The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: RaenenDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87135Chapter: 1
I loved it. I have to admit to having never previously read anything pre-Marauders, as I always felt I couldn't get into it. I am definately a fan of the "alternative" Slytherin - as opposed to the evil, nasty peoples - and really appreciated the different PoV. There is ome really beautiful imagery in here as well. Excellent.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37628Chapter: 1
This is one of the best short fic's I've ever read with original characters. You've done a great job, and although I don't entirely like the vilfying of Gryffindors, I recognize that there are a few bad ones in every bunch--and it was nice to see the Slytherins get theirs for a change. I like the fact that you didn't take the easy way out and make the brave kid a Gryffindor, too. Great job!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24469Chapter: 1
[Judging by the broken crockery that surrounded them and the odd looking creature that a scrawny blonde girl was peering at in a hopeless looking manner, the change of scenery was not improving their ability to turn teapots into tortoises.] Very funny! I love dry, witty remarks like this!

Lewis rooting for the Harpies...hehehehe. I never thought about it, but the Harpies probably do have quite a male following. And him pursuading Madam Roberta to pose for real life nude drawings! I really like your OC of Lewis. He's smart, serious, knows politics, has a good relationship with his counsil and a more sophisticated sense of social politics and yet has this delighfully randy side.

Harringay was also a very original OC (I like the bit about the "Hex wars of 1792!). Your take on Muggle/wizarding education was very well-thought out and plausible. Very interesting to see the wizarding world almost ruthlessly pursuing Muggle-born talent as a way to preserve their own culture. Very era-appropriate.

I really enjoyed this piece. I wish you had made it a chaptered fic rather than a one-shot. It takes a lot of imagination to write a fic populated by complete OCs and a fic set in another era no less. The politics for Head Boy, and at Hogwarts in general, was very interesting...much more devious than it seems to be now.

You have created an unbelievably original character in Grogan Stump. His cunning, his ambition, and most especially his vision of the wizarding world was just amazing. His vision of turning Britain into the wizarding cultural center is very bold. What I truly enjoyed in this piece are the casual references to to other people and other aspects of the wizarding world, such as Oslo having the potential to become a wizarding capital. His cunning and planning are so perfect; it reminds me of books from that era and later with complex, twisty plots that reveal much about human nature (very Dickenson, in a way). I truly love how your characters feel so real and have flaws as well as strength. I particularly liked Grogan's take on power...it reminded me very much of the power conversation at the end of "Shindler's List" where Shindler and the Nazi (played by Ralph Fiennes) get into a discussion about power and Shindler makes the point that a truly powerful king makes someone cower for thier wrong-doing and then pardons them. Grogan didn't exactly "pardon" the Gryffindors, but he does realize that power comes in many different shapes and forms. This was a truly magnificent fic!!!

Like the subtle "name dropping" of the old wizarding families, including Weasley, Goyle, and Potter. Your take on the Weasleys was a bit shocking at first, but refreshing.

This reminds me of one of my favorite fics, "Two Worlds nad Inbetween" by Minerva McTabby. Excellent piece...possible sequal? I'd love to read a chaptered fic about Grogan as Head Boy and his 7th year adventures. Or, perhaps, the next generation of these students...when Grogan and Lewis are adults, what theri world is like.

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24347Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. It was a really believable version of Hogwarts in 1796 I'd say. I'm glad that you didn't make everyone's ancestors carbon copies of the modern characters. I like stories where not all Gryffindors are good, and not all Slytherins are evil. Grogan is such an interesting and intelligent character! Excellent writing. I look forward to reading more from you.

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16480Chapter: 1
I liked it, once I got over the mental struggle. I can understand a good Sytherian, but a non-bigotus one? It's also hard to think of a cruel Weasley, no matter how many years ago it was. I know it is possible, but don't pick things just to be rebellious to standard fandom. Great job, and I really believed it.

Reviewer: Zallah N.Date: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15285Chapter: 1
Awsome story, Storm! That's really cool, going back into wizarding history. I really liked how you pulled people from Fantastic Beasts and Quidditch Through the Ages. It's nice to see a story from another side of Hogworts. Excelent job!

Reviewer: LesDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15164Chapter: 1
Storm, marvelous exploration of Wizarding history. Very original and very authentic, as well as very well written. I enjoyed the "voices" and motivations you gave to your characters, who fit into (and expanded) the Hogwarts' house types while avoiding stereotypes. I know these characters weren't *actually* OC, in that their names appeared in JKR material, but you certainly ran and played with them in a manner which really made them your own. A nifty way of working in some wonderful non-Canonical characters that are actually Canonical... or vice versa. I'm not really sure...

Reviewer: GaladrielDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15096Chapter: 1
That was really good! The people were very believable, and I'm also glad to see a fic that doesn't automatically assume that all Slytherins are evil and all Gryffindors good. Plus, the story is quite good, as is the writing style. Carry on :-).

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14996Chapter: 1
this is not at all what I expected. A real thinking piece, not easily written and very enjoyable. How many times can you read about Harry's mean relatives.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --