The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 48

Reviewer: ABCDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 96009Chapter: 1
"YOU LEFT A BASILISK IN THE SCHOOL?!"

Priceless.

Reviewer: lisliasmDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86627Chapter: 1
This is the best fic about four disembodied voices I have ever read! :-)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 85014Chapter: 1
Even better than the last!!!

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80576Chapter: 1
AHAHAHAHAHHAHAH As goood as ther frisat!

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75384Chapter: 1
And you’ve done it again. Gotta love CoS from the Founders’ POV! Salazar’s in trouble… I almost *pity* him, you know… that hasn’t ever happened before.

>>>> "I TOLD you that halfblood would be nothing but trouble, but NO! You all said, 'Expand your horizons, Salazar.' 'There's more to life than purebloods, Salazar.' HAH!" <<<<

Wonderful. Love Salazar’s sense of humour. Love *your* sense of humour! Keep the good stuff coming! :)

Jolie

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75001Chapter: 1
I'm so glad that you decided to do a complete series of Thinking Hat stories. In this episode, I was especially interested in how the voices in the Hat gradually became aware of and reacted to the threat of Riddle and the basilisk and how they chastised Salazer before once again becoming a self-contained circle of friends. If you ever decide to revise this story, I would love to read the Founders' thoughts about Colin and Luna.

Reviewer: JeanaDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72201Chapter: 1
This is just as original and creative as your other one. I love this!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71894Chapter: 1
That was hilarious:
"How does one duck when a hat starts dropping things on your head?"
Priceless. I really love these stories--please continue with them!

Reviewer: MorwenDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69741Chapter: 1
I loved this! It's so funny! I read the outers under your name, and they are just greet. Keep it up!

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66399Chapter: 1
heh heh HURRAH! For you :0) An excellent fic. Write more things. I love your writting.
Mask

Reviewer: zakiDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54478Chapter: 1
I groaned at the possibility of a sequal- how could it live up to the first? And yet it did, and was almost more entertaining. Amazing!

Best line ever: "FINE. I, Salazar Slytherin, hereby apologize for setting up a secret chamber and raising a basilisk in it, for keeping secrets from my dear friends, who put up with me no matter how trying I am, and for somehow inspiring an insane student to using my name as justification for turning into a megalomaniac. THERE! Are you satisfied yet?"

Reviewer: ShaeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50476Chapter: 1
Just read this & thought it was as, if not more, wonderful than the first one. It had me cracking up!

Reviewer: jessieDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45108Chapter: 1
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that was the BEST!!!!!!!you are my new best friend!!!!genius!!

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42444Chapter: 1
A truly inspired sequel that's even better than the first one. It's wonderful that it wasn't just more of the same as the first one. I loved seeing how they dealt with that basilisk. Everything about this, from the "something" about Ginny to Albus, was brilliantly written and followed the events of CoS perfectly. And of course, I loved the, um, conversations in the Sorting Hat. For disembodied minds, they have wonderfully human characters.

At the moment, I am giggling hysterically over Salazar's scripted apology and Helga's comment about dropping things on people's heads. I loved Salazar's complaints about Riddle and his defense of the basilisk, although I am very curious about what his original purpose for the basilisk was...

Reviewer: LyndaDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40109Chapter: 1
Loved it!! What a wonderful story. It manages to establish the quirks of each different house very well.

Reviewer: RainmakerDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40040Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that's was just amazing!!! It's been a while since I enjoyed fanfic this much! IT'S great! I love it!

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39544Chapter: 1
LOL! Liked this one, too. And Salazar pouting over Harry--tee-hee!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39509Chapter: 1
The Sorting Hat is now my favorite character(s) :-)

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22717Chapter: 1
""It's Potter again!" Rowena exclaimed. "I don't think we've ever seen a student this much!"

"Where on Earth are we? And where did a BASILISK come from?!" Helga squeaked.

Salazar coughed. "Er, didn't I mention? Ah...anyway...Ah-HAH! That's what it was about that Weasley girl. I knew Riddle was going to be a problem. That's what I get for taking halfbloods."

"YOU LEFT A BASILISK IN THE SCHOOL?!"

"Ouch. Ah, priorities! Keep the boy alive first, yell at me later?" Salazar suggested frantically.

"Oh. Right. Help him fight a basilisk when we're DISEMBODIED VOICES IN A HAT!" Godric shouted.

Salazar hissed. "Why doesn't the boy just try talking to -- Godric, did you just drop a SWORD on his head?""

This entire scene had me clutching my sides with laughter. I also loved Slytherin's constant references to the mistake he made letting Riddle into his House.

And I am a little curious about the original intencions of the basilisk. A guardian for the school maybe?

Reviewer: ginnyfanaticDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21378Chapter: 1
This was my favorite hp ff since the original "Thinking Cap"!

Reviewer: BobDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19712Chapter: 1
I thought the first one was great. Normally sequels aren't any good. You have written the best sequel ever. MORE MOER MORE pleeeeaaaassssseeeeeeee

Reviewer: MeenaksDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19676Chapter: 1
Awesome and Brilliant.. Those are the two words I have for your writing.. (Thinking) Hats off to you... ;-) Wonderfully written..

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19592Chapter: 1
Wonderful story (:

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19564Chapter: 1
"For the thousandth time, I didn't do it!" Salazar protested. "I TOLD you that halfblood would be nothing but trouble, but NO! You all said, 'Expand your horizons, Salazar.' 'There's more to life than purebloods, Salazar.' HAH!"

That has to be the funniest line I've read in a long time. Excellent, excellent! I loved it. Another great Thinking Cap story. Good job!

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19553Chapter: 1
I laughed my self silly(er)

Reviewer: Jessica NicoleDate: 2003-02-08
Reviewid: 19520Chapter: 1
Absolutely hilarious!

I especially liked the 'badger' bit.

Reviewer: LyraDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19444Chapter: 1
I just read both this and its prequel.....hilarious. They are absolutely hilarious. I love the interactions between the characters, and that Salazar isn't actually evil. Please continue writing!

Reviewer: MarshaDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19441Chapter: 1
oh, so I see you haff outdone yourself. Good vork. That was my other foreign one. Can you guess who it was? If you don't get this review, read the one I wrote for The Thinking Cap. Done? Good. Well then, I'll just say that I liked this one even better than the first one. Your characrterization was amazing. It was funny, it was cute, and it was very very umm, good. yes, that's the word. Well then. I hope you had as much fun writing this as I did reading it. :) :)
>:) (that last one was evil, ignore him, he just wanted to be included).

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19346Chapter: 1
LOL!!!! I loved this one, too! I loved the glimpse into what the Founders do to pass the time; and their reactions to Harry and the Basilisk! Having Godric just impulsively drop a sword on Harry's head was funny; and Salazar call Tom Riddle a "nimrod"...ROTFLMAO!!!! I liked it that Salazar isn't Voldemort, Sr. -- that he had a bit of good in him, too :) This is really great stuff!

Reviewer: Ariana DeralteDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18324Chapter: 1
I've read your first fic and thought I'd come back for the second one:) I think it's great that you continued onward and addressed the rest of the Sorting Hat's adventures that year.

Your lines are brilliant - like Helga promising to describe him as tall, dark and handsome this time, or godric's response to the renaissance comment. Salazar really does have a reason to be a bit annoyed though. But then the founder's had reason to be annoyed at him for hte basilisk...I loved his protests btw.

Little nitpick: "A thousand years of nothing but eleven year olds to listen to," Godric replied promptly - This is not technically a reply the way it's phrased. It's more like a random statement that might or might not refute the one before it.

It was great that Albus was polite enough to put on the hat and tell them what happened. Helga's comment about dropping things on the student's heads was priceless.
Wonderful job. Cheers:)

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17131Chapter: 1
That was SO FUNNY~! You are the GREATEST at the Founders! IloveitIloveitIloveit! Make a sequel _pleeeeeaaaassssseeeeee_?

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16205Chapter: 1
Wonderful, again! A worthy sequel to a brilliant original! I love the bantering between the founders, it's like listening to four adult siblings at a family reunion. You make them so entertaining!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16131Chapter: 1
*cracking up* Oh, I LOVED it! Absolutely fabulous! Poor Salazar, never thought of what the other three would do to him about the basilisk... although, I do wonder what she was SUPPOSED to do in that chamber, since he kept insisting she was supposed to do something other than kill students...

Absolute favorite part was
"Will you STOP going on about Potter?" Godric snapped in exasperation. "The boy is Sorted. It's done with. I've let YOU get away with stealing some Gryffindors at heart, and you don't catch me whining about it years later. I still say that Snape boy--"

Reviewer: WillardDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16126Chapter: 1
So much better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!The part in the chamber is just unbelievable!!!!!!!hilarious !!!!!!amazing!!!!!!!

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16114Chapter: 1
Hey yhat was the best ever! I read the first one but I some how like this one better! Please keep writing!!!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16108Chapter: 1
Very amusing!

for somehow inspiring an insane student to using my name as justification for turning into a megalomaniac
-Hah! But isn't that the werewolf calling the vampire Dark?
(I wonder what you had him thinking the original intention was?)

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16107Chapter: 1
Can I say that this is a great story to read at college? (wonderfully pointless, no grammer problems -college students don't need any help with corrupting their own grammer- and funny) You have to do another one!

Reviewer: KAYJALDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16089Chapter: 1
god YOU ARE AMAZING hahahaha
i dunoe wat to say. this is ... this is..
this is.. BRILLIANT !
U SHULD GET SOME SORT OF AWARD !
HAHAH aniwae i love the way salazar is not a cruel old mean guy. hes misunderstood by kidz coz of VoLdIe.
Expand your horizons, Salazar.' 'There's more to life than purebloods, Salazar.- my favourite line
you are a genius in your own right !
keeep it UP !

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16067Chapter: 1
LOL I would LOVE to see them drop random items during future sortings! I almost want to see you do another sequel in the future where they do just that! hahaha! I also really loved him putting the spell on the hat when drunk! that was a NICE touch. very wonderful- keep it up!

Reviewer: AllyDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16016Chapter: 1
Wonderful, but you really need to do the mauriders sorting (aka James, Peter, Sirius, Remus all them).

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16012Chapter: 1
what a great sequel! I'll always think of the sorting hat being this way. I think you should write a sequel to the sequel! brilliant series!

Reviewer: MaisyDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 16008Chapter: 1
Oh, brilliant! ::Wipes tear of laughter from eye:: I read the first one, and it was great, but this one was even better! Hey! Could you do a Marauder one?

Oh, and me likes that Slytherin isn't eeeeevil. Just...Slytherin-y. And the bit about inspiring the insane student to justify becoming a megalomaniac using his name? Brilliant!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15994Chapter: 1
LMAO! Oh, that was perfect. I loved it. Really quite funny. I loved Salazar's apology, it was hilarious. I don't want to seem ungrateful, but could you PLEASE do the Marauder's Sorting?

Reviewer: ~*Cynthia*~Date: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15979Chapter: 1
LMAO!! That was great!!! I especially loved Salazar's script read apology.. hahaha!! I must say, you're very creative.. :)

~*Cynthia*~

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15978Chapter: 1
The Founders' reactions to Harry's battle with the Basilisk make me laugh so hard that I fell out of my chair. (Why did you drop a sword on his head? He was supposed to duck! I knew that half-blood was going to be trouble but YOU said I ought to expand my horizons!) They're all so funny! The Founder's reactions to Harry's fight with the Basilisk also had tension, which was masterfully combined with the humor. Bravo!

Poor Salazar. I feel quite sorry for him. He didn't mean to cause trouble. Maybe he will get to have a Weasley of his own someday?

Reviewer: VJDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15969Chapter: 1
Hilarious, again! Can we have more of this?

"Oh, be quiet, Godric. You've been annoying me since the Renaissance."

Priceless! :D

Reviewer: JessDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15968Chapter: 1
I loved it! Almost better than the first!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15966Chapter: 1
I love this story too!! It'd be great if you wrote one about the third book. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --