sure would love for it to! And whole bet with Severus and "house loyalty" thing. It is just wonderful to see this from an adult perspective, since is usually hard to see teachers (i.e., Minerva) as real, multidimensional people from the student POA.

And you have so much imagination when it comes to magic illnesses and crazy hexes (jitterbug hex, LOL!)

And they you have scenes like Poppy & Remus talking Sirius, which almost made me to dissolve in tears.

And the robes thing, and Abby again - so nice.
****They were simple in style, yet the fabric gave them a quiet elegance that I knew would suit him: with any luck, they would make a few heads turn when he wore them. He could do with a young woman in his life, I thought*****

AWWWWW... Isn't that the truth.

***“You know Remus, you’ve done more than anyone could have expected this year,” she said quietly. “It’s not been easy for you, for many reasons. At least next year you’ll have a chance to remedy matters fully with the rest of the school. You are staying, aren’t you?” ***

Now, I am going to cry. Long and hard.

The bottom line is: I know POA by heart, but this really adds so much - I think I am going to end up knowing the Jigsaw pretty much by heart, too!
Love
Insanity70

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23677Chapter: 6
Wow! As usual, a wonderful chapter; I especially love the bedside conversation between Remus and Poppy. Your character interactions, as a whole, are some of the best I've ever read, and I love the way Remus remembers Sirius as if to forget him would dishonor the friendship the others had once had. Again, great job, and I can't wait to read the rest.

Reviewer: SzandaraDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23658Chapter: 6
I haven't reviewed before, but I wanted to tell you how much I'm enjoying your work. I've found that some of my favorite fanfic is the stuff that takes characters from JKR's world into the foreground. You, Katinka and Ozma all manage to illuminate the shadowy corners of the Potterverse and make the whole thing seem more real.

Since you've used Katinka's OC, Abby Loomis (I love her--and I love the fact that Poppy Pomfrey doesn't know the whole story about her), is there any chance you might incorporate Ozma's wonderful portrayal of Argus Filch into your work? I'd really love to see Poppy's take on the developing relationship between her pal Minerva and Mr. Filch!!!

Keep writing---I'm enjoying this story, but also looking forward to more of "A Most Unusual Student."

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23654Chapter: 6
Another great story by you!

I like the cross-over of using both Edmund and Gwen Lupin and Abigail Loomis. Is this story supposed to be written in one AU or the other, both, or separate and apart from both?

Lovely scene with Remus foreshadowing that someone will one day find out what he is and saying that he will have to leave. Very well written and extremely touching and sad.

Have I told you yet that I love your Poppy? She now shapes my image of how Madame Pomfrey thinks and acts. I really like her relationship with Minerva. Excellent to see Minerva not acting so stiff all the time.

Please update soon!

Reviewer: Under The North StarDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23639Chapter: 6
I'm glad you don't make Peter clearly weak or evil. That's a gripe of mine with the depth & believabability of many stories.
Too many people make him too simple & transparent & real life just isn't like that. Real life is the murder's wife and neighbors telling the newsmen in dazed voices that "he was just the nicest guy you want to know... just an ordinary guy... who would have ever guessed..."
JR:s world has a lot of good guys that are darn sharp, smart people who all lived through a time when it was very risky to trust ANYONE. And Peter fooled EVERYBODY. Obviously he was far from transparent.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23634Chapter: 6
Or any of the other girls he seemed to like – Peter never seemed to lack for female company.
-Nice to see Peter portrayed as something other that an utter loser.

Giant Chocolate Roc Eggs
-got an image of these things being bigger than the kids.

Another excellent chapter. Always nice to see Ms. Loomis mentioned. I was saddened to read that only two more chapters remain. Will you then start back on "A Most Unusual Student"?

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23603Chapter: 6
Of everything that was cool about this chapter, I just wanted to highlight that I enjoyed the visual of McGonagall hugging a surprised Remus after the Quidditch final.

I look foward to more!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23589Chapter: 6
Yay! Only two more chapters left, and then it's back to "A Most Unusual Student."

"Filius, it is much more fun taking Severus’ money than it is taking yours."

-- Well, of course it is! LOL! Too bad we didn't get to see GrumpyOverLosingTenGalleonsToAGryffindor!Snape, though.

Uh-oh.... little does Remus know that he really does only have a week left until someone blabs to the whole school.

Fast approaching the Shrieking Shack scene... though in this fic the drama comes directly after, once everyone (except Remus!) is back in the castle, I would think.

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23561Chapter: 6
Poppy's reactions to the security trolls were wonderful. I especially liked her description of them "clumping along" and her mention that they "stank like last year's rubbish."

The Farrens Fever outbreak was also very evocatively described. Poor Poppy was really running herself ragged. It's the sort of quiet heroism that keeps a school like Hogwarts running on an even keel, but few stop to appreciate.

I really enjoy the interactions between Poppy and Snape, Poppy and Minerva, and Poppy and Filius. But, as always, her time spent with Remus is a highight. It was lovely how her talk with him helped her relax. Her memories of the four Marauders as boys were all very vividly written. (Thank you for doing such a lovely job with Peter!)

Another highlight of this chapter was Poppy's concern and compassion for Hagrid, even though she doesn't share his affection for Buckbeak.

I also loved the conversation between Minerva, Remus and Poppy. It was very poignant when Remus spoke about his fear of being discovered.

Only two more chapters? That makes me both happy and sad. I want to see Poppy's views on what happens, but I don't want this story to end.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23554Chapter: 6
Another great chapter. The behavior prior to the match was funny...10
galleons is big betting (; Only two more chapters ): On the up side, you'll
have all sorts of time to work on...other things <g>.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21920Chapter: 5
Okay, it's a shame that I haven't been able to review this wonderful story in quite a while and I resolve to improve, because you really deserve reviews for this beautiful story. It's been so interesting to see the third year in Poppy's POV. Although we all know what is going to happen you still make it so unique that it's still intriguing to read.
I love this whole tension you build up before the match in this chapter. You manage to show it, though Poppy herself isn't as excited as her colleagues. This is something I think is wonderful as well: Poppys comments on the Firebolt are fitting and I'm glad that she isn't in Quidditch as much as Minerva is. I wonder if there ever were any arguments between the two good friends because of their different opinions when it comes to Quidditch. I'm sure it would drive me crazy if I were Minerva and my friend wouldn't want to come to a match, because she just isn't interested in it that much.
Anyway I think it's fitting that Poppy doesn't go to Quidditch matches; as the school matron she has to deal with many injuries which are the result of some rough Quidditch match, like it's the case with Harry and Cho.
Poppy being a 'Mum' to Remus was so endearing. And her worry after hearing of Harry's Dementor practice was so Poppy. Also Remus mentioning that he buys the expensive chocolate; that was a nice touch to remind us of Remus poverty and that he wants to do something for Harry.
Poppy's whole visit at Abigail Loomis was wonderful. I really like to hear of her other friends and such. Of her life other than Hogwarts. I don't think that you will write about Amethyst, Jasper and Micheal in person in Jigsaw, but I still hope to see one of them. I loved reading about them in 'Student'.
I'm glad that you are working on 'Student'. I really can't wait to get another chapter of it. One more question before I stop: Is Poppy going to know the truth about Sirius by the end of this? It seems not, given that she doesn't know who Padfoot is in GoF... how will you deal with this?

Great chapter as always. How do you do it? ;)
Queenie

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21816Chapter: 5
Yeah!! An update! Yeah! YEAh!

I love Poppy! (It was just a broom for goodness sake!)Aw!! I love to think that Abby lives in this world, too! It was so nice of Poppy to take the robes to her and your Abby was so true to her character. Poppy's fussing over her was sweet as well! I love Abby; she had better show up in OotP! And Fetishe and Foote--LOL!!

"And I’ve been eating my porridge and all my vegetables, like a good boy. I even have two helpings of pudding some nights."" Love the Poppy/Remus interactions!!! They know each otehr so well and the ease of their friendship clearly comes across.

Poppy has a sharp eye for the quirks and tics of the faculty and she evaluates them in a very no-nonsense manner. You do an excellent job of makeing the characters so 3D and alive (Minerva and her coffee, Filius in blue, Snape-dour among even the Slytherins LOL!)

"Remus shook his head. "No, Poppy," he said gently. "I want to buy it – I’ve never been able to do anything else for James’ son. I wasn’t – allowed. I wasn’t even allowed to go near him in any way, or to see him at all – until this year. At least let me to do this for Harry." There was a world of unspoken sadness and pain in his voice."

Oh, that just broke my heart and it's so Remus! Doing something nice without making a grand show of it. You've really captured the depth of Remus's character with such a simple gesture of kindness. If possible, I love him even more!

You also do a great job with Filius. He's a very minor character, but you've managed to capture his intelligence and good cheer every time he makes an appearance.

Oh, I love Poppy's take on men and their clothes! She knows just what to say!

I took out a squat, brown bottle and poured myself a generous glass of Mrs Olding’s Golden Honeyspice Wine. I sank into the cushions on my couch, sipping it slowly as I stared into the flames. But its warmth didn’t reach my heart.

That last line is just perfect and so sad.

Only 2 more chapters! Since Remus will have a bigger role in the 6th book, will we see a revisting of their relationship (yes, I know it's years away, but I loooove your Poppy and REmus stories!) Well, glad to see A Most Unusual Student will be updated soon!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21785Chapter: 5
..Harry with Honeydukes’ Deluxe Chocolate? That’s rather expensive..
-Excellent! Never thought of that. Very touching - forgoing new robes to help Harry.

I like how Poppy is so maturnal towards Remus. The whole robe-mending was done very well and thanks for including Ms. Loomis, one of my favorite original characters.

Your addition to the match was very good and it made perfect sense that the other professors would be impressed by Remus successfully teaching such a difficult spell to Harry. Your Dumbledore was fine and nothing in this fic has been out of character. I'm still amazed that you can pull of yet other view of a Book, through the eyes of a very minor character, and still make it very compelling reading.

Have you written anything non-fanfic? If so, please let me know where I might - mrrobertsiii@hotmail.com.

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21782Chapter: 5
Thanks for the fics. I love your focus on Poppy; your Poppy is believable and doesn't conflict with canon. Some people's handling of minor characters is all wrong, so thanks to you. I love your inclusion of Abby Loomis, too. :)

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21779Chapter: 5
Such a nice chapter! Best Honedukes chocolate is expensive - this did cross my mind while reading PoA, it makes so much sence what you do with it! "I want to do it" is so wonderfully Remus!

And it was nice to see him looking better, for a change!

*****Nice and understated, but it would look very smart when made up, and would suit Remus’ colouring and his grey eyes. *********

Nice and understated ... like some people we know, is it?

And it was nice to see the guest appearance by Abigail! She fits very well with the story - and goodness, I can't wait to find out just HOW the wondeful Poppy is going to go about the robes thing!!

Finally - are you going to tell us what Albus is going to do with Malfoy & Co? Please make it be something really, really unplesant!

Reviewer: VJADate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21775Chapter: 5
Oh, I AM loving this! Remus' cheeky response to Poppy's "mothering" was sweet and funny, and Minerva's glee at Gryffindor's victory highly amusing. Poor Poppy, though, and poor Remus - I've said it before, but it must have been so hard for them, as well as everyone else who'd known Sirius well. I do so hope that Poppy finds out the truth in Book 5!

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21768Chapter: 5
What a nice chapter! I liked how Poppy thinks of helping Remus without hurting his pride. It was nice to see Abby there, too. :)

It was very interesting to see the incident with Malfoy seen from the teachers' point of view. I had never thought of how truly dangerous it was- definitely more than prank.

Someone I'm liking more and more is your Flitwick. He seems to know his students very well and care about them a lot.

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21749Chapter: 5
Another great chapter! Abby is great, one of the best OCs that I have seen (read?). Anyway, I keep liking Poppy more and more with each chapter, and especially because of her reactions to Malfoy! Well done, keep it up! Can't wait for the rest!

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21725Chapter: 5
I love the story, great to see Abby.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21691Chapter: 5
Are we going to find out how the Headmaster will deal with Draco & Co?

Abby is written very well.... just like in Katinka's fics, except from Poppy's PoV.

Glittery purple robes? The horror! It's a wonder old Gilderoy was able to sell a single book with that odd fashion sense of his.

Wish I had some of that Wonder-Brite stuff.

This whole situation with Sirius is extremely stressful on all the staff. *hides from the Alliteration Police* I'm glad you show how each break-in affects them.

Until next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21685Chapter: 5
I really enjoyed this chapter! It's great to just see how much Poppy and Remus have remained close, so close that Poppy will do this sweet thing for Remus, and buy him new clothes.

As usual, your grasp of Poppy is so real and enjoyable.

Catherine

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21627Chapter: 5
I've been a fan of you ever since I read your "Student" fic, and this certainly lives up to my expectations! I love Poppy's sadness when thinking of Sirius, and how you portray the whole staff of Hogwarts. It's nice to see how they all wonder how such a nice boy could have turned out that way, yet have no idea that he really didn't. I also find myself loving the inclusion of Abby in this chapter! Great job, of course, and I can't wait to read the rest.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21624Chapter: 5
What to say...I was delighted to see more of Abigail Loomis, and you did
such a good job with her (I wondered how you'd convinced Katinka to write
a section for you <g>)--once again proving you are amazing with characters.
I like how Poppy manages everything so adroitly (:

Reviewer: PJ in NHDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21601Chapter: 5
Lovely addition to your story. You really make Poppy come alive.

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21596Chapter: 5
Great job, as usual. (Are you having a deja vu too? lol) I can't believe how much I love Poppy - her characterisation is so *true*. Remus is also beginning to brighten up, he seemed really cheerful on the way to the Quidditch Pitch. That's a Remus we've never seen in canon, and I doubt many characters have, at that!
Take your time with Student - only write what you feel like writing. (Aren't I generous?)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --