The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 172

Reviewer: smarticalkidDate: 2007-10-16
Reviewid: 149652Chapter: 7
hurry up and write more please!:) Begging like Fred and George did to Sirius and Remus!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: smarticalkidDate: 2007-10-16
Reviewid: 149651Chapter: 7
hurry up and write more please!:)

Reviewer: orangesherbertDate: 2007-01-22
Reviewid: 146953Chapter: 7
PLEASE WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!!! This is an excellent tory. I will be waiting for the next chapter. please post soon *begging on hands and knees* PLEASE!!!

Reviewer: Andrew86Date: 2006-11-30
Reviewid: 146333Chapter: 7
HURRY UP!!!!! I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-02
Reviewid: 145583Chapter: 7
So much for swearing on your psychotic cat.
You had a great AU story going here. What Happened?

Reviewer: truefairy008Date: 2006-07-15
Reviewid: 144176Chapter: 7
continue with this will you?? please??

Reviewer: kickballchangeDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140344Chapter: 7
I´ve started reading your story about 6 hours ago - and I love it!! I wouldn´t have stopped, but you leave me with a cliffhanger and no following chapter. Please, please finish writing and post the next chapter soon *pleadingsmile*

The characters are brilliant. I love Snape - not too nice, but very complicated and it makes me think that I don´t want to know what he had to endure during his childhood.. a nice parallel to Harry about the no-attention-to-me-please,-I´m-doing-fine-strategy...
I miss Ginny a little though, and I do hope Percy turns around - you´r not gonna kill him next, are you? Oh my, please continue writing! I´m still waiting to know what it is Sebastian was refering to when he talked about Harry´s ache inside of him? Will Molly find out more about Harry´s hurting? Or will Ginny find a way to help his spirit? Harry can´t be going bad like Voldemort did, but I can see the threat of it, if he doesn´t start talking to his friends or Sirius or Ginny about what he feels and thinks - he can´t keep going on bottling everything up inside of him. It makes me worrying sick. Well, I´ll stop rambling and if you need confirmation that your story is doing fine - give us more!! please ;-)

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-01-07
Reviewid: 138128Chapter: 7
Still no update? Hope this story isnt being abandoned..................................
Its too good to do that.

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136065Chapter: 2
Id love to see this story finished. It has such a powerfull punch that it leaves one breathless. It deserves to have an ending.

Reviewer: olibieDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134188Chapter: 7
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH plese please please update soon - it's sooooooooooooooooooo brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! can't wait 'till the next chapter

Reviewer: callaDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133784Chapter: 7
woah! i discovered your story a few days ago, and have been desperately racing through it ever since.

Now the whole thing is briliant so far, and i honestly couldn't point out all the awesome things in past capters, so i'll just stick with whatever i remember.

The watch dumbledore gave to Rron is awesome. That conversation Ron had with the twins was really, really accurate and nice to read. The twins are so, so, so funny and perfect. Mrs Figg is pissing me off, which just shows how superbly she is written.

And the best thing so far just has to be Harry's little stand off with Malfoy. You HAVE to finish that at some point, just because it would be a just reward for Malfoy to finally be put in his place.

LOVE YOUR STORY,
calla

Reviewer: LilldrakenDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133346Chapter: 7
You can't read the second chapter!

Reviewer: LilldrakenDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132401Chapter: 7
Write more!!!

Reviewer: somsomyDate: 2005-09-11
Reviewid: 132314Chapter: 7
I've loved this story forever! I'm so glad you decided to continue with it. Keep updating!!!

Reviewer: BryanDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131504Chapter: 7
great story!! but don't stop now! write more!!!! *waiting for chapeter 8* O_O

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130502Chapter: 7
Omg!! What a cliffhanger! I'm on the edge of my seat, and probably will be until I find out more, so pleeeaaaaassssssseeeeee update soon, because the edge of a seat isn't the most comofortable thing in the world. Anyway, I love this story so far, you write so well, and I'll look out for anything by you whenever I check the Sugarquill. So . . . update!

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130215Chapter: 7
wow...i luved this...i think i am going to go absolutely crazy if you dont get the next part out soon...if i tried to describe how much i liked this story so far, this review would go on for DAYS...

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130121Chapter: 1
OMG NO!!! THAT BLOODY SON OF A BITCH!!! HOW COULD HE TREAT HARRY LIEK THAT!!! I AM SOO PISSED OFF!!! I SWEAR IM GONNA FIND A MILLION WAYS TO KILL VERNON DURSLEY IN MY DREAMS!!! A FRIGGIN MILLION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: jAYDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129875Chapter: 7
Please post! i know HBP is out and lots of people seem to be stoping mid-storie but please dont do that this is realy great.
Jay

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129816Chapter: 7
Well! I just read everything straight through, and didn't even consider stopping or going away! And I only checked how many chapters were left because I didn't want it to end... I liked this very much. I cried out of, um, giddiness, I suppose.
Keep it up!
Oh, and I love Snape in this, and Sirius. You've written exciting, powerful, complicated characters, I think - I enjoyed reading about them very much.

Reviewer: LupinDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127724Chapter: 6
Brilliant! Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: RonnieDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121889Chapter: 6
Only one word can describe it "BRILLIANT"

Reviewer: BramDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117327Chapter: 6
Consider this fuel! I love it! you got me hooked and kept me untill I realized that I've got class in six hours, nice on you! All of the characters act like themselves and the situations are all realistic. (in their world anyway) I think it wuld be nice to know a little bit about how the new defence classes are going, I don't think we have heard anything from that front. in the first chapter, this is a matter of opinion, but should dumbledore's password have been a candy? not "fluffy's feet"? "Dabtihs Annog" is ingenious! Your writing has clearly improved from, your first chapter to your sixth, I hope the trend keeps up!we don't know terribly much about what is happening in the wizarding world in general, but that isn't really needed yet. You give us so many questions that make us, well, me actually think! You answer just enough of the questions to keep me going, but not enough to make it boring. Wow! This is a terribly long review and is also full of incredibly random thoughts, I hope you don't mind! keep going! I like, and I like a lot! muy bueno, sehr gut!

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116602Chapter: 6
I notice you haven't updated in years, even though book 5 is out and this is now AU, I'd still love to know the rest. So please please please put chapter 7 up soon.

Reviewer: FranDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116583Chapter: 1
Even the Durselys aren't child beaters, even if they were Harry would have run on the night bus or done accidental magic Aunt Marge style rather than put up with this and might the nosey neighbours have contacted the muggle Social Services and what was Mrs Figg doing she must have known being a Seer and all. But I don't understand these cases, having read a 'Boy Called It' I never understood why he stayed. Having said all that I have often wondered why Harry is so well adjusted in the books, what he's suffered would be enough to mess a child up especially the abscence of love during the early formulative years. Respect to all the people who work with children like this Harry and Dave. We need more of you inorder to stop future cases like Victoria Climbe's.

Reviewer: KirstenDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114511Chapter: 6
I love this story! One of the best abused!Harry stories I've ever read. It's a lot more realistic than any of the others. Keep it coming!

Reviewer: not tellingDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114136Chapter: 1
WRITE MORE BEFORE I LOOSE IT!

Reviewer: RicardoDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99607Chapter: 6
Hey really cool story, it's a pity that it is not finished, like unfortunately many stories on sugarquill. But if a new chapter comes out, i will be here to read it, probably even in 6 month.
But it is the best story i read in the recent months.
Bye
Ricardo
Sorry for my English (I'm a German, who has now his 6 th year English in school)

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95933Chapter: 6
Hey Maven!!
Your story is by far the most exciting, imaginative fan fic I have ever read. Considering that you started writing it b4 jo released book 5 the parallels are amazing! I'm so glad that Snapes "good" side is being developed (at last!) without making him all soft and squishy. Gred and Forges meeting with the marauders was excellant and I loved their potions! PLEASE finish the story! u've not updated for over a year and it would be a disaster of Grawp porportion not to finish this!! Email me!!...please?!

Reviewer: LeesaDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93887Chapter: 6
IT'S MY FAVORITE! and trust me...that's saying something since I have spent the last year or so reading every fanfiction I can get my hands on! Anyway, even if not for you, for my sake, YOUR GOTTA CONTINUE.....PLEASE!can u e-mail me and tell me when you added some stuff ?!

Reviewer: choccy_galDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89648Chapter: 6
this story was brilliant with a capital B! I hope u finish it cause this was hot stuff. Please don't leave as hanging...

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89051Chapter: 5
This is a GREAT story!!! It is one of the best fanfics i have read (and believe me, i have read many), PLEASE hurry and update it!!! See, im even begging, and i wouldn't beg for anything so please add another chapter, and another, and another, etc.!

Reviewer: andy see previousDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83435Chapter: 6
ha ha oh ya gonna shit bad
annog dabtihs

Reviewer: andyDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83433Chapter: 6
awesome amazing superb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I hope this ends up being a long fic
and i hope when your finished that you post a sequel
and another and another and another...........
well you get the point great job

Reviewer: richard hammondDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80001Chapter: 1
i loved the book so far but i have been waiting 4 ages for da next chapter. when yo going to realease it? i really enjoy the way you write, it is almost the same as the great J.K rowling herself. i read alot of imitations, but i must say yours is most certainly the best, but i think u should read Harry Potter and psychic serpent, and get some ideas. loved your book so far cant wait to read the rest. Richard (age 15) south africa

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78879Chapter: 6
Absolutely. I've been here waiting for too long. Normally, it'll take me up to half a month to a month whilst writing through minor characters' views. As for AU, it could take me a l'il longer than that, but NEVER six months.

Reviewer: WalrusDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77497Chapter: 6
gahhhh! ;;screams, pulls out tufts of mustache in frustration, stabs mini wheat box with scissors;; FINISH. THIS. STORY.

please?

(yes yes, it's wonderful, fabulous, absolutely brilliant etc. Why else would your readers be going mad waiting for the next installment. I'm shamelessly begging you here, don't let this story die.)

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75258Chapter: 6
Oh, poor Harry! Please tell me that you've some up with some ingenious torture for the D.P. and their sneaky git reporters.

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64721Chapter: 6
Love the story! Please post soon!!!!

Reviewer: walrusDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64196Chapter: 6
THIS. IS. TORTURE. It has been over six months since your last chapter, and insanity is pending. Update. Please?

it's good, by the way. update.

Reviewer: thestral_unicornDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60131Chapter: 6
This is the first story I've read so far that exploits wizards' abilities to do wandless magic and the author has done a great job with new ideas and building the suspense. I love this story. I hope the author will eventually complete it.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60111Chapter: 6
Very enjoyable. And Vernon should've seen over Dudley's scapegoat on poor Harry. Instead of just ignoring harry, Vernon should've just listened 2 Harry's side of story over Dudley.

Reviewer: Beth and SuzanneDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59796Chapter: 6
My mother and I (that is Suzanne) would like to ask (plead beg whine wimper!!!!) that you POST AN UPDATE. We have only just discovered your story, think it is fantastic, are thrilled with some of the ideas you have (I'm very intrigued by the Muggle Resistance Movement) and we are both DYING to know what Mrs Figg is up to. We both feel that you have some of the characters so well done, I loved Harry threatening Snape with being floated through the halls. Please *please* PLEASE put us out of our misery and update. (sniffle)

Reviewer: kylie jarvisDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59364Chapter: 6
please hurry up with the next chapter!!! i reallt like it the story has a wonderful plot.keep em commin
i think u should put a little romance in the story between ginny and harry, ron and herms, and arabella and sirius. i think romance is hysterically funny.i also like it when peoples get together. u should also make some of the scenes in some other peoples views like ginny's, dumbledore's and other people. well just stupid suggestions. love the story bye.

Reviewer: Hollow GodricDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58584Chapter: 6
I'm awed. Absolutely awed.

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57363Chapter: 6
Okay this makes the fourth time I have read this story and the second time I have reviewed it ....Again this is among the very best stories I have read in the fanfic universe and although the waiting for updates has been nearly painful I have mangaed to coninue my vigil for new posts. PLEASE POST SOON!!!!!!!

Reviewer: GDDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56466Chapter: 6
Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE your story and can't wait for new installations.

Amazing story.

Reviewer: kylieDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55384Chapter: 6
please continue i really like it. the story has a really great plot to it.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52074Chapter: 6
I would like to say that I really love this story would love to read the rest when will you post them please please let me know you should know this is my first time I have written a review that says something I have read lots of stories but never cared to review

Reviewer: ElfrindaDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48600Chapter: 6
It's a wonderful story! Great plot!

Reviewer: LadyswanDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48541Chapter: 6
I am eagerly awaiting more chapters...please...please...I am begging here !!!!!! Your story is wonderfully well written !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: xDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48220Chapter: 6
Well done! Normally, I hate the fics where Harry's beaten to abloody pulp, simply because they are often poorly done and badly written. You, however, managed to make it seem believable, to a certain extent, and certainly an engaging read.

Reviewer: kLynDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47271Chapter: 6
I am entirely caught up in this story. You juggle moments of humor well within a very dark story line, your characterizations are good, and your plot suspenseful. I particularly like Sebastian the adder.

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Jenny MacLeodDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45290Chapter: 6
I loved your fic. Please write more!! I do like how much different it is compared to OotP. I didn't like the DADA teacher in OotP, she's mean and nasty.
Who would have thought that the Dursley's were capable of abusing Harry. As far as I can say, I don't think that the Dursleys are going to ever squash out Harry's "unnaturalness." Harry's a wizard, he can't ever get rid of his powers.
Keep up the good work. :-)
Jenny

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45050Chapter: 6
nice piece of work--and one of the better fifth year fan fics i've read-i wish u get the 7 chapter posted fast

Reviewer: TangwstylDate: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44435Chapter: 6
Very nicely written, nice alternative to year 5, OotP. I also saw/felt the possibility that the Dursley's (at least Vernon and perhaps Dudley) could be capable of that kind of violence. I urge you to continue posting, please, despite the fact that in Canon, things are much different. A good, quick, lively, wonderful read.

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44301Chapter: 6
Its been two months and five days and I honestly am dying for more of your masterpiece. I check my email everyday to see if you have sent anything more about when you will next update. I have re-read your works countless numbers of times because I enjoy your story telling so much. Please update soon. I actually like your stuff more than JK's fith installment. Ok then I think I might try and leave re-reading your stuff for a while.
From Ellen

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44140Chapter: 6
AAAARGH...Please post an update soon....This is just getting too damn good. NEED TO READ MORE!!!
Very well thought out I cannot wait to see what happens to the Dursley's, WHATEVER it is IT CANT BE ENOUGH!!! I love the way that you ahve twined this story into what it is becoming. I knew that someone would come up with a story line as impactful as this about how HArry was treated by the "relatives" that they would resort to means other than verbal to try to drive this "unnatural" thing from him. I also love the way that you put a humanity to Prof Snape, you can sometimes see that he is like he is partly out of bitterness but this goes a ways to explaining the extreme levels of anger he has shown to "Potter". I also love the fact that as much as Harry tries to avoid the truth about those around him he is forced to confront the fact that he is not only cared about but LOVED. AS I SAID ...Please post an update to this as soon as possible

Reviewer: LenaDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43715Chapter: 6
I really enjoy this story and truly hope that you continue it soon. I'd really like to find out what happens with the Dursleys.

Reviewer: SihayaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41246Chapter: 1
I just want to say that I am really enjoying your story. It always bothered my how the books seemed to have such a casual attitude to the neglect Harry suffered - children treated the way he's been can't just brush it off and be happy, well-adjusted kids for 10 months of the year. I think he really should listen to Sebastion.
Speaking of - I like Sebastion - I never really thought about it, but I suppose if I could talk to snakes I'd keep one around - even pets that can't communicate with us are seen as friends.
And finally, thank god someone did something about the Dursleys, although I wonder why Mrs Figg never said anything to anyone for 15 years - she knew who he was and had to have seen what was going on. OotP really bugged me with that.
Anyway, Keep writing! It's great!
(Disturbing sidenote: I'm told that in some of the largest cities, Child Services is so swamped with reports of child abuse that if the child is healthy and over 14, they assume the kid can run away on their own.)

Reviewer: RedRocksDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40513Chapter: 1
I've been following your story for a while and I'm really looking forward to your updates. It sounded like the next installment was coming soon. I hope it does! Also, I think the lessons you depicted between Harry and Snape were soooo much better than what was described in OotP. I love the developing (begrudging) relationship/respect between the two in your story. Excellent tension. I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: CasisDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39783Chapter: 6
Write More!!! This story is awesome!!!

Love Always,

~Casis/Padfoot~

Reviewer: TracyDate: 2003-06-25
Reviewid: 38568Chapter: 1
I want to add my encouragment. I hope you continue this as an AU fanfic, I'd love to see where it goes. Any thing I can do to help???

:-)

T

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-06-24
Reviewid: 38436Chapter: 6
Please DON"T quit this story now that OotP is out. It doesn't seem like you would, but I say it again. Please Finnish!

Reviewer: TracyDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37656Chapter: 6
Intense! In fact, its bloody brilliant! Very believable characters. And I, as so many others, LOVE Gred & Forge's reaction to meeting Mooney & Padfoot.

I hope you post again soon!

T

Reviewer: AnkalagonDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 36035Chapter: 1
Excellent stuff! One of the best fics I've read.
Now get your a*** to work and get the next chapter out! :)

Reviewer: RooDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35969Chapter: 6
OK, ready for the next update. Wonderful story! Gimme more!

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33470Chapter: 6
I have reread your whole story and find the latest installment a fitting continuation of your wonderfull story. I really don't know what to say about it other than say how wonderfull it is as I have absolutley no critisisms. Anyway good luck with the rest of your story because I can't wait. Your a wonderfull writer and I enjoy loving your talents.

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33429Chapter: 4
Yes. I hit the reveiw button. Bloody good.

Reviewer: sparrowhawkDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33421Chapter: 6
I would like to say how much I am truly enjoying this story! I am impressed with the ability I've seen in the plot structure and characterization. I often have to stop and reread a scene so that I can relish the moment; another reason why I love this fic: it presents many of the moments I have been waiting for in the novel...i.e. the twins learning of Sirius and Lupin's marauder days and the building relationship between Professor Snape and Harry.
On that note...It is very satisfying to read a story where the self-lessness, nobility, and strength hidden beneath snape's bitter exterior is brought to light so perfectly. Yet there is no shallowness to it...there is no emmediate smoothing of his rough edges. Sometimes Snape is portrayed as being somewhat gentler and kinder than he, with his darkened past, deserves. This, however, is perfect! I look forward to more moments between him and Harry. I especially enjoyed the scenes when Harry found him dying and the conversation in which he clued Harry in on his game of Russian roulet with Voldemort.

Waiting anxiously for chapter 7!

Reviewer: pennyDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33355Chapter: 6
A+. Chilling, funny, touching. Pray to God that Harry takes Sebastion's advice. The relationships are written wonderfully. I really liked Madam Rosmerta's advice, it seems to have helped Harry with Snape. I am glad to find myself liking him a bit, couldn't do that until I read your story. Please finish!

Reviewer: jecornellDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33338Chapter: 1
a powerfully compelling story - having worked with abused children in my prior career, I think you've captured the sick notion properly - Harry wants to be punished, because he thinks it's his fault (certainly a notion that can be found in the canon). The efforts of Ron learning how to read intuitively the clocks was apt - these things are very very clumsy at first. The notion that this would twist Hermione's knickers into a knot is deft characterization as well - and your use of flashbacks and your use of Snape is superb. Keep writing - I want to see it.

BTW - I have my own work in progress, tenatively title "Harry Potter and the Wandless Wonder" which deals with certain students being taught wandless magic - your ideas are quite consistent with mine, which makes me wonder, but that's another question entirely. The twins really are one organism, and their password potion trick was delightful = almost as delightful as their reaction to being introduced to two of the Marauders.

What's not to like? Perhaps some H/G interaction? Nah, not when we are dealing with terror and magic, the tender stuff can be reserved to the sappy writers that clutter up fan fic - keep going - I want to see more!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33320Chapter: 6
heheheheh EXCELLENT YOU MADE ME LAUGH.. CRY... sorry my review isnt very long. nbut i really do think youve got it right. its brill!!

Reviewer: meghanDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33287Chapter: 6
magnificent! this is one of my favorite stories!! please hurry up and post chapter 7!! and feel free to ignore the excessive exclamation marks!!! lol!! keep up the great work!!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33279Chapter: 6
So with a little of his help--”
“and Professor Snape’s--”
-Forgot to mention this in my earlier review.

Now this is a great idea! My only problem is that since Snape knows of it because he helped in its creation, he can tell Voldemort about it when horribly tortured. Voldemort will surely want to know what is happening to his poor unfortunate Death Eaters and he is sure to make Snape tell him why or give him orders to find out should Snape plead ignorance. Perhaps that is why Snape was in such bad shape at the start.

Snape failure to deliver a satisfying answer will surely result in his death. The only question being whether he will tell of the passworded potions before his torturer kills him.

And Voldemort will kill me, Potter. Of that I have little doubt. He’s simply not done playing with me yet
-that is just horribly scary. I had the image of Snape being a very small mouse between Voldecat's claws.

Drusilla Dax
-oops, I had skipped over the name and had thought Rita had written the article; it sounded just like her. The abuse angle makes your story unique among the fifth year fics I've read so far.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33197Chapter: 6
Good Prophet article - more factual than Skeeter would have had it (I think), but nicely sensational!

Fred and George's potion was great!

Hope the next chapter comes out quickly

Reviewer: philomelDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33170Chapter: 4
I have to admit, I was dubious when I started this fic. Indeed, the events of the Triwizard tournament were enough to crush Harry's spirit, but I don't think JKR's character is prone to such deep depression and self-loathing as you depict. But I am now completely converted. Your handling of the scene with Snape and Harry and the stinging charm was sheer genius! I love the way you give the adult characters depth that we don't often see through Harry's eyes, and I particularly admire the way you give Snape the strength and character and dignity and, let's face it, greatness of heart that he deserves, while not betraying the fact that he really does seem to an outside observer to act like a slimy git most of the time.

Actually, to be honest, I'm still quite uncomfortable with the abuse aspect of this story. The abuse itself, yeah, of course--it's supposed to be disturbing, but I'm having trouble believing that the Dursleys are quite so evil as all that, and I'm having trouble believing that no one in the wizarding world would notice all summer. I mean, wouldn't it be pretty hard to hide signs of maltreatment all summer long from a neighbor like Mrs. Figg who could just walk by at any time when Harry was doing some outside chore? Even if Mrs. Figg = Miss Arabella Figg, and was therefore busy with the Order, I find it hard to believe that all of her time would be so spent that she'd shirked her basic Harry-watching duties. Even if she likes to be non-intrusive about it, ignoring something like this... yeah.

That said, your ability to write chilling things with a few spare words is breathtaking. The touch of Karkaroff remaining alive and conscious... *shudder*

I also feel the need to bow down and worship your treatment of George & Fred and Sirius. Absolutely priceless. :-)

I can't wait to read the next chapters.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33166Chapter: 6
I'm usually not a big reviewer, I'm more of a lurker, but I just had to say that this story is excellent. I'd almost forgotten about it, but found myself wondering the other day if it was ever going to be updated. So thank you, and please, update more frequently. I really think this is one of the best fics here. Great work!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33141Chapter: 6
At last... an update. Your storyline is so brilliant, it was so hard to wait for so long. I hope you will upate soon.

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33140Chapter: 6
Wow. I am loving this story. It's been a while since you updated, so I decided to read the whole thing through from the beginning. Reading from 1 to 6 made it flow much more than reading piecemeal.

LOL about the twins' invention. How cruel for <Petrificus Totalus> and an Itching Hex to be cast on someone at the same time. Makes me shudder to think about it.

Awaiting chapter 7.

Reviewer: AbbyDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31400Chapter: 5
This is a good story. Are additional chapters on the way soon?
I would really like to see this one finished....

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30988Chapter: 5
Oh, by the way, I got Mr. Lirthe and PAWS a while ago. IS it... leader of the Nazis in World War Two who is persecuting not only all the Jewish societies but the...
My sister helped me with the Lirthe, but I unscramled the rest. A while ago. Thought I might put this in since I'm so bored.

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30987Chapter: 5
You've really gotta get a move on, Maven Cree. All the other sugarquill writers are getting the better of you- you take too long to update. I know it's cool that Ron's a natural Arithmancer, but... I've been reading this whole story over for about a month now! GAAAAAAAAAAAH!*Shakes head in frustration*
sorry if i'm impatient- I never was known for being patient.

Reviewer: owlchik41Date: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30714Chapter: 5
omg!!!!!!!! pleeeez...post!!!!!! u need to have another dursley scene soon! :) post soon!!! thanx!

Reviewer: UtahJonesDate: 2003-05-03
Reviewid: 30455Chapter: 1
This is a GREAT story! I really love your writing, the dialogue is fantastic, the story lines interwoven in a masterful way. The Harry abuse stuff was pretty strong -- and just heartbreaking in the way it was revealed -- but I am so intrigued about where it's going. (What bothered me much more was the reference to the little Muggle girl getting molested and murdered in a hotel room. Way too close to real things that happened last summer -- very disturbing and is that really needed for this compelling story?)

But back to the GREAT things about this story. The whole relationship of growing (begruding) reciprocal respect between Harry and Snape is so fantastic. I LOVE it!!! There is the potential for so much depth there. I absolutely love how you've portrayed Snape. There's a hint of humanity and fairness, but he doesn't show it easily. And the dark side is so chilling. Oooh! What a combination!

I can't wait for your next updates. I check the website nearly everyday. Please hurry!!

I think the

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30245Chapter: 2
I'M SO SORRY!!! I was wrong, it was a mixup...more apologies! I take it back; this is perfect. ^_^

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30120Chapter: 5
This is very good...I love angst. Angst is good, but only when tasteful...and this is SOOOO delectable I might just eat it. ^_^ The only problem I see is the misuse of "you're". I do this to; don't get me wrong. I have to think in my head, "Is it "your" or "you are"?" to get it straight. Just wanted to point it out! Fabulousness, please update more!!

~Cheers!

Reviewer: MinervaDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29874Chapter: 5
I like the whole explaniation about the two forms for magic...

“Under most circumstances, no, Muggles cannot do magic. But in fact, there are two forms of magic that are so powerful that they transcends the narrow definitions of Muggle or magic, human or beast, wand or wandless. You should be quite familiar with the first of these as from what I have heard, it was what originally saved you from Voldemort.”

“Love.”

“When Muggles croon that love is magic, they don’t know how close to the truth they really are. It surpasses all boundaries. Had your mother been Muggle, her sacrifice still would have protected you.”

Harry’s eyes looked distant for a moment.

"Hate’s the other one, isn’t it?” he asked quietly. “It has to be.”

"It is.”

... it makes so much sense. I know JK has said something along the lines of magic with a wand is stronger thatn wandless magic, but looking back through the books..... In book 1 when Quirell and Snape were cursing and counter cursing harry's broom, they were not using magic. In latter books when we are introduced to the house elves, they are magic but aren't aloud wands (granted theirs is a different kind of magic - they can apparate in Hogwarts afterall). In book three - Sirius doesn't have a wand to transfigure into Padfoot. Those are just a few that I thought of off the top of my head since I don't have my books with me right now(other thant the ones where Harry has already used wandless magic).

So I think there is a very good possibility that there is something behind the wandless theory you have.

You are doing a very good job on the story. The characters are very close to cannon (which is something I rather enjoy in a fic). I hope you update the story quickly.

Thanks for everything.

minervagreen

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29497Chapter: 5
I have reveiwed before but I should review every chapter because you certainly deserve it. You have depicted the characters in a way that simply doesn't compare with any of the other fan fictions I read. I am totally obsessed with your story and my infatuation with it finds my mind speculating and continuing this story along in my head. Your story is definetly my nuumber one fanfiction and I will you to keep writing and update soon because I can't live without your story.

There has been some discussion on the idea that Harry gets physically abused and I would like to express my own opinions on this matter. Harry abuse stories are generally done in two ways. The first and certainly not your way is in a sick way. This way is for people who think dirty thoughts and are not that interested in writing a captivating literature work. The second way is for those who find the idea will be one which they can write well on and trap their readers with. I believe the conflict over Harry abuse stories arises from the two very different ways and think when reading Harry abuse stories need to ask ourselves which way has this person gone about writing this story-sick or just practical story writing.

I commend you on your story and am not even going to comment on your grammatical and spelling errors because lets face it everyone does it.

Kindest Regards
Ellen

Reviewer: KariDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28225Chapter: 5
Please write!!!! its so good and you arnt adding on! pretty pretty pleeeeeeeeeez with sugar on top!!!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28148Chapter: 4
I don't know whether it was this chapter or another, but I really loved the, gonna shit bad potion, and when Fred and George meet the two remaining Marauders... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I loved that, it was sooooooooooooo funny.
WRITE MORE!
ps. please post chapter six soon, I"ve been scouring the net to see whether you have, and you haven't, so more, please!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27964Chapter: 5
Wonderful story, I'm completely drawn in. I think the characters are very believable. Please post the next chapter soon!

Reviewer: RockapDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26642Chapter: 5
I truly love this story. I can't wait until you update again. All the characters are very well developed. I love your ideas with the Order and Harry's lessons with Snape. You even managed to give Snape more of a depth and sense of humanity. It's a great story so keep writing. I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: CasisDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26585Chapter: 5
Great story! It has so much suspence that you just want to keep reading on and on...(hint hint)!!!

I cant wait for the next installment!!!

Love Always,

~Casis~

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25936Chapter: 1
Just wanted to know that I loved your story. The only thing I didn't like was all the beating stuff that Harry got. They were mean to him at Dursley's, but they never beat him. You did a great job with Sirius Black and Snape! Thank you.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-01
Reviewid: 25918Chapter: 5
Wow. This is a very powerful story. Must get to work now; I'm late because I couldn't stop reading this. Wow.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25873Chapter: 1
Fawkes will be working again.
-Liked that

That bird is off its perch!
-made me laugh

“No.” Dumbledore said. “But I’m sure he is doing fine.”
*~*~*~*
Worst. Summer. Ever.
-Nice transition. Poor Harry

Hmm, haven't read a fic that I can remember where the Dursley's abuse is so severe, but you are doing a good job of it. Not very pleasant, but you are making it believable.

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25871Chapter: 5
While I don't enjoy the Abused!Harry scenario, you are doing a good job with it, and I like how it has led to more understanding on Snape's part. I'm looking forward to seeing how this develops. I also think that we will eventually learn that Harry really is as powerful as what you are developing. Otherwise, how will he ever defeat Voldemort?

I also don't like what is happening with Percy, but I'm afraid something like this is actually going to happen in the real world (a.k.a.--OotP) so I suppose I will just have to put up with it here. ;-)

But I do really like Natural Arithmancer!Ron. That's a creative tweeking of Seer!Ron and should make for some interesting developments.

So, I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25850Chapter: 5
Oh.My.God. This is actually a masterpiece. I have been moved to tears more than twice and laughed out loud (mainly at the twins' antics) many times. I beg, IMPLORE you to continue (though I know you will anyway) not just because I want to know what happens, but also because I feel the world needs more of your writing. Well done!

Reviewer: ChristianDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25837Chapter: 5
This is one good story. Please continue the work. I like your still a lot, but I hope u remember not only Serius&#8217;s love life, maybe a little more R/Hr H/Gw :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --