The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Many Waters
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: WolfmoonDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60085Chapter: 1
Are you going to wait a year before another chapter? I loved Ivory Tower and this could be great--with more chapters. I'm curious and really really really want more!

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52719Chapter: 1
What? There's no more? Emma, dahling, it's been more than six months! Inquiring minds want to know what happens next!

On a more serious note, I enjoyed Ivory Tower muchly, and it looks like Many Waters is off to a good start. I enjoy the epistolary format; do include more letters in future chapters :) Cate and Ara Virga are good for Remus... now, if they'll only admit how they feel! I'm curious to see how Cate's adventures in Atlantis turn out. Brighid is a kick- she may turn up in a future fic of mine! (With your permission, of course.)

Reviewer: Samantha BlackDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44929Chapter: 1
Woe is me Woe is me!
You have left a devoted fan in the dark. I can not yet express my feelings of sorrow for my wounds have not yet healed. In other words Please Update! Your killing me here

Reviewer: MegsDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39686Chapter: 1
I really liked your first story, His Ivory Tower, and I thouroughly enjoyed the latest installment... When will the next one arrive? :)

In anticipation,
~Megs~

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36848Chapter: 1
I looked up your name after reading Axelle's "Society" fic today. I'm very glad I did.

The previous story was quite good- I appreciated the fact that others discerned Remus's secret. The sweet tension you put between Remus and Cate was neither too much or too little. Finding the balance is a tricky task and I think you managed it well.

I'm looking forward to more story here. Does Cate end up in the Carribbean with Sirius and Remus in your story, as hinted at in SOB? I was ready to write Axelle and demand the backstory on Sirius and Remus taking Latin dance lessons in Cuba, trying to figure out who was in the greenhouse with Remus. I hope we'll be getting it from one of you (or I'll have to write it myself.)

Kizmet

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35303Chapter: 1
Not much to add here except "WAH!!! I WANT AN UPDATE!"

*throws tantrum*

Heheheh. Just kidding. I can wait, as long as I get previews every now and then. :D

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22787Chapter: 1
I love this story so far--and the previous story. A terrific job making Cate come to life even more; her letters are amazing. I'm definitely looking forward to the next chapters!

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22786Chapter: 1
I love this story so far--and the previous story. A terrific job making Elizabeth come to life even more; her letters are amazing. I'm definitely looking forward to the next chapters!

Reviewer: AliaDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19798Chapter: 1
Please write more! I really want to know more. This is great work!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19209Chapter: 1
I don't know why, but I seem to have neglected to r/r this even after I finished the prequel.

Anyway, I love stories told through letters and this chapter was no exception :) Cate's descriptions of Atlantis make it sound like a great place to visit and I am not surprised that Dumbledore knows the Arch-Druid either. There were some very nice similarities between the two. I can also just imagine Remus writing Cate with Ludicer hopping about at his feet. I'm getting to really love that plant!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15394Chapter: 1
>Goes best with tea and satin sheets.

Does he, now? Really?

I just adore Brighid's note. Cate needs someone to bully her, for her own good, of course, once in a while. Remus' note was so freaking charming and funny, especially the female Delphic fern query and his little tease about Malfoy...<sigh>. And Cate's matter-of-fact response was so cute, as was her etiquette correction of Fudge.

>I can and will send you a Pora

I initially read this as "I can and will send you a *porn*" Wishful thinking on my dirty-minded part, I suppose.

>I have always said that one should never underestimate the loyalty of a pet.

Heh. Visions of Ludicer blinking down a Basilisk, then stealing its underpants?

All of the letters sparkle! Great fun, and I can't wait to see how Cate's sojourn in Atlantis develops.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14868Chapter: 1
Thank you for letting Remus write about Ludicer on my birthday. (9/17) You managed to let their personalities shine through their written words quite well. I loved Brighid's instructions. I do agree on the behind closed doors part! It's definitely the kind of thing that good girlfriends say to each other.

Hmm! I'm looking forward to meeting the actual inhabitants of Atlantis. They sound like an interesting lot. As for Remus forgiving her, I'm sure he knew it was better not to see her. And I can't wait to see them talk to each other with the pendant.

I'm so glad school hasn't started up for you yet, Emma. That means you're writing more of this story!

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-01-02
Reviewid: 14827Chapter: 1
:D I =love= letterfic (even though I doubt this will the the whole of the format).

And... 'Bulfinch'. <heeheehee> Gonna stick in a 'Budge', too, or will that be too close to Fudge? A 'D'Aulaire', mayhap?

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14746Chapter: 1
Very Austenian of you, setting up the story through letter correspondence!

Nicely done, though. The characters are pretty vibrant and emotions are conveyed through their word choice.

I find the description of Remus to be well done. Cate's got it bad.

Catherine

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14738Chapter: 1
Glad to see the continuation, Emma! *snickers* I don't even want to think about Lucius Malfoy's bedroom...tsk tsk tsk Cate! I think Remus' punishments seem appropriate for the crime. :) (Dragon excrement, hmm? Positively disgusting.) Nicely done, and can't wait to see more!
-Tiki
P.S. Can I steal, have, marry Aidan for a while? Just wondering. ;)

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14737Chapter: 1
Oh, my dear! I've been waiting too long for this! I love the idea of an introductory chapterful of owls, a really engaging device as you've used them here. You draw us straight into the main personalities from the very beginning and the back-and-forth of the correspondence not only never drags, but it's had me laughing out loud at intervals even on my second read. :) These letters are sharp, witty, and each voice is unique--I love how you *do* that! It's like listening to fast, fluid, arch and droll dinner party conversation over second and third helpings of port and pastis. The observance of the etiquette of letters also creates an ambience that is pleasantly Victorian and modern at the same time. Just lovely!

The dynamics between the correspondents are very well-drawn. The running commentary between Remus and Cate on the throwaway line about Lucius Malfoy's bedroom is priceless! (Heheheh. Could Cate not be as guileless in the art of seduction as she would like to admit? ;) ) And I must tell you again how much I *love* Brighid, her sarcastic wit, and that set of instructions (you can see her rolling her eyes to the ceiling at poor Cate ;) ).

Cornelius--what a prat. In just a few words, we see the pompous, arrogant Minister in all his autofabricated glory.

And Mundungus! LOL! He's fantastic as the uncle-we-wish-we-had:

<<...I thought Lupin too much the gentleman to threaten a lady, but what am I thinking? Chivalry died out centuries ago. You're observant enough to have realised by now what your most powerful weapon against him is. And Merlin knows I'm hardly the one to be advising you about that. Good luck, my girl.

Mundungus >>

LOL!

And I loved Cate's last letter. :) Ahhhh, a woman after ... erm, Remus's heart!

The letters are also a great device for introducing the new characters on the Atlantean scene (as well as the description of Elysia (!). The names you've chosen are brilliantly descriptive on their own, and I can't wait to meet Blanceflour, Vortigern, Pendragon (any relation to Arthur? ;) ), and Bulfinch! They certainly sound like an intriguing lot.

Fantastic start, Emma! And you always leave me wanting to read more very soon! So, I ask you respectfully to pretty please GET A MOVE ON! :)

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2003-01-01
Reviewid: 14723Chapter: 1
Oh Oh Oh----I'll read and review I promise! I just wanted to say what a suprise. I thought that was the end and it would take you several months to get the next section going. Happy, happy me! Off to read.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --