The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Squib Puppet
Review(s): 52

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-21
Reviewid: 142124Chapter: 5
Thanks for another great read.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16588Chapter: 1
Another great edition. Especially liked Sirius' wicked humour in soaking Severus after his bath.

Felt inspired by this edition for a sub-topic

'The Adventures of Azoth - A Wizard Cat' Any possibility? or will I just need to expore for my own amusement.

Can't wait to expore the castle a bit more, the Fountain Room was inspired, where would Rowena's sanctury be, a reading room?

I have been trying to read an edition a day and now find that I've caught up with you. Arrggg what will I do in my lunchbreaks now!!!

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16121Chapter: 5
You've drawn an excellent, realistic, three dimensional portrait of Draco (to go up on the wall with your portraits of Argus and Snape). I've really enjoyed reading this series.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16075Chapter: 5
Ohboy, a fine ending to a great story! Hee-hee, so Azoth decided an adult companion was "worth the extra effort to train"? I notice no one has bothered to tell Severus that little tid-bit of info! I really liked Sirius interpreting for Azoth, that was good of him. And Helga Hufflepuff's wool basket for a bed? What could be better? (Well, your human's own bed, if my own cats are any indication. Ever notice how even a small cat can take up most of a double bed?)

MuaHAHA! Hoo-hoo! I'm sorry Severus got scratched-up by Neko-Lucius, but the mental image is sooo funny! I wonder if Narcissa is adventurous? If she rolled in catnip, interesting things might happen! (bad brain!) It was great to see Sirius and Severus sharing a genuine laugh together, now that's real progress! If Severus ever needs to distract Lucius someday, all he'll have to do is toss him a toy mousie. Then run.

Nice bit with Sirius letting Severus assume he'd thought up the cat-hair trick.

Loved the epilogue with Minerva and Argus! Perfectly done, I love how their relationship is developing! And I love that Mrs. Norris looked smug. Cats just KNOW things. :-D

And Moody isn't going to be satisfied until he has full documentation from everyone... then he'd probably want to try a Door again just to see if it was *really* as bad as he'd thought! He's just that way.

Wonderful story! Thanks for writing it!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16070Chapter: 5
Whoopee, Cat!Lucius! LOL. I like how Snape and Sirius saw eye to eye on that one :D the idea to have the spells on the cat hair prolong the effects of the potion was cool -- Lucius certainly deserved it!

I love how you have written Filch/McGonagall. Your depiction of Minerva as an attractive woman, instead of just an asexual authority figure, is wonderful. I can't wait for the next story! (And thank you for my "horrorable mention," btw!)

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16055Chapter: 5
Yeaaaah! Another story finished! And did I hear "Azoth will be in the next story"?

I really hope Lucius doens't find out whose idea the cat fur was. Lucius has enough reason to hate the Weasleys. Oooh, speaking of Weasleys, have we seen F&G yet?

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16043Chapter: 5
Terrific ending! Can't get the image out of my head of Narcissa scratching her husband behind the ears and just above the tailbone. On a more serious note, I hope Lucius's troubles won't cause Draco to start blaming Snape, and cause him to lean back toward the Dark order.
Interesting observations on the balance of power between house-elves and the humans they care for. Among other things, it helps explain how Winky was able to manage Barty Jr. for so long.

Snape and Black bantering? It was both hilarious and believable. Black's concealment of the true perps' identity gives it a great dark edge.

Great to see another side of Poppy too - who "said a word I didn't think she knew". A very Filch-like reaction to extra work caused by someone else's thoughtlessness. I do enjoy the way you write grumpiness!

And there's another story in the works? Hooray!

Reviewer: KellibusDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16038Chapter: 5
Lovely, as always, Ozma. I enjoyed this story, although you do enjoy beating up poor Argus.
I loved the Argus/Minerva thing at the end. Written wonderfully in Canon. Also, I throughly Sirius and Severus laughing in the hospital wing. I've always thought that if they could get over their differences, they would be great friends (or great partners in crime).
Can't wait for the next one!
Ciao,
Kellibus

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16030Chapter: 5
Hey! I'm back! This was a great chapter! I liked Crookshanks and Mrs. Norris' advice on choosing a human companion. I liked the buckets. Now 'Sorcerer's Apprentice' is stuck in my head. I'm willing to bet Sirius shook himself just to get Snape wet. *EG* Lucius got what he deserved. *roflh @ image of Lucius with cat ears, tail, fangs, claws, and fur* Black and Snape laughing together? Now THAT'S a rarity! Hee hee, loved that last scene with Filch and McGonagall. At least one of them is realizing there's more to what they feel for the other than friendship. Make 'em kiss already! ;-P

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16007Chapter: 5
Argus and Minerva, sitting in a tree...it's actually very sweet, and I'm warming up to the idea more and more. I love how Ron got to shine a bit in this story! Great job!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15987Chapter: 5
Truly, you have worked magic when you have Argus Filch contentedly surrounded by kittens and children, Snape and Black laughing together, Lucius Malfoy with a tail and whiskers, and Minerva and Argus as my favorite ship.

Thanks for giving Snape a kitten. Lord knows everyone needs a pet. Azoth suits his new pet human quite well, I think.

As much as I am enjoying re-reading these, I am hoping you have new tales in the works, too! You've fleshed out Filch's corner of the wizarding world so believable, that I am quite content to read as manner Squib stories as you are able to write!

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15936Chapter: 4
Your stories are absolutly fantastic! Your descriptions are incredible and your characters are amazingly real! Draco and Snape's relationship is wonderful! Writing stories from Filch's perspective - brilliant! Do you mind if I use an idea similar to the Doors in a Marauder fic I'm working on? I'll give you credit for the idea, of course. Congratualtions on stories well done!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15870Chapter: 4
Augh! You are posting faster than I can keep up for reveiwing these days! So, forgive me, I'll speak to all four chapters at once.

I really like how you show the effects of the curses on Filch. You do show the battle with the curses very well in Flich as the power of the curse draws him further inside himself, leaving the part of him that is aware and fighting is so cut off from any ability to get help.

Of course, Callandra can sense the magic, and that something is wrong, but it is interesting too that the other children who consider Filch their friend are also aware that something is wrong. And together, they are concerned enough to be in the right place with enough reinforcements to save the Squib from himself.

What a tremendous amount of will Argus has to have found a way to circumvent Lucius' plot! Bravo, Filch! However, I am glad just the same that the others were there to save him. How devastating it would have been for everyone--having no idea why Filch had leapt off the tower.

I'm fond of despising Lucius Malfoy as a Wizard with No Redeeming Qualities, but I like that you showed his affection for Draco in the forest. Regardless of which side you may be on in the "can Draco be redeemed" debate, giving the relationship between Draco and his father some actual substance instead of making Lucius wholly cruel and haughty toward his son makes the question of Draco's future a bit more interesting.

Hurray for Snape's strong assertion to Filch in the hospital wing: "No, Filch. Terrible things have been done to you." Could put Snape on a crisis counseling team. Or...no, I guess not. But good for him anyway. The right thing to say. And Argus so needed to hear it.

Draco's interaction with the house-elf: I really liked this part. Interesting that Draco is able to confide in Winky about things he cannot share with Snape or his father. An unusally vulnerable image of Draco. And charming, where he tries awkwardly to calm the crying house-elf.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15848Chapter: 4
I love the story so far! Can't wait for the next part!!!

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-01-11
Reviewid: 15844Chapter: 4
Interesting view of Draco here - ill and frightened enough to re-examine his canon habits of arrogance and father-worship. He seems very young in this chapter but his attempts to figure out his father's motives, and to think for himself about the principle of loyalty, show the beginnings of a new maturity.

Yeah, I know he came to the wrong conclusion about Lucius's reason for Obliviating him, (he didn't take into account the Imperius, did he?) but he's trying.

I like your feather-light touch with the romance and wish you would extend it to Mrs. Norris's family. Sometimes they're essential to move the plot along, but other times, like real world kittens, they seem to show up just 'cuz they know how cute they are!

Here's a second for B. Nonymous's suggestion that you write about Draco if you're ever "between" Filch stories.

Looking forward to the last chapter!

pogonia

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15803Chapter: 4
Ohboy, a new chapter! What a nice start to the day!

You know, I haven't mentioned it before, but I really like how Sirius has changed in Argus' perceptions from a troublesome child to a 'brave dog' - that's a pretty nice promotion!

And it is very true about cats being a good barometer of one's health. Altho if I'm really sick, they usually like to stay nearby & offer body-warmth.

Ha-ha! this quote: 'Alastor Moody, looking far less lovely, but equally worried' - he just can't stack up to Minerva, even on a GOOD day!! Hey, maybe Hagrid was knitting a horse-blanket for the black stallion?? (Or Bucky...) Poor Sirius - kitten accupuncture is not always the cure for all ills.

Poor Argus doesn't understand that it *really isn't* his fault. Someone needs to explain how the curses work and whose fault they are.

Had to laugh over the boys saying sneaking around the Castle at night wasn't a much fun without Argus! And Mrs. Norris not minding a cuddle -hee!

Aha, I did get my guess about the Transfigured hair right! Hee-hee! I look forward to whoever trying to use that hair! "The Revenge of Mrs. Norris"! *evil laughter*

Ohh, the whole scene with Draco and Winky! The poor young man is being torn apart and I agree, he really is an abused child. I really liked his musing about Crabbe/Goyle and how he feels obligated to protect them, and how that helped him understand Sev's protectiveness of Argus - it really shows a deeper level to Draco than we get from canon.

Wonderful work, thanks again!!

Oh good, Severus explained something about memory charms to Argus, at least that helps dispel the fear of the unknown. And the charm is making Draco ill? Lucius is a *really* severe idiot.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15790Chapter: 4
Hagrid, who’d been busy knitting something large and hideous that I really hoped wasn’t meant for me.
-Nice touch of humor.

I’ll wait until you’re stronger
-Even at the bedside of a very damaged man, Draco is still self-centered. Nicely done.

Excellent job with Snape as always, but I think you handled Draco very well as well. I liked how you had him talking to Winky and Winky's reactions.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15785Chapter: 4
Poor Draco! Okay, now the count of Redeemable Bad Guys That I Am Starting to Feel Sympathy Towards is four...Snape, Filch, Draco, and Peter(thanks to B Nnonymous)...possibly five counting Lucius, a teensy weensy bit. Please don't let Voldy aka Moldivort aka the Dork Lord turn righteous, okay? Pretty Please? :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15767Chapter: 4
*sniffles* -- I mean, *snuffles* Well, most of my curiosity about Draco's choice has been put to rest...at least I think they have...I liked reading about him wanting to make both Lucius and Snape proud, and about his sense of responsibility toward his gorilla friends. (As I've said before, your fics make me like characters I despise/don't care about in canon!) It was very sweet.

I'm also glad to read about Winky helping out in the hospital wing. The caring and affection she showed while working for the Crouches has to go somewhere.

And I am finally all caught up! Update soon please! I'm still hoping for a tidbit about Lucius and "Dumbledore"'s hair...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15763Chapter: 3
I am SO glad Ginny & Co. found Filch before it was too late! (And I'd love to read about what's going to happen to Lucius once he uses the stuff he sent Filch to get...) And I am hopping up and down in my seat over Draco!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15761Chapter: 2
OMG, I am itching to go on to the next chapter! But first I had to tell you that I am loving this story as much as I did the others. I'm happy to see Callandra happily settled at Hogwarts and loved reading Filch call Helga Hufflepuff the "greatest" of the Founders. Her secret room (with the loom and no doom...heeheehee) sounds lovely and I was happy that her spirit thought it right to share it with Filch. Ron's ruse with Peeves (also known as the Peeves ploy) was clever. I'm trying not to laugh imagining Peeves doting on his "godkitties" just to annoy Filch :D

I'm going on to the next chapter now. I'd love to read about Draco making his choice!

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15747Chapter: 4
Thank you! I have some ideas, but I want to think about them. I figured Filch would be learning as much as Callandra just by observing some of her lessons. I wonder if the Doors affect her as little as they do Filch. I know that they're keyed to Filch, but what if Callandra were with him when he called one? Just a thought.

Anyway, this story was cool, too. I figured the students had done some Transfiguration to keep Filch from handing over the hairs. I especially liked this line: "For her [Minerva], I could try to be strong and brave." I love how you're working the romance into the stories. Very subtle.

This was cute: "As soon as he’d [Severus] settled into the chair by my bed, Azoth leaped into his lap." The poor man doesn't know what he's in for when Azoth adopts him.

Poor Draco. To be tormented by the thought that someone had Modified his memory. I agree that it would be impossible for him to please Snape AND Lucius. Lucius wants Draco to be a DE and Snape wants Draco to avoid that path. Almost makes me sorry for the boy. Almost. ;-)

I think I've rambled enough. Excellent stories!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15744Chapter: 4
I think you have the Lucius/Draco relationship down to a T. (I hope I showed something similar in MM.) Because of Draco's debt to Filch, and respect of Snape, he's in a very difficult place. If you get tired of Filch, you have enough material in Draco to mine several more stories.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15708Chapter: 3
Thanks! That was great Ginny and Trio interaction! Brilliant idea from Ron...can't wait to see Malfoy looking like a cat! Now I'm sympathizing with Draco...dangnabit! There won't be any evil characters left when you are done here...just kidding. You know I love your stories!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15707Chapter: 2
As you can tell, I'm behind on my reading! I'd forgotten that Filch had saved Draco from the plant...that's why he was being somewhat nice to Filch. It seems that Squibs can maybe have some degree of awareness if not a small amount of control with the Imperius. Now, how do you see "Imperio" working...Can Malfoy see everything Filch can see in his mind, so he can tell him who not to talk to, etc.? Or is there a special mirror/window/scrying surface that allows Malfoy to see everything? Poor Snuffles! I hope he's not too affected by the door...maybe as an animal, he won't be as much, that's my prediction!
Onto chapter 3

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15704Chapter: 1
Lucius seems like a caring father...darn it! I always imagined him utterly and unredeemably evil. Well, maybe not where Draco is concerned, but with everyone and everything else. I always thought there was some kind of abuse going on in that family...verbal quite possibly, physical maybe. Good chapter! Woo-hoo, bring on the H/G interaction!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15696Chapter: 3
the stories just keep getting better and better! Thanks for writing them!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15625Chapter: 2
Forgot to add that I thought you did a wonderful job on the inner turmoil the Imperius was causing Filch.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15599Chapter: 3
Caught up at last! These are fascinating stories and I can't wait for the next chapter! I especially like Azoth. The all-black kitty picked the all-black professor! Okay, I'm being silly, but it's a nice irony. I loved how Ron managed to get Peeves to keep from teasing and tormenting the poor kittens. Very clever. I was a bit leery of reading Filch-centered stories, but these are wonderful. They're giving some great insights into the wizarding world. Mind if I use some of your ideas in future stories?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15595Chapter: 3
Loved the whole fight scene!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15594Chapter: 2
In fact, the more outraged I acted over the notion of the kittens having a poltergeist for a godfather the more Peeves seemed to dote on them.
-that whole part was very clever

"Mr. Filch! What are you doing? Please come down from there! Please!"
-Sheesh, I'm slow. I didn't catch onto his intent until that line. Nicely done. Death before disloyalty - very Hufflepuffy.

A very exciting ending!

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15590Chapter: 3
Great Chapter! Lots of excitement and such a creative plan the kids came up with. And you are doing a good job with Draco. I don't think that JKR will actually redeem him, but I must confess to being partial to that possibility myself. As always, I love your Snape.

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15569Chapter: 3
Aha! It was great to see more of Ron's quick thinking and talent for strategy. He's picked up a few tricks from Gred and Forge, obviously. Hee-hee, Lucius has a surprise coming... You've got me grinning already in anticipation of his, er, "tale". Snape's interview of Draco in the hospital wing was beautiful - under all those mild words there are two hearts in turmoil.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15567Chapter: 3
Sorry if I came off condescending explaining a stage dive. For all I know, you were (or still are) flying off stage and being body-passed yourself!!!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15563Chapter: 3
Oooh, I think I know what the kids did!! *Gales of evil laughter*

Y'know, I think Severus and Argus are having a 'hospital wing' duel (and maybe Sirius too?)

Severus: "Ha, Filch! I was in for two weeks after that stunt with the Door!"

Argus: "Ha, yourself, Professor! I've been in so many times Poppy has given me a bed with my name on it!"

Sirius: "Just you blokes wait, I'll catch you up, no fear!"

Heh, heh, loved this line "Severus started a batch of that potion he came up with for treating animal bites" No kidding! Well-tested, that potion!!

And... I'm glad Sirius didn't get sick door-diving (to borrow B. Nonymous' term)... a sick dog is... no fun. :-0

And now Severus knows much of what happened!! Yay! Get 'im Sev!! :-)

Looking forward to the next part! Woo-hoo!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15561Chapter: 3
Of COURSE you may borrow "door-dive". It came to mind because of "stage dive", something you do in a mosh pit at a punk-rock or punk-rock-like show. (My mosh pit days are since past... with the Nonymous twins showing up soon and all.) You may wish to have someone with a Muggle background or strong pro-Muggle sentiments use it.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15560Chapter: 2
Hooray for Neville and Callandra standing up to Pansy. Honestly, that girl...! I do like Neville's very subtle (for a young person) tweaking of Malfoy about riding the hippogryff.

Oh, this really brings out what being under the Imperius curse would be like for a victim. Sheer torture. This was hard to read but so very well done.

So Argus has found Helga Hufflepuff's workroom? How very cool! His invocation of her name sounded like a proper prayer & you _know_ prayers are answered. I love the fact Argus considers her the 'greatest of the Founders' - there is indeed much to be said for simply being able to 'get things done'!!

Having Malfoy Sr. in my head would be enough to make ME jump out a window! Or maybe swallow a heavy overdose of something... Interesting there with his mental voice - was Lucius' "I'm sorry" for his son? For the distress he would cause his child by Argus' death? I'm annoyed at Pansy, but I would *really* like Lucius to have a 'chat' with Gobardon Agnen on the proper rules of engagement for war. (evil chuckle)

Oh Sirius, impulsive dog!! I don't *think* he wanted to learn to fly the hard way! Argh!! So will falling thru the Door dissipate their kinetic energy? Hope so!

Great chapter and I see a new one is up!! Yay!!

Reviewer: Quidditch424Date: 2003-01-08
Reviewid: 15535Chapter: 2
Well, we'll finally see what happens when an Animagus goes through the door. And was that sympathy in Lucius Malfoy's voice? I think it's interesting that Callandra can sense spells. Possible future Ministry job in her future?

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15504Chapter: 2
I've been reading this for awhile, I became interested in it when I saw the word "Snape" in one of the descirptions of your stories (I'm a big Snape fan). However, this is one of I think 4 fics that makes me beg the author to write faster.
I love the way you're working in Filch taking Sirius through one of his doors, and even though it was awhile back, I like the tension between Sirius and Snape, very funny.
I've never considered Filch as a person before, so this is very interesting to read.
And when is Severus going to get his kitten? :D

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15446Chapter: 2
I think what I particulary like about this story is that Lucius is not seen as a monstrous father. Sure, he's a bastard but he does love Draco. I will that in JK's work. Also, Ron get's a chance to be clever. Too many people think only Hermonie can be smart.

Reviewer: AnorielDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15438Chapter: 2
AI!! AI!! THE GRYFFINDOR TAPESTRY & SIRIUS!!!! o.o Not Sirius!! *whimpers* anything but that.... heh, should answer Moody's question effectively enough....

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15434Chapter: 2
Yike... we are going to get to see a Dumbledore-suggested door-dive AND an Animagus-through-the-door! Oh I hope Padfoot doesn't end up in the Hospital Wing... again!

Reviewer: KazzaDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15293Chapter: 1
What an intriguing start to the story. I'm really interested to discover where you're going with this.

Also, I like how Snape tries so hard to be nasty while being kind.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15170Chapter: 1
Oh dear, this IS a bad pickle and no mistake! Being grabbed by Lucius in a scheming mood and under the Imperius curse too! Not Good! I think Argus is going to need the help of his friends and soon if he's to avoid causing goodness knows what sort of damage. My one burning question is - is Lucius doing this on his own, or at the bidding of Voldemort? I did like the fact that Lucius isn't so far gone that he can't worry about his child.

I hope Callandra and Neville figure things out quickly (or Harry and Ginny... or all of them, I'm not picky!)

I also liked Snape's not arguing about Argus needing a sleeping draught... he's probably all too aware of nightmares, yes? Of course, once he has a kitten of his own, his sleep-quality may be of an entirely different sort! :-)

Good stuff and thanks for the latest chapter!

Reviewer: SzandraDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15058Chapter: 1
Ozma, just wanted to say that I've been enjoying your
squib series quite a lot. You've given depth and personality
to characters that, simply because they were minor characters,
were really rather one-dimensional in JKR's books. I like
the way you've taken a small corner of JKR's universe and
expanded it. Reading this and other stories at SugarQuill
is like reading the appendices to Lord of the Rings--it
provides background and detail that makes the "foreground"
plot and characters feel so much more real. Bravissima for
making Filch into a person for me, with some real motivations
and emotions that don't contradict, but deepen, what JKR
has shown us of him. Keep it up! and thanks also for the
frequent posting!

Reviewer: Erika StallingsDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15057Chapter: 1
I should have reviewed earlier, I love all of your Squib seires stories. Can't wait to see whats going to happen in Squib Puppet, especially since you said there will be H/G moments.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15027Chapter: 1
Excellent plot!

I especially liked your scene with Lucius and Draco.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15019Chapter: 1
Uh Oh now that Filch has Dumbledore’s hair we are in trouble if Callandra doesnt say anything about Filch
:(. I hope someone will stop Filch before he give the hairs no dout to Mr Malfoy. Good stuff by the way :P

Reviewer: adaDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14993Chapter: 1
I have been reading your Filch series for only a few weeks but find them sooo wonderfully refreashing and interesting and just... really well done. Obviously exploring Filch throws a naturally new angle, but its beyond just that originality, I love the normally front characters in the background and the secondary in the foreground-- no just Filch, but Neville and Ginny ... its just really new feeling and always interesting. It feels like a whole complex universe that you're not in a rush to reveal, so all these stories link beautifully and each of the subplots develops in its own time very naturally even though through the eyes of Filch- for example the possible hope of harry and ginny, cm's new powers, sirius' involvement in previous stories, etc. ANYWAY, just enjoying your writing and frequency of new material and waiting for the next chapter... (sad of course for Filch for more stress... but hey... hes a sturdy guy ;) )

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14966Chapter: 1
Oh my... I've forgotten how dark you can paint things. Oh we're in for some pain, aren't we. I hope Callandra can put 2 + 2 together with her "something that hurts".

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14964Chapter: 1
Poor Filch! what a predicament! All the wrong guesses by well intentioned friends are only heightening the suspense. Will even the vigilant Moody be fooled? Loved your unfolding of the inner experience of the Obliviate curse - and it's great to see that Filch hasn't lost his grumpy side.

Awaiting the next chapter with bated breath...

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14961Chapter: 1
This story still gives me chills. I love the way you build the menace until the last few paragraphs, too. (Of course, I'm also still laughing over the nine kittens using Filch as a Quidditch pitch, too.)

I noticed, this time through, that you've had the Cruciatus combine with the Imperius spell in such a way that the lovely cotton-wadding euphoria of the command spell doesn't interfere with Filch's emotions for long. The way you've done it works really well, although part of me wonders how quickly people would have noticed that something was wrong if Filch was, oh, humming while he did his work.

I also loved the part about Filch creeping into the lee of the stairs to hide from the voice in his head and Harry finding him. In my mental image, Harry always is faintly confused at not finding a cupboard door there, but doesn't know why. I almost wish you'd harkened back to the moment in "Squib Summer" since you spent part of the time in that story in Harry's head.

Thanks again

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --