The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Mixed Letters
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130787Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: !!!Date: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123310Chapter: 1
Great!

Reviewer: Lila the Ice Cream QueenDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114786Chapter: 1
This is greatness beyond belief. This must be the second or third time I have read this and I like it bettter each time. I love Ron's letter, it shows his more serios and sophisticated side, which I know he has somewhere there inside him. Harry is so smart, and this is one story where, I absolutley love him, even though we never see him. What a great story.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113896Chapter: 1
What a wonderful piece of fic for Valentine's Day! I'm really digging Promise Ring, so I followed your advice and came to read this. Yay! I was waiting for something like this to happen... I loved the way you had an excellent build up to the event. Instead of it happening immediately, you had us wait for it. :)

Excellent writing, too. Great job!

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113774Chapter: 1
Ooh, nice. Did Harry switch the letters on purpose?

Reviewer: smoreDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103454Chapter: 1
WRITE MORE!

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98594Chapter: 1
I have to say you are too right on the relationship from friendship, starting with love thing. It is so true. My boyfriend and I were/are also like like that. 8 months of friendship, and yes a little tiptoeing around eachother, has set us up wonderfully. Thank you for writting someting meaningful. It was a pleasure to read....and now I'm going back to "The Promise Ring" (also a fab. fic.)

Reviewer: Rebecca JJDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86832Chapter: 1
"because in real life, fluff happens."

Yes! That line just totally made my day. :D

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69271Chapter: 1
Ron's letter was so romantic, which I'm sure he could be if he put his mind to it.

That was a really, really lovely piece and although it was a bit gooey, it still contained typical Ron and Hermione bickering!!!

I loved it.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54669Chapter: 1
quite true :)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48951Chapter: 1
harry DEFINITELY MEANT to send the letters mixed. im sure he definitely was sick of ron and mione being gits.....
kudos to harry for a good plan.
i really really liked this
a lot.
thanks

Reviewer: Hiro-TyreDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37815Chapter: 1
Hahahahahahhaha!!! I LOVED THIS!!! The letter was a little OOC, but the rest of the time Ron and Hermione were in absoloutly PERFECT character! This was great.

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37657Chapter: 1
Very cute. I'd like to see Harry's reaction to these letters though - and whether or not he sent the wrong ones on purpose. (Though I'm sure he did)

Reviewer: MinaDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37060Chapter: 1
love this story so far and also the promise ring^^

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31599Chapter: 1
I love this story. How could you say in your author's notes that an eloquent Ron is not in character? We have no proof from canon that Ron isn't as deep as his letter to Hermione shows him to be and Book Five may just prove it.

Reviewer: SheilaDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31441Chapter: 1
What an absolutely lovely compliment to the main story. I must admit that my favourite part was where the story was in Pig's perspective. Excellent.

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31288Chapter: 1
so entirely sweet....i don't thikn it's too much fluff.......really i don't...it's good...it's sweet...uhhh...thats about all i can say.lol...keep it up grl...

Reviewer: LillyDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31085Chapter: 1
Well I DO like fluff, so there! I really liked this 'chapter' ~ and I was not at all sure that I would. I thought Rons letter was perfect. It was eloquent, but it was also awkward in some points - I could feel him trying to get it just right. You have a great grasp of the characters, getting their speech patterns & mannerisms just right.
I also loved the bit about Pig. Have you written any stories just from the owls point of view? If you haven't, you should.
I am a writer myself, though I have never tried my hand at a fanfic. Do you find it harder then writing characters that you have created yourself? I would be very interested in your answer, please send me an email if you get a chance. - oh, I am in the middle of "The Promise Ring" & am enjoying that immensly as well. But I am sure that I will leave some comments for you there.
Lilly

Reviewer: vaniDate: 2003-04-03
Reviewid: 26113Chapter: 1
it is realy cute

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-04-03
Reviewid: 26061Chapter: 1
Kewl!!! How . . . wonderfully fluffy!

Reviewer: Raine LionheartDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25605Chapter: 1
Loved it. I'm still reading The Promise Ring, which is extraordinary. I love it!

Reviewer: AbbyDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 25012Chapter: 1
hello, i love this story and im reading the other one, but i kinda wanna ask for your help, could you please e-mail me, if you can itd be tons of help thanx

~*abby*~

Reviewer: kbkDate: 2003-03-14
Reviewid: 23915Chapter: 1
This is very sweet fluff. I don't normally go for fluff, but when I do, it's this sort of thing. You do paint a vivid picture of both of them, (and never mind Hermione, *I'm* proud of Ron for getting the spell right) and the letters are just lovely. I'll put your other fic on my list of things to be read.

Reviewer: IviolinistDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23673Chapter: 1
Aw, such sweet budding romance! Ron really can say the right thing when it comes right down to it. (Or perhaps I'm biased towards AtE!Ron.) In any case, I think his letter to Hermione comes off quite clearly as a fifteen year old boy trying very hard to impress "his lady." It comes off quite well. I myself loved the activities each was doing while waiting for their reply from Harry. ChessGenius!Ron is so KEWL. I loved that he found the spell to enchant his pieces. An excellent way to pass those lazy summer days. And Hermione weeding the garden was very sweet. I can picture her out there yanking out weeds while thinking of Ron's stupidity. Her anger melts to love as she imagines his sweet, freckled face and she brushes her hair out of her eyes, leaving a streak of dirt across her face. And that gets her mad at Ron again so she goes back to yanking. Ah yes. :-)

I've been helping White Lily with "The Promise Ring" and we went over "Mixed Letters" together, too. I think we went through several versions of Ron's letter to Hermione, one of us commenting that Ron would never use a semi-colon so that had to go. ;-) I'm sure the Wonderful White Lily will be annoyed for me revealing that the original version of this outtake contained a letter to Hermione from Viktor. But we decided it just wasn't working and cut it out. So anyone should whine to me about its absence and not bug White Lily. ;-)

But this is a wonderfully done piece of fluff and I think all characters, including Pig, are in character. :-)

Reviewer: bobbieDate: 2003-03-10
Reviewid: 23489Chapter: 1
very well done, i liked it as much as i like your other story....which i hope you continue....very well done indeed...

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-03-09
Reviewid: 23412Chapter: 1
HAha funny. I like it.

Reviewer: WallaceDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22061Chapter: 1
I do choke on fluff a lot, but I read through this because I loved your other story. This thing is rather realistic. I'm guessing this author is a she? (not many guys would pick "White Lily") Not surprised she did get the feelings of the guy more or less accurately (good grief we're like an open book), but interesting look into the female psyche. Thanks.

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21893Chapter: 1
That is so cute! --- Yep, I think that sums it up.

Reviewer: andiDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21433Chapter: 1
that is soooooo adorable!!! i love it!!!

Reviewer: BBennettDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20094Chapter: 1
This was a very clever idea, and nicely written - good job! :)

Reviewer: lucky charmsDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19929Chapter: 1
i can't tell you how much i love this story!!! every bit of it---- ***including the author's note*** *!!!!!! Thanx!!!!

Reviewer: HermioneDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19771Chapter: 1
AAAAAWWWWWW I rilly like that rilly sweet!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~! I have bean reading the promus ring and in one (one is the kee word ther) of my reves i sayed i woud read mixed letters......and ell I did you have a read talent for righting. I love you'r fan fic!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!

Reviewer: BobDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19733Chapter: 1
simply marvelous

Reviewer: SusanDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18659Chapter: 1
ok, I read both storys, and i think this one should have a sequel, I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPPPPPENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Email me when you get one going!

Reviewer: Liz NeedlesDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17624Chapter: 1
I absolutley love the letters that Ron and Hermione sent to each other. I was giggly the whole time.
Thanks for being a great writer.
Liz

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17403Chapter: 1
*jumps up and down in glee* This was so cute! I've fallen dradfully behind in reading "The Promise Ring," but I remember the letter-switching...or do I?...anyway, this was lovely. And I understand that Ron probably planned his letter out carefully so he wouldn't say something stupid or embarrassing. On the other hand, Hermione's dashed-off reply was sweet. It's kind of like them switching personalities for a while, right? :) I have to get back to the main fic now! This was great!

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16718Chapter: 1
There's nothing like good fluff. I haven't read your other story yet, White Lily, but I hope to get to it one of these days. I liked Ron's letter, even though I didn't know the backstory, because it seemed sort of like the kind of thing a boy who was trying VERY hard might come up with after hours of laboring over something. Hermione and Ron are just so cute. And Harry - I wonder if he knew what he was doing - so sly.

Reviewer: CallieDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16698Chapter: 1
OMG, this is so good, I hope there is more to it.

Reviewer: DorothyDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16678Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness! That story was soooo wonderful I couldnt stop myself my cheering out loud and sighed dreamily! Brilliant! Excellent work on the fluff. The tension between Ron and Hermione just made this short story all the more exciting to read. If any of you readers like to read the comments first, then I suggest you read this story right now! Lol. Ok but anyways, please keep up the excellent work on youre other story The Promise Ring. It's coming along tremendously. Can't wait to read more!

~<3,
SweetCherryPie~

Reviewer: amanda singerDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16427Chapter: 1
that was really really brilliant too, i really loved it, i love H/R relationship!! its soo cute. u have to write more!! :)

Reviewer: harpinredDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16120Chapter: 1
I must now go have a new bumpersticker made up and it's all your fault! :)
Fluff Happens

And WL, I don't care if Ron wasn't perfectly in character here, you still made me sniffle and sigh over the sheer wonderous fluffyness. This was just lovely! Can we have more?

Monique/harpinred

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16056Chapter: 1
hehe, I really like what you said in the AN -"fluff happens" I think I shall have to make it into a T-shirt ;-)

in regards to the actual story--- I really like the letter ron wrote, I DO think it was in character.
1) how many essays has he had to write for school? even though he does procrastinate a lot I think he must be at least a passible writer, I mean we know he does get relativelly good marks (we would have heard about it from Mrs Weasley by now if he hadn't....) so he can't have done to terribly!

2) this is sortof tying in with #1 ---hermione is his best friend. do you really think she would let him get away with shoddy writing? granted he could get away with a lot, but I think that in 4 years she would have done at least a little!

3) Mrs Weasly is his mum, I have the idea that in his life she must have made him write many many many thank you cards to uncles and great aunts and other member of his most likelly rather large extended family....she just seems the type so I think that has made him learn good writing skills.

4) this is a dang importent letter! he's gonna try to make sure he gets it right.

anyway to wrap that up I dont think it was out of character, It complemented the story wonderfully, and I totally agree with what you said in the AN (gosh, I have never before talked so much regarding the AN ! for goodness sakes...) this was a very enjoyable read----I really liked you having hermione doing something as normal as weeding. almost every other story she's 1) reading 2) moping aroud the house or 3) lazing around in the garden it was a nice change of pace. um good work I have made this too long already so... keep up the good work!

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16051Chapter: 1
that was brilliant! i read your other story and this fits perfectly! please tell me that you will continue with this story line!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16037Chapter: 1
"...fluff happens."

It sure does. The hard part is keeping it fluffy - that takes work. Nice fluff, though!

Reviewer: SparrowChildDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16023Chapter: 1
ohhh....this made me cry...i wish all boys were like ron!

Reviewer: SparrowChildDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16021Chapter: 1
ohhh....this made me cry...i wish all boys were like ron!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15983Chapter: 1
I read this fanfic at Gryffindortower.net but the library review forum link is so hard to follow. I have registered and logged on with all the requisite user name and id but once i am before the review board, the links are so confusing i do not know what is what. it is so straightforward with sugarquill.... and opening a webpage via a link is so quick as well. Anyhow, Mixed Letters is a truly fluffy hilarious and very relaxing fanfic. It is easy to read, stress free and great fun.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --